Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact King .25 Cal, 25.39 Grains, Domed, 350ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact King .25 Cal, 25.39 Grains, Domed, 350ct
    Review entered on 2010-08-31 12:12:52

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Greg from USA on 2010-08-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Consistency is the watchword for good shooting, and these pellets deliver. I also like the way they are packed in their tin between layers of foam. It certainly makes picking one up easier. Maybe it also keeps them from getting smashed out of shape in the tin during transit, but in any case, it's a nice touch.
    Things I would have changed:Change nothing: great value for the money.
    What others should know:Different guns like different pellets. My particular .25 cal Benjamin Marauder finds these pellets to be the most consistent among many different types I have tried.

    Product: Beretta .177 Cal, 7.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct

    Beretta .177 Cal, 7.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct
    Review entered on 2010-11-14 18:13:32

    Overall rating:1.0 1.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:3.0 3.0

      By Greg from USA on 2010-11-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Lots of pellets for the money.
    Things I would have changed:On the tin it says "Specially selected for Beretta CO2 pistols". I wish that had been writ large in the Pyramyd description of this product, because the pellets sure do not perform well in my Stoeger X-50. From 25 yards they were printing 6" groups. That make them useless in my book.
    What others should know:Based on my experience--as well as what the Beretta tin says--it seems these pellets are not meant for air rifles. Maybe they are good in pistols, as Beretta says, but I cannot comment on that.

    Product: Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle

    Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-06-13 20:50:43

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Greg from USA on 2011-06-13
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The TX200 Mk3 is a powerful and accurate rifle. After trying a number of guns, I have settled on it as my favorite shooter. And I like that it is not a break barrel. About the power: I am shooting an average of 929.8 fps with RWS Superdome 8.3 gr, 0.54 g pellets (at 80 degrees F). I'd say Pyramyd's claim of 930 fps is right on! About the accuracy: I'm using a Centerpoint 3-9x40 and shooting quarter-sized groups from 25 yards after about 200 rounds through the TX200. I expect that to improve with more use, from what I've read in these reviews. I also have a Maurader .25 cal which performs better than the TX200, so I know I can get more from the TX200 when it's ready.
    Things I would have changed:The gun is not light. Since it's an under-lever, I don't suppose there is any way to put a bipod on it--but that would be nice. The breach is not accessed as easily as a break barrel.
    What others should know:After about 100 rounds, All the screws on the gun and on the scope mount were loose! I applied blue loctite to fix that. As I said above my TX200 seems to like the RWS Superdomes, but of course your mileage may vary. I like this gun!

    Product: Hammerli 850 AirMagnum

    Hammerli 850 AirMagnum Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-07-22 19:30:19

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Greg from USA on 2011-07-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Hammerli 850 Air Magnum in .22 Caliber This is basically a fine gun...certainly the best CO2 powered rifle on the market today (summer, 2011). That is not to say it is not without its flaws and peculiarities. In the following review I will try to point these out--sort of "What the Manual Won't Tell You!” There are some very good resources on the internet that will tell you how to modify this rifle to make it even better (for example, http://www.network54.com/Forum/580259/). There is at least one site that offers an entire laundry list of mods at a reasonable price (http://www.the850store.com/). The rifle used for this review is not modded. It is a plain .22 caliber rifle right out of the box. I did add a UTG Accushot 3-12x44 scope with Accushot SWAT Side Wheel. I am averaging 638.7 fps (from a low of 619.5 to a high of 657.9) using JSB Diablo Match Exact Jumbo pellets (0.870 grams/13.43 grains) with a fresh AirSource capsule of course. Nickel-sized groups at 25 yards are easy. Accuracy will start to fail as CO2 pressure falls. I get about 20 eight-round magazines (i.e. about 160 rounds) from one 88 gram AirSource capsule, but the last few shots are a waste. It's a good idea to keep track of how many mags you have been through, and change CO2 before the shots get too wild. (It would sure be nice if there were a way of monitoring the CO2 pressure in the rifle, as many PCP rifles do.) [[more]]
    Things I would have changed:[[continued from above]] Pellets should be loaded into the magazine with the metal cam facing up and the pellets nose down. Once loaded, the magazine should be held cam-side up at all times because the pellets are prone to falling out of their cavity. If you feel resistance when cocking the gun... STOP. It is possible that a pellet has backed out of its magazine cavity and is being crushed by the chambering action of the bolt. Place two drops of air gun oil on the AirSource capsule tip before inserting it. Keep the capsule upright and invert the rifle muzzle down while inserting the capsule. Screw the capsule into the rifle until it snugs up--then back it off one-quarter turn. When removing the capsule, bleed remaining CO2 slowly; if you allow the CO2 to rush out all at once it can freeze the seals and destroy them. Use high ring mounts to clear the rear iron sights, or remove the sights. I prefer keeping iron sights on the rifle for backup if the scope should fail. I bought this gun for the repeater action, and it fulfills my expectations...even exceeds them, i.e., it delivers good accuracy with a decent trigger feel in a light-weight package. I highly recommend the Hammerli 850 Air Magnum in .22 Caliber. Hope this all helps.
    What others should know:[[The above review was split into two sections to comply with Pyramyd's character-count restrictions.]]

    Product: Leapers 3-12x44 AO SWAT Accushot Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings

    UTG Leapers 3-12x44 AO SWAT Accushot Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings
    Review entered on 2011-08-01 10:18:36

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Greg from USA on 2011-08-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Lately (2011) it seems to me, UTG has stepped up its game, and is producing great-value-for-the-money equipment. At around $110, the Accushot 3-12x44 AO scope is no exception. This scope comes in a compact form at 11.1" long, and a regular variant at 14.0". The two models are almost identical in every other respect. I have both. The compact one is fitted to an Air Arms TX200, which cannot take the longer scope and still give access to its breech (a consequence of being an underlever cocker, not a break barrel). This review covers both models. An optional over-sized side-wheel may be fitted to the AO knob on the left side, and I highly, highly recommend this accessory. With either the 100mm or the 80mm wheel very fine adjustments are possible, making field-target ranging much easier, or just to get really good focus. The windage and elevation knobs are held tight by lntegrated clutch wheels. The advantage over a cap is that: a) you can lose the cap, and b) the clutch can be tightened to prevent any change--or loosened to allow it--quite easily. The only drawback I can think of is that the controls are always exposed. (I have had scopes that require an Allen (hex) wrench to adjust the W/E controls. It seems to me a very bad idea: something else to carry around; something else to lose.)
    What others should know:The scope comes with integrated flip-up lens caps, battery, and rings. The rings are for Picatinny rails. If you have a dovetailed receiver as I do, be sure to order high profile rings for a 30mm tube. Depending on your rifle, you might get away with medium-height rings, but you do need clearance for that 44mm objective lens. I have not subjected my scope to water or shock tests, but under normal use it performs admirably. The image is clear at all distances and ambient light conditions, and it holds its zero. What else can I say? For the money, it's a great scope.

    Product: CenterPoint Adventure Class 3-9x40AO Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1" Tube

    CenterPoint Adventure Class 3-9x40AO Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1 inch Tube
    Review entered on 2011-08-01 12:11:12

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Greg from USA on 2011-08-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The CenterPoint 3-9x40 AO strikes me as a product made to meet a price point rather than meet certain performance standards. In researching this review, I found it for sale from $50 to $150. That's an oddly wide price range, and I think you can do better than the CenterPoint at the upper end of that range (more about that later).
    Things I would have changed:Whether or not you like this scope may be based on how much you paid for it. If price was your main concern and you are just doing back-yard plinking, you may be satisfied with the CenterPoint. At under, say, $70 it gets the job done. If you are willing to spend more than $70 for this scope, I think you can do better. The scope seems serviceable enough for casual shooting. The optics are not as clear as I would like, but they do transmit a decent image as long as there is enough ambient light. In dim light the image disappears, and the lit reticle did not seem to help. I liked the mil-dot reticle and the caps on the windage and elevation adjustments. I did not try water or shock tests.
    What others should know:For about twice the CeterPoint's lowest price (but still within its price range), I much prefer the UTG/Leapers 3-12x44AO Accushot SWAT scope. (Check out my review.)

    Product: Champion Airgun Auto Reset Spinner Target

    Champion Airgun Auto Reset Spinner Target
    Review entered on 2011-08-01 13:19:55

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:1.0 1.0

      By Greg from USA on 2011-08-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This target's title is simply wrong: it cannot be used with airguns, not rifles anyway. I tried with a .177 caliber at 900 fps, and a .22 caliber at 630 fps. Both were too powerful for the target. As a result, the swinging target would bounce off the bar on which it is supposed to rest, and return to a hanging position. On the rare occaision that the swinger stuck on the bar, hitting the second swinger was certain to bring both down.
    Things I would have changed:But not all is lost. By removing the reset mechanism altogether (the bar and the reset target to which it is attached), I turned the targets into spinners. Hitting either target makes it spin around multiple times. So you still have a reactive target--well, a pair of reactive targets. Maybe this light-weight target would work properly with a very weak airgun or with an airsoft rifle, but it's not up to the job it claims to do.
    What others should know:For just a couple of bucks more, I highly recommend the Birchwood-Casey GRT17 Airgun Gallery Resetting Target.

    Product: H&N Baracuda Green .22 Cal, 12.65 Grains, Domed, Lead-Free, 200ct

    Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Green .22 Cal, 12.65 Grains, Domed, Lead-Free, 200ct
    Review entered on 2011-08-07 11:45:06

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Greg from USA on 2011-08-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I thought I'd try a tin of these after reading the rave reviews here. My Hammerli 850 in .22 caliber shoots 1" groups at 40 yards using JSB Exact Jumbo RS. With the Baracuda Green, I haven't even bothered to measure a group...they are all over the place. I'll be staying with JSBs, which are also much less expensive.
    Things I would have changed:Lower price; greater accuracy.
    What others should know:Results vary from one gun to the next, so my results may not be typical.

    Product: Air Venturi Female DIN adapter for Foster quick-disconnect, Fits FWB, Walther Dominator, Older HW100 Rifles & Other 10M Guns

    Air Venturi Female DIN adapter for Foster quick-disconnect, Fits FWB, Walther Dominator, Older HW100 Rifles & Other 10M Guns
    Review entered on 2011-10-30 09:27:11

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Greg from USA on 2011-10-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This adapter connects the fill probe that comes with my Walther 1250 Dominator to my Air Force hand pump. I like it because without it, I can't fill my rifle. ;-)
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:I found out that screwing the fill probe all the way in to my 1250 tank caused the air to escape the tank as soon as the pump's release valve is opened. This is because the end of the fill probe pushes down on the tank's valve when fully screwed in. The solution is to screw the fill probe in only part way. There is a "sweet spot" where pumped air goes into the cylinder but already-filled air does not escape when the pump's release valve is opened.

    Product: RWS Hobby .22 Cal, 11.9 Grains, Wadcutter, 250ct

    RWS Hobby .22 Cal, 11.9 Grains, Wadcutter, 250ct
    Review entered on 2011-10-30 09:32:05

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Greg from USA on 2011-10-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These pellets are better than the lowest-priced GAMO or Crosman equivalent...
    Things I would have changed:...but they just don't group for me. For those who do have success with them, I'll bet a tin of 500 would be nice, but PA only has 250's.
    What others should know:Tried these in my QB78 and Hammerli 850 but did not get good groupings at 30 yards.

    Product: UTG Weaver/Picatinny Riser Mount, Medium Profile, 0.83" High, 13 Slots

    UTG Weaver/Picatinny Riser Mount, Medium Profile, 0.83 inch High, 13 Slots
    Review entered on 2011-12-24 21:54:24

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Greg from USA on 2011-12-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Raises the rail as it's supposed to. I especially like the attachment bolts: their head can be turned by hand for reasonable tightness, and clamped down with a screwdriver or hex driver for real stability.
    Things I would have changed:If only there was a way to provide the same functionality and stability with less weight.
    What others should know:This unit is relatively heavy. I would avoid using it if another solution to the problem can be found, e.g., use high rings on the original rail if that's all you need.

    Product: RWS Superdome .22 Cal, 14.5 Grains, Domed, 250ct

    RWS Superdome .22 Cal, 14.5 Grains, Domed, 250ct
    Review entered on 2012-02-07 14:00:38

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:2.0 2.0

      By Greg from USA on 2012-02-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:In .177 size I have had good experience with the Superdomes. so naturally I tried them in my .22 rifles. I have heard others speak highly of these pellets, but they just don't group as well for me as other pellets--specifically, any of the JSB Diablo Jumbo Exact series.
    Things I would have changed:I don't have the equipment to measure skirt size, but I suspect there is something going on there (perhaps after deformation in the barrel), that causes these pellets to wander around the POA.
    What others should know:Of course these are light pellets and can be overpowered by a big HPA rifle. But JSB Jumbo RS are even lighter, and perform much better that the RWS--not great, but much better. Bottom line: if you have a powerful gun, use heavier pellets.

    Product: JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.13 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Match Diabolo Exact Jumbo Heavy .22 Cal, 18.13 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2012-02-07 14:06:58

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Greg from USA on 2012-02-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I shot these against all the other .22 JSB pellets I could find, from the light RS to the heavy Monster. These grouped the best, and have great terminal velocity.
    Things I would have changed:There are better pellets out there (Eun Jin), but they cost more. So I wouldn't change a thing on the JSBs.
    What others should know:If the Heavy don't work for you, try another JSB size. All their pellets are of great quality.

    Product: Evanix Dual Mag, Fits Evanix PCP Guns, .22 Cal, 22rds

    Evanix Dual Mag, Fits Evanix PCP Guns, .22 Cal, 22rds
    Review entered on 2012-02-12 16:08:42

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Greg from USA on 2012-02-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Gives you 20 shots instead of 10 before you have to reload.
    Things I would have changed:Add an indicator showing when each of the two mags is empty. (You do NOT get 20 uninterrupted shots: you get 10, then have to manually shove the second 10-round mag into place.) This is one expensive item!
    What others should know:I occasionally get two shots from one trigger-press, unless I am very deliberate about the trigger press.

    Product: JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo Express .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 500ct

    JSB Diabolo Exact Jumbo Express .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 500ct
    Review entered on 2012-02-12 16:18:17

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Greg from USA on 2012-02-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Express groups as well as anything I shoot in my lower-powered rifles. In my experience with a wide range of airguns, JSB makes the best pellets out there.
    Things I would have changed:I would love a screw-top on the tins.
    What others should know:Match the pellet to the power of your rifle. I was disappointed by the Express in my Evanix Speed (1000 fps), but they are great in my Hammerli 850 (630 fps).

    Product: Champion VisiShot Paper Targets, 3" Bulls, 8.5x11 - 10pk

    Champion VisiShot Paper Targets, 3 inch Bulls, 8.5x11  - 10pk
    Review entered on 2012-02-12 16:30:17

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Greg from USA on 2012-02-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Great visibility of POI. Let's me sight in an airgun for a variety of pellets, all on one sheet.
    Things I would have changed:Just a little heavier papaer, please? And the lines are hard to see except in the best light.
    What others should know:Considering how many shots you can get on these targets, they are a bargain. I used to use the Crosman single bull per page target...I much prefer these.

    Product: Eun Jin .22 Cal, 28.4 Grains, Domed, 125ct

    Eun Jin .22 Cal, 28.4 Grains, Domed, 125ct
    Review entered on 2012-02-25 13:26:40

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Greg from USA on 2012-02-25
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:These are the most accurate and powerful pellets I have shot in my .22 caliber Speed to date. I was amazed when they grouped ~ 1/16" at 30 yards! And they really smack the rimfire gong targets I have.
    Things I would have changed:They need a screw top for their tin, and, of course, to be less expensive.
    What others should know:Treat yourself--and your rifle--try a tin.

    Product: Walther Scope Base, Fits Lever Action CO2 Rifle, 11mm Dovetail & Weaver

    Walther Scope Base, Fits Lever Action CO2 Rifle, 11mm Dovetail & Weaver
    Review entered on 2012-07-28 21:47:59

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Greg from USA on 2012-07-28
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This could have been such a great product, but it falls way short. And "short" is what its rail segments are. For many scopes, too short. This base has two 3/4" rail segments that are 3" on center apart. This is the only way I know of to put a scope on this rifle, so that's certainly a positive. If your scope happens to fit, you should be very happy with this base. See "Things I would change".
    Things I would have changed:Longer rails!!! If your scope and mount happens to fit on the base, great. However, many one-piece mounts are 3" long. That means that they can grasp only half of each base. I see no reason that the rail sections cannot be lengthened towards each other, so that the overall length remains the same but you have more rail real estate. When using separate rings, they are forced to be 3" OC apart. that fits a lot of scopes... but not compact ones.
    What others should know:Because of the where this base fit on the rifle, you may be forced to use a long eye relief scope, or a cantilevered extension

    Product: Sumatra 2500, 500cc Reservoir

    Eun Jin Sumatra 2500, 500cc Reservoir Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-12-01 14:04:39

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Greg from USA on 2012-12-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked: Finally! I found a keeper. Powerful: with a wide range of adjustment done by a simple turn of a wheel. Accurate: literally stacks pellets at 25 yards. Pellet agnostic: handles an amazing range of pellets on medium to high power, from the light JSB Jumbo RS (13.43 grain) grouping 3/8", to the heavy EunJin (28.5 grains) grouping 15/8". And the big one...RELIABLE: no problems at all in 1000 rounds.
    Things I would have changed: The lever can be rough on the hand when shooting rapidly. It would also be nice to have, say, a 12-round magazine instead of a 6-round one.
    What others should know: I have been through a lot of PCPs and this is my choice. See "Things I Like" for why. I will say that the lower powers seem useless: even the lightest pellets show a pronounced downward arc over 25 yards. You should also know that this gun is very loud on medium to high powers. You should wear hearing protection or moderate the sound, that last especially in urban areas. You are going to want a scope on the Sumatra, and even without one it's no light-weight.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top