Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Product: Daisy Magazines for Avanti 853C and 953

    Daisy Magazines for Avanti 853C and 953
    Review entered on 2009-10-24 21:13:34

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Jim from USA on 2009-10-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Convenience, very handy to load and use.
    Things I would have changed:Two of the magazines have one chamber (the second hole on one and the fifth on the other) that is inconcentric enough that I have to jiggle them slightly to get the pellet to chamber, and yes, I did oil them. Other than that, they work perfectly - hence the 4 stars instead of 5.
    What others should know:I bought the Daisy 953 without an extra pack of magazines, thinking I would use it mainly as a single shot. My mistake - the single shot adapter is worthless for me as my fingers are too fat to get a .177 pellet loaded thru it. Using the 5-shot magazines, though, makes this gun a fun and accurate shooter. As a matter of interest, in order to use the magazines effectively, the skirt of the pellet must be pushed in the hole so that it is below the surface of the magazine with a fingernail so that the pellet neither falls out or hangs up the advance. Buy a pack of these when you buy your gun. Heck, buy two packs and throw away the single shot adapters.

    Product: AirForce CO2 Adapter, Fits Condor, Talon & Talon SS

    AirForce CO2 Adapter, Fits Condor, Talon & Talon SS
    Review entered on 2010-01-08 09:45:19

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Jim from USA on 2010-01-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Solid, well machined and fitted, STEEL construction, a great accessory for the Talon SS. I went with CO2 because most of my shooting is indoors at 10 meters, and the CO2 velocities from the 12 inch barrel fall right into the indoor range restrictions (400 - 600 fps.). I have over 600 shots downrange so far and still going strong.
    Things I would have changed:There's not much to change, this is a device that was built for one purpose and the fit and finish are exemplary. Great way to enjoy the Talon.
    What others should know:I gave it 4 stars overall because the actuating pin in the back of the adapter (the pin that opens the valve on the CO2 tank) was too short - CO2 gas would not enter the adapter, and the gun would not fire (and no, it wasn't the tank, I tried it on 3 different tanks - only one gave even a faint his as the adapter was screwed down tight). Being a resourceful chap, I looked around for a means to get it to work (I hate waiting for returns from manufacturers, I wanted to shoot immediately!). It turns out that the cup from a fired small rifle primer, with the anvil removed and the combustion residue cleaned out, fit over the end of the valve pin on the CO2 tank and provided enough additional length to get the gas flowing. It's working GREAT now and I wouldn't trade it back now for anything!

    Product: AirForce Talon SS CO2, Adapter, 12-oz. CO2 Tank

    AirForce Talon SS CO2, Adapter, 12-oz. CO2 Tank Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-01-08 09:55:32

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jim from USA on 2010-01-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Everything! This is my first adult (read expensive) airgun, and it lives up to my wildest expectations!
    Things I would have changed:I'd like to see some accessories aimed specifically at the CO2 tanks, like a cheekpiece (the tank gets cold) and a rubber butt pad to keep the back of the bottle from slipping around on your shoulder. Minor quibbles, the gun shoots GREAT!
    What others should know:This gun is fantastic for just general shooting. It's light, compact, and accurate. Since I do most of my shooting indoors at 10 meters, I found the trigger to be acceptable out of the box and getting better with use, even if it's not technically a target trigger. The SS shroud gives me sufficient separation with open sights for target accuracy, although I did have to fabricate a front sight base to get the sight up enough to use. I did hang a barrel weight on the end of the lower dovetail, the gun is just a tad muzzle light to hang right (personal preference, you might find it acceptable as is). No regrets, this gun is worth every penny.

    Product: Daisy Powerline 953 TargetPro

    Daisy Powerline 953 TargetPro Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-02-24 11:04:19

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jim from USA on 2010-02-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy! I wasn't expecting much when I got it, but the gun has proven me wrong. This is the best value-for-price gun I've ever seen.
    Things I would have changed:SIGHTS! The sights that come with the gun suck! A rifle that shoots this good deserves good sights. Of course, if Daisy offered an upgrade kit that included a decent set of target sights and maybe a better trigger, they would have to price it above the 853 or it would undercut the sales of their "real" target rifle.
    What others should know:With the right pellet (my best so far is the JSB Exact Match Heavy, .452mm head diameter) this rifle will shoot in the 9-ring on the AR-5 bull. For an entry-level rifle that doesn't sport a fancy German barrel, that's phenomenal! It does almost as good with Crosman Premier Lights. As for the trigger, let's just say that it's a good way to learn self-control! It'll never be great, but it can be manageable. Mine seems to have improved with (lots of) use, but that may just be that I've gotten better at shooting it.

    Product: Crosman Challenger PCP & CO2 Rifle, No Sights

    Crosman Challenger PCP & CO2 Rifle, No Sights Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-08-21 10:11:11

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jim from USA on 2010-08-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I have yet to find anything I don't like about this gun! Although I'm not an Olympic class shooter, with this gun I could get there.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:Although this gun has a plastic stock, there is no chance of mistaking it for a toy. It's a big, beefy gun with plenty to hang on to. The multiple adjustments make it easy to customize to your own body size and shooting style, which brings me to the main point - does it shoot? Well, yes. It meets the primary target rifle criteria, the rifle shoots much better than I can! I shoot primarily CO2 in this gun, indoors, at 10 meters. Experimentation from a solid bench rest with various pellets (over 20 brands/sizes tried) showed that the gun prefers RWS R10 Match pellets, 7.0 grains. With these pellets, groups (10 shot) of about 2 pellet diameters or less are easily achieved. Unfortunately, those groups are much more difficult to achieve while shooting offhand, but that is a shooter problem. I recommend this rifle highly. Unless you are in the top one tenth of one percent of the shooters in the world, you'll never need another gun.

    Product: Daisy Avanti 747 Triumph Match

    Daisy Avanti 747 Triumph Match Air gun
    Review entered on 2012-01-23 11:00:41

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jim from USA on 2012-01-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Weight (it's heavy), balance, accuracy, ease of use.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger is gritty and inconsistent, maybe it will get better after a few tins of pellets. The rear sight is plastic, which I don't like just on principal. I will wait and see how it holds up in use.
    What others should know:I am a firearms instructor, mainly dealing with new shooters. In my location the range is a long drive for most students, we have high and gusting winds about half the year, and ammunition (here and everywhere) is expensive. I bought the gun so I could do training indoors (a 10-meter range is available), and so I could better demonstrate the effects of trigger control and follow through without having to be concerned that recoil was covering up the errors as the shot broke. In addition, I was looking for an economical gun I could recommend for my students that they could practice with without having to drive to the range. Got it in one. The 747 is accurate, the grip angle is similar to the sport and defensive pistols the students are buying, and accuracy is excellent for a gun in this price range. It is not an Olympic contender, but it suits my requirements perfectly. Initial response from my students has been very positive, with one new gun ordered and several others pending. I can recommend this pistol to anyone who wants to improve their skill.

    Product: Daisy Avanti 747 Triumph Match

    Daisy Avanti 747 Triumph Match Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-10-14 10:25:14

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jim from USA on 2013-10-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Sights are good, accuracy is excellent. Balance and feel in the hand are good.
    Things I would have changed:Have had experience with 3 of these within the last year. All three started to leak before the end of the first tin of pellets. Sending them back to Daisy would result in a gun that worked for a short while, then begin to leak again. Daisy needs to redesign the valve on these guns.
    What others should know:Based on my experience, I cannot recommend this pistol.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top