Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Product: Beretta CX4 Storm Tactical

    Beretta CX4 Storm Tactical Air rifle
    Review entered on 2007-12-19 14:46:37

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff W from USA on 2007-12-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The bipod and scope help a lot with accuracy. It's compact, looks cool, the 32-shot clip is great, as is the large CO2 cannister, and even though it's not a magnum, after using it I've had no problem with squirrels getting into my attic this year. Overall I'm happy with the purchase. It's not loud to shoot; it sounds like a nail gun. The squirrels know the difference though!
    Things I would have changed:The trigger pull is a bit heavy, and you have to look just right into the scope to see anything. A 1" scope would be appreciated. One thing I found odd was that the scope which came with the gun isn't high enough to clear the rear fixed sight, so I had to sand it down for clearance (it's plastic.) The scope needs to go all the way back on the Picatinny rail. Even so I have to stretch forward a bit to get a proper sight through the scope, so it would be nice if the scope could move back further. A rubber cheek pad would be a welcome addition, too, and would make it easier to see through the scope. If there had been a .22 model, I would have bought it with less hesitation. I'd be willing to trade more power for less shots from the CO2 cannister, too.
    What others should know:Definitely get this version, with the scope and bipod. Don't waste your time without them. You lose a lot of accuracy shooting without the bipod, due to the short length of the rifle and high trigger pull. With the right pellets it's pretty accurate, as long as you use the bipod. Crosman Premier light domed pellets work pretty good, and JSB Predators are very accurate and are my choice for squirrels, even though I haven't fully broken it in yet. I've found it's more accurate when the pellets are pushed deeply into the magazine belt, but make sure you can turn the belt all the way around, in case some pellets are in too far. Don't bother buying a case for it' it's included even though it's not mentioned. (I made that mistake.)

    Product: Crosman 2240

    Crosman 2240 Air gun
    Review entered on 2009-08-23 04:42:42

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff W from USA on 2009-08-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The Crosman 2240 is well worth its price. Accuracy is reasonable, it uses .22 pellets, unlike nearly all other pistols, (yay!) and it's easy & fun to shoot. The trigger pull is light, unlike nearly all inexpensive air guns. Bolt action. It gets respectable performance out of a CO2 cartridge.
    Things I would have changed:I'd add a metal trigger shoe (the trigger is exceptionally thin,) a metal breech, a longer barrel and better sights. Fortunately, all of these can be upgraded from Crosman. That's pretty remarkable. Of course, like everyone else, I'd like more velocity, but it isn't bad for .22 CO2. Make it more quiet.
    What others should know:Again, it's LOUD. Compared to an air rifle I own which Pyramid Air also gave a 3 sound rating to, this one should easily rate a 4. It definitely will get the attention of neighbors. Maybe a longer barrel would help?

    Product: Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum .177 Cal, 10.5 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct

    Crosman Premier Ultra Magnum .177 Cal, 10.5 Grains, Round Nose, 500ct
    Review entered on 2009-10-17 14:10:57

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff W from USA on 2009-10-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    2.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The fit is quite uniform, though some pellets fit a bit tighter than others. The antimony that Crosman uses really toughens up the pellet, which is good and bad. They seem to hit hard and the skirts aren't deformed in the tin, but of course you need to clean your airgun more often when using Crosman pellets. Though it's not recommended, they hold their shape so well that I've shot some pellets through a target and into an old sleeping bag and reused them three or four times, with the same accuracy. All those guys who complain about the price of pellets might feel better if they did the same. I definitely like the screw cap, and not getting lead all over my hands when I handle them.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.

    Product: Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct

    Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct
    Review entered on 2009-10-17 14:28:58

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff W from USA on 2009-10-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Usual Crosman quality and accuracy, and these pellets are CHEAP compared to the Crosman Premier Domed of the same weight, in the cardboard box. If I buy 4 tins of these (buy 3 get one free,) I get 2000 pellets for about $25 vs. 625 Premier Domed for about $23. It's a no-brainer. Those legions of guys looking for a cheap pellet need look no further.
    Things I would have changed:I'd rather these were domed than hollowpoint, but it's not a big deal. You won't get any expansion with these pellets unless you hit a hard target at very close range with a fast airgun, or could shoot them at soft targets from a cannon, so there's not much point in this design.
    What others should know:Yes, they're CHEAP, INEXPENSIVE, LOW PRICED AND DID I SAY CHEAP?

    Product: Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun & Rifle

    Gamo Viper Express Air Shotgun & Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2009-10-20 16:10:00

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff W from USA on 2009-10-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:That it's an air shotgun! And a halfway decent rifle, with good power and not bad accuracy, considering that the barrel isn't rifled. That the trigger is metal, (Hooray!) and though it has a fair amount of creep, the trigger is light and breaks smoothly, though not crisply. Frankly, I didn't expect the trigger to be as good as it is, and I may be able to adjust it to make it even better. That it's easy to cock, time after time, is well balanced and seems well made. That I can practice my aim with inexpensive .22 pellets, and knock down squirrels with the more expensive shot, at close range. That it's not heavy.
    Things I would have changed:I may eventually replace the spring with a gas cartridge, though it's fine for now. It does buzz somewhat, though this is my first springer, so I have nothing to compare it to. I'd work to make the trigger break more crisply, though it's already much better than most inexpensive airgun triggers, and -metal-. I'd add a rear sight for better accuracy with pellets.
    What others should know:Buy plenty of shot shells! For a tighter group with shot, press the white plastic shell seal in with a pen until it is resting against the shot. I plan to reload mine, and will try #8 as well as the #9 shot it comes with. There are 17 pellets of #9 shot in each shell. If you do lose the brass pellet adapter, a used shot shell casing will do about as well. The only difference, besides the material it's made of, is that the brass adapter has an O-ring to hold the pellet in place. I'd be curious to know what the velocity of the shot is as it leaves the barrel.

    Product: Gamo Express EXP20 Shotshells, Fits Viper & Shadow Express Shotguns

    Gamo Express EXP20 Shotshells, Fits Viper & Shadow Express Shotguns
    Review entered on 2009-10-20 16:34:46

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Size/Shape Distribution:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff W from USA on 2009-10-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:That they are available at all, and they work better than pellets at short range on squirrels and other pests. Of course they're meant to be used only on Gamo's two air shotguns, since their barrels aren't rifled. Don't use these in your .22 rifle.
    Things I would have changed:We all wish they were less expensive, but if ever there was a niche product, this is it. It would be nice if Gamo would sell those white plastic rear seals for reloading, but I doubt that they ever will, since they will need to recoup their manufacturing cost on the shells.
    What others should know:The rear seal is a white plastic disc with seals that extend behind it, like an extruded can lid. While a Q-tip tip might work for reloading, something that seals better would probably push the shot out with greater force. I'll try foam board, which is thick enough to seal properly. I'll see if it's possible to make the seals by working the front end of a shell casing back and forth against the foam board. The front seal is molded into the shell casing, with three breakaway tabs. A Q-tip tip would work as a reloading replacement here, or another foam board seal would work. I took one shell apart and found that it contained 17 pieces of #9 shot. I'll try the same amount (by weight) in #8 shot, as well.

    Product: LaserLyte Laser Bore Sighter, .177 to .22 caliber

    LaserLyte Laser Bore Sighter, .177 to .22 caliber
    Review entered on 2009-10-20 16:54:33

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff W from USA on 2009-10-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The possibility of a way to set your scope or sights without shooting lots of pellets or air shotgun shells, especially since no two pellets are exactly alike. The price is reasonable for what it is.
    Things I would have changed:I would definitely change the way these are mounted into the barrel. The present design leaves a lot to be desired. First of all, for either .177 or .22 you have to mount an adapter to the shaft. Why not make the shaft fit a .177 to begin with, and an adapter that slides over or screws over it to fit .22? The shaft is thin plastic, and those screw threads are highly likely to wear out or strip. The two adapters and their small Allen wrench are very easy to lose, as well. The front of the shaft widens in a cone, and in order to get any accuracy, the laser sight has to be pushed back until it intersects the end of the barrel. The problem is that it tends to slide out a bit, making the laser droop. I had the best accuracy when I held the whole assembly back against the barrel, but even when I did this, if I rotated the whole thing, the laser traced a small circle. So the laser isn't even aligned perfectly. This may be good enough for government work, but for something advertising laser accuracy, I expected it to be better.
    What others should know:Surely someone can design a better system to fit a laser sight into the barrel, and get a spot-on laser alignment.

    Product: IZH 61 multi shot air rifle

    IZH-Baikal IZH 61 multi shot air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-03-27 03:59:21

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff W from USA on 2010-03-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:What a great airgun! I own two other air rifles and an air pistol, but the IZH-61 is hands down the most fun to shoot, and very inexpensive. It's light, cocks with little effort, has a very light trigger pull, good basic sights, a sidelever, which I like, and an easy to load five shot clip. Best of all, it's my most accurate airgun at short range. I also like Pyramid Air's approach to airguns, its wide selection, professional reviews and recommendations, and I wouldn't have bought it anywhere else. Check out their recommendations for the IZH-61. They're well considered. The recommended H&N Finale Match Pistol wadcutters work well in this rifle, and even UPS couldn't damage Pyramid's pellet pack.
    Things I would have changed:I'd rather the manufacturer raised the price enough that they could revert to the original multi-adjustable trigger and extra mainspring. Though the trigger pull is light, it isn't crisp, and out of the box it has quite a bit of trigger creep. At least I can adjust that. The pistol grip is about 1/2" shorter than I'd like, and I plan to sand down the right side thumb rest, which is placed a bit off. As others have noted, even with the stock extended, it's a bit short, though my eye lines up nicely with the sights anyway. I'll try adding a rubber shoulder pad to it, and see if that improves the fit without affecting the accuracy. A fixed stock would have been better, since it's short anyway. It's easy to dry fire - I need to pay more attention to the position of the pellet clip. At this price, a pellet counter is a bit much to ask. I really can't complain though, given the price and how much is right with this airgun. I'd add a safety. Because it's so light and compact, I can see that it would be attractive to kids, and every year kids are injured in unsupervised airgun accidents. When you're not supervising your kids, use a trigger lock or safe.
    What others should know:Taking it out of the box, I could immediately tell it was a Russian rifle. The rough textured stock had lots of the finish rubbed and scratched off in places, but the functioning parts of the gun are all well made. You'll either be disappointed by the rough cosmetics, or you'll be satisfied with the sense of Russian practicality. Because of my imperfect vision, I plan to eventually mount the UTG/Leapers Bug Buster scope that Pyramid Air recommends for this airgun, so I will be able to see the small targets that this gun can hit. Even with iron sights, this is one accurate airgun.

    Product: IZH 61 multi shot air rifle

    IZH-Baikal IZH 61 multi shot air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-04-10 11:56:18

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jeff W from USA on 2010-04-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Light weight, light cocking, very light trigger, side lever, super accuracy, good sights, five shot clip, little recoil and no buzz felt, pellet is pushed into the barrel when cocked. The trigger is perfection after adjustment. You can shoot this gun for hours without fatigue. I'd rate the loudness 2.5, making it perfect for my basement target range. This is a really fun gun for target shooting and plinking. It makes a perfect first airgun.
    Things I would have changed:Not very much. I'd make the pistol grip an inch longer and get rid of the finger grooves, lengthen the trigger adjustment screw - it's just about bottomed out now that I've adjusted the creep out of the trigger. I'd do away with the adjustable stock; I suspect that they made it so short to ship it in a smaller box, not to fit anyone better. At full extension it's a little short, but not bad. I may put a shoulder pad on it.
    What others should know:It's easy to dry fire, but I figured out that if you can see three open holes in the magazine you can shoot, but should not cock it. I haven't dry fired it since. I've had no problems with the pellet magazine popping out of the gun on release; if all the pellets have been shot, there's no spring tension on the magazine. Nonetheless, I bought an extra magazine, bringing the total to three. I might even get more just to preload. The pellets can fall out of the magazine if it's tipped backward, so I load with the muzzle pointed down slightly. I'll probably scope this airgun, just so I can see the targets it can hit. If you scope it, use Pyramid Air's recommendations.

    Product: IZH 61 Extra Magazine

    IZH-Baikal IZH 61 Extra Magazine
    Review entered on 2010-04-10 12:03:34

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Jeff W from USA on 2010-04-10
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy shouldn't be affected by a magazine unlike some other airguns, because the IZH-61 has a rod that pushes the pellet into the barrel when you cock it.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing, really.
    What others should know:The IZH-61 is easy to dry fire, but here's the tip you should know: When you see three open holes on the side of the airgun it's OK to shoot, but not to cock. Pay attention to that and you won't dry fire it.

    Product: Crosman 852 Pellet Trap

    Crosman 852 Pellet Trap
    Review entered on 2010-10-17 22:38:26

    Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Jeff W from USA on 2010-10-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Pellets stay in the trap. The steel back is heavy enough to withstand a .22 pellet shot from a 750 fps air rifle.
    Things I would have changed:The cloth and fiberglass layers are glued somehow to the top of the plastic shell. Mine came apart after about six months, and I haven't been able to glue it back in. Disappointing. You'll need a bunch of cardboard inserts too, but I couldn't find any replacements. It would be nice if they'd slide in like the back, rather than having to hold them in with plastic tacks, which can get lost.
    What others should know:OK I guess, but I'd hate to have to replace it every six months. I'm going to look for a sturdier pellet trap next time. From Pyramyd Air, of course.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top