Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Product: AirForce Adaptive Rear Target Sight, Fits Most 10-Meter 3-Position Rifles & All AirForce Guns

    AirForce Adaptive Rear Target Sight, Fits Most 10-Meter 3-Position Rifles & All AirForce Guns
    Review entered on 2009-07-13 07:48:04

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Delwin from USA on 2009-07-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:• Solid build. • Tight tolerances. • Finer adjustment than the Gamo sight and its copies. • High quality construction. • Large radius adjustment knobs. • Positive detents on the adjustment knobs. • Ability to "rezero" the adjustment knobs. • Wide range of elevation adjustability to fit many different types of airguns. • Internal springs to take up any lash or slop. • Heavy duty rail mount. • Made in the USA!
    Things I would have changed:• A second screw knob on the rail clamp would make this sight more secure when mounted on a spring piston airgun. • The windage adjustment knob dragged slightly on the body of the sight and created a grinding sound when the knob was turned. Loosening and then tightening the set screws that hold he knob in placem, while pulling the knob away from the sight body, solved this problem. • The aperture is made from plastic. You have to be careful when screwing it down securely as the aperture could crack if you over tighten it. An aperture made of metal would be less prone to damage but probably more expensive. (The metal aperture from the Chinese copy of the Gamo sight WILL screw into this AirForce sight.) • No sunshade is provided for the aperture. (This is not a problem if you shoot indoors. Otherwise, you can use the aperture and sunshade of the Chinese made sight.) • Much more difficult to take apart to clean or lubricate than the Gamo sight. You need a snap ring plier for disassembly. I don't know if I would change this design feature as it keeps the sight bullet proof and idiot proof. The manufacturer does not recommend disassembling the sight. But as a tinkerer, I always like to take things apart and supertune them. This sight, however, works so well right out of the box that I haven't opened it up yet. It was used in a major competition with great results.
    What others should know:This is a heavy duty sight that has high adjustability and repeatability. Overall, a significant improvement over the Gamo sight and its Chinese copy. While it is more expensive than other alternatives out there, you definitely get what you pay for. This sight is as accurate as the sights on German made Olympic air rifles from 30 ago years ago. While they don't compare to the ajdustability of a current $800 Olympic quality rifle sight , this is truly a precision piece of work. AirForce got it right on this design and I commend them for it.

    Product: RWS-R-10 Match Heavy .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct sold in a sleeve of five with match pellet holders

    RWS-R-10 Match Heavy .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct sold in a sleeve of five with match pellet holders
    Review entered on 2009-07-13 08:18:00

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Delwin from USA on 2009-07-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:• A very consistent pellet. • Nice foam trays protect each pellet from damage. • Like the canned pellets, cuts a nice clean hole.
    Things I would have changed:• Nothing.
    What others should know:The R-10s sold in the can is the exact same pellet as in the box. The only difference is that the boxed pellets are inspected to a greater degree and boxed in a foam tray that keeps the pellets from touching each other in transit. This prevents them from getting little nicks and scratches that may or may not affect their performance. If you are not shooting 10's already with your current match grade pellet, getting these will not make you a better shot. It is far more important to test fire pellets from a given lot to see if they perform consistently in your particular rifle. I have seen benched groups fired from a rifle in vise that have varied in size while using all R-10 pellets but from different lots. If you find a pellet that your particular gun groups very well with, then order enough of that LOT to last you the whole season. These R-10s, like all R-10s, have the lot number stamped on the box and on each pellet holder. Let me reiterate. Just because these are the some of the most expensive pellets out there, they may not be the most accurate in your rifle. One of my air rifles actually shoots better groups with the cheaper RWS Meisterkugeln pellets than the R-10 pellets. I don't know why this is, but it is a repeatable result.

    Product: RWS-R-10 Match Heavy .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct sold in a sleeve of five with match pellet holders

    RWS-R-10 Match Heavy .177 Cal, 8.2 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct sold in a sleeve of five with match pellet holders
    Review entered on 2009-10-20 17:39:20

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Delwin from USA on 2009-10-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:A very consistent, well protected pellet.
    Things I would have changed:Other than a lower price, nothing. I still give it five stars for value because you get what you pay for. Still, these are too expensive for most people to shoot everyday. Save them for major competitions.
    What others should know:When talking quality, you generally get what you pay for. These pellets are essentially the same pellets you get in the can except that they are given a higher level of inspection for consistency and then placed in a foam container that separates and protects each pellet until you use it. In our competitive junior air rifle club, we use Meisterkugeln and R-10 canned pellets for practice and regional competitions. At junior national competitions this past summer, we used sleeved pellets that were donated by a supporter and our kids all set personal high scores during the competitions. How much was because of the higher quality of the pellets and how much because of the psychological effects from shooting with such a rare and expensive coomodity? Who knows. But in the context of the total cost of the trip, this was a small investment to help the kids do the best they could do from either the physical or mental perspective.

    Product: Crosman Challenger PCP & CO2 Rifle, Open Sights

    Crosman Challenger PCP & CO2 Rifle, Open Sights Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-01-21 03:11:49

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Delwin from USA on 2010-01-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Extremely accurate. Reasonably priced. Adjustable ergonomics to fit a variety of youths to adults. Good balance. The best trigger in the competition sporter air rifle category.
    Things I would have changed:A better standard rear sight. A better selection of front sight aperture inserts.
    What others should know:The new Challenger 2009 is miles better than Crosman's first effort with the Challenger 2000. It keeps the earlier rifle's adjustable ergonomics but adds a first rate trigger (for the category) and the highly accurate, German made Lothar-Walther barrel. While the trigger cannot be compared to a German Olympic level rifle, you would have to pay at least three times the price of this air rifle to get a better trigger. From a sand bag rest at ten meters, I've shot five pellet groups that look like only one pellet was fired at the target. This rifle likes premium German made ammo. I've gotten the best results with RWS Meisterkugeln and R-10s in the heavy, 8.2 grain weight. With compressed air, I can get 100-110 consistent shots. On CO2, I've gotten a bit more, 130-140 shots with a fill of 1.5 ounces. This rifle action can be taken apart from the stock with just one screw. The rifle will then fit in a short takedown shotgun case for easy storage and transport. This rifle will be competitive in Sporter competitions.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top