Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Beeman P17

    Beeman P17 Air gun
    Review entered on 2008-06-04 12:01:39

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Vick from USA on 2008-06-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Light weight and balance. Good trigger. Direct, into chamber, loading. Solid feel. Reasonable accuracy most of the time. See "Things I would change."
    Things I would have changed:1. Air charge is somewhat inconsistent, leading to poor accuracy in some shots. 2. Cocking effort is heavy.
    What others should know:1. This came with the Beeman label instead of Marksman. Same gun. 2. Maintenance information - especially in regard to lubrication - was inadequate.

    Product: Predator Polymag .22 Cal, 16.0 Grains, Pointed, 200ct

    Predator International Predator Polymag .22 Cal, 16.0 Grains, Pointed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2010-02-02 16:13:59

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-02-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy in my RWS 48 was better than any other pellet. Velocity was significantly higher than even the Beeman Silver Bear (a lighter pellet).
    Things I would have changed:Price and packaging - as always
    What others should know:.177 Preditors may not give higher velocity than conventional pellets.You can't generalize from .22 to .177.

    Product: Predator Polymag .177 Cal, 8.0 Grains, Pointed, 200ct

    Predator International Predator Polymag .177 Cal, 8.0 Grains, Pointed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2010-02-02 16:20:09

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-02-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Outstanding accuracy and consistency from RWS 34 and Beeman P1. Velocity lower than Beeeman Silver Bear (quite the opposite of performance in .22). All things considered, I prefer accuracy to velocity for both target and hunting.
    Things I would have changed:As always, price and packaging.
    What others should know:Preditors seem to give significantly higher velocity than conventional lead pellets in the larger .22 caliber spring-air guns - while also giving outstanding accuracy.

    Product: Benjamin Trail NP Nitro Piston Hardwood air rifle

    Benjamin Trail NP Nitro Piston Hardwood air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-02-20 19:07:31

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-02-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The Trail NP seems to be a well made, lightweight rifle. a joy to carry in the field. It has adequate (not spectacular) velocity for hunting. It certainly looks neat and squared away with sharp, cut checkering (rare on a rifle this cheap) and nice touches such as sling hardware already installed and a so-so, but serviceable synthetic sling that I replaced with a leather cobra sling. Its best feature is light weight; it weighs only 7 lbs 14 ounces with scope and leather sling.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger is the worst I have ever encountered - worst than early Chinese POS air guns. The last stage requires about 0.375 inches of scrapey creep ending in an inconsistent let-off. If I didn't have 30 years of experience with springers, I wouldn't be able to hit the side of the barn with this gun. From inside the barn.
    What others should know: Accuracy is nothing to brag about. With extreme care, I can keep shots in1/2 inch at 10 yards but any inconsistency results in wild fliers. I'm used to being careful with the accuracy robbing recoil of springers. My RWS 34, Diana 48/52 and Feinwerkbau 124 will all group inside 1/4 inch at 30 yards. Velocity claimed is with 9.1 grain Raptor pellets, not lead. The Trail clocks 734 with the 1.43 grain domed Premier. My Diana 48/52 gets 790 with the same pellet. That isn't a crime, just commercial dishonesty. Despite claims that the gas-sprung piston is smoother shooting, it compares poorly with any of my several other springers, including 3rd world POSs. This puppy kicks. Be prepared. The hold for each shot must be absolutely consistent. Part of that is a trade-off for the light weight. Part is failure to choke the barrel adequately.

    Product: Benjamin Trail NP Nitro Piston Hardwood air rifle

    Benjamin Trail NP Nitro Piston Hardwood air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-03-02 20:08:43

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-03-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The Trail NP is a lightweight, reasonably powerful, good looking gun. The thumbhole stock points naturally for my size, having a long 14 inch pull. It has sharp, cut checkering, unusual on a gun this cheap. The combination of light weight and power were the main selling point for me.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger needs serious work and recoil is heavier than the power and light weight of this rifle justify. The trigger is deplorable and inexcusable. It has at lease 5/8" of creepy, grainy travel after taking up the first stage. Good triggers are not hard to make, but this one is like one on my 12 year old Chinese knockoff made in a Red Army factory for training troops. Atrocious Firing behavior is rough even after break-in and with a full-sized scope mounted. It has a heavy recoil compared to Diana 34 and Diana 48/52. The air piston does not help much. This is partly one of the costs of light weight but also probably due to the failure of the manufacturer to choke the barrel. Choking would smooth out the recoil and increase velocity.
    What others should know:And speaking of velocity, the claimed 950 fps is for 9.9 grain Gamo Raptor pellets which are useless for accuracy or expansion. Reporting the velocity from over-light pellets is nothing short of commercial dishonesty. With real lead pellets, the velocity goes down, although it is not too shabby. Beeman Silver Bears (12.7 gr) clock around 780 with a standard deviation of over 12 fps, quick drop-off of velocity and questionable accuracy. This pellet is too light for the Trail NP. Crossman Premier Super Domes (14.5 gr.) get 710 fps with an SD of 9. Accurcy is not bad and it has a good ballistic curve. The best pellet I have tested is the RWS Super Dome (14.3 gr.) which also clocks 710 but has a really good SD of 4 fps and accuracy at both short and long range. (All velocity tested with a Chrony Alpha, 5 feet from the muzzle.) You CAN get decent accuracy from the Trail NP, but it requires really good form, especially absolutely consistent holds to tame the heavy recoil. The long, rough trigger pull requires patience to master. Don't draw conclusions until you have put 200 rounds or more through it. It gets better, but it will never match a Diana 48/52 or 34. On the other hand, it weighs barely 8 pounds w/scope and leather cobra sling against 11#+ for the Diana 48/52 with scope and leather sling. And a little Birchwood Casey True Oil makes the stock look really good.

    Product: Beeman Silver Bear .22 Cal, 12.65 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct

    Beeman Silver Bear .22 Cal, 12.65 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct
    Review entered on 2010-03-02 20:26:20

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-03-02
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:An OK pellet for underpowered guns. It gives adequate accuracy and expansion at close range.
    Things I would have changed:Weight and velocity vary* too much for long range accuracy, besides which it doesn't have the ballistic efficiency of longer, heavier domed rounds. At 780 fps, the standard deviation is 12.6 fps, relatively high for precision pellets.
    What others should know:Silver Bears turn themselves inside out at close range and give good expansion at longer ranges. However, they are so light they can fail to completely penetrate game animals Since air guns kill by disrupting the central nervous system or by causing hemorage, it is important to go through as much tissue as possible to increase bleeding. If you have a full-power gun and want hollowpoint terminal performance, consider RWS or HN.

    Product: Benjamin Trail NP Nitro Piston Hardwood air rifle

    Benjamin Trail NP Nitro Piston Hardwood air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-03-06 22:01:12

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-03-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:A good-looking gun with a stock that really responds to a True Oil treatment. Plenty of power in a light weight package for a big springer. My RWS 48/52 outweighs it by 4.5 pounds. So the NP Trail is the gun for hauling around in the field.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger is creepy and has a very long pull. You can master it with practice, but.... Bench accuracy, properly supported, is not so good. Lots of recoil and vibration. A choked barrel would improve that.
    What others should know:I got the best accuracy with RWS super domes and Beeman Silver Bears. Crossman Premier Domes gave shotgun patterns. The best accuracy after break-in is 3/4" at 10 meters so far with both Beeman and RWS

    Product: Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 625ct

    Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 625ct
    Review entered on 2010-03-11 12:36:49

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:1.0 1.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-03-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It maintains velocity well, and it's cheap.
    Things I would have changed:Better quality control: Weight is inconsistent. Weight measured on a digital grain scale found that half the pellets were within +/- 0.1 grain of the posted weight; but 25 percent were up to 0.4 grains light and 25 percent were up to 0.3 grains heavy. Standard deviation in chronographed velocity was nearly 10 fps at 711 fps average and 12 fps at 820fps average.
    What others should know:This is a good, cheap short-range plinker. Groups open up fast above 10 yards. I would reserve it for inanimate targets where it gives plenty of bang for the buck.

    Product: RWS Superdome .22 Cal, 14.5 Grains, Domed, 250ct

    RWS Superdome .22 Cal, 14.5 Grains, Domed, 250ct
    Review entered on 2010-03-11 17:44:16

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-03-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Perfection in a can. Accurate for both short and long range. very uniform: weight varies less than 4/100th of a grain, standard deviation of velocity from a gun delivering at 711 fps is only 2.7 fps. Single hole accuracy at 10 yards.
    Things I would have changed:Clean them up and maybe eliminate the scoring on the skirt.
    What others should know:Shoot this pellet at 50 yards to find out how good your gun really is. It rewards good shooting and can probably make you a better shot.

    Product: Crosman Silicone Chamber Oil

    Crosman Silicone Chamber Oil
    Review entered on 2010-03-26 20:34:37

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-03-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The small tube is a reminder to use only one drop. It is adequate for many applications and takes up little room in the shot bag. This is at least as good and maybe better than any other chamber oil on the market.
    Things I would have changed:The label should warn users to use only one drop IN LARGE LETTERS. This stuff resists dieseling, but not if you put in two or more drops. It shouldn't ever diesel, but it does. What may be happening is it gets hot enough to ignite residual lubricants that get into the chamber from other parts of the gun. Or maybe it has some volitile fraction that can ignite. I don't know. Then again, every other chamber oil I have ever used will diesel - if you overdose with it.
    What others should know:When you open a new (250) tin of pellets or every 200 rounds, whichever comes first, put only one (1) drop in the chamber. Dieseling from a little too much oil is not usually a disaster. Most guns will handle a limited amount. However, it tends to foul the barrel and even leave lead in the barrel. That wrecks accuracy. Sooner or later, it will blow out the seals. Avoid it if you can.

    Product: Avenger 1100

    Avenger 1100 Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-04-21 20:05:47

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-04-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Bottom line: This is a dandy, lightweight springer. World class trigger, decent accuracy, light weight, smooth firing behavior reasonable power, good wood, precise fitting around metal, butt pad and spacers, nice cut checkering. Comes with two inspectors' reports and a velocity check, although at 835 fps, it must have been taken when the gun was still dieselling.
    Things I would have changed:1. Make the fine Mendoza receiver sight standard. But the simple Partridge sight supplied is better than some reviews would have you believe once it is sighted in and the notch widened for easier target acquisition. 2. Clean up the compression cylinder before shipping: it dieselled for a good 500 shots.
    What others should know:This is the Mendoza 600 with a simpler rear sight and lower price. OK if you plan to scope it anyway. If you plan to use open sights, the Mendoza 600 has the good sights and will cost maybe a little less than putting better sights on the Avenger. It will diesel for a long time. You just have to break it in. It has a lot of spring vibration, but that is easy to solve by coating the spring with silicone plumber's grease and a dusting of molybdenum disulfide powder. You can do that through the cocking slot with a popscicle stick without removing the spring. Cocking will feel gritty until it breaks in. On the other hand, the trigger is silk smooth, crisp and precise from the first shot. Accuracy improves after the dieselling stops. It will need a good barrel scrubbing with Hoppe's #9 or an equivalent solvent to clean out fouling from burned oil and lead deposited because of the heat and friction of dieselling. After you clean it up, you can expect decent accuracy. Mine is punching about 1/4" ctc at 10 m at 710 fps with RWS hollowpoints, less well with some other pellets. Mine does not like JSBs. They give very low velocity although they weigh less than the RWS. (JSBs are great in some of my other guns.)

    Product: RWS Super-H-Point .22 Cal, 14.2 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct

    RWS Super-H-Point .22 Cal, 14.2 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct
    Review entered on 2010-04-22 18:38:55

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-04-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The most accurate pellet in my Avenger 1000/Mendoza 600. Consistent, flawless, good at longer ranges. 1/3" ctc at 15 yards.
    Things I would have changed:nothing. The tin is fine. No one in their right mind wags a 500 count tin around. The Container Store has snap lid plastic 'pill boxes' that hold 100 pellets comfortably with less damage than a full tin.
    What others should know:Lighter hollowpoints exist, but they won't reach out to 50 yards with the energy these RWS pellets deliver.

    Product: Daisy Precision Max .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Flat-Nosed, 250ct

    Daisy Precision Max  .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Flat-Nosed, 250ct
    Review entered on 2010-04-23 14:01:59

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-04-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Cheap. OK for shooting under 15 feet.
    Things I would have changed:1. Poor weight control: 12.4 to 14.4 grains with about 1/2 within 0.3 grains of the average 13.7 grain weight, and 1/4 way over or under. I know, it's a skewed distribution, but there it is. 2. Poor accuracy at 10 meters in all of my 3 springers. 3. Skirts are often deformed.
    What others should know:Not a good value for folks who care about accuracy. Cheap enough to experiment with; surely some gun will shoot them straight. You might have the lucky one.

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo RS .22 Cal, 13.43 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo RS .22 Cal, 13.43 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2010-04-23 14:07:47

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-04-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:An accurate, long range pellet in some guns. May not perform well in all guns. Soft lead. Good expansion. They seem to hit harder than many others.
    What others should know:This pellet works well in my RWS 42 and Benjamin Trail NP. Both velocity and accuracy are poor from my Avenger 1000/Mendoza 600. This could be a function of the individual gun or generic to the brand. No way I can to tell.

    Product: Plano Green Camo Shooters Case - Large

    Plano Green Camo Shooters Case - Large
    Review entered on 2010-05-11 09:54:41

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-05-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Decent organizer for pellets and supplies. Large enough for most uses.
    Things I would have changed:The rifle supports do not lock down; they just sit on the box edges and are not secure enough for actually working on a gun. The single tray is not adequate for all the knick-knacks needed for gun maintenance. Two trays would be better.
    What others should know:You may need smaller boxes inside the main compartment to organize items that do not fit in the top tray. Generally the shooter case is adequate, barely, for the money.

    Product: Avenger 1100

    Avenger 1100 Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-05-11 15:29:09

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-05-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The best value in a powerful fun that is made of hard field use. Accuracy, light weight, reasonable power, nice wood, metal trigger guard. It came with two inspections and firing tests with velocity recorded (pellets unspecified). The trigger is world class, the best I have encountered. The safety is also great. It can be taken on and off without recocking the gun. Velocity with legitimate pellets such as 14.5 grain RWS hollowpoints is in the low 700s after break-in. Accuracy with quality pellets is excellent. It groups well under 0.25 inches ctc at 50 feet with open sights. That is about as tight as my Diana 34 and Feinwerkbau 124 in .177 and my Diana 48 in .22. My particular Mendoza likes RWS Superdome and H-Points. It does not like the 13.43 grain JSB Match Diabolo Exact, maybe because the barrel is a little large. Velocity with JSBs is way off compared even to heavier pellets. Of course, individual guns may produce different results.
    Things I would have changed:All Mendozas seem to diesel for the first few hundred shots. A good cleaning and lubrication with a non-volatile oil before shipping would be appreciated. (What does the factory use for chamber oil, vegetable oil?) It leaves a lot of gunk in the barrel when it deisels. Spring action would benefit from a spring gel. Choking the barrel would reduce the rather sharp firing noise that these guns make even after break-in.
    What others should know:If you are looking for a good hunting/plinking gun to wag around the fields, look no more. Forget the conventional wisdom that field guns don't need the accuracy of a target gun. Tell that to wounded animals. A hunter needs to hit the target. The Mendoza does it just as well as my Feinwerkbau 124. Some have complained about the primative open sights. Give them a chance before messing with a scope. After you get the rear sight adjusted, it is bombproof. The fiber-optic assist, front and rear is a nice touch and works very well in messy light conditions and complicated backgrounds. Give it plenty of breakin time. Mine took 500 rounds before it stopped dieselling entirely. Clean the barrel first and often thereafter; the dieselling leaves a lot of residue. Use a good quality silicone chamber oil after about 250 rounds. The gun may diesel for a while after that, but I suspect it needs oiling before the round count reaches 500. Mendoza really needs to fix that. It may upset your neighbors. Use a quality airgun spring oil on the spring, maybe with some molybdenum disulfide powder, to smooth and quieten the spring.

    Product: Beeman Ballistic Putty, 5 lbs.

    Beeman Ballistic Putty, 5 lbs.
    Review entered on 2010-05-21 20:50:32

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-05-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Quiet, effective, durable. It traps lead instead of splashing particles around. So it's safe to use indoors. And no riccochets. Unless you stack too many pellets, it is the quietest trap. You can put it in any container. I have an indoor target made by packing a 2" layer into a cedar cigar box. There are many good designs for putty holders, or use any sturdy wooden box. It will need replacing after a few thousand (or tens of thousands) rounds. If your community has a hazmat disposal program, take it there.
    Things I would have changed:Bring the price down.
    What others should know:Eventually you will need to dig out wads of fused pellets under your target spots. Although paper will adhere to the putty when new, you will need to use pins when the surface stops being sticky.

    Product: Beeman .22 Cal, 15.2 Grains, Round Nose, 175ct

    Beeman .22 Cal, 15.2 Grains, Round Nose, 175ct
    Review entered on 2010-05-21 21:17:04

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-05-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked: Clean, uniform in shape and weight.
    Things I would have changed:More pellets per can.
    What others should know:The pellets I received weighed 15 gn instead of 15.2, but they did not vary from 15 gn significantly. They are accurate in RWS 42, Benjamin Trail, Mendoza 600/Avenger 1100, but guns vary.

    Product: RWS Hobby .22 Cal, 11.9 Grains, Wadcutter, 250ct

    RWS Hobby .22 Cal, 11.9 Grains, Wadcutter, 250ct
    Review entered on 2010-05-21 21:25:15

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-05-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I WANTED a junk plinking wadcutter. What I GOT was a very accurate pellet. They are uniform in shape and weight, tested on a digital scale. They beat the socks off domestic pellets. One hole groups at 50 feet are not unusual in any of my guns with this round, though individual guns vary.
    Things I would have changed:Clean them up. They leave lead on fingers, but better than some.
    What others should know:Don't let the "hobby" designation fool you. These are gooood pellets.

    Product: Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2010-06-04 13:19:39

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:1.0 1.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-06-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Nothing. An inaccurate pellet in Benjamin Trail NP, Avenger 1100/Mendoza 600, and RWS 48. Shotgun patterns. Maybe something shoots them well, but I don't have it.
    Things I would have changed:Weight variation on digital scale is unacceptable. Variable dimensions.
    What others should know:A miss is as good as a mile in shooting. Spend a little more money and get better pellets. Better pellets will reward you; like for example, they will hit the target.

    Product: Art of Airgun Collecting by Robert D. Beeman, 23 Pages, Reprint

    Blue Book Art of Airgun Collecting by Robert D. Beeman, 23 Pages, Reprint
    Review entered on 2010-06-04 13:34:07

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-06-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:A must-have for garage sale ghosts. Is that old Red Rider with the metal lever worth anything? You bet!
    Things I would have changed:The last time I checked, Dr. Beeman was dead and has been for a long time, so he won't be making any changes.
    What others should know:A thin pamplet with some interesting information. Not for serious collectors, but it will serve to inform the ignorant, like me.

    Product: Beeman Ballistic Putty, 5 lbs.

    Beeman Ballistic Putty, 5 lbs.
    Review entered on 2010-06-04 13:44:40

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-06-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:See my earlier review.
    Things I would have changed:1. I would like to know how to make ballistic putty.Until I figure it out... 2. PYRAMID should promote this stuff as the first choice for pellet traps. It is the safest trap in terms of toxicity and recochet. But you have to search for it on the web site or already know about it to find it.
    What others should know:1. Get 10 pounds - two 5 pound blocks. You will end up making more than one trap. 2. For .22 pellets, use at least 2". If you shoot tight groups, they will drill through a thinner layer. It will stop .177 pellets reliably with 1.25", but 1.5" gives a margin of error. 3. Dig out the old lead periodically and dispose of if responsibly. A mass of lead is not a good backstop.

    Product: Crosman High Velocity Super Sonic Pellets .177 Cal, 4.0 Grains, Hollowpoint, Lead-Free, 250ct

    Crosman High Velocity Super Sonic Pellets .177 Cal, 4.0 Grains, Hollowpoint, Lead-Free, 250ct
    Review entered on 2010-07-05 15:02:49

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-07-05
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Gives outstanding velocity from pistols and maybe low-powered rifles. Velocity and accuracy are OK up to 50 feet. The hollowpoint seems to create a large, temporary wound channel despite the fact that the pellet does not expand.
    Things I would have changed:You can't do much to change this pellet that wouldn't make it useless. If heavier, it would be inferior to quality lead pellets.
    What others should know:Accuracy at supersonic velocity is poor (well, ok...atrocious), especially at ranges longer than about 20 yards because the pellet slows very quickly and becomes transonic - and that means lots of turbulence to drive it off target. Fired at subsonic velocity from a pistol such as the Beeman P1, it gives decent short range accuracy, adequate for popping small game at moderate pistol range. Velocity from my P1 averages 935 fps 5 feet from the muzzel. I have not measured the downrange velocity, but accuracy falls apart above about 50 feet, so velocity is a moot point. A miss is as good as a mile.

    Product: Leapers Golden Image Red/Green Dot Sight, 1" Tube, Weaver & 11mm Dovetail Combo

    UTG Leapers Golden Image Red/Green Dot Sight, 1 inch Tube, Weaver & 11mm Dovetail Combo
    Review entered on 2010-07-08 18:30:18

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-07-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Seems well made with bright, small dots giving the option of red or green.
    Things I would have changed:Parallas is set for 100 yards or so making the scope unuseable at air gun ranges. slight movement of the eye moves the point of aim significantly. The factory should adjust the parallax for 20 yards or thereabouts for airgunners.
    What others should know:Don't bother. This scope will give poor accuracy because of parallax, and the parallax setting is not user adjustable.

    Product: BSA AR 2-7x32 Rifle Scope

    BSA AR 2-7x32 Rifle Scope
    Review entered on 2010-07-12 17:58:04

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Vick from USA on 2010-07-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:A useful scope at an amazing price. It has held up so far and does what it is supposed to do.
    Things I would have changed:nada
    What others should know:The parallax ring is indexed for feet, not yards, at least on mine. If you set for '15' it is Ok at 15 feet. Set it at 45 and it will be OK at 45 feet or 15 yards. If you set it as if the index were for yards, it will neither focus properly nor will the recticle be in the same focal plane as the target.

    Product: Williams Diopter Sight

    Air Venturi Williams Diopter Sight
    Review entered on 2012-03-06 14:58:21

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Vick from USA on 2012-03-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Precise, economical, lightweight, right size aperture for me, seems durable.
    Things I would have changed:The clamp is too shallow, requiring fitting on some rifles. A choice of diopters would be nice. Allen wrenches to fit the two screw sizes would also be considerate.
    What others should know:Aperture sights are both fast and accurate to the limit of air-gun hunting ranges. They are superior to optical sights in many ways (simplicity, durability, low fiddle-factor, weight, profile), but require practice, whereas optical sights "seem" like an instant solution. (They are not, but that is another story.) The first mistake new aperture users make is to try to use a small aperture and to consciously try to center the front sight. The proper technique is to ignore a large aperture and look only at the front sight. Aiming takes care of itself. Not magic, but feels that way sometimes.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top