IZH 61 multi shot air rifle

IZH-Baikal IZH 61 multi shot air rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2013-02-23 19:34:28

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Bill from USA on 2013-02-23
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Good target rifle. Moderate velocity is desirable for indoor shooting. Won't destroy my pellet traps. Spring air gives consistent power, and five pellet magazines let me shoot without having to load every pellet before taking a shot.

Things I would have changed: You can't carry extra loaded magazines around with you because the pellets tend to fall out. But once the magazine is loaded into the rifle, they will stay put till you shoot them. A safety would be nice, but not cocking the gun untill you are ready to shoot works just as good.

What others should know: Be carefull when you shoot so as not to dry fire an empty gun. Watching the magazine click out one hole everytime you cock it will alert you. When the third hole appears "as you are cocking the gun", you're on your last round. Or, you can just count.

IZH 61 multi shot air rifle

IZH-Baikal IZH 61 multi shot air rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2013-03-05 17:01:33

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Bill from USA on 2013-03-05
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Exellent accuracy. Smooth action. Five pellet magazine. Moderate velocity is perfect for indoor shooting. Won't destroy your pellet traps. Price seems commensurate with quality. This gun is interesting. It's different from anything else I own.

Things I would have changed: Add a safety. Modify the magazine to hold pellts more secure.

What others should know: Keep track of your five shots so you don't accidentally dry fire the gun. Cocking the gun when empty will not advance the magazine any further, but the gun will still fire.

Walther CP99 Compact

Walther CP99 Compact Air gun
Review entered on 2013-05-30 08:02:48

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Bill from USA on 2013-05-30
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: This is an action pistol. Accurate enough for some instant gratification. The blowback action lets you get off 18 easy shots. Reloads fast and you just want to keep shooting.

Things I would have changed: Safety could work a little easier

What others should know: The BB releases when you squeeze the trigger to about 85 percent of the necessary triger travel to fire. If you don't dilly dally on the trigger near the end of it's travel, or if the gun is level or pointed up, you'll never notice. You can test this point of release by loading up some BBs. Then point the gun at the ground and slowly squeeze the trigger WITH NO CO2 CARTRIDGE LOADED IN THE GUN. When the trigger is almost to the end of it's travel, the BB will be pushed into the barrel and come rolling out.

Diana RWS 34P air rifle

Diana RWS 34P air rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2014-01-29 15:35:25

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Bill from USA on 2014-01-29
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Right out of the box, this rifle was intimidating. It was too heavy, cocked too hard, and the trigger was too light. I was used to 50$ guns and it took some time to adjust to what I now consider to be a wonderful rifle. Yes, it was me [not the rifle] that needed a short break in period.

Things I would have changed: Nothing.

What others should know: If, like me, this is your first decent rifle, give it a few days before you judge it.

Daisy Avanti 753

Daisy Avanti 753 Air rifle
Review entered on 2014-04-14 14:28:18

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By Bill from USA on 2014-04-14
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: I chose this rifle because I was looking for a new experience. Not another break barrel. FPS is low but still falls close to the velocities of high end 10 meter target rifles. The diopter sight was an unknown to me but turned out to be quite enjoyable to use.

Things I would have changed: Gun seems well thought out. Would not change anything.

What others should know: Looking thru the peep hole brings the front sight into focus without needing my glasses on. It has the same effect as the "EyePal" accessory. My accuracy has noticeably improved. I would credit this to both the rifle and the diopter sight. Might still get a scope for it for a better field of view when shooting outdoors. But for now, the diopter sight is good enough.

Leapers UTG 4x32 AO Rifle Scope, Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, Weaver Rings

Leapers UTG 4x32 AO Rifle Scope, Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube, Weaver Rings
Review entered on 2014-05-12 18:35:35

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Bill from USA on 2014-05-12
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
4.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Keep it simple. No zoom. No batteries, or lighted reticle. Just a nice basic scope. Clear picture and good depth of field so you don't have to keep tweaking the focus.

Things I would have changed: Nothing.

What others should know: Can spot targets that would be hard to pick out with open sights. Mounted it on my Avanti 753 using 3/8 dovetail rings. Dead accurate.

RWS R-10 Match Pistol .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct

RWS R-10 Match Pistol .177 Cal, 7.0 Grains, Wadcutter, 500ct
Review entered on 2014-05-30 17:14:28

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Bill from USA on 2014-05-30
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: I like these for my pistols and rifles in the 500 to 600 fps range. I'm on my second tin and have yet to find one bent skirt. I can't fault them and so I'm not going to spend any more time searching for that perfect pellet.

Things I would have changed: Nothing.

What others should know: A little expensive but the buy three get one free tames the price down.

Benjamin 397

Benjamin 397 Air rifle
Review entered on 2014-06-15 19:58:35

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Bill from USA on 2014-06-15
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Very pleased with this rifle. Accurate with plenty of power if you want it. Just for reference, one pump on this gun will push a pellet out the barrel with slightly less power than my IZH 61 rated at 490 fps. Two pumps puts the fps noticeably better than that 490 fps. Three pumps will put a pellet inside an empty dog food can at 20 feet. Five pumps puts it thru both sides. And that's as far as I went as five pumps gets difficult for me. Pellets used were RWS 10 Match 7.0 gr.

Things I would have changed: The gun is good to go as is, but I would like to see multi pump gun reviews include pellet velocities obtained with different numbers of pumps applied.

What others should know: Two pumps per shot is plenty for plinking and target shooting. Three pumps if your feeling aggressive. Won't tire you out. Gotta press your cheek into the stock to line up the sights but I'm guessing that's because the rear sight design puts the sight down low closer to the barrel. That seems like a good thing.

Tanfoglio Witness 1911 CO2 BB Pistol Kit

Tanfoglio Witness 1911 CO2 BB Pistol Kit Air gun
Review entered on 2014-12-27 18:39:26

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Bill from USA on 2014-12-27
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Gun has a solid feel. No molded fake parts here. All levers and buttons move and are functional. CO2 cartridge is exposed when magazine is removed so you can grasp it in the palm of your hand and warm it up while you're reloading. Nice feature for winter shooting.

Things I would have changed: Holding back the spring while loading BBs could be an issue if loading takes too long. A notch to hold the spring back while loading would be convenient.

What others should know: I got a 7/32" brass tube which I plug one end of and then fill with however many BBs I want to load in the magazine. I can hold the spring back and gently pour them in, in about 4 or 5 seconds. Real simple to load.

Hammerli 850 AirMagnum

Hammerli 850 AirMagnum Air rifle
Review entered on 2015-03-23 14:37:21

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Bill from USA on 2015-03-23
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: The bolt action is nice. I like the eight round rotary clip as opposed to loading a pellet between each shot. I do like the automatic safety. Most break barrels have one and it is not an issue. Working the safety is smooth and effortless. I really like the 88/90 gram power source. Accuracy and trigger pull are right up there on my good list. One C02 tank will last me about a week taking over 200 good shots.

Things I would have changed: Nothing to change here.

What others should know: This gun deserves a scope. Lots of fun shooting tin cans at 60 to 70 feet when you can see the hole appear in the can with the scope. Hang the can from a string so you can keep shooting.

Crosman Optimus Breakbarrel Air Rifle Combo

Crosman Optimus Breakbarrel Air Rifle Combo Air rifle
Review entered on 2015-05-04 12:37:17

4.0 4.0

3.0 3.0

3.0 3.0

By Bill from USA on 2015-05-04
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Liked this gun right out of the box. Right from the first shot. Gun is light and cocks easy considering it's velocity. I bought it as a second gun to leave out back with the garden tools to take a few shots whenever I go out there. Not a tack driver but it's accuracy is good enough to keep me interested in shooting it.

Things I would have changed: Didn't like the scope. It's functional and will improve your accuracy but the sight picture is blurry around the edges. Replaced it with a Leapers 4X32 A.O. scope. It's the scope that knocked down my value rating. Would have liked to see the .22 version offered along side the .177 version without the scope.

What others should know: Had to adjust the open sight to it's max setting left to center my shots. I ran out of adjustment range to raise the shot to my liking. Not an issue for me because I had planned all along to mount a scope.

Navigation