Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Product: Benjamin Super Streak, Nickel Finish

    Benjamin Super Streak, Nickel Finish Air rifle
    Review entered on 2009-01-18 13:32:14

    Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Geoff from USA on 2009-01-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Geoff Anderson Seattle, WA The overall build quality is excellent. When you first pick this gun up you know you're going to get some serious enjoyment out of this rifle. It is very heavy as others have stated. As a fairly recently new airgun owner this is probably not for the new user. From my very 1st shot I was a little taken back at the sheer power and kick. There is definitely recoil that I am not used to in an airgun. Being I have been out of the hobby for 10 or so years things have changed dramatically. After getting comfortable with the power and recoil, I could finally attempt to zero in the scope. I have NEVER done this before... At about 50 feet it took me about 20 shots to get the scope provided nailed down to within about 1/2" of my target. I think with a few hours more and maybe a few hundred rounds the average user can get this thing nailed down to hit just about anything at virtually any distance with minor adjustments for windage/distance, etc.. Overall, if you are looking for power, you've got it here. If you are looking for accuracy, you can definitely achieve it with the provided scope. Remember, this is not for younger children for a starter gun. This is for adults. Be careful if you live in a populated area. Depending on the pellets you use, you may get such a loud crack, 911 could definitely be called. Also, with this much power on tap, remember to keep in mind what's behind your target, or what's in the background. If you miss or have a pellet go past your target, it could do some serious damage or injury!!! Bottom line.... No matter what your small complaints any of us can find, this is a FUN gun. And, with time I think all of us that own this gun will never regret the purchase. This gun can definitely be used and passed down to future generations.
    Things I would have changed:The weight!! Not to sound like a broken record, but WOW!!! This is not meant to be held by the average user. It is meant to be rested on a bench or your own device at home. I wish I had known this before. Sometimes it's hard to find a rest when you see something you want to shoot at. It can be difficult to find a rest in a hurry. The eye relief of the pre mounted scope is a little picky. You have to have your eye RIGHT on where it demands which isn't always your comfort level. The only other thing I would change is the length of the barrel.
    What others should know:Don't hesitate to buy this gun. There is a reason why it sells out all the time. I'm sure this will be in the Benjamin line up for years with refinements along the way. The trigger is horrible! It's way to stiff and can take you by surprise when it finally reaches discharge. The pull is so long, it's difficult to stay calm all the way through follow through. Although it's "adjustable", it's still stiff no matter what. Do not freak out when you initially attempt to cock the gun!!! It needs to be hit with your hand to break the barrel for quite a while. Just to get the initial cocking started, once you snap it with your hand the cocking part isn't too bad. Speak with someone at Pyramyd if you want a case to protect, or transfer this in. I bought 2 of them and neither are large enough for this gun. I will have to use them for others I've recently bought and order a new one for the Super Streak.... Experiment with as many pellets as you can afford, really!!!!!1

    Product: Benjamin 397

    Benjamin 397 Air rifle
    Review entered on 2009-02-12 19:01:01

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Geoff from USA on 2009-02-12
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.03 ratings
     
    Things I liked:How can you not love an American classic? After reading several reviews and online buzz you get a better understanding of just how attached people can and do get to this gun. When you first open the box, how can you not smile. The finish is fantastic. My wife thought it looked like a shotgun because of the air chamber I guess, underneath the barrel. The weight is perfect for any age, & will not fatigue if carrying for hunting for example. There simply is not another gun out there near this price range that can touch this quality of workmanship, accuracy, aesthetics, and fun factor. From the very 1st shot you take you are grinning from ear to ear. A little shocked at the crack it gives when discharging at first, but it makes you say "WOW" there is definitely plenty of power here. If backyard shooting, you definitely don't need to pump it the full 8 times. 4 or 5 is DEFINITELY enough. 5 pumps will go through metal cans & water bottles, even dispatch squirrels or small rodents. Once the sights are set & tightened to "your" personal liking, forget it for good! You almost can't miss your target!!! If you are in the market for a new gun, a first timer, or just wanting something different from what you have, don't even think for another second. Just buy it. I can almost guarantee whatever caliber you buy, you will want the other caliber immediately. I can guess with high confidence this gun does NOT get returned or exchanged, because your first impression should be way more than you'd expect for what you paid.
    Things I would have changed:A little bit better finish on the bluing. Mine had a bump on the top of the barrel, and the first time I touched it, the bump came off and exposed the finish underneath. Other than that, just the cocking effort. It can be a little tough after quite a few rounds are dispatched through it. You will definitely get a workout! Other than that, nothing.
    What others should know:If using just for close target shooting, i.e. 50FT. or less, don't bother with a scope. The open sights are tight and fantastic! If you Might be using it for small game hunting occasionally, buy a Leapers bug buster or something similar in size. Otherwise, this gem is go to go right out of the box! Enjoy.......

    Product: Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle

    Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2009-06-04 12:03:40

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Geoff from USA on 2009-06-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:#1 is the accuracy! I purchased the .177 beech version about 3 months ago. I fell in love with this rifle the instant I opened the box. As others have talked about so much, there is NOTHING to complain about when it comes to the wood finish, and bluing. I scoped mine with a Leapers 4-16x56 Accushot AO IR scope with 1 piece Accushot rings. GREAT combo. I have consistently surprised myself with the shot groups achieved with this rifle. This was my first springer & definitely changed my whole opinion & ideas of what these were capable of. It is a little heavy especially when the scope is mounted, so shooting from a rest is almost a must. This now has a special place in my collection as "my first quality springer". I am shooting at 25 yards in a backyard range and continuously pull this out when I"m having any difficulty zeroing in another rifle or think I have an issue with a particular pellet, etc.... I always pull this gun out and it proves that there is nothing wrong with THIS one, or my pellet of choice. Every time, the only problem, is me. I need to understand that not all other rifles are as easy to zero in and shoot 1/8" groups at 75 feet every day. Except for this one....
    Things I would have changed:The ONLY thing I can think of might be the weight. But, given the quality of the wood stock and impeccable metal. You can't have the best of both world's with this quality of gun. You have to accept the weight to get this kind of quality.
    What others should know:Since this purchase at the beginning of spring, I have acquired another AA TX200 MKIII, but I opted for the Walnut one this time and a Centerpoint 4-16x56 AO IR scope. JUST AS NICE AS THE FIRST. The walnut finish is everything that I have read from other owner's. I have also acquired (2) Beeman HW97K's. One in .177 & one in .22 caliber. One scoped with the Centerpoint 4-16x56 & one with a BSA Tactical Sidewheel 4-16x44. Those are a WHOLE different review, and YES they are JUST AS NICE as this! Feel free to shoot me an email anytime, should you have any questions regarding the AA TX200 MKIII, or the Beeman HW97K. Geoff geoff538@msn.com

    Product: Beeman HW97K air rifle

    Beeman HW97K air rifle Air rifle
    Review entered on 2009-06-04 12:20:37

    Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Geoff from USA on 2009-06-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I received my first .177 HW97K in early May of this year. I had it scoped with a Centerpoint 4-16x56 AO IR & 2 piece high mounts. I was intrigued by this gun after my (2) Air Arms TX200's. Let me tell you, this did not let me down!!! I loved my Air Arms guns so much I started to get more and more intrigued by other springers. As I read reviews and unbiased opinions I decided I HAD to own one of these for comparison. Well, once I received this gun and just "started" to zero in the scope in my back yard 25yd. range I fell in love with this gun just as much as the AA gun! This gun is so incredibly smooth to handle, from the cocking lever, to the perfectly sculpted cheeckpiece, to the grip, checkering, and incredible Rekord trigger, I could not believe how much I enjoyed this from the very first shot I took. It must have taken no less than 5 minutes to zero this in to my liking and enjoy it for the entire day. I could NOT put it down! It is very similar to the Air Arms gun in the quality all around, but everything is a different breed. The wood finish, bluing, trigger, barrel, cocking arm, cocking release button, and safety are all different. So, it is a little different to shoot and handle than the Air Arms. Obviously being a carbine, it is a bit shorter, and is definitely noticeably lighter. It is a little more difficult to load pellets with a large scope than the TX200. It is right on par in the accuracy dept. It shoots dependably right where you want EVERY time!
    Things I would have changed:I would LOVE this gun in a rich, deep rose, walnut finish..... THAT's IT!!!
    What others should know:I wrote a review on the TX200 MKIII, and said I would on this gun as well. If you are thinking about either one of these, I'm sorry, but I can't definitively tell you which one I would buy. I pulled the trigger and opted for .22 version about 2 weeks ago as well. So, now I have (2) TX 200's in .177. One Beech and one Walnut. I have (2) HW97K's. One .177 and one .22. All I can say is.... When shooting either one of these, you have to purposefully pull out your other guns of lesser quality to shoot, just because they are there. All of my other guns sit for long periods, because simply put, they are not as enjoyable, comfortable, accurate, or pleasing to shoot. Don't get me wrong, I do truly love all of my airguns, but these are just a whole different breed of quality workmanship that gives you an instant gratification to shoot, and a solid understanding that these will be in your family for generations, if and when you are ever willing to give them up when that time comes. Pull the trigger on either and you will NOT be sorry. There is a reason why these don't get returned, or sent in for service. They simply don't fail, you or mechanically. The only reason I can ever think of this gun being sent back is user error or cost possibly. Once you buy either one of guns, you WILL want and find a way to get the other one as soon possible. Feel free to email me should you have any questions on either gun. Geoff geoff538@msn.com
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top