Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Product: AirForce 1" Rings, Medium, 9.5-13.5mm Dovetail

    AirForce 1 inch Rings, Medium, 9.5-13.5mm Dovetail
    Review entered on 2010-12-07 17:54:08

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

      By Joel from USA on 2010-12-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:light weight
    Things I would have changed:clamping surface, fastener quality, dovetail clamp geometry
    What others should know:These rings did not do well at all on a magnum springer with a full size scope. I've been installing scopes on hunting, benchrest, and competition rifles and pistols of all types for a couple decades, so I'm not basing this review on limited experience. I bought these rings to install a Centerpoint 3-9x40 scope on a Gamo Silent Cat. Initially the rings seemed OK, about what would be expected for the price. Installation went pretty straight forward except for the oddball weird size of the hex heads on the screws... 2.5mm was too small, 3mm too big, and none of my non-metric allen wrenches in 1/64" increments fit correctly either (neither did the wrench that came with the mounts). I substituted the RING screws with some better quality screws with 3mm hex heads, so that was no problem but I didn't have any alternatives to the base screws. I was able to get the bases on the dovetail good and tight I thought, including some blue loctite. Afraid to go super-hard on the torque because it is a small thread size screwing into aluminum... I've stripped more than a couple of similar setups in years past. Rear base with the recoil stop pin seated fine. Also installed the rings as tight as possible after cleaning and degreasing all surfaces. After the first 20 or so shots, I saw the scope creeping back in the rear ring a little bit. I retightened the rear ring screws which had loosened. The front ring screws were tight but the base was creeping on the dovetail. No, the clamp insert was not backwards. Upon bringing the gun in after shooting, I removed the rear ring, and it was obvious from the wear marks that the rings was clamping only on the sides of the ring and sides of the scope tube, not evenly (or at all...) around the circumference of the scope tube. I substituted some split "4x4" ring tops from another set of rings with similar geometry which fit better. Still getting creep though not as much, and stripped out one ring screw hole when retorquing a screw on the front base. These are going in the trash can. Might be OK for a low powered air rifle with a small scope. These don't seem to be any "better" than most $10 rings. Money down the drain until I either try some of the expensive BKL rings, or even more expensive Weaver adapter and some REAL rings.

    Product: BKL 1-Pc Mount, 4" Long, 1" Rings, 3/8" or 11mm Dovetail, 6 Base Screws, Matte Black

    BKL 1-Pc Mount, 4 inch Long, 1 inch Rings, 3/8 inch or 11mm Dovetail, 6 Base Screws, Matte Black
    Review entered on 2010-12-19 10:13:40

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Joel from USA on 2010-12-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:high quality screws, solid construction. Fasteners included are top quality, fit precisely, and are industry standard sizes.
    What others should know:solved the problem of scope creep on my Gamo Silent Cat. This mount will not move once installed correctly. Read the directions, use the screws to SLIGHTLY spread the mount to fit onto the dovetail(the directions say 1/4 turn at a time, but go 1/8 turn, it doesn't take much) then position it and remove the screws. The mount seemed secure under just it's own tension, without the six screws! I had the anodizing on top of the mount "crack" slightly when I spread the mount with the screws. I am using it with a 3-9x40 Centerpoint illuminated reticle. When the scope sits in the rings, there is 1 millimeter of clearance between the mount and the bottom of the turret housing. Clearance is clearance, and as long as there is some it's OK. If you have a scope with a fat turret housing, there might not be enough room. It is expensive, but you get what you pay for.

    Product: Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct

    Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct
    Review entered on 2011-12-25 11:00:53

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Joel from USA on 2011-12-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Price
    What others should know:these shoot quite nice in my Gamo Silent Stalker gas piston gun. There is a noticeable difference in fit between some of the pellets--- some load very easily, others are a bit tighter. There might be one or two thousandths difference in head diameter. They are PLENTY accurate for soup can plinking and "break in". So far I've been able to shoot many five-shot groups at 25 yards less than 1.5 inches. Better than several other more expensive pellets.

    Product: RWS Super-H-Point .22 Cal, 14.2 Grains, Hollowpoint, 250ct

    RWS Super-H-Point .22 Cal, 14.2 Grains, Hollowpoint, 250ct
    Review entered on 2011-12-25 11:06:30

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Joel from USA on 2011-12-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:very accurate in my rifle
    What others should know:5-shot groups at 25 yards under one inch from my Gamo Silent Stalker gas piston rifle. Best group was 0.583".... VERY good performance on bird-feeder thieves.

    Product: Gamo Silent Stalker Whisper IGT Air Rifle

    Gamo Silent Stalker Whisper IGT Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-12-26 16:59:11

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Joel from USA on 2011-12-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:power, noise level, accuracy
    Things I would have changed:better trigger--- even though this "new" trigger from Gamo is better than the previous generation of plastic triggers. Plan on buying a decent scope, the scopes Gamo ships with their rifles are pretty horrible.
    What others should know: I have a Gamo "Silent Cat" in 177, and this is basically the same rifle but with the Gas Piston powerplant instead of a spring. The difference is huge. I wanted a 22 cal, and like my silent cat enough that I was going to buy one of those to match my 177. The IGT piston is a giant improvement. Just like any other springer, it is sensitive to hold style. Find the sweet spot and use a gentle artillery hold, and it shoots great. Try a bunch of different pellets to find what it likes. I have shot several 0.600 inch groups at 25 yards so far. I put a BKL one piece mount on it, with a CenterPoint 3-9x/40 scope. Rock solid. Same mount I use with other big spring guns because I got tired of messing with mounts which don't hold. Not saying that people might get lemons once in a while, but I have had excellent results with my Gamo rifles- I take my time, I'm careful, and I don't expect them to do things they can't do.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top