Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Crosman 1377C / PC77

    Crosman 1377C / PC77 Air gun
    Review entered on 2007-10-28 00:54:34

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Schmedley from USA on 2007-10-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Simple operation, quite accurate even with stock sights. Very good performance for an attractive price. Lots of inexpensive fun.
    Things I would have changed:Some white dots on the back of the sights to make it easier to line up when the lighting is lower; make the pump lever grip wider to make it easier to grab while pumping
    What others should know:It is not the perfect gun and could use a few improvements like I mentioned above, but for the price you just can't complain about the performance value this gun delivers.

    Product: Crosman 0290 Red Dot Sight

    Crosman 0290 Red Dot Sight
    Review entered on 2007-11-09 19:06:22

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Schmedley from USA on 2007-11-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Easy mount and adjustment, works pretty well, value price
    Things I would have changed:More cowling around the front and back of the lens to cut glare; stiffer adjust screws, it's pretty easy to accidentally budge a knob and throw off your sighting; some sort of reticle in the glass (circle or crosshair) to line up the dot to; an external LED or other indicator that tells you it is turned on since you can't see the dot unless you are actually looking down the sight
    What others should know:Don't forget to get the 459MT for your 1377 like I did

    Product: Crosman 1377C / PC77

    Crosman 1377C / PC77 Air gun
    Review entered on 2007-12-23 23:06:23

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Schmedley from USA on 2007-12-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This is a follow up review to the one I did earlier. I've put around 700 shots through this gun and have a pretty good idea of how it handles now. First the good: Great value and very good accuracy. The barrel is over 10" long which gives it good velocity and a pretty consistent trajectory.
    Things I would have changed:Given the price, it's pretty hard to complain. However, the stock sights aren't great and there isn't a good way to mount an aftermarket sight to it. I tried the 459MT to put a red dot sight on it, but with the plastic breech, the barrel rotates slightly from side to side constantly throwing off the settings. The counter sinking on the crown of the barrel was off center.
    What others should know:The steel breech from Crosman is pretty much a must-have if you want to do any serious shooting. The breech doesn't really provide any improvement in accuracy since it's quite accurate already. The steel breech provides a solid mounting platform for a sight and also has a set screw to keep the barrel from moving. I got the steel breech, the shoulder stock and a 4x rifle scope (a total of ~$65 in upgrades) making this into a mini-rifle and it is pretty much dead on.

    Product: Crosman 1399 Custom Shoulder Stock, Fits Many Crosman Pistols

    Crosman 1399 Custom Shoulder Stock, Fits Many Crosman Pistols
    Review entered on 2008-01-03 01:36:00

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Schmedley from USA on 2008-01-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Provides a very stable shooting platform for the 1377 and converts it into a mini-rifle. Inexpensive and easily attaches/detaches so you can quickly convert from a pistol to a rifle and back.
    What others should know:Add this shoulder stock, a steel breech kit and a 4x scope to your 1377 and you've got a very accurate mini-rifle for around $125 all-in including the gun. I don't really want to lug around a full-sized rifle to take out a few squirrels 25 yards away in my back yard so the 1377 with this stock is perfect. The 1377 is dead-on accurate at that range with this stock, but not too powerful that it will cause problems with the neighbors.

    Product: Crosman NightStalker kit

    Crosman NightStalker kit Air rifle
    Review entered on 2008-01-10 01:17:52

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Schmedley from USA on 2008-01-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very fun to shoot. Very cool looking. Reasonably high powered for a CO2 gun; it knocked some of the paint off my pellet trap which my 1377 on 10 pumps didn't do. Scope, flashlight and bipod accessories are pretty solid. I like the flip-up caps on the scope.
    Things I would have changed:The magazine is a little tricky to get out. I found that if you make sure the cover is *fully* pushed forward it comes out relatively easily, but if it is even slightly back, the magazine doesn't come out easily. Maybe add a small eject lever? The blowback does not always successfully recock the gun and when you manually recock it, it appears to move the index to the next round and you lose a shot in that magazine.
    What others should know:This is NOT a precision gun, but one for high-volume plinking, i.e. for fun. And it is fun. It is reasonably accurate, but you're not going to hit an aspirin at 50 yards with this. To compare it to a firearm, it's more like the silenced MP55D5 (and even sounds like it) which was meant for closer quarters firing and putting lots of rounds in a reasonably tight area. The MP55 is not a sniper rifle and neither is this. Using the red-dot sight, I can get 12 shots to land in a ~2" dia circle at 60ft which is good enough for having fun. Then again, I've never fired a CO2 gun that was consistent since it seems like the amount of gas is always slightly different with every shot leading to variations in velocity and consistency. With regards to unfired pellets, most of the time I encountered it was when the blowback didn't properly recock the gun and I had to manually recock it. I don't think it has to do with the pellets themselves. It also seems like the gun prefers being rapid fired. When I slow fire it one or two rounds at a time when I am adjusting the sights, I notice more instances of failed recocking and unfired pellets. When I rattle off shots in fairly quick succession, almost all of the time I get no unfired pellets. Finally, I pretty much have to wear eye gear when firing this gun because some of the CO2 blowback hits me in the eyes when I'm sighting down the scope. It's not that bad, but since I have contact lenses, it's somewhat distracting.

    Product: Crosman 0290 Red Dot Sight

    Crosman 0290 Red Dot Sight
    Review entered on 2008-02-05 22:27:11

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Schmedley from USA on 2008-02-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Low price. Easy mount and adjustment.
    Things I would have changed:The open design produces a lot of glare and extraneous reflections in the sight glass whenever you have a bright daylight situation. I had to cut out a piece of construction paper and create a cowling to cover the area behind the glass to cut the glare enough so I could see what I was shooting at. On cloudy days or twilight, it is less of an issue, but I ended up getting a more expensive tubular red-dot to get rid of the glar issue. The adjustment knobs are openly accessible which makes it easy to adjust, but also makes them easy to accidentally budge and throw off the sighting.
    What others should know:This is my revised review after trying it out for some time. I have not tried other open-type dot sights, but the glare was a real problem for me. I could barely see my target. You can cobble together a few things to get around it, but I'd rather spend a bit more to get a better sight.

    Product: Walther PS22 Red Dot Sight, 11 Brightness Levels, Weaver/Picatinny Mount

    Walther PS22 Red Dot Sight, 11 Brightness Levels, Weaver/Picatinny Mount
    Review entered on 2008-02-07 20:06:47

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Schmedley from USA on 2008-02-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Good optics. Small, very clear dot. Good adjustment range. High mount that clears the fixed sights on my Crosman Nightstalker TK. Tether wires on the adjustment caps. Flip up lens covers.
    Things I would have changed:Longitudinally (in the direction of the barrel) hollow out the mount and make it "see-through". The mount is actually high enough that if it were see-through I could switch between the dot and fixed sights on my Nightstalker. Trouble is, I can't see through the mounting base.
    What others should know:Another perfect gun for this sight is the Nightstalker TK (since it requires a Picatinny rail). The stock red-dot that comes with the TK kit is well-constructed, but has a pretty narrow field of view. The PS22 has a very wide field of view and a smaller more clear dot. It is also physically smaller and looks quite slick as a replacement dot sight for the Nightstalker. Because the field of view is much wider, I can acquire targets much faster and more easily with the PS22 than the stock Nightstalker TK dot sight. A highly recommended upgrade.

    Product: Crosman NightStalker

    Crosman NightStalker Air rifle
    Review entered on 2008-02-19 14:55:10

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Schmedley from USA on 2008-02-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is a follow up to my review on the Nightstalker TK. I've put over 1000 rounds through this gun now and have a good idea now of what it's like. What I like: Cool-looking. FUN. Inexpensive. It is reasonably accurate, and it's great for putting lots of rounds down range. Definitely get the TK kit if you can. I found the bipod useful in sighting in the gun and as a stand. The Picatinny rails with kit are a nice feature as is the red dot. The flash light is pretty cool, but mostly for appearance/fun.
    Things I would have changed:The physics of CO2 (:-)). This gun wants to be rapid fired, but after about 2-3 clips of rapid fire, you need to let it warm back up again since the CO2 cools off a lot and the pressure drops. In the kit, the red-dot sight is nice, but has a very narrow field of view. More clear instructions. I found that the magazine actually comes out pretty easily if you make sure the cover is pushed ALL the way forward. If it is even *slightly* back, the magazine doesn't want to come out.
    What others should know:I wonder if the people whose Nightstalkers broke tried too hard to unjam it. I've only had one jamming incident in 1000+ rounds and it was pretty easy to clear. Make sure you push the two tabs in front of the magazine cover down and push forward. This moves the barrel forward and the jammed pellet and magazine comes out really easily. If you try to pry out a jammed magazine without moving the barrel forward, you will likely break the indexing mechanism. With a fresh cylinder, it does hit reasonably hard for a CO2 gun. I've been shooting in relatively cool temperatures so far (50-65F) and I get about 160-180 good shots per 88g cylinder. After that, the pressure starts dropping off. Beyond 220 shots, you're pretty much wasting pellets. I upgraded the red-dot to a Walther PS22 and found it to be a much better sight and a great upgrade. I've been using Crosman Premier Domed (light) and Premier Hollow Point pellets with very few problems so far.

    Product: Crosman Tac 77 Elite

    Crosman Tac 77 Elite Air rifle
    Review entered on 2008-05-21 02:03:38

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Schmedley from USA on 2008-05-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Variable mil dot scope is quite nice. Included accessories like the bipod, soft case, flashlight, and laser makes this package a pretty good deal. I'm new to spring piston guns so it took a few hundred shots for me to get used to firing it. This gun has a significant recoil but since this is my first spring gun, I have no way of knowing if it is more or less recoil than others. Now that I'm getting used to it, I can tell this gun is quite accurate and the misses were a result of me, not the gun.
    Things I would have changed:The laser actually isn't very useful. After 5-6 shots, the recoil of the gun has knocked the laser completely out of alignment and you have to readjust it again. When I say out of alignment, I mean out by 4-6 inches at a range of 25 feet. I took off the laser and put it on my CO2 gun. :-) The recoil of the gun caused the small plastic cover on the rear of the spring piston housing to break. I wrote to Crosman and hope they send me a new one. Not sure if this is common or not.
    What others should know:For spring piston newbies like me, Tom Gaylord's article explaining the "artillery hold" was very helpful for me to learn how to shoot this gun. At first, I was admittedly very frustrated with this gun because I didn't know how to deal with the recoil and my shots were all over the place. The key is to not fight the recoil and make sure you have a loose hold and position that is very consistent and repeatable. Kinda like golf. If not for the laser and broken cover, I would have given it an overall 5. Good gun, good value package.

    Product: Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap

    Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap
    Review entered on 2008-06-04 11:44:33

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Schmedley from USA on 2008-06-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very solid. No assembly required. I got this for my new 1000fps spring gun and it works great.
    Things I would have changed:Some built-in noise dampening. Price is a little high.
    What others should know:I dealt with the noise issue by going to my local home supply store and getting two sand bags. You sit the trap on top of one and you lay the other sand bag against the back and it dampens out the noise pretty well. Instead of a CLANG, you get a clank.

    Product: Crosman 1088B Kit BB & Pellet Pistol

    Crosman 1088B Kit BB & Pellet Pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2008-06-28 22:45:09

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Schmedley from USA on 2008-06-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Very fun and easy to shoot. Inexpensive. Kit is a decent value with the included CO2, pellets and glasses. Reasonably accurate for a short barrel pistol. It's easy to go through a lot of CO2 and pellets with this gun since it's fun to shoot. Accuracy at 10-12 ft is decent. The barrel is just under 4" long so I wouldn't expect any real accuracy beyond 20 feet. I have fired through 3 powerlets so far and have not had a single jam yet. I'm just using regular Crosman pointed pellets, nothing fancy. Nice that it can accept BBs or pellets even though I will only be shooting pellets.
    Things I would have changed:The lightness of the gun doesn't bother me that much, but I think it would look better if the body of the gun wasn't molded out of a single piece of plastic. For example, if the faux slide were a separate piece of plastic that stuck out the sides a tad more, it might look more realistic even if it was just cosmetic. If I had to do it over, I would probably get the black version since the silver does look somewhat plasticy. I have had no functional problems with the gun at all so far. The only comments I have are aesthetic issues.
    What others should know:The accessory rail under the gun is a weaver rail, not an 11mm dovetail as the website listing states. The website also states that the gun comes with 2 clips but I only got one. Pyramyd is sending me another one. The trigger pull in single action mode is pretty light so be aware of that. The noise rating is 3, the same as my Nightstalker TK. However, there is a significant blast noise when the 1088 fires whereas the Nightstalker is actually rather quiet. I'd either rate the 1088 as a 4, or rate the Nightstalker as a 2. Just be aware of the noise if you have neighbors close by. Overall, a very fun, inexpensive gun that will have you going through a lot of CO2 and pellets/BBs.

    Product: Leapers Accushot 1-Pc Mount w/1" Rings, 3/8" Dovetail

    UTG Leapers Accushot 1-Pc Mount w/1 inch Rings, 3/8 inch Dovetail
    Review entered on 2008-06-28 23:17:28

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Schmedley from USA on 2008-06-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Very solid construction. Reversible clamp that allows fit to a wide range of scope rails. Great value for the price.
    Things I would have changed:The scope stop pin hole on my Crosman Tac 77 Elite is somewhat far back and this mount isn't very long. So, to give enough eye relief, I had to situate the scope all the way towards the front such that the adjustment dials are almost right up against the forward scope ring. Perhaps if the mount were a centimeter or two longer.
    What others should know:This will fit 11mm and other dovetails as well as 3/8". You may need to take out the mounting screws and flip the clamp over to fit different rail sizes. The stop pin is pretty thick and I can't see shearing that off unless you have a massive super magnum spring gun or it wasn't mounted right.

    Product: 1" Quick-Detach Rings, Medium, Weaver/Picatinny, See-Thru, Law-Enforcement Grade

    UTG 1 inch Quick-Detach Rings, Medium, Weaver/Picatinny, See-Thru, Law-Enforcement Grade
    Review entered on 2011-09-23 23:46:01

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Schmedley from USA on 2011-09-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Holds the scope very firmly and holds a zero even after repeated re-attachments. Easy to take off and re-attach. What's to not like?
    Things I would have changed:Can't think of anything at the moment
    What others should know:I actually got these rings to use on my .223 chambered AR-15 which has an A3 flat-top upper receiver and they work great. I can now easily switch back and forth between my 3-9x scope and 1x tactical red-dot sight quickly and easily. For the performance and convenience, I can't see how anyone can say that $20 is expensive. Seems like a great value to me.

    Product: Crosman M4-177 Multi-Pump Air Rifle, Adj. Stock

    Crosman M4-177 Multi-Pump Air Rifle, Adj. Stock Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-12-02 23:52:50

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Schmedley from USA on 2011-12-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Looks really cool. I own an AR-15 and wanted something to get my shooting in when the weather or my schedule prevented me from going to the range. It is ~1.5" shorter than my AR-15 carbine so the size is good. I've only put about 60 rounds through it in my garage at about 20 feet, but this gun is really fun to shoot and gets very tight, consistent groups at the short ranges (20-40 ft) that I'm interested in. Picatinny rails are very nice and appear to be close to spec since my AR accessories fit perfectly on it.
    Things I would have changed:Include more magazines/clips and just raise the price by a few bucks. It would be worth the convenience.
    What others should know:Contrary to what the other posts here say, you CAN actually mount something on the bottom rails on the barrel and handguard and still pump the rifle. I tried putting a picatinny mount bipod (that I got at Pyramyd) on both the barrel and then the handguard rails and I COULD do a full pump. HOWEVER, I have to mount it on either of the two front-most notches of the barrel, or the two rear-most notches of the handguard to give enough clearance to get a full pump. The point is that you CAN actually use the mounting rails on the bottom. I also disagree with the other posters about making the design with the fixed carry handle for several reasons: 1) If they did that, it would be made of plastic and not be very durable 2) It would make mounting optics more difficult and introduce more parallax 3) If you really want that look, you can get a detachable aluminum AR-15 carry handle for it. The metal carry handle and front sight also give the gun a bit more heft if that is what you like. Just for kicks I put on the detachable metal carry handle and front sight from my AR-15 and they fit perfectly. Crosman definitely made the right call going with the flat top rail design. Although the AR-15 carry handle looks totally cool on it, I am using a Walther PS22 dot sight since I can't shoot iron sights for squat. Bottom line: Very cool looking gun, good accuracy, good fun and any AR-15 accessory should fit on it. Did mention that it looks really cool?

    Product: Crosman M4-177 Multi-Pump Air Rifle, Adj. Stock

    Crosman M4-177 Multi-Pump Air Rifle, Adj. Stock Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-12-09 02:16:46

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Schmedley from USA on 2011-12-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Looks really cool, quite accurate at the ranges I'm interested in which is about 25-40 feet, Picatinny rails for accessories, AR-15 accessories will fit and look cool.
    Things I would have changed:Include 2-3 clips even its a few extra bucks
    What others should know:I think the A3 flat top configuration was the right way to go. If they had gone with the integrated carry handle it would be plastic and not very durable and would make mounting optics hard. I have an AR-15 and just for yucks I put the detachable metal carry handle on the M417 and it fits perfectly and looks pretty cool. Even though I like the look of the carry handle, I am using a Walther PS22 dot sight because I can't shoot fixed sights for squat. With the dot sight, I get nice tight groups. I swapped out the buttstock with a spare AR-15 buttstock I had lying around. The AR-15 buttstock does fit and increases the throw by a little over an inch which feels better to me, plus it definitely has a more solid feel. The faux "buffer tube" that the buttstock slides over is slightly smaller than Mil spec so the fit is a little loose, but tolerable. I've put around 150 round through this gun so far and it is really fun to shoot. Great for rainy day shooting in the garage or basement. Within 50 feet it is quite accurate, but beyond that groups start to open up quite a bit.

    Product: Walther Multi-Reticle Sight, MRS, 7 Brightness Levels, 4 Reticles, Weaver Mount

    Walther Multi-Reticle Sight, MRS, 7 Brightness Levels, 4 Reticles, Weaver Mount
    Review entered on 2012-05-06 00:39:40

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Schmedley from USA on 2012-05-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Clear reticle, easy to zero, nice to be able to choose from 4 different reticles even though I use the "T" reticle 95% of the time, very good value for the price
    Things I would have changed:Design a lens cover that is easier to take off. It's not really a big deal for me, but if there is anything I can think of to improve, this is all I can come up with.
    What others should know:I use this on my GSG-522 (22LR) and it is perfect for an MP5 type of configuration where you are aiming at targets that are 50m away or less, i.e. tactical type targets.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top