Date: 30/8/2016 22:26
0

Air Venturi Williams 64 Peep Sight reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Joseph from USA on 2010-09-10 07:49:00

Things I liked: I like the fact that the Crosman 64 sight fits older models of Benjamin 397's despite the claim that it only fits models made within the last five years. I currently own a Benjamin Model 397 that I bought in about 1994, and I affixed this sight to it without any problems. This sight is well-made, is tiny in size, and it works very well.

Things I would have changed: Nothing except perhaps to remove the disclaimer abot this sight fitting only Benjamin/Sheridan air rifles made in the last five years.

What others should know: Yes, to remove the original sights on the Benjamin Model 397/392, I recommend these following actions: (1) get yourself a flat-edge screwdriver at least 1/4"-wide by about 8"-long. Also get a rubber mallet or a small ball-peen hammer. Bring these items close to you. (2) Make sure the rifle is unloaded. (3) Stand you 397 so that the stock rests on a hard surface with the barel pointing upwards. (4) Ask an assistant to hold the rifle with his/her hand located towards the front sight area. (5) Using the screwdriver and mallet/hammer, gently--GENTLY--tap one of the two rails that holds the original rear sight in place until it moves downward from its original position. You want to move this rail at least 1/2 - 3/4". (6) STOP. (7) Switch sides: tap the other rail gently so that it moves about the same distance as the first. (8) STOP. (9) Repeat these actions until both rails drop free. Make sure you gently tap the rails with the hammer and screwdriver. Failure to comply could easily result in you damaging the rifle beyond repair should you break the solder connection between the barrel and the pump chamber. SO BE CAREFUL!!!

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By mark from USA on 2015-06-20 14:49:11

Things I liked: Technically it "fits" my Benjamin 397. The screw holes align. Unfortunately without modification it won't even get on the paper at 10 meters.

Things I would have changed: How about not saying that it fits a model of airgun when you cannot get on the paper without major material removal. I took so much off the thing is a just a shiny metal object and it is still 6 inches high at 10 meters with several weights and types of .177 pellets.(at least it is consistently bad)

What others should know: Based on other reviews, this obviously works well for some models. For my newer 397 it was a waste of money and my limited leisure time. Pyramyd has a 30 day return policy so be sure to try it out before that period. I should have sent the thing back after first use.

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By paul from USA on 2016-07-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: All metal. It's very adjustable and was easy to install. It's much more accurate than the iron sights installed on my Benjamin 392. I'm getting groups half the size I was before.

    Things I would have changed: I would have liked a longer height adjustment screw. I'd pay an extra dollar or whatever for a screw to allow longer shots at lower velocities.

    What others should know: Lots of talk that it was easy to strip the screws. I used the right tools for the job and had no issues. It's a precision instrument so treat it like one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2016-05-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I added this to a Sheridan Blue Streak that already had a drilled and tapped receiver. This is an excellent sight which I added to overcome the fact that I can no longer focus on the notched rear sight. Re the complaints of over-torqueing: just be careful (use a very small precision screwdriver) and you won't over torque. You might want to put a little lube (penetrating oil) on the threads if you think the threads in your receiver might be rough or corroded. Mine threaded in just fine and my rifle was bought in the early 80's. YMMV.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Access to the front mounting screw is possible after loosening the elevation screw (the front screw in the silver ring) and slipping off the elevation assembly.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Clint from USA on 2016-04-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I mounted this sight on a Benjamin 392 .22 cal. and its a much better sight than what came from the factory. Mounting the sight and sighting it in was no problem, except stripping the vertical alignment screw..............

    Things I would have changed: It really needs a longer bolt on the vertical adjustment.

    What others should know: Be prepared to tap some new threads, the sight is all aluminum and if you tork on it much it will strip out pretty easily. As I said above, its a superior sight to the factory sight and with the help of a new bolt and a little lock-tight you'll be a happy shooter.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By robert from USA on 2016-02-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: i was concerned on how stable this would bet mounted on the side but its rock solid. the hole in the peep is not too small for me and if you want a bigger you can unscrew the peep and use the housing. Evan with my old eyes i can see great with this.i would buy another.

    Things I would have changed: i did have an issue with the elevation screw stripping out but used the longer mounting screw and found another screw to mount it.

    What others should know: i seen some people talking about having to file to get it to sight in but i had no problem with mine. its about a 1\4 space between the receiver.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By mark from USA on 2015-06-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Technically it "fits" my Benjamin 397. The screw holes align. Unfortunately without modification it won't even get on the paper at 10 meters.

    Things I would have changed: How about not saying that it fits a model of airgun when you cannot get on the paper without major material removal. I took so much off the thing is a just a shiny metal object and it is still 6 inches high at 10 meters with several weights and types of .177 pellets.(at least it is consistently bad)

    What others should know: Based on other reviews, this obviously works well for some models. For my newer 397 it was a waste of money and my limited leisure time. Pyramyd has a 30 day return policy so be sure to try it out before that period. I should have sent the thing back after first use.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2015-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Terrific complement to my Benjamin 392. With little prior knowledge I was able to dial in with no problems. I love the sight picture this affords!

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Carlos from USA on 2015-03-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It does work once you finagle the adjustments.

    Things I would have changed: Instructions would be nice. A slim driver included would be better.

    What others should know: So, only newer model Benjamin 392/397 rifles can use this product. This model can actually be a fixed-declination device, because only the absolute bottom of the vertical will put you on zero. Windage is a matter of unscrew and push over the eyepiece. After playing with it, ALOT, it will put you on zero at 25yards with 14.5 grain pellets, in 22 caliber. Heavier pellets will drop dramatically after 15 grains. That is my experience so far.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rick from USA on 2015-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to install, and it greatly improved the accuracy of my Sheridan .22 air rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Needs instructions, and it could be easier to adjust.

    What others should know: You just need a couple of good screwdrivers to install.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Clay from USA on 2015-01-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Easy installation on my Crosman/Benjamin 392

    Things I would have changed: Add witness mark for windage reference. Increase downward travel range for elevation adjustment. Too many of these shoot high including mine. Just reduced number of pumps to compensate. Change from flathead screws to allen head screws.

    What others should know: My Williams 64 sight is labeled 5D-SH

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joshua from USA on 2015-01-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to installed small and its cost left and would you could squeeze out of it from accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Needs adjustment knobs. Because anytime you need to move the sight anywhere to any spot you need a screwdriver and no one has time to keep a screwdriver to adjust a sight for windage or elevation

    What others should know: to squeeze more accuracy out of it you may need a smaller aperture because the one that's comes with it is very large but it gets me half inch groups at 25 yards. without a rest

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stephen from USA on 2014-12-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I highly recommend the Williams 64 peep sight. It provides excellent target acquisition and pinpoint accuracy without any of the bulk of a scope. It is "old time" in appearance and therefore goes well with the classic Benjamin pump pellet guns, Models 392 and 397. I installed this on my Benjamin 392 within a matter of minutes. To tap off the installed buckhorn sights use a rubber mallet and block of wood. First remove the screws and gently tap the sight downward until it falls free. On the range the peep sight needed two modest adjustments to bring the group up a few inches and slightly to the right. My final group was continuously dead center in the bulls eye, shooting offhand at 8 yards. Since this was after less than two dozen shots with a new, unfamiliar rifle, I have the greatest praise for this rifle/sight combination! Finally, this item was made in America, so if you buy it you will be supporting your neighbors and not our enemies.

    Things I would have changed: The example shown in the Williams packaging was of a different or generic model, and there were no obvious instructions. The item, itself, was pre-assembled and two screws were provided to attach the sight to the gun. The rest of the process seemed intuitive enough for someone reasonably handy. Not everyone is equally competent with tools and processes. Nor does everyone own tools of the type, quality, or precision sufficient for gunsmith-type work. Any written guidance or precautions on the installation or adjustment of the product would be appreciated and might prevent some unnecessary buyers remorse.

    What others should know: I recommend Blue Loctite for installing the Williams 64 to the brass receiver. Apply Loctite to the screw threads and use a firm, but not crushing force when tightening the screws. You will appreciate having no screws work loose and having no stripped threads. Also consider using Loctite on the threads on the aperture (eyepiece), to keep it from loosening and falling out. I have read many other comments here about this sight seriously lacking sufficient adjustment depth to correct excess shot elevation. My gun was brand new, and I had absolutely no issues with having to grind the peep sight hardware down to further lower the elevation adjustment. My gun was actually shooting several inches low at the lowest elevation setting, so I had to raise the elevation adjustment just a bit (4 click marks)to raise the zero on the sight into the core of the bulls eye. Peep sights are trouble-free. They stay zeroed and there are no glass surfaces to clean or break.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Karl from USA on 2014-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Worked without modification on a newer Benjamin 392.

    Things I would have changed: More travel to right and down.

    What others should know: Moved all the way right and all the way down but has the proper sight picture.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Maciej from Poland on 2014-11-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Makes my 397 an ultimate killing machine. Way better then the standard rear sights.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe the sight hole could be a bit smaller. Though it would be more precise with "needle made" front sight.

    What others should know: If you have B 392/397 just buy it and use it, You won't regret.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Karl from USA on 2014-11-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Perfect fit for a .22 caliber 1990's series Benjamin 397.

    Things I would have changed: Knobs would be much more convenient than little screws, but would add to the price. The supplied aperture is more like a "ghost ring" and precludes any really accurate shooting. I believe it measures .093 inches, but a .050 inch 3/8" replacement is available widely. Even at the lowest elevation setting, and with six pumps,the gun shoots high at 25 yard. I started shooting a 18.13 grain pellet but am still a half inch high at 25 yards with this pellet.

    What others should know: The front sight of rifle needs to be higher to really utilize the sight properly. Material can be removed from the base of the Williams sight, but at the expense of the anodizing. It is however, much more reliable than a scope as I've had great difficulty keeping a scope sighted in.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cameron from USA on 2014-09-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very accurate, easy to change peep diameter, easy to install. Very solid once mounted and tightened down, no worry of it getting bumped and losing zero. Lots of adjustability.

    Things I would have changed: Click adjustments rather thane loosening screws, guessing and retightening. I'd gladly pay a few extra bucks for easier adjustment by click for distance shooting.

    What others should know: This should be mandatory with the purchase of a 392/397. Some complain that they can't adjust low enough, but I haven't experienced this. Installed, took 5 minutes to zero in, and is dead on target every time the gun comes out. Can't ask for much more than that.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Milton from USA on 2014-05-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This sight greatly helps improve the accuracy on the Benjamin 397 I purchased.

    Things I would have changed: The windage and elevation adjustments. Make them more of a micrometer type adjustment. Right now you have to loosen the screws and set the sights by hand where you think the windage and elevation should be set.

    What others should know: You have to remove the buckhorn sight on the Benjamin 392/397 by gently tapping them off the barrel. Be aware you may scrape off a little bluing. If you don't remove the buckhorn sight it will interfere with the Williams peep sight.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By kevin from USA on 2014-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid design with solid elevation adjustment. Looks good on my Benjamin 392. Provides increased accuracy and sighting speed.

    Things I would have changed: Better windage screws... I understand this isn't a micrometer adjusted sight but a couple extra quarters would buy some better screws...

    What others should know: This peep sight is a little difficult to get sighted in but once you do its really nice. I have young eyes and would like a smaller aperture but this is a great hunting combo! I put a little of the wife's hot pink nail polish on the front blade for even better sight picture. It made an accurate rifle even better!

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Forrest from USA on 2014-03-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fits very well. Quality is good. The older ones had finer graduations. It works well.

    Things I would have changed: Include instructions.

    What others should know: You can get an exact sight picture quicker, then open sights. Looks good on Rifle. Put the front sight at exactly 6 O'clock, and at the bottom of the sight picture, with as little of front sight showing through aperture as possible. Put target on top of front sight. You will have an EXACT sight picture, like lining up open sight.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By william from USA on 2014-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well made and easy to mount and zero.

    Things I would have changed: Torx or Allen head screws

    What others should know: Screw heads are shallow.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Byron from USA on 2014-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The sight installed easy once you can figure out how it works. It is sturdy.

    Things I would have changed: I think it costs twice what it's worth. The screw slots are too shallow. Installation instructions were almost non existent.

    What others should know: Adjusting the windage is very crude and not easy to do. One of the windage screws was too short to fit.

  • 12345 Next
Navigation