Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Leapers 5th Gen 3-9x32AO Bug Buster Compact Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube

    Leapers 5th Gen 3-9x32AO Bug Buster Compact Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube
    Review entered on 2009-05-28 22:36:36

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Vernon from USA on 2009-05-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Short scope that is economical and fits my RWS 34 Panther without any interference with the open sights. Only about 1/2" longer than stock RWS 4x32 scope. Because of the short eye relief there is no guessing when you are looking down the center of the scope and centered with your view. For the price, I would recommend this scope to anybody with an RWS 34 with open sights installed looking for a scope upgrade.
    Things I would have changed:Focus seems to be off or the parallax dial is way off. Illumunated cross hairs are a bit to powerful and can blind you. Center of image is very sharp but it blurs quickly once you get out of the mil-dots at lower magnification.
    What others should know:Eye relief is closer to 2 inches than 3. I'm using the UTG droop compensating adapter that uses weaver scope rings and the scope is mounted farther back than it could using the gun's scope rail and I may have to hang it off the back for a more comfortable shooting position.

    Product: UTG Scope Mount Base, Fits RWS Diana 34, 36, 38, & 45 with TO5 Trigger, Compensates for Droop & Stops Scope Shift

    UTG Scope Mount Base, Fits RWS Diana 34, 36, 38, & 45 with TO5 Trigger, Compensates for Droop & Stops Scope Shift
    Review entered on 2009-05-28 22:53:10

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Vernon from USA on 2009-05-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I was using RWS droop comepnsating scope rings with a stock RWS 4x32 scope and not having any movement and holding true. When I upgraded the scope to a heavier one, I wanted to make sure it didn't move! The weaver rings are much larger and lock in place more securely. Because my scope has short eye relief, I may hang it off the back of the scope rail and the weaver scope rings should be able to hold it without problems. I can use my open sights by looking underneath the weaver rings and thru the mount!
    Things I would have changed:To much compensation! At 20 meters I ran out of elevation compensation and shoot 1/2" to high.
    What others should know:Even with the over compensation, I'm keeping it because the weaver rings are much better in my opinion and I can still use the open sights for close in targets.

    Product: Air Venturi Pro-Guide Spring Retainer, Fits RWS Diana 34, 36, 38, 48, 52 & 54 models with TO1 or TO5 Trigger

    Air Venturi Pro-Guide Spring Retainer, Fits RWS Diana 34, 36, 38, 48, 52 & 54 models with TO1 or TO5 Trigger
    Review entered on 2010-08-17 20:59:24

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Vernon from USA on 2010-08-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Installed this into an RWS 34 Panther which is a well damped air rifle from the factory to start with. Shooting RSW Super domes it went from 926 to 940 FPS and shoots Predator PolyMags at 853 FPS (they shoot flatter for me). Analyzed audio recordings of gun before and after spring installiation. It does not make retort of the gun any quieter but it does dampen the spring noise. After the initial bang, there is less audio energy and it decays slightly quicker. You can feel the difference, what little spring bounce I had is gone. Also the spring noise from cocking is gone. If you need to replace the spring in your rifle, definately consider this. If you have a rifle that has a lot of spring vibration, get this spring now.
    Things I would have changed:Tune it for the heavier pellets.
    What others should know:The Panther has a synthetic stock that does not vibrate like some of the wooden ones do. The improvement should be much greater for those guns.

    Product: Diana RWS 460 Magnum

    Diana RWS 460 Magnum Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-03-01 23:16:56

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Vernon from USA on 2011-03-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I just received the rifle today! I dithered between the RWS 350 and 460 but decided after reading the reviews that the 460 would be less hold sensitive. The gun has a slim stock, feels good in the hands like my RWS 34 Panther, and has good balance. Cocking doesn’t seem too bad but after the first few but it still takes some force so younger adults may find this rifle difficult to cock. I cleaned the rifle barrel of the usual grease and gunk and did my first test firing of the gun. First shot was puny, next one was much better, and by the 10 th I could tell it was putting out some serious power. I used the open sights because I got the wrong UTG adapter and couldn't mount my scope but I was holding true at 10 meters using .22 21.85 grain Kodiaks. I can’t measure the speed but from previous experience it’s firing faster than 700 fps but less than 900 fps so I doubt the claimed speeds are true. After cleaning the gun again I fired some 14.5 grain lighter RWS Superdomes and you can feel the difference in the rifle, a lot less kick and noise. It’s too early to tell which pellet and weight I’ll use but it seems like the gun isn’t that picky.
    Things I would have changed:I know the cocking release level is there to protect your fingers but it's kind of a pain to use and I wonder if it’s really necessary. Barrel is thinner that my RWS 34 but you don't cock the rifle with the barrel. Something I've found myself doing is holding the barrel while cocking which might be a problem in the future. I don’t like the finish on my stock at all. Unlike all the photos I’ve seen of the gun, mine is a dark brown and way over stained. It’s not bad but I expected more from seeing other RWS rifles. Synthetic stock. Deadens vibration better and is more dimensionally stable.
    What others should know:When I get the right UTG scope mount I can mount my scope and verify the nice tight groups at 10 meters can be reproduced at 20 and 30 meters. I know this is a hunting rifle but I expect it to have great accuracy like most RWS rifles have.

    Product: Diana RWS 34P air rifle

    Diana RWS 34P air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-03-01 23:51:42

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Vernon from USA on 2011-03-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:I use my gun primarily for pest control and target practice. I seldom hunt with it but I’ve taken squirrels in the gardens at 20 meters with head shots that dropped them instantly. I’ve actually missed on head shots and took them out with body shots that usually drops them in a few seconds. Synthetic stock dampens vibrations and is well balanced. Fits the hands well and is easy to grip. Accuracy is superb. At 20 meters with using a rest, I can touch the center dot and have each shot touch each other. Not picky with pellets, I can shoot RWS Superdomes and switch to Polymags and use the same scope position. Trigger is excellent and I really like the feel, there’s no guessing when you come to the second stage.
    Things I would have changed:I replaced the factory spring with one of Pyramid's Pro Guide springs after about a thousand shots. This helped this well dampened rifle have even less vibration.
    What others should know:Gun is sensitive to hold and trigger pull. The best position I've found is to lay it in your hand just past the trigger guard (artillery hold) and make sure you pull the trigger straight back. Make your own front sight shroud from a piece of 3/4” conduit or 1/2” copper pipe. Sights are not bad but they’re too big for much past 10 meters. If you mount a scope remove the front and back sight to make it easier to cock the gun. According to Umarex, apply a few drops of oil to the chamber about every 200-400 shots. They told me that even if you over oil the gun (not to the point of dieseling) that after about 50 shots the excess oil is blown out. Keep the barrel clean. My gun seems to be very sensitive to build up in the barrel. I usually clean with a plastic brush every 100 shots or so with alcohol followed by wipes to maintain accuracy. I use the RWS cleaning plugs but have found better success making my own from heavy duty felt. I generally insert the cleaning plugs sideways to better clean the barrel. My primary pellet is the RWS Superdome and occasionally a polymag. When I start to loose accuracy I clean the barrel. When I start to lose power, I add a drop or two to the chamber.

    Product: UTG 5th Gen 4-16x40 AO Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, Weaver Rings

    UTG 5th Gen 4-16x40 AO Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube, Weaver Rings
    Review entered on 2011-04-04 00:12:31

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Vernon from USA on 2011-04-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Great scope for the price, I didn’t intend to buy a new scope so I needed one that I could easily afford. Optics is very clear from 4-16 magnification and it’s decent in low light levels. I wouldn’t use it alone at night but it works well in twilight and I have no problems picking out objects 30 yards away with ambient artificial light. When I hold the rifle consistently, I can nail crosshairs at 25 meters (81 feet) and maintain nickel size or better groupings.
    Things I would have changed:I wish it were a little shorter. This is particular to my gun but the scope is long enough I had to mount it even with the loading port to keep from interfering with it and this is one of the shorter 1” scopes.
    What others should know:Seems to have more eye relief than listed but I’ve been using scopes that have far less so it could just be me. Seems to need fairly good distance setting and the scale seems accurate. I’ve got it focused so the moment I come into focus I know I’ve got the distance set correctly to avoid parallax. I frequently find myself shooting around the center which means I’m not adjusted correctly. I would give this 5 stars but on the first scope the red illumination of the cross hair quit I had on the gun in a week. Optically the scope stayed centered and the replacement scope seems to be holding up fine.

    Product: Predator Polymag .22 Cal, 16.0 Grains, Pointed, 200ct

    Predator International Predator Polymag .22 Cal, 16.0 Grains, Pointed, 200ct
    Review entered on 2011-07-17 23:55:43

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Vernon from USA on 2011-07-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Flatter trajectory. I ran out of elevation compensation using other standard pellets until I switched to the Predators in my RWS 460. Ballistic curve had only half the drop the other pellets I was using at 105 yards. When I hit the water filled pop can it split the can open a good two inches on entry which means I should have been able to take a squirrel down at that distance humanely.
    Things I would have changed:Doubling the count in a can would be nice. It would be even nicer to add a screw on lid. A lower cost would be nice also but I don't mind paying a premium price for a pellet that I know delivers premium performance.
    What others should know:When I was shooting at 105 yards I had a variable side/head wind and the temperature was in the 90s and you could see the heat waves coming off the ground. Didn’t affect the performance of the pellet at all, it didn’t wobble or tumble and the entry hole was round. I normally don’t use this pellet unless I’m targeting larger varmints or longer distances. At close distances or small animals the pellet will go right thru them. From pellets I’ve recovered, virtually all expanded inside the animal.

    Product: Hill Pump MK3, Up to 3300 PSI

    Hill Pump MK3, Up to 3300 PSI
    Review entered on 2011-09-26 14:00:43

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Vernon from USA on 2011-09-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.04 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I got a Hill MK3 pump because the farm is 100 miles from the nearest filling place. I completely emptied a Sam Yang dual tank Dragon Claw rifle to see how long it would take me to fill the gun by pumping and it took 700 pumps to reach 3000 psi. From 2000 to 2500 psi takes 100 pumps and you have to stop to let the pump cool down. 2500-3000 psi takes closer to 120 pumps and takes quite a bit of effort on both the up and down stroke. I had been filling the gun inside an air conditioned house without using the desiccant. When I went to the farm, the humidity increased throughout the day and I swear it got harder to pump the more humid it got. I never did see any water vapor from the gun on any of my shots so that indicates to me the desiccant was adequately removing the water vapor.
    Things I would have changed:Pump does what it’s supposed to do, produce high pressure at low volume. In 80°F weather I can do 50 strokes at 2000-3000 psi before the pump gets warm. Change the hose length, 1 foot is way to short! Make the base bigger. It works but you have to be on something hard, on anything slighty soft you start burying the pump.
    What others should know:If filling a gun from zero pressure, you can pump a couple hundred times before the pump gets warm. When you get the pump, take off the bottom brass guide of the outer cover and check for debris. Mine had a piece of the o-ring in the threads.

    Product: Air Venturi .50 Cal, 200 Grains, Solid Core, Soft Lead, Round Nose, 50ct

    Air Venturi .50 Cal, 200 Grains, Solid Core, Soft Lead, Round Nose, 50ct
    Review entered on 2011-09-27 12:08:56

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Vernon from USA on 2011-09-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Good soft lead bullet that doesn’t breakup on impact. At 50 yards I recovered bullets from a dry phone book and all were intact. The bullets deform on impact flattening a little and getting shorter. The skirt area gets smaller than the head of the bullet and the side of the bullet that hits first gets the most deformation. I shot into a barrel liner filled with water to recover some bullets at 50 yards. Even in water, the skirt area is slightly smaller, the head slightly bigger, and you can tell which side of the bullet hit first. Bullets seem to be accurate and repeatable to within roughly 1” from where I was aiming. They don’t foul the bore much either. I leave a couple of these on my desk and when people pick them up and ask what they are, I tell them there from my little pellet gun. It’s worth it to see the look on their faces!
    Things I would have changed:I’d like to see these offered in a lighter (and cheaper) version just for target shooting and for small animal pest control. Possible offer a ribbed Keith style bullet that would offer less barrel resistance?
    What others should know:I don’t know if the bullet deformation would cause it to tumble or not track straight once it hit an animal. I was shooting at four milk jugs in a row and the bullet seemed to track straight thru all four. If someone knows, could they please comment?

    Product: Dragon Claw Dual Tank Air Rifle

    Sam Yang Dragon Claw 500cc Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-10-27 21:20:31

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Vernon from USA on 2011-10-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.06 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Dual tank, slightly less fps than single tank but does 4-5 closely spaced fps shots without resorting to using mil-dots to compensate for droop. First 5 shots use about 250 psi each and my POI seems to remain the same. I use a hand pump which is good for occasional shooting but I was wishing I had a scuba tank while sighting in the rifle! Finish of gun is good, bluing and stock are very nice. Gun is well balanced, lightweight, and is easy to hold and aim. It’s loud but not excessively loud, a cross between a black powder rifle and a .410 shotgun. I found the recoil to be light. Cocking effort was high initially but rapidly fell off. I lubed it with light oil and now it’s very smooth. Accuracy is good and improving. When I first got the gun, at 50 yards I was holding 4” center-to-center groupings. After working on the trigger, I’m down below 2.5” and can get shots within ¾” of my POI. All of my shots have been standing while using a tree to steady the rifle and I seat the bullets before firing each time. At 50 yards, 200 grain round nose bullets go 1 ½” into loosely held phone books, but the damage extends another ½” beyond and the channel is over 2” across (this is supposed to simulate shooting into bone). I’ve not shot many 225 grain HPs but they seem to have similar groupings as the 200s. I used a 3-9x32 Bug Buster and UTG mount from my RWS 34 and reversed the rail to give about ½” more eye relief. The UTG mount should let me use a 4-16x40 Leapers scope and clear the rear sight.
    Things I would have changed:Polish and lube the trigger and sear at the factory. Lighter bullets to use against smaller animals.
    What others should know:I hated the trigger when I first got the gun, it had high resistance, effort was high, and the travel was excessively long, you just pulled forever before it would fire. It took about fifteen minutes of polishing the trigger and sear, and lubing everything to get rid of this. It will never be a match trigger but now it’s smooth, I know when it will fire every time, and I keep the gun on target as I pull on the trigger. Use emery cloth and DO NOT alter your sear or trigger or you gun could become unsafe!

    Product: Air Venturi .50 Cal, 210 Grains, Balle Blondeau Flat Head, 50ct

    Air Venturi .50 Cal, 210 Grains, Balle Blondeau Flat Head, 50ct
    Review entered on 2013-08-11 13:56:32

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:1.0 1.0

      By Vernon from USA on 2013-08-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Bullet stays intact and should be good for punching thru bone.
    Things I would have changed:Bullet is very hard, hardly any deformation. Don't know if lead is wrong alloy or bullets were cooled to fast. Bullets are not round and this causes fps drop due to poor seal in bore. Pulled out 20 from box and all measured out of round. Looking at recovered bullets, you can see where the rifling is not uniiform around the bullet.
    What others should know:May just have gotten a bad bathch. I'd suggest measuring them and fit checking before use.

    Product: Shooting Chrony F-1 Chronograph, Green

    Shooting Chrony F-1 Chronograph, Green
    Review entered on 2013-08-24 10:37:10

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Vernon from USA on 2013-08-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:It does measure over a wide range of velocities.
    Things I would have changed:If it doesn't read a projectile, it can give err 01 or err 02. The only way to clear 02 is to turn it off and on again.
    What others should know:Mine is sensitive to lighting conditions, prefers to be out of the sun or indirect lighting. You must have proper lighting for it to work correctly. The best sensing range is a few inches above the photoreceptors. Always know your bullet path, and protect the front of the chrony or you will wind up shooting it! I actually clipped the back metal trying to figure out the proper height for the projectile above the sensors. I’m going to be use some ¼” thick aluminum pieces to cover the front of the display and back sensor to give it a little more protection.

    Product: Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap

    Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap
    Review entered on 2013-08-30 22:01:58

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Vernon from USA on 2013-08-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:It works.
    Things I would have changed:Trap rings loudly when it hits, much louder than the report of the gun. Not really good when you're trying to get some practice shots at home and not disturb everyone.
    What others should know:A couple of strategically placed metal bends can greatly reduce the impact ringing. I wound up applying insulating foam to the back and sides to finally quieten it down.

    Product: AirForce Condor SS PCP Air Rifle, Spin-Loc Tank

    AirForce Condor SS PCP Air Rifle, Spin-Loc Tank Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-08-30 22:40:51

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Vernon from USA on 2013-08-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:This review is for the .25 caliber. It’s impressive right out of the box. Great accuracy, light weight, and good power. Good sound suppression and factory trigger. Haven't found a pellet it didn’t like!
    Things I would have changed:AirForce, please adapt the Talon Tunes Tank Adapter! Drops the tank to effectively make the handling and alignment of the shoulder pad more like a traditional rifle. It also effectively raises the scope so shorter rings can better check hold can be used. Maybe that’s something PA could offer? I’ve been using the artillery hold for so long that I even use it on high power powder burners. To me the front grip is to far forward. Please give the option of multiple mounting locations to adjust for different reach and height of users. As others have commented, you have to find the right power setting to tanks pressure setting to maximize you shot count and minimize the differences in speed.
    What others should know:I've used my friends tuned Condor so I knew there were some tweaks that would improve the performance and take this from a really good gun to a great gun. I favor heavier pellets for pest control and found the POI impact changes at longer ranges irritating. I replaced the stock hat with a Talon Tunes which brought the fps up and lowered the variance between shots. The major reason I didn’t list it 5 stars across the board is for the fact I had to customize it. I don’t know of another rifle that offers this much power with this much customization, but it should have been done at the factory.

    Product: UTG 3-9x32 AO Compact CQB Bug Buster Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, Medium Max Strength Lever Lock Weaver Rings

    UTG 3-9x32 AO Compact CQB Bug Buster Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube, Medium Max Strength Lever Lock Weaver Rings
    Review entered on 2013-09-16 22:45:19

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Vernon from USA on 2013-09-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Because it has short eye relief, it’s easier to find the optical center than on other scopes which makes for quicker acquisition. I’ve owned another Bug Buster scope for about 5 years and have used it on several different guns. I think it’s the perfect size and weight on any gun that I shot 50-70 yards max.
    Things I would have changed:Quick release scope rings need to be replaced with standard scope rings because they are too bulky and have inconsistent clamping force.
    What others should know:Very disappointed with the quality of this scope when compared to the older one. The turret adjustors have a gritty feel and are sometimes hard to turn for no apparent reason. I optically centered the scope before ever mounting it and still had to use 2/3 of the total adjustment on both the up/down and left/right to get the cross hairs lined up. This is on a gun that I know the scope rail line is in line with the barrel. Definitely thinking of getting it replaced.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top