AirForce 24" Barrel, .177 Cal, Lothar Walther reviews - page 1

Pre-order


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Average Customer Review

5.0 (5 reviews)
5 star:4 star:3 star:2 star:1 star:
(4 votes)(1 vote)
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

By Kenny from USA on 2012-01-16 09:30:47

Things I liked:Everything - the barrel is perfect from chamber to muzzle
Things I would have changed:A little lower price, that's it.
What others should know:Fitting this on a Talon or Talon SS with a standard Talon valve, will, if turned up, make most pellet break the sound barrier, which will make most pellets become unstable.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:4.0

Value for money:4.0

By Karl from USA on 2015-03-08 13:10:07

Things I liked:Very easy to install. Comes with barrel bushings and end cap. Barrel seems smooth when pulling a patch through it.
Things I would have changed:Seems a little expensive for a replacement barrel, but then again, if you are using the AirForce platform, there are not too many alternatives.
What others should know:Bought this barrel to install on a Talon which was purchased in February 2014. Never could get the original 18" .22 barrel to shoot to my expectations even though the gun had been sent back to AirForce for testing/inspection. This .177 barrel looks like it may be a little more accurate than the 18" .22 barrel. I'm getting 1150 fps with an 8.4 grain pellet at a 3000 psi fill and a power wheel setting of zero. This is far too fast to expect decent accuracy and the rifle shoots best around 1800 to 1200 psi where velocities are in the low 900's to upper 800's. At a power wheel setting of zero, with a 3000 psi fill and shooting down to 1000 psi, got a total of 144 shots. Still some POI shift as the gun is shot down, but not as evident as with the original .22 barrel
Sort by:
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Karl from USA on 2015-03-08
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very easy to install. Comes with barrel bushings and end cap. Barrel seems smooth when pulling a patch through it.
    Things I would have changed:Seems a little expensive for a replacement barrel, but then again, if you are using the AirForce platform, there are not too many alternatives.
    What others should know:Bought this barrel to install on a Talon which was purchased in February 2014. Never could get the original 18" .22 barrel to shoot to my expectations even though the gun had been sent back to AirForce for testing/inspection. This .177 barrel looks like it may be a little more accurate than the 18" .22 barrel. I'm getting 1150 fps with an 8.4 grain pellet at a 3000 psi fill and a power wheel setting of zero. This is far too fast to expect decent accuracy and the rifle shoots best around 1800 to 1200 psi where velocities are in the low 900's to upper 800's. At a power wheel setting of zero, with a 3000 psi fill and shooting down to 1000 psi, got a total of 144 shots. Still some POI shift as the gun is shot down, but not as evident as with the original .22 barrel
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Ronald from USA on 2013-07-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Easy to swap out
    Things I would have changed:Come threaded
    What others should know:Put this on my Tallon SS, lost sound suppression but a totally new rifle. Real velocity, 40-60 pellets with no 'fall off in power'. No real difference over 3-4 on wheel. Extremely accurate.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Ronald from USA on 2013-07-09
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accurate, increases velocity a lot over 12 inch barrel.
    Things I would have changed:A bit expensive, should come threaded
    What others should know:Started with a Tallon SS, .177, moved up to a condor .22, graduated to a .25 condor. Take it from me, caliber is not as satisfying as velocity. On the Tallon SS you could see the pellet in flight. Substitute the 24 inch barrel and you have a totally new rifle. My impression of the Tallon SS. .177 is for target practice in the basement while the baby is sleeping upstairs! Very happy with the 24 inch barrel.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Jason from USA on 2013-05-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Very high quality product as I would expect from Airforce Airguns. I ordered the 24" .177 barrel specifically for pest bird and ground squirrel control. Barrel arrived in a well packed box, with the actual barrel inside of a tube for added protection. It also came with barrel mounted screws and an end cap. Switching out my barrel from the factory .22 to the new .177 took a whole 5 minutes on my Talon.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    What others should know:Here is some data for all of those who want to know how this barrel performs. All testing was done with Crosman 7.9g HPs to keep things simple. 1073 fps was obtained with an unmodified factory Talon tank on the #3 power wheel setting. Going higher than #3 did not produce an increase in fps. 788 fps was obtained with an Airforce CO2 adapter and a 13ci paintball tank regulated at 850psi and the power wheel on #2. Going higher than #2 did not produce an increase in fps. 824 fps was obtained with an Airforce CO2 adapter and a 48ci paintball tank regulated at 1400psi and the power wheel on #3. Going higher than #3 did not produce an increase in fps. I shot about 15 different brands of pellets through this barrel and it likes anything this does not have a pointed tip design. very accurate. Will shoot groups smaller than a dime a 30 yards all day long. Hope the review helps. Sorry, no CO2 fps data. The CO2 fps should be close to the 850psi regulated tank data based on my experience shooting it in .22.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Kenny from USA on 2012-01-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Everything - the barrel is perfect from chamber to muzzle
    Things I would have changed:A little lower price, that's it.
    What others should know:Fitting this on a Talon or Talon SS with a standard Talon valve, will, if turned up, make most pellet break the sound barrier, which will make most pellets become unstable.
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top