Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Air Venturi A.G.E. Quiet Pellet Trap, Incl. Ballistic Putty reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    By Jawad from USA on 2008-06-14 08:50:24

    Things I liked:-Works as advertised, really is silent when struck with pellets -Looks to be built solidly -Comes with several target sheets to get you started -Virtually no mess thanks to design and materials
    Things I would have changed:-Price was a little higher than I would like -At this price point I would have hoped that the trap could handle more than just "guns that produce less than 18 foot-pounds of energy at 10 meters." It would be nice if in the future they had a version that could handle upto 25 foot-pounds
    What others should know:-This has been one of my best purchases from PA -Truly is quiet, based on another review here I bought this to use in my apartment and it's a great solution for my environment -Before I bought this pellet trap, I had been using stacked phonebooks behind target sheets... this was an el-cheapo solution that created tons of mess for me to deal with. I didn't realize how badly a couple dozen pellets would tear up them, ie. I had paper dust in my apartment for a while. With the ballistic putty backing, the A.G.E. trap has no such side effects.
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By srs from USA on 2010-03-17 08:10:23

    Things I liked:Good idea, but not strong enough. Two units arrived in the mail with the back panels detached from the weight of the ballistic putty moving during shipment. The back panel is thin and held on only with staples. A stronger design is needed to support the weight of the ballistic putty.
    Things I would have changed:he back panel needs to be stronger and held on more securely to avoid having the weight of the ballistic putty make it detach from the rest of the box
    What others should know:Customer service was excellent -- among the best I've experienced for an internet purchase.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2014-07-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Keep your shots within the frame, & it's worry free shooting.
      Things I would have changed:Have a removable top frame for it. Make it a little wider for further away shots, so the frame doesn't get hit. It could happen.
      What others should know:Not sure yet if there's replacement gel packs available for when the ones inside it get too many shots in them. Still wouldn't hurt to put something sturdy behind it to be safe.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By JC from USA on 2014-06-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Can use indoors
      Things I would have changed:Lower price
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Franklin from USA on 2014-06-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I would offer a metal plate to be placed in the box ahead of the duct seal. I put one in mine.
      Things I would have changed:In the photo I put aluminum strips around the exterior to save the box from errant pellets. I think this should be standard.
      What others should know:When this target is shot up you will have a good model for your own build.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Kenneth from USA on 2014-02-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent pellet trap for indoor shooting!
      Things I would have changed:The ballistic putty is not the full length of the trap. You need to put an inch of wood shim in there to level it off. But still well worth it!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By kevin from USA on 2014-01-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I really like this pellet trap. It is exceptionally quiet and the dimensions are just right. I have mine sitting on the top step of a step ladder leaning against the wall and it is the perfect size.
      Things I would have changed:I would make it a bit deeper as I get some paper chips coming out of the trap unless I continually use new cardbord backers.
      What others should know:This is a quality product. i highly recommend it. I am very happy with mine.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By William from USA on 2013-12-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Good use of 'sound quieting' material
      Things I would have changed:For the Price; could be much better quality (fit and finish)!
      What others should know:Target paper size showed this manufacturer's GREED! Off-Size! Because of design, cannot a commonly sized 12 bullseye target (which is much cheaper and more readily available). Therefore must buy THEIR targets or forced to "cut down" size of common targets. "Cheap Shot", PUN INTENDED!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Grant from USA on 2013-10-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great trap. Works Well. Worth the money.
      Things I would have changed:I would strengthen it a little. Nail the backing on a little better, glue the seams, etc. Maybe change the size - see below.
      What others should know:WARNING: Only order replace target from Pyramid Air. Regular AR-5/10 12 Bull targets are 10.5 x 12 inches. The 11.5 x 13.25 AR-5/10 12 Bull Targets are a special order for Pyramid Air Only.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By scolest from USA on 2013-09-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I liked this product, and use it pretty much every day. But it came slightly banged up (which didn't really bother me - its a pellet trap...) But the price...seems out of whack. If the box isn't terribly well crafted (looks just like a pine box), you're sort of overpaying - duct seal doesn't seem to be that expensive.
      Things I would have changed:Should come with a few replacement cardboard backers.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Chaffyn from USA on 2013-06-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Love that it's sized for the NRA targets. It's handsome, especially after I added am antique brass handle which makes it much less clumsy to carry.
      Things I would have changed:If you're shooting a high velocity air rifle the pellets will blow right through the "ballistic putty" and through the wooden box's back. I had to add a 1/8 inch piece of sheet steel ($15) to make it right. Ends up being rather expensive overall, but it suits my needs now.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Hebert from USA on 2013-01-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Stops .25 cal from Hatsen sniper rifle no problem. If you miss the clay the rifle will blow right through the hard wood box. Works great. No ricochet problem. Stops everything.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. You can cut up cardboard to back the targets and keep the clay in. I would add a handle because it is fairly heavy and hard to carry.
      What others should know:Works well to stop whatever you are shooting. I would back it up with a piece of plywood in case you miss the clay.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Timothy from USA on 2012-08-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Works as advertised, Quieter than other traps I have used, both boughten and home made. Sure stoppage of the pellets. Holds the targets well.
      Things I would have changed:Atop handle would be a nice addition.
      What others should know:Expensive, but a very good product.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Don from USA on 2012-02-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:???
      Things I would have changed:The price, most expensive wooden box I have ever bought.
      What others should know:You can build one for under $25 (this would be made of hardwood)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Richard from USA on 2011-12-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This trap is really great. I think the problems people are having with pellets getting through the putty material can all be avoided. First, take the putty out of the plastic it comes in. Second, pack it in to the base so it's one solid piece with even coverage. Regardless what the description says the amount of putty that comes with it is the right amount. Works great and really is very quiet.
      Things I would have changed:I added a handle at the top like a few others have done. This really makes it much easier to cary. It is heavy so its kind of awkward to carry without a handle, especially with one hand. It is a little pricey but the putty is not cheap and it is a great product even for the price.
      What others should know:Make sure to install the putty properly and it will work great. I bought a sheet of foam board for a few bucks and cut out openings for the different size targets I'm using. Then I just clip the targets to the board and slide them in. I don't use the cardboard backing at all.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Mark from USA on 2011-09-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quiet! Great for indoors or in the suburbs. Well built. Nicely finished wood.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:When you get this trap, take off the cardboard front, lay it on a flat sturdy surface, take your fists and push the ballistic clay down, spreading it out. If not, expect a few holes through the back of your trap! Ask me how I know....
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By kerry from USA on 2011-09-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:quiet
      Things I would have changed:no squawks re: arrived broken give us the missing 1/2 block for repair/remolding etc
      What others should know:fine product... bigger would be better for scope adjust initial errors
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By fletchoman from USA on 2011-08-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:quiet
      Things I would have changed:lower price and re-enforcement for more strength
      What others should know:Th first time I used it, I had a tight 5 shot group that blew a hole through the back about the size of a quarter...using nothing more than 12FPE.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-06-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is quiet and mostly well-made. Most of the pellets embed nicely in the duct seal material ("ballistic putty") which sits behind a cardboard target backing.
      Things I would have changed:The back of the trap is made of very thin wood which fractures easily as the pellets fly through the seams in the three bags of duct seal. The biggest annoyance is that the 10M 12 Bull targets I previously purchased are too small for a secure fit. I have to use push-pins to secure the target. As others have said, there are only 12.5lbs of duct seal rather than 15lbs.
      What others should know:The "target backer" is actually just a piece of cardboard. I now make sure I cut replacement cardboard backers whenever I receive a large shipping box. The duct seal material is actually 2 1/2 bags of 5lbs each. Unfortunately, pellets can fly between the edges of the bags and into the trap backing. I've tried reforming the bags but haven't solved this problem. Make sure you purchase the 10M targets linked on the trap's web page so you get the right size.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Jon from USA on 2011-05-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is an excellent product. Truly quiet, contains lead dust. Works just like it is supposed to.
      Things I would have changed:I afixed a handle to the top of mine, a simple modification I highly recommend as it makes it so much easier to carry.
      What others should know:12.5 vs. 15 pounds of duct seal? The 12.5 is the correct amount to fill the trap.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By William from USA on 2010-12-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:My trap was not broken, it arrived in fine condition.
      Things I would have changed:I would change the description from 15lbs of putty to 12.5, because 1 of the 5lb bags is cut in half.
      What others should know:It holds the targets and stops the pellets quietly, what else is there to know.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By erik from USA on 2010-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:PyramydAir resolved the issue from my earlier review quickly and professionally. I have been using this with everything from a .177 pistol to a .22 R1 at 25'. Even a domed field target round from the R1 only penetrates about 1/3 of the way into the putty. Silent and clean, a great trap.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top