Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Beretta PX4 Storm pellet gun

    Beretta PX4 CO2 pistol Air gun
    Review entered on 2010-10-23 05:14:59

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:2.0 2.0

      By Harrigan from USA on 2010-10-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Great little plinker. Blowback is fun if unnecessary, really like the fit and finish, the weight in the hand. Makes be want to look at the real gun, which I hadn't considered for purchase before. Very comfortable and pointable. The dual magazine is pretty cool as well.
    Things I would have changed:Stiff/poor safety controls and an absolutely *terrible* trigger. Would also like to at least see the real sights adjustable for windage.
    What others should know:Not the same quality as the higher-end Umarexs, but an interesting air gun in it's own right. Worth owning, just don't expect much in terms of accuracy.

    Product: IZH 61 multi shot air rifle

    IZH-Baikal IZH 61 multi shot air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2010-11-08 03:28:04

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Harrigan from USA on 2010-11-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy, side-lever cocking, ease of cocking, 5-shot clip, overall design. Seriously cool air rifle.
    Things I would have changed:Only one thing -- fit / finish is a little rough. Some sharp edges on the plastic stock, barrel bluing / finish is only okay, etc.
    What others should know:Don't hesitate -- solid gun, excellent value. Really good gun for an indoor range -- quiet, accurate, no CO2 required, not overly powerful, etc.

    Product: Crosman NightStalker

    Crosman NightStalker Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-05-23 01:22:08

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Harrigan from USA on 2011-05-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Ergonomics. Weight. Price. Fun factor.
    Things I would have changed:A lot, really. Trigger, sights, CO2 screw-in mechanism, balance of the gun with a full cylinder screwed in, more metal in the inner workings of the action, better finish / quality plastic, etc. Virtually everything you read from others in these reviews. Loads of room for improvement, but it *is* a $100 gun.
    What others should know:Interesting air gun. It has more flaws that you can name, but somehow (IMO) ends up being a little more than the sum of its parts. I would gladly have paid $25, $50, or maybe even $100 more if Crosman addressed the complaints in the reviews here at PA. The sights really are poor, the trigger is long, jerky and weird, the plastic is cheap-feeling, the way you have to hand-tighten an 88g CO02 cylinder with very little to hold onto is a real drag, but the gun is *awfully* fun as a plinking machine. Love the balance (though it's thrown off by a full CO2), the pointability, the compactness, the rapid-fire, the look of the gun, etc. Some of it's issues are easy to fix -- for the sight, through a reasonable red-dot on there and you're good to go. Some are harder -- I worry a little about the longevity of the weapon due to wear and tear on all those plastic internals. In the end, I'd recommend the gun, but be aware of what you're getting. Not stellar accuracy or that lovingly crafted weapon that brings a smile to your face just *seeing* it, but instead a blast of fun, especially when you're shooting at good-sized, reactive targets.

    Product: Smith & Wesson Magnum Series Yellow Lens Safety Glasses, Fits Kids

    Smith &  Wesson Smith & Wesson Magnum Series Yellow Lens Safety Glasses, Fits Kids
    Review entered on 2011-05-29 09:48:59

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Harrigan from USA on 2011-05-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Fits my son as intended. No complaints!
    Things I would have changed:Nada.

    Product: UTG Deluxe Commando Belt Holster

    UTG Deluxe Commando Belt Holster
    Review entered on 2011-05-29 09:52:19

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Harrigan from USA on 2011-05-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Surprisingly good quality for the money. Fits most of the Umarex and Gamo action CO2 pistols quite nicely. (PT-80, PX4, C225, etc.)
    Things I would have changed:Nada.
    What others should know:Doubt it'll fit the Desert Eagle or other pistols that size.

    Product: Gamo PT-80

    Gamo PT-80 Air gun
    Review entered on 2011-05-29 20:54:30

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Harrigan from USA on 2011-05-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Pointability and the way it fills the hand. Decent accuracy. Comes with three mags. Serviceable three-dot sights that are adjustable for windage. Double action. No CO2 wasted on blowback.
    Things I would have changed:Maybe a bit more metal on the gun, though I know it's a cheapie, not in the same league as the full-on Umarex guns. Improve the trigger, which is typically awful in DA and surprisingly creepy in SA. Definitely improve the way CO2 is inserted -- Umarex had the lever-piercing thing figured out like 20 years ago... "screw it in quickly" is pretty weak.
    What others should know:Bought this solely because I love the Beretta / Stoeger Cougar, which it's modeled after. That real pistol has always felt fantastic in my hand, very pointable, very nature. The PT-80 is too light by more than half, but it still feels good in the hand. It's a pretty average pistol overall, but for me it's worth it because the styling and the feel of it is so damned good. It's more accurate than my PX4 Storm, but less than my RWS (Umarex) C225. I'd buy it again, but it's in the right price range. Can't compete with the higher-end guns, but of course it's not supposed to. One thing -- have found it excellent to start teaching handgun skills to my eight year old son -- it's light, he can open the action and load the pellets, it's not over-powered (could actually use a few more FPS but it's okay)... he loves the thing.

    Product: Benjamin Trail NP, Nitro Piston, air rifle combo

    Benjamin Trail NP, Nitro Piston, air rifle combo Air rifle
    Review entered on 2011-05-30 10:44:59

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Harrigan from USA on 2011-05-30
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Ergonomics, fit and finish, power (I have the .22), scope (AO), nitro pistol smooth cocking, free sling that's actually worth something. All in all, a great rifle for the price.
    Things I would have changed:Pretty nasty trigger that, as others say, isn't up to snuff with the rest of the quality on this gun. It's long, creepy and doesn't break crisply at all -- I plan on doing tjhe GRTIII upgrade ASAP. The gun is a little on the heavy side if you're lugging it around (thus the free sling), and compared to some of the Gamos these days it's a real brute. (Though I can't speak to the quality of those guns since I don't own one. I just know from handling them in Bass Pro Shop they're very light.) Would have been kind of cool if iron sights were also included, but the barrel is shrouded and such and I haven't seen how manufacturers do front iron sights well with those. Lastly, I've only tried two types of pellets in this gun now, but both have been quite a tight fit. Wouldn't mind seeing that adjusted, though maybe that's just an artifact of the tight tolerances of the gun. Iron Sights
    What others should know:A great buy, super-quality gun. Be aware it's an "adult" gun -- I saw one reviewer mention that his nine year old can cock it, but I'm thinking maybe that kid is on the roids -- my eight year old can barely even lift this gun to his shoulder, and probably can't break it to *begin* cocking it. It's also extremely powerful -- I don't have a chrony (yet!), but while plinking recently my son and I were shooting at a steel water bottle and merely denting it with a variety of 350-500fps bb and pellet guns... along comes this Benjamin and WHAM -- right through both sides, a clean look that looked like it was left by a .22 LR bullet. Pretty crazy. For that reason, not recommended for indoor shooting -- I have the heavy Champion backstop, and while that stands up to the abuse the Trail dishes out, the pellets virtually disintegrate! Not what you want in the air inside.

    Product: Hammerli 850 AirMagnum

    Hammerli 850 AirMagnum Air rifle
    Review entered on 2012-05-01 01:07:50

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Harrigan from USA on 2012-05-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Fantastic gun. All the positive reviews are right on the money -- this thing is hard to put down once you get it humming by correct pellet selection, etc. Love the action (which does indeed like to be worked "briskly" as BB once said), the trigger, the super-visible and easier adjustable fiber optic sights... the fit and finish, the ease of screwing in the 88g C02 (I'm looking at you, Crosman Nightstalker) and the tack-drivin' accuracy. Some folks complain about the plastic feel and general lightness of the rifle, but I *like* that it's so easy to swing around. It's plastic, yes, but it feels good in the hands and you can carry it all day long. Top-shelf stuff, you won't be disappointed.
    Things I would have changed:Alas, she's not perfect. I have the .22, and I have to say if I bought it again it would be in .177 caliber. I think early on there may have been some quality control issues as if you look online you can find a fair number of reviews critical of .22 pellets not holding firm in the magazine -- well, I think they addressed that by tightening the tolerances and perhaps the little pellet-gripping o-ring... and on my rifle, that mechanism is problematic -- it makes the gun *super* pellet fussy. Basically, it's very difficult to load wadcutter style pellets -- you need to "seat" every pellet with a tool, whereas pointed and domed pellets for the most part just click right in. You have to be careful on not choosing pellets that are too tall (Polymags) and will bind the action, and general consensus seems to be mid-weight domes or pointed pellets is the way to go. The correct pellets are not only easier to seat in the mag, but will also cycle better -- you'll notice it, moving the bolt, when everything clicking the way it should. I'm still on the hunt for some wadcutters that'll work well since this is a fantastic indoor gun and is a joy to punch paper with. The stock "cap" that covers the C02 could indeed be a bit more robust, but I don't think it's as bad as some folks make it out to be. I also like the idea of the 12g C02 adapter, but it's far too expensive for what you get.
    What others should know:Minor gripes aside, this gun is a beaut. Reserve judgement on it until you get the right pellets rolling, then see just how tough it is to put down before you've run through the C02. It's good enough that I'm considering a second, this one in .177 caliber...

    Product: Beeman P17

    Beeman P17 Air gun
    Review entered on 2013-07-31 21:08:22

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:4.0 4.0

      By Harrigan from USA on 2013-07-31
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Pretty much everything except for the trigger -- which I think might improve over time. For the money, a whole heckuva lot of air pistol.
    Things I would have changed:The trigger. I bought this for one reason and one reason only -- while visiting my dad's cabin recently with my nine year old son, we stumbled across a P17 my father had stashed there. Had *no idea* he had it, so I busted out some pellets and shot it... and was floored. The trigger, accuracy, cocking action and power were all spot-on. When I later did the research on the gun, I was *very* surprised to learn it was a Chinese knock-off of a well-known Beeman. Well, if the knock-off was *this* good, some day I've -got- to shoot the real deal. Anyway, to what I would change... When returning back home, I promptly ordered my own P17 from PA. And the one I got was just like my dad's... except for a fairly annoying amount of creep in the trigger. His broke like glass -- mine is only okay, mainly because it's creepy. I'm thinking once mine breaks it, it might improve...
    What others should know:Based on the price, this gun is just a no-brainer. Especially for indoor shooting. It's quiet, fun and accurate. Good stuff.

    Product: Stoeger Arms X3 Air Rifle

    Stoeger Arms X3 Air Rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2013-08-07 02:54:49

    Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Harrigan from USA on 2013-08-07
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Build quality, adjustable three-dot fiber optic sights, quietness, size for a 10 year old. Just a nice little airgun.
    Things I would have changed:Trigger is decent for a $90 gun, but it might be nicer if it was adjustable like with the X10 on up in that line.
    What others should know:The 10-for-10 test by PA saw FPS speeds of about 530 using a 7gr Beeman Laser. Ideal gun / velocity for teaching my son to shoot. It's easy to cock, is handy, points well and is a great indoor gun because it's very quiet. I'll just say this -- when I unwrapped the gun, inspected it and then shot it in my basement range to start the break-in process, I practically couldn't put the little guy down. Fun shooter!

    Product: Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap

    Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap
    Review entered on 2013-08-11 12:14:02

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Harrigan from USA on 2013-08-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:As described in all the other reviews, this thing is *great*. I searched and searched for the right pellet trap, and all that stopped when I got this into my hands. It's heavy-duty, it's easy to use, it traps the pellets effectively... top notch stuff.
    Things I would have changed:Nothin'.
    What others should know:Two things -- use a piece of cardboard cut to size to cover the opening. Makes for a nicer backing to put the target on and also prevents any pellets from bouncing out, especially the hard non-lead types. Second, lay a few magazines or a phone book on the back it and check the sound level -- WAY quieter doing this, no more gong sound...
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top