Product: Umarex SA177 BB Gun Repeater

Umarex SA177 BB Gun Repeater Air gun
Review entered on 2011-08-01 20:31:55

Overall rating:4.0 4.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

Accuracy:5.0 5.0

  By lentil from USA on 2011-08-01
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:Very accurate, great on CO2, great informal training tool for a glock owner. Width is slightly wider than my G17, a little narrower than my G20. Weight, and balance are not identical, but close enough for informal training. Point of aim equals point of impact on mine- a very big plus.
Things I would have changed:Mags have a tendency to spontaneously empty when inserted in the gun, or being bumped, or being looked at funny, etc. At the time of this review I have fired this pistol around 2k times. I have had around half a dozen "glitches"-FTFs, gas pressure fluctuations, "burping", spontaneous full auto. I was tempted to return it, but for the price I will probably just buy another when this one dies.

Product: Phillips Pellet Holder for AirForce Talon & Condor Airguns, .22-.25 Cal, Holds 16 Rds, .325" Thick

Phillips Pelletholder Phillips Pellet Holder for AirForce Talon & Condor Airguns, .22-.25 Cal, Holds 16 Rds, .325 inch Thick
Review entered on 2011-08-01 20:36:50

Overall rating:4.0 4.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

  By lentil from USA on 2011-08-01
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:Works as described; you grasp pellet by the skirt to remove them.
What others should know:If you are not careful, you will ding/bend your pellet skirts during removal resulting in poor accuracy. With careful attention, pellets come out pristine. Dirt can deposit in exposed skirt holes during dusty or dirty field conditions.

Product: Avanti Precision Ground Shot .177 Cal, 5.1 Grains, Steel BBs, 1050ct

Daisy Avanti Precision Ground Shot .177 Cal, 5.1 Grains, Steel BBs, 1050ct
Review entered on 2011-08-12 17:18:23

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

Size/Shape Distribution:5.0 5.0

  By lentil from USA on 2011-08-12
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
4.01 rating
 
Things I liked:Far more accurate than Daisy zinc coated and Crossman BBs. Slightly larger diameter than other BBs. Stabilized better is all barrels I tried, may cause feed problems for some (I didn't personally experience problems but they certainly fit snugger in magazines I tried them in. I suspect that was the cause of of problems for other reviewers claiming feed issues.)

Product: Daisy Avanti Champion 499

Daisy Avanti Champion 499 Air rifle
Review entered on 2011-08-12 17:55:57

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:4.0 4.0

Accuracy:5.0 5.0

  By lentil from USA on 2011-08-12
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:I purchased this smooth-bore long-arm to teach my son and daughter the finer points of rifle marksmanship and I believe it is well suited for the task. From field positions, accuracy is tremendous. One hole groupings at 10 yards; about 1-1.5 inches at 25 yards shooting prone w/sling and match BBs. Its probably a 4MOA gun under the best of conditions. I mounted a 6-24x scope on mine via a RWS one piece mount available here at Pyramyd. Mount clamps firmly to rear sight base plate. A Dremel tool or round file can be used to create clearance for the rear sight plate screw, further increasing stability. My trigger breaks at 3.5 lbs on my timney scale. The basic red-ryder BB gun triggers break around 5.5 lbs. Other than that, they feel identical. Its a long, heavy, poor feeling pull in comparison to other match triggers. Forearm is broad and well shaped for my adult male hands offering tremendous stability. I mounted the included sling and sling studs further increasing this gun's stability. I added a grind to fit recoil pad to increase the length of pull by an inch. The rubber pad also prevents the stock from slipping off the shoulder. A leather cheek pad laced to the stock provides me with consistent cheek weld using the raised scope mount. With all the bells and whistles Ive increased my guns weight to a balanced 5lbs 11oz. It feels like a .22 and shoots a whole lot better than most .22s at close range.
Things I would have changed:Trigger pull weight. Add a nonslip but-plate.
What others should know:Can be mounted with a scope using rim-fire/airgun 11mm or 3/8" rings and mounts.

Product: Smith & Wesson M&P R8 CO2 BB Revolver

Smith &  Wesson Smith & Wesson M&P R8 CO2 BB Revolver Air gun
Review entered on 2012-03-23 07:30:32

Overall rating:1.0 1.0

Value for money:1.0 1.0

Accuracy:2.0 2.0

  By lentil from USA on 2012-03-23
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
3.02 ratings
 
Things I liked:Not much
Things I would have changed:All plastic internals resulting in heavy, rough and gritty movement from cylinder, hammer and trigger. Single action pull is 10-11 lbs; about the same in double action. Feels nothing like a real revolver in either heft or action.
What others should know:The Crossman 357W is far superior to the MP R8 (both in feel and function) and is almost half the price.

Product: Colt Peacemaker SAA CO2 Revolver, Nickel

Colt Peacemaker SAA CO2 Revolver, Nickel Air gun
Review entered on 2015-05-03 14:27:11

Overall rating:5.0 5.0

Value for money:5.0 5.0

Accuracy:4.0 4.0

  By lentil from USA on 2015-05-03
See all my reviews
 Was this review helpful?
0.00 ratings
 
Things I liked:Finish, balance, trigger pull, compatibility with existing holsters. Point of aim coincides PERFECTLY with point of impact!!!!
Things I would have changed:Shorter barrel, birds head grip.
What others should know:Balance sits at the front of the trigger guard. Drops right into my SA leather. The action functions as a traditional SA. Fake shells weigh about the same as a live .357 round. They fit snugly in .38 shell loops. They are loaded and unloaded in the same manner as many single actions- half cock, lift gate, rotate cylinder. Trigger breaks on mine around 2.5 lbs. It creeps a bit but is still a fine trigger. POI is dead on with POA at 10 yards. Ive tried Avanti Match, Daisy and Crossman BBs. It groups them about the same. Mine groups around 1.5-2" at 10 yards, from a rest. 3-4 shot groupings easily fall within an inch, but flyers are common. I get about 100-110 shots per 12 gram CO2 cartridge at 55 F. The finish on it is great for an airgun. The grips are the biggest shortcoming-thin, slick plastic. Its action is smoother than a lower end SA like Heritage. Its no Ruger/Cimaron/Uberti, but far better than I expected. Its faster and cleaner to reload than wax/primer loads for you quick draw folks. Its great for teaching young/new shooters. After around 1000 shots fired, the action seems as tight as the day it came. The grip panel that hides the CO2 has loosened a hair.
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top