Date: 27/5/2017 17:36
0

Customer Reviews by Chris from USA

Hatsan 125 Air Rifle, Black Synthetic Stock

Hatsan 125 Air Rifle, Black Synthetic Stock Air rifle
Review entered on 2013-09-16 01:58:01

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Chris from USA on 2013-09-16
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Things I liked: The power of this gun in the .25 is spectacular. I realized very quickly that my Diana RSW 34 .22 was no match for medium to large raccoon game, to say otherwise would not be fair to the animal. The test I conducted was on a James Hardie Panel, made of fiber cement siding. This panel is extremely tough stuff, at 74 feet/24.6 yards The RSW .22 with Premier 14.3 Domed, and Benjamin Hollow point 14.3 was barley able to penetrate this panel, and the skirt of the pellet protruded out of the entry point. This would not be a kill shot on any game at that distance. The Hatsan 125 .25 new, and after 30 rounds, with H&N pellets Barracuda 32.02 and H&N Hunter Extreme 28.4 blew through this panel, hit a concrete block wall and in a few cases ricochet off, and kept going. This would be a clear head shot kill. Hatsan tests with lead pellets (24.8 gr)and the Muzzle energy calculator Pyramid has provided is a critical tool to determine what gun to choose for the energy needed for what you are shooting at. In my test the calculator estimated the guns muzzle energy was 35.48 EFP with .25 and 28.4 pellet vs. .22 with 14.3 gr at 800 fps generating only 20.33 estimated EFP a massive difference in energy and a humane kill. I love the look of my RSW, it's a super handsome stylish weapon for SMALL GAME and birds. However the Hatsan's no frills black synthetic stock has power, and is what I will go to for hunting small to medium size game at close range,not more than 30 yards. Great Price!!!

Things I would have changed: Many have said the scope, I agree 100% eye relief is awful and you have to dance around to sight it. Not good if you need to get a shot off. I'm left handed, the stock is right, ambi would be great, but I works fine either way.

What others should know: I believe in precise shooting, dime to quarter size target area max at any range. I also believe we as air gunners should be humane hunters. Get enough gun for what you're shooting at. Keep hunting shots within 20 to 30 yards in .25 750 FPS, small to, not as small game (Break Barrel Springer) 5 to 30 yards with .22 800 FPS, Rabbit, Squirrel, Avian. And only target, squirrel, and small avian with .177 1000+ FPS at 20 to 30 yards. It's more enjoyable to have a clean powerful shot at your game, don't "under gun", trust me on this. Pyramid has a fantastic selection, and serves us very, very well. Invest in the right gun, you'll be glad you did. I'm happy with both of these purchases.

H&N Baracuda .25 Cal, 31.02 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct

Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda .25 Cal, 31.02 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct
Review entered on 2013-09-17 14:23:42

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Chris from USA on 2013-09-17
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: This was tested with a Hatsan 125 .25 shooting through a "James Hardie" .5" Fiber Cement sheet, which is an extremely tough siding material. These pellets passed right through and in some cases ricocheted off the concrete block wall backstop, and kept going. The pellets recovered after penetration and stopping at the wall, were nearly all flat, with a slight 2-3 mm of skirt left. Tried to add a picture but got a 404 error.The spread is impressive, and would be devastating if not lethal to small game.

Things I would have changed: Not a thing

What others should know: These are high quality,worth the money hunting pellets.

H&N Baracuda Hunter Extreme Pellets, .25 Cal, 28.4 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct

Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Hunter Extreme Pellets, .25 Cal, 28.4 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct
Review entered on 2013-09-17 14:26:09

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Chris from USA on 2013-09-17
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
4.02 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: This was tested with a Hatsan 125 .25 shooting through a "James Hardie" Fiber Cement sheet, which is an extremely tough siding material. These pellets passed right through and in some cases ricocheted off the concrete block wall backstop, and kept going. The pellets recovered after penetration and stopping at the wall were flat with only 2-3 mm of skirt left intact. Spread is impressive, and would be devastating if not lethal to small game.

Things I would have changed: Not a thing

What others should know: Worth every penny for the quality, and result after impact. Accuracy is very consistent.

H&N Baracuda .25 Cal, 31.02 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct

Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda .25 Cal, 31.02 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct
Review entered on 2013-10-12 13:34:11

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Chris from USA on 2013-10-12
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: The packaging for pellets by P/A is fantastic! I've been spoiled by H&N, the quality is top grade. I am using these in my new Hatsan 125, and the accuracy is incredible. I needed to site an aftermarket scope NcStar 3-9x40 and wanted to make it as quick as possible. These pellets at 30 yards hit perfectly every time, and fortunately the site needed very little correction out of the box, a statement to all three companies for quality control. As to H&N power, These were shot through a Hardie Plank fiber cement panel .25" thick, which you will break your hand on, and tear up a skill saw blade in no time. The pellet passed through as though it was drill. On the exit side of the panel you could see the spread of the pellet which opened, and took up to 1.5" of panel away. This would be devastating to your quarry. Reminder that these guns, and ammo are not toys. The purpose for this ammo is small game and raccoon/varmint control. I feel this will be a one shot humane kill for coons to 10-20 lbs. I prefer to shoot within 10 yards, but if need be I can feel confident at 20 yards that the results should be the same with one shot in a dime size area of the skull. Accuracy is critical in these animals.

Things I would have changed: Not a thing

What others should know: I have an ammo box, and will be ordering an ammo pouch it's easier to protect, and load while shooting. There is virtually no drop with these pellets at 30 yards even at this weight.

H&N Baracuda Hunter Extreme Pellets, .25 Cal, 28.4 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct

Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Hunter Extreme Pellets, .25 Cal, 28.4 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct
Review entered on 2013-10-12 13:41:50

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Chris from USA on 2013-10-12
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
4.52 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: This is a pellet tat i purchased at H&N recoendation for bird shooting. I have not yet used it for that, however for test purposes I have tested it for spread, and it is quite amazing. The spread is about 1.2 inch through a hard target like Hardie Plank Fiber cement board. Because this is very different fro a crow, dove, quail etc. I'm not sure what could happen there, but it would be very hard on soft tissue I'm sure. They are very accurate in my test at 30 yards and very devastating to the panel.

Things I would have changed: Not a thing

What others should know: I have not tried these on varmints or small game, it would seem though the knock down power would be substantial. Again P/A packaging is the best on this, High quality all around.

Leapers Accushot 1-Pc Mount w/1" Rings, High, 11mm Dovetail

UTG Leapers Accushot 1-Pc Mount w/1 inch Rings, High, 11mm Dovetail
Review entered on 2013-12-02 17:05:52

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By Chris from USA on 2013-12-02
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Well made and secures scope to rifle.

Things I would have changed: Right now, not a thing.

What others should know: I ordered a similar mount from a competitor, something "Planet", huge mistake. It took 1 month to receive it, and the screw hole stripped the second it was installed. I was very cautious, but it didn't matter. I will only order from PA due to the following facts, they stand behind what they sell, have it in stock, and do not outsource (i.e. drop ship) inventory. In the short and long run I lost money on a crummy mount that I thought would be better. Also, Airgun Scopes are not the same as rifle scopes especially in Magnum Springer's like my Hatsan 125 which killed a NcStar 3-9X40 in just an hour of use. NC replaced it, and we'll see how it holds up in the new mount.

Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 500ct

Crosman Premier .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Domed, 500ct
Review entered on 2013-12-02 17:15:08

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Chris from USA on 2013-12-02
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.02 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Great, and affordable ammo. Accurate, solid impact, great spread.

Things I would have changed: Please make this in .25 I would use them all the time.

What others should know: I now have 3 thousand rounds of this ammo. Primarily for small game hunting, and target shooting. PA's "buy 3 get one free" is the reason, It's hard to pass up on that kind of savings. The reality is we shoot a lot, and don't want to run short. It is getting VERY DIFFICULT to find ammo in the .22, and impossible in .25 here in Los Angeles County which is why I buy in bulk from PA.

H&N Baracuda Hunter Extreme Pellets, .25 Cal, 28.4 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct

Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda Hunter Extreme Pellets, .25 Cal, 28.4 Grains, Hollowpoint, 200ct
Review entered on 2014-07-06 10:25:57

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Chris from USA on 2014-07-06
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
4.03 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: For a Hollowpoint this pellet really flies straight and true. The expansion is amazing. Most shots will expand up to .5". I've been using these for target but they are for hunting so, The squirrels that are in the area are now diminishing quickly. The primary reason I purchased these was to use on racoons who raid the cats food bowl, and also have been bringing in fleas and possibly ring worm, so they need to go. My Hatsan 125 really likes them and at 30 yards for squirrel they are impressive at 15 yards for medium raccoons, its a definitely a quick goodnight.

Things I would have changed: Not a thing. What would be a nice/needed addition to the line of products is a "Lead Free" pellet in all calibers. Here in "California's Condor Zone" we are now restricted to this type of ammo, and there is talk that the whole state will go this way very soon. Right now springer air guns are exempt but you know how that goes.

What others should know: I've used about 600 of these so far which is limited, but they seem to really work, the quality is great.the screw cap makes it nice no mess. The pellets are all prefect so the QC is outstanding. I know there are those who speak to the quantity for the price, but the quality is what you pay for. In addition they are shipping LEAD from where?? So the price is fine.

Benjamin Discovery .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct

Benjamin Discovery .22 Cal, 14.3 Grains, Hollowpoint, 500ct
Review entered on 2014-07-11 13:09:06

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

3.0 3.0

By Chris from USA on 2014-07-11
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Things I liked: I like the quality in these pellets very clean, and consistent. The flight is true, and very very accurate. I have a 50 cent size steel target at 76 feet, 25.3 yards and can hit this small target every time. I'm shooting a RWS 34 .22

Things I would have changed: There is a lot of WOW put into Hallow points However after using these on squirrels, there is virtually no mushroom spread of these pellets. Penetration is excellent, but I would expect a great deal of spread from these and it's just not there. So a softer pellet might be in order, or a different design to make that happen. This would allow a more effective humane kill.

What others should know: Shot placement is critical with these, as there is virtually no mushrooming. A head shot, or a perfect heart shot on squirrel or small possum, will do the job. Not for use in medium or lager game like raccoons unless you're shooting PCP.

Hatsan 125 Air Rifle, Black Stock, Vortex Piston

Hatsan 125 Air Rifle, Black Stock, Vortex Piston Air rifle
Review entered on 2015-03-03 10:44:41

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Chris from USA on 2015-03-03
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Things I liked: Upgrade alert and UPDATE!!! After My broken syn .25 cal stock was replaced at no cost (defect) by Hatsan USA. I asked if there was a VORTEX Upgrade, the answer is YES! I immediately jumped on the reasonable $99.95 which includes shipping to me in a new Hatsan box. The gun is a dream to fire now without the massive double recoil, and delivers more power to the target. After correcting my UTG scope which got bashed up by the previous magnum spring it seems to be doing very well with .5"-1." groups at 30 yards with H&N Baracuda 31.02 grain pellets. So the tests continue, If you have a Hatsan Syn Springer 125 .25 contact HATSAN USA and get it converted it is worth every penny. If you're in the market for the 125 . 25 get the VORTEX, it will be a better experience.

Things I would have changed: There have been some comments on CS Hatsan USA is centrally located Bethel Heights, AR. If you're on NY or L.A. Time like I am, it's time to relax a bit and not stress they will respond to you and get the job done. I google earthed their warehouse and it's in the heartland of America in a small steel warehouse. Be thankful we don't have to send them to Turkey. The cocking effort is less than the spinger version, and if I do it correctly I can cock it with one hand, but not for long. Things I would change? Well maybe just inform...Others

What others should know: When I purchased the springer model of this rifle I knew it was too much spring, and it never settled down. So 3 scopes later I was pretty upset. With the VORTEX it's easier to shoot my sight seems to be holding up at zero, and it still has the power and better accuracy. Buy this version and not the springer unless Hatsan d-tunes or re-engineers that model.

Browning 800 Express

Browning 800 Express Air gun
Review entered on 2016-06-06 14:30:52

4.0 4.0

4.0 4.0

4.0 4.0

By Chris from USA on 2016-06-06
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
5.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: It is a BIG Pistol with a lot of power. After cleaning and shooting 50 rounds to site-in the scope it is accurate enough at 10 yards and consistently hit quarter size targets. The primary purpose for this gun for me is close range rat and squirrel elimination and plinking. Beyond that its just target shooting. Possibly made by Hatsan for licensed logo of Browning distributed by UmarexUSA, and more powerful than the Hatsan Model. The trigger was gritty and clunky at first but after 30 rounds it was like silk very smooth. The anti recoil works really well. the on-board sites took a bit of work but do the job. I like the Cocking aide, as it is really needed. safety breaks in like the trigger, nice and easy. So far for the power and not going PCP it fits the bill.

Things I would have changed: If they had a additional butt stock that would be great. Even with the anti-recoil, that is only for the grip and stock not for the scope or mount, and in "Hatsan" style this gun needs a heavy mount that will hold up and keep the scope in place. An video review is helpful watch prior to buying to save you the headache of the scope and mount issues. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b0DCTCi13DQ I wish it had weaver mounts instead it just makes sense with this type of gun. Maybe a Vortex piston to save weight and less fatigue.

What others should know: I'm a big fan of Hatsan and UX's RWS, this Browning pistol has been called "Unwielding" but if you take the time and concentrate on hitting your target it will make you a better marksman. An Airgun Pistol Rated scope in my opinion is mandatory, but the on-board sites do the job just a lot slower. Don't cheap out on the scope/site mount, get the UTG/Leapers Accushot RGPM-30M4 or similar that will bolt down hard to the dovetail. Otherwise your scope much sooner than later will fall off. For the money under $180.00 it's a good setup and without having to go to PCP

UTG 30mm Red/Green Dot Sight, Integral Picatinny Mounting Deck

Leapers UTG 30mm Red/Green Dot Sight, Integral Picatinny Mounting Deck
Review entered on 2016-06-06 14:47:45

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

By Chris from USA on 2016-06-06
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Very compact, adjustable intensity of light in both red and green, dot is a good size and with light level adjustment does not interfere excessively with target, large field of view for quick acquisition. weaver mounts hold well.

Things I would have changed: As pictures the lens cover DO NOT go straight up and out of the way. They do flip all over the controls and adjustment knobs. So get everything ready prior to shooting and this will interfere at possibly the worst moment.

What others should know: First time with this type of scope, for a pistol it seems fine for the price, it holds zero well enough for now but for the gun it's on I should have purchased a different setup due to the fact it is a weaver and I had to adapt it to a .22 11mm dove... Not fun and not the best set up. It can transfer to my other guns however and may end up on them soon enough,.

Leapers UTG 3-9x40 AO True Hunter Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings

Leapers UTG 3-9x40 AO True Hunter Rifle Scope, EZ-TAP, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1 inch Tube, See-Thru Weaver Rings
Review entered on 2016-09-25 15:47:20

2.0 2.0

3.0 3.0

By Chris from USA on 2016-09-25
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Having a Illuminated reticle is always nice, and the Mil-Dot is always great. The zoom factor is great along with the parallax adjustment is awesome

Things I would have changed: I have the earlier version of this scope that does not have the "Tap" and its on a 125 Hatsan pneumatic piston, and it does just fine. I was disappointed that this one would not hold zero, even after I fought to get it there for 200 rounds, it just would not do it. I have to remind myself that I ask a lot of these scopes for the price point. I have a Tech Force on my RWS 34 .22 Springer and its the same type and its been flawless since day one. I guess you never know what you're going to get but consistency in the manufacturing process would be nice, Returning this one.

What others should know: It's hit and miss with scopes in the airgun arena, I've had several that the optics were junk, or would not hold zero, in several instances. Manufacturers however who represent themselves as airgun scopes, or shock proof, really need to back that up because, many of us are using magnum springers and they as a rule will kill many scopes. The quality control needs to be better with final QC not just a basic bench test. The Scope that cam with my Benjamin Summit .22 Gas Piston 2 is a fixed focus and after setting it to zero held fine but.... I wanted/needed to zoom factor.. So...

Benjamin Summit NP2 Air Rifle

Benjamin Summit NP2 Air Rifle Air rifle
Review entered on 2016-09-26 10:54:07

4.0 4.0

5.0 5.0

4.0 4.0

By Chris from USA on 2016-09-26
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
4.01 rating

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: The weight of this rifle is outstanding it is lite!!! Ive only had springers so this was a nice change. The suppressor is quiet, all you hear is the mechanical of the gun firing and then the hit of the pellet on the target. psychologically you wonder is there a reduction in power because you are so use to a loud shot right? It seems the power is fine but I need to chrony this one to know for sure. The real rubber butt is very nice, my RWS 34 doesn't have one as nice and for 2x's the price you would think they would. The scope that comes with it is fixed magnification, and is pretty nice, I spent 100.00 on a UTG 3x8-40 thinking it would be a good addition, and it failed right out of the box so I went back to the one sent with this gun and it works fine. after 200+ rounds it seems pretty accurate although I need to get a better scope attached with AO and variable focus to know for sure. At least I can say its fun to shoot and easy to handle.

Things I would have changed: The advertising for the gun states it can go longer, out to 40 yards with the N2 Piston for pest control up to racoon size. I don't think that's the case here. My RWS 34 .22 had trouble taking some down at 15 yards, so I went up to a Hatsan 125 .25 and still couldn't take anything ethically outside of 30 yards in a one shot kill to the skull. Of course some coons have very thick bone there.

What others should know: When you clean this gun prior to use... unscrew the suppressor by hand and remove it carefully by sliding it straight out from the barrel. If you try to clean it with this on your swab will get stuck in the suppressor.. once you take it apart you'll see what I'm saying here. There's nothing stated about this anywhere so far. Not all pellets are liked by this gun so get an assortment ready. I've had three different scopes on this, UTG 3x9-40 SCP-U294AOIEW (Failed) NcStar 3x9-40 Sniper, and the fixed unit that came with the rifle. Nc's Optic edge is awful but it shot perfectly with that scope and the fixed scope does very well and provides a less obstructed view which was/is very nice. If you have a Chrony, check this gun and post on here what your results are with 14.3 lead. We'd like to know.

Air Venturi Spin-O-Matic Airgun Target

Air Venturi Spin-O-Matic Airgun Target
Review entered on 2016-09-26 11:10:33

3.0 3.0

5.0 5.0

By Chris from USA on 2016-09-26
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: I have another larger version of this and they are great fun, the spinner is very cool, and ads something to target shooting. Paper targets are fun but after a while you want to kit something and make some noise so this is great for that.

Things I would have changed: On these spinners they want you to put them in the ground, in many cases you can bend the legs or the ground just isn't suitable for these... SO!!!! I have a fix if you're handy... If you have a buddy who welds you can get an 11 gauge or 1/8th" steel plate about 19"x12" and weld the legs to that and then paint it and then all you have to do it set it on the ground and blast away. OR!!! take a die and put a thread on the legs then attach washers and nuts and put it on the same steel plate.. now to avoid the "rocking" of those two nuts on the base you can drill all for corners of the plate and set four bolts and nuts to adjust the height up and then no worries for the legs sticking through the bottom.. Have fun

What others should know: I enjoy my spinners they travel with me when I go camping and shooting off site.. the main reason I do this is I see so many people who take cans etc out to shoot at and leave THEIR TRASH, including spent brass laying all over the place and it really takes away from being out in nature. There's no reason to leave anything behind not even brass

H&N Baracuda .25 Cal, 31.02 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct

Haendler & Natermann H&N Baracuda .25 Cal, 31.02 Grains, Round Nose, 200ct
Review entered on 2016-09-26 11:27:03

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

5.0 5.0

By Chris from USA on 2016-09-26
See all my reviews
Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings

Verified Purchase

Things I liked: Everything, solid hitting pellet, consistent build no flaws in the pellets, screw top tin. my go too in .25.

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: I like these better than the Hollow Points in the same brand. The accuracy is a little better but that's just me possibly.

Navigation