Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Benjamin Trail NP XL Air Rifle

    Benjamin Trail NP XL Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-10-27 02:18:10

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Steve Jaynes from USA on 2010-10-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The POWER of the .22 cal Benjamin Trail NP XL 1100 is exceptional. That said, this gun bucks when fired and demands the "Artillery Hold" to insure consistency. It's an adult-size rifle at over 48" long and has the trigger-pull length of a full-sized modern firearm, similar to my Remington 700 7mm Mag.. To contrast, I also have the Crosman Titan GP. Its stock is almost too short for me. The Trail XL1100's stock size and proportions are just right for me. It likes heavy pellets. I've tried several, but the H&N Baracuda Match 21.14 grains, seem the most consistent so far. With only about 100 rounds through the gun, I'm getting nickel-sized groups at 25 yards with the H&Ns. The Predator Big Boys and JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Monsters aren't holding as tight for me. Seventeen to twenty-two grains seems a good choice. I have other pellets to try, so will report if anything else works better than the H&Ns. This gun is deadly for small pests. I cleared my cousin's barn of feral pigeons which were "bombing" all his farm equipment with poop. Every bird was one-shot kill. (Squab pie anyone?? Yum...) I've had no problems with the scope, although you could spend a lot more on an even better one, should your wallet and mind decided that is the right thing to do. The Weaver Scope Rail is a plus! I rate the accuracy as exceptional for the high power and price.
    Things I would have changed:I recommend Crosman/Benjamin bite the bullet (pellet) and included GRT-III triggers standard equipment. Too be fair, I expected the stock trigger to be very bad, based on reviews and my previous experience with my Crosman Titan GP. I was surprised that my particular Trail XP trigger was very good. The triggers on the Chinese-made Crosmans &/ Benjamin rifles are rumored to all be the same. Since I'd had a very bad experience with the stock trigger on my Crosman Titan GP, I ordered a GRT-III the same day as I ordered the Trail XP. I changed it out after testing the stock trigger. When I was installing the GRT-III I noticed although the parts seemed to be the same as on the Titan GP, the ones in the Trail XP were much more refined looking, with a MUCH smoother and consistant finish. I suspect this is why the stock trigger felt "OK". Still the adjustment in my Crosman & Benjamin Chinese-made guns have been a joke. The flip-side is the GRT-III doesn't seem to need ANY adjustment, period. Bottom line however: The GRT-III is VERY good, but the stock trigger on MY Trail XP was adequate. Unfortunately, I expect experiences will vary widely. I'd plan on replacing the trigger. It could use an upgraded scope as std equipment.
    What others should know:With less than a 100 rounds through the gun, it still is exceptionally hard to cock. Even in my 60's, I'm a still big (6' 250 lbs) strong guy, yet it's tiring for me after 25 or 30 shots. Unless it loosens up Trail XP is NOT going to be a pleasant gun for casual plinking. Cocking it is just too exhausting. You don't need aerobic exercise immediately before firing. This is NOT the biathlon! For plinking my .22 cal Crosman Titan GP is much more pleasant, just from a cocking-effort standpoint. With the triggers replaced in both guns, they seem to have very similar constancy and accuracy in their respective groupings, both guns favoring the heavier ammo types. The difference is the POWER! The Trail XP might be too large a rifle for a smaller shooter. The Titan GP or Remington Nitro Piston Short Stroke might be a better fit for a smaller person or youth.

    Product: Leapers Accushot 4-16x56AO Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/8 MOA, 30mm Tube

    Leapers Accushot 4-16x56AO Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/8 MOA, 30mm Tube
    Review entered on 2011-11-23 04:33:05

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Steve Jaynes from USA on 2011-11-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Clarity of optics. Re-centering adjustment knobs. Reasonably forgiving eye relief for power and aperture. Easy of eyepiece focusing.
    Things I would have changed:Range estimating in stead of the Mil-Dot reticle
    What others should know:I returned a 4-16x56mm Hawke Eclispe 30 as it was very fussy with regards to eye postion. This actually has a better fit and finish than the Hawke and it was far less money. I didn't do a side-by-side comparison since I'd already returned the Hawke but this seems to be be a better scope at considerably less money.

    Product: Benjamin Marauder PCP Air Rifle

    Benjamin Marauder PCP Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-11-29 11:30:36

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Steve Jaynes from USA on 2011-11-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:There are dozens of reviews about this fine air rifle. However, after owning one for a month, the scene from "Quiggly Down Under" where his "calling card" is an ace of spades playing card, shot a a great distance comes to mind. My calling card is a 20 yard target used for adjusting my scope on the new gun. Shots 1-4 were used to get to the bullseye. Shots 5-10 are all in the same hole! Just pick your caliber and buy one. I just ordered a .25 cal models. I'm confident history will repeat itself. I have an AirForce Condor with .25 cal 24" barrel plus ,.22cal 24" & 12" barrels. I love my Condor. However, with the 10 shot repeater feature ( load and shoot 4 magazines between air fills), and VERY quiet operation, I'm grabbing the Marauder more often than not. Hard to beat this type of features, quality, and accuracy for less than $450.00 using one of PyramydAir's -10% coupons. While your milage may vary, I recommend this gun with a quality 3-9 or 4-16 power scope as an excellent combination. If you are going to own only one PCP air gun, pick a caliber and buy this one.
    Things I would have changed:Having the power adjustment screw accessible without removing the stock.
    What others should know:Contrary to some posting, I find my .22 cal Marauder to be very tolerant of a wide range of pellet brands, weights, and shapes. I'm shooting Crosman Premiers for plinking, H&N Baracuda Match for serious 50 yard target practice, and Predator PolyMags for hunting. They all group nicely and do exactly what I want them to do. Their center difference from center bullseye is minimal (1/2").

    Product: BKL 2-Pc 3/8" or 11mm Dovetail to Weaver Adapter, 1" Long, Matte Black

    BKL 2-Pc 3/8 inch or 11mm Dovetail to Weaver Adapter, 1 inch Long, Matte Black
    Review entered on 2011-12-04 22:37:15

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Steve Jaynes from USA on 2011-12-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Two Words: ROCK SOLID
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:A great alternative to the BKL 3/8" or 11mm Dovetail to Weaver Adapter, 4" Long, For Bolt-Action Guns. I have both, and I think these Weaver Adapters are a good buy at about $14.00 less than the one-piece "bolt action" adapter.

    Product: UTG 4-16x44 AO SWAT AccuShot Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings

    UTG 4-16x44 AO SWAT AccuShot Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings
    Review entered on 2011-12-13 18:05:08

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Steve Jaynes from USA on 2011-12-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Fit and finish excellent. Clarity of optics excellent. Good eye relief and exit pupil which make for a relatively non-fussy eye position. Good choice of magnification range for most air rifle shooters as a "combo" scope for both target shooting and hunting. I NORMALLY opt for a 3-12 magnification, but the 16 power gives an edge in bench target shooting and long distance varmint hunting. I really make use of the ability to re-zero the elevation and lateral adjusters.
    Things I would have changed:The 36 color reticle illumination with the "projection" illumination design is a major step backwards for Leapers/UTG. Their former edge-lit etched reticle with only two colors is in my opinion, a far better design. The reticle on the older models in finer and crisper. This model and the 3 other 36 color Leapers/UTG models I've tried have a lot of distracting light splatter in the internal baffles and light-path, in low light conditions, even with low intensity setting on the reticle illumination. I frankly think Leapers should bring back a 4-16x44mm modeled after the SCP3-P3124AOMDL, for the people who don't want the size and mass of the 4-16x56. Now that would be a kick-butt all-around scope!
    What others should know:The parallax / focus adjustment and magnification adjustment were VERY stiff out of the box, but loosened up appropriately after a few outings. Still very stiff in cold weather. I highly recommend the Swat Wheel for ease of range estimation and focus. It's a hard choice between a 3-12and a 4-16 models. The extra field of view are helpful when trying to locate game at distance but the extra magnification is very useful for target shooting and long distance varmint hunting. You makes your choice and your milage may vary.

    Product: Shooting Chrony LED Lamps, 2ct

    Shooting Chrony LED Lamps, 2ct
    Review entered on 2012-01-12 19:26:41

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Steve Jaynes from USA on 2012-01-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I have used them for three separate shooting sessions. The one-piece design is MUCH less fussy to assembly than the 3-piece non-illuminated or the 3-piece incandescent bulb illuminated version. Is clearly more stable and less fragile when installed. The one piece struts are also much easier to install. They seem much less fragile than incandescent lamp model and are much more well balanced hanging down from rather than perched on top of defusers. Makes them seem to weigh less, but I didn't measure. I no longer worry about bumping the assembly and breaking the lamp filament when it's turned on and it is MUCH cooler as you would expect. Other than problems listed below, seem very reliable.
    Things I would have changed:Cigarette Lighter adapter and a simple protective case should have been included at the price.
    What others should know:Power brick seem to be able to transmit line voltage changes to the LEDs, which causes a front or rear sensor error message to be generated. Every time our washing machine changed cycles, I got an error on the Chrony remote readout and my printer. Printer was using AA batteries and Chrony was using its 9V. Had to be the LEDs as was time perfect with washing machine motor start and stop. Unlike the incandescent lamp models, this version was very sensitive to having fluorescent lights on in the same room, even though they were not directly overhead.

    Product: AirForce LS-1 Laser, Waterproof & Shockproof

    AirForce LS-1 Laser, Waterproof & Shockproof
    Review entered on 2012-01-12 20:02:03

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Steve Jaynes from USA on 2012-01-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very easy to install and adjust. Very bright. A quality, purpose-built laser. Not just another laser pointer bolted on to a gun somewhere... Fit and finish excellent.
    Things I would have changed:Weaver - Picattiny mount without a dovetail to Weaver adapter to avoid raising the height of the laser, and the Weaver mount can be quick release with excellent retained accuracy. it's HARD to buy a single 3/4" scope ring. :-( Intensity control would be great. It's almost TOO bright at close range and intensity control would serve to reduce spot size by virtue of less laser "splatter". Not thrilled with the expensive and somewhat unusual battery, but know it should do well in low temperatures and have a long life.
    What others should know:Agree with other reviewer: Due to low profile design, it makes a very nice sighting device for close range where tall scope mounts cause issues. I've sighted mine for my secondary zero of 21.8 yards. which gives me a 1" kill zone all the way from 12 to 36 yards, which is the apogee of my bullet arc. I know my point of impact is 1/2" higher than the laser dot at 12 yards and 1/2" lower than the laser dot at 36 yards. Great squirrel buster Laser dot on a squirrel's head anywhere on my property is a clean execution and will save me hundreds if not thousands of $'s in reduced property damage each year.. My scope is more accurate from 36 yards out, due to dot size, but the red dot helps speed target acquisition. You can actually see the pellet pass through the laser's beam in low light. Very cool.

    Product: AirForce 24" Barrel, .22 Cal, Lothar Walther

    AirForce 24 inch Barrel, .22 Cal, Lothar Walther
    Review entered on 2012-01-23 23:47:24

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Steve Jaynes from USA on 2012-01-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:VERY easy to change. VERY power effiecent. I'm getting 1275 fps at 1/2 power setting using Crosman Premier 14.3 gr pellets. I WILL be trying some heavier pellets to get the velocity down. Airforce Airguns' quality and performance is awesome!
    Things I would have changed:INclude a durable storage container for spare barrel.
    What others should know:Like my other 24" barrel, this baby is loud. It will not be used in the backyard for target practice. Even though I'm outside the city limits I have close neighbors and I'm not going to annoy them using this barrel in my Condor. I'll be taking this configuration to the range.

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact King .25 Cal, 25.39 Grains, Domed, 350ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact King .25 Cal, 25.39 Grains, Domed, 350ct
    Review entered on 2012-04-17 23:13:51

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Steve Jaynes from USA on 2012-04-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:VERY consistent. I'm getting one-hole groups at 25 yards, irrespective of 10 or 50 shots. They go where the gun is pointed!
    Things I would have changed:NOTHING
    What others should know:Your milage may vary.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top