Date: 1/10/2016 11:49
0

Customer Reviews by Thomas from USA

Smith & Wesson 586, 6-inch Barrel

Smith &  Wesson Smith & Wesson 586, 6-inch Barrel Air gun
Review entered on 2013-10-25 17:03:32

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

4.0 4.0

By Thomas from USA on 2013-10-25
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: The looks, the feel, that the cylinders are real metal, the adjustable sights, and accessories that allow a pistol scope or red dot to be used.

Things I would have changed: The method of piercing the co2 cylinder. If you don't get it to lock on the first try, it will empty the cylinder. Rear sight is ok, the front should have a gold or silver highlight on the top.

What others should know: Lots of users have sung the praises of this gun so I will not belabor you with that. It is nice, but it is not a powerful pistol. In my opinion it should be a .22, the .17 just doesn't have enough power to shoot anything but paper, but,that's just my opinion. It will work nicely indoors but doesn't have much range outdoors, especially if there is any wind. A Crosman 2300T is more powerful and way more accurate ( yes, I realize it is a single shot and a target gun, but it costs about the same and does a way better job at putting the pellet where you want it.) That is not my opinion, that is a fact easy to prove. All things considered, this is a very nice piece fun to shoot fun to show. If you have the disposable income to use I would say, buy it. If you want to shoot something outside get the 2300T also.

Crosman MTR77 NP Scoped Air Rifle

Crosman MTR77 NP Scoped Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2013-10-26 16:21:24

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Thomas from USA on 2013-10-26
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Realistic looks and feel. No barrel droop. Hard hitting for such a short bbl. Accuracy better than I expected. This is my second gun. The first one had a sized piston and had to be returned to Crosman. They sent me a new one within 2 weeks, I thought that was very good customer relations. The girl I spoke to was polite and helpful. Anything you buy nowdays can breakdown, how you are treated by the manufacture is the most important thing , in my opinion. That is why I call this experience a "thing I like".

Things I would have changed: Scope mounts are a joke but it is not easy to find real good mounts for this gun yet. I would say that is a temp. situation as this is going to be popular, of that I have no doubt. I did get a solid mounting system and it makes this thing much better.

What others should know: It will never be a tack driver but it doesn't need to be, no one will try to use it for target comp. I tried the H&N green (alloy) pellets. What a hoot. they crack like a 22 rimfire, no kidding, and they are way more accurate than any other type of alloy. I hit a 2 liter soda bottle every time from 60 yds. ( yes,60), it pounded that thing like a 22,and came out the other side. Needless to say, I was surprised and pleased.

Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 500ct

Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 500ct
Review entered on 2014-12-17 09:51:30

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Thomas from USA on 2014-12-17
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
3.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: This was a big surprise to me. I never thought Crosman pellets would shoot this good. I have a Remington NPSS and a Discovery PCP and they both shoot these like they were target pellets. And they come in a screw top can. What's not to like?

Things I would have changed: Please, don't change anything.

What others should know: Pyramyd Air is the place for ammo.

Williams Diopter Sight

Air Venturi Williams Diopter Sight
Review entered on 2015-01-30 12:40:05

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Thomas from USA on 2015-01-30
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: I mounted this on a RWS 460 MAG in 22 cal. So far it has worked just fine. I have a peep on my Mod 36 and I can shoot just as good as a scope at 40yds or less. I'm hoping that this will work the same. This gun has a reputation for eating scopes, so I hope this will avoid that. I like the removable peep insert as I have some different ones to play with. The height of this sight is just right for RWS guns which have a high front sight.

Things I would have changed: The clamping screws are tiny. It looks like there is enough surface to go with the next size screws. I may ream and tap if these don't hold.

What others should know: I gave a 4 star value for money mainly for the tiny screws and the clamping method used for the windage adjustment. It only goes so far and then you must move the screws to another hole. While this works, it is not just a simple adjustment. None of these issues are deal breakers, this should work just fine as long as it holds out under the recoil of this 460.

RWS Superdome .177 Cal, 8.3 Grains, Domed, 500ct

RWS Superdome .177 Cal, 8.3 Grains, Domed, 500ct
Review entered on 2015-02-15 15:57:54

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Thomas from USA on 2015-02-15
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: These things shoot 5/8 inch groups at 40 yds consistently, in my model 36 RWS breakbarrel. Don't know why, they just do.

Things I would have changed: Please don't change anything.

What others should know: Some skirts will be deformed, use these for plinkers. Other than that, these are among the best for my rifle.

UTG Drooper Scope Rail, 11mm-to-Weaver Adapter, Compensates for Droop & Stops Scope Shift

UTG Drooper Scope Rail, 11mm-to-Weaver Adapter, Compensates for Droop & Stops Scope Shift
Review entered on 2015-11-17 10:44:58

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Thomas from USA on 2015-11-17
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: works perfect on my RWS mod. 36. Just as described. The "droop" feature corrected my alignment just fine. Now I have a lot more adjustment on my scope.

Things I would have changed: nada

What others should know: It will not work on a Benj. trail unless you do a little modification to the mount or the gun. It won't slide back far enough to use the pin. Not the mounts fault, it's the gun. The grooves dead end too soon.

Gamo ACCU Air Rifle, Premium Combo

Gamo ACCU Air Rifle, Premium Combo Air rifle
Review entered on 2016-03-09 11:17:56

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Thomas from USA on 2016-03-09
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: The weight is about perfect for me. The accuracy is getting better and better the more I shoot. Very surprised with the trigger, usually are junk and need to be replaced. This one, while with a somewhat long pull, was very good right out of the box. The fixed barrel has to be good for accuracy. Overall, I would have given it a 5 except for the scope. Why bother? If you are going to market a scope that will break inside of 100 shots, then I will not give a 5 star rating. If you want 5 stars, then put a decent scope with it,OR, leave out the scope and drop the price by $20. That is only my opinion. AS is, I give the gun 5* the package 4*.

Things I would have changed: Remove or improve the scope. A little less goop in the compression chamber. A little more grease on the spring.

What others should know: I would buy 500 inexpensive, clean, pellets and shoot and clean until the smoke lets up. You won't get many good groups until the dieseling smooths out. Save some heartache and don't use the enclosed scope on this gun. Put it on a .22rf and get a good one for the Gamo. Mine died inside of 100 shots. To help with cleaning, pull the lever about halfway and open the loading port with the other hand, then return the lever to it's latch. This allows you to clean the bore without cocking the gun. Reverse that process to close the load port when done cleaning. If you try to remove the stock, be advised they used locktite so use a good wrench.

Gamo ACCU Air Rifle, Premium Combo

Gamo ACCU Air Rifle, Premium Combo Air rifle
Review entered on 2016-07-11 11:04:43

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Thomas from USA on 2016-07-11
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Light weight,fixed barrel,buttpad ( not for recoil but it makes it easy to hold on the shoulder and to stand on the floor and not worry about it slipping). Finally, a trigger on a reasonably priced gun that I can live with. Not the best, but very good. Doesn't seem to be hold sensitive to me. I have a RWS 460 and a Walther LGU. I expect them to be great and they are. I did not expect much from this gun, but, I think I got much more than I expected. I would recommend this for any one wanting a good gun for under 200.

Things I would have changed: The habit most companies have of offering a scope as part of a package when they must ( or should) know that it will not stand the vibration and recoil of a spring/nitro piston gun. I did not even try the Gamo scope that came with this gun. The rotating breech is a love/hate deal for me. I think it is a nice tight seal but a not so nice when trying to load a small 17 cal. pellet with fingers. If you do not get it completely flush or better with the chamber, the rotating breech will shave the skirt. That will destroy your accuracy and build up gunk in the mechanism. I use a small, soft tool to finish seating the pellet. When I hear a "click" I know it is clear. That sounds like it would slow the loading process,but, so what? The type of breech is the slowest I have ever encountered anyway, so I will take the accuracy over the speed. Mind you, it is accurate, two inch groups at 50 yds., anytime, any day, for less than $200. Oh, by the way, I'm using a Daisy peep sight.

What others should know: Use the Gamo scope on a firearm like a .22 or the like. Seriously, buy a good spring rated airgun scope or a peep sight. Just don't use the Gamo scope on any spring gun. For every one that works, 10 (or more) will fail. Grease the spring to reduce the vibration, it helps. The stock screws are locktited so be careful removing them. Use a good fitting tool.

Navigation