Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Air Venturi Williams 64 Peep Sight reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2010-09-10 07:49:00

    Things I liked:I like the fact that the Crosman 64 sight fits older models of Benjamin 397's despite the claim that it only fits models made within the last five years. I currently own a Benjamin Model 397 that I bought in about 1994, and I affixed this sight to it without any problems. This sight is well-made, is tiny in size, and it works very well.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing except perhaps to remove the disclaimer abot this sight fitting only Benjamin/Sheridan air rifles made in the last five years.
    What others should know:Yes, to remove the original sights on the Benjamin Model 397/392, I recommend these following actions: (1) get yourself a flat-edge screwdriver at least 1/4"-wide by about 8"-long. Also get a rubber mallet or a small ball-peen hammer. Bring these items close to you. (2) Make sure the rifle is unloaded. (3) Stand you 397 so that the stock rests on a hard surface with the barel pointing upwards. (4) Ask an assistant to hold the rifle with his/her hand located towards the front sight area. (5) Using the screwdriver and mallet/hammer, gently--GENTLY--tap one of the two rails that holds the original rear sight in place until it moves downward from its original position. You want to move this rail at least 1/2 - 3/4". (6) STOP. (7) Switch sides: tap the other rail gently so that it moves about the same distance as the first. (8) STOP. (9) Repeat these actions until both rails drop free. Make sure you gently tap the rails with the hammer and screwdriver. Failure to comply could easily result in you damaging the rifle beyond repair should you break the solder connection between the barrel and the pump chamber. SO BE CAREFUL!!!
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By john from USA on 2012-02-13 00:08:05

    Things I liked:I purchased this for a older Bengamin 397 most definate older than the last 5 years. Best thing I can say is it need a boat load of file adjustment to get it shooting low enough.
    Things I would have changed:Should be a "do not even try this on a bengamin older than fives years old unless you have files and like to curse.....
    What others should know:For those that want to take this on. I had to file the under side of the sight slide assembly until it would seat low enough to just get a POA=POI @ 30 yards any targets closer I will now have to learn my hold unders for this plinker.
    Sort by:
    • 12345 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Rick from USA on 2015-02-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to install, and it greatly improved the accuracy of my Sheridan .22 air rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Needs instructions, and it could be easier to adjust.
      What others should know:You just need a couple of good screwdrivers to install.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Clay from USA on 2015-01-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy installation on my Crosman/Benjamin 392
      Things I would have changed:Add witness mark for windage reference. Increase downward travel range for elevation adjustment. Too many of these shoot high including mine. Just reduced number of pumps to compensate. Change from flathead screws to allen head screws.
      What others should know:My Williams 64 sight is labeled 5D-SH
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By joshua from USA on 2015-01-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to installed small and its cost left and would you could squeeze out of it from accuracy
      Things I would have changed:Needs adjustment knobs. Because anytime you need to move the sight anywhere to any spot you need a screwdriver and no one has time to keep a screwdriver to adjust a sight for windage or elevation
      What others should know:to squeeze more accuracy out of it you may need a smaller aperture because the one that's comes with it is very large but it gets me half inch groups at 25 yards. without a rest
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Stephen from USA on 2014-12-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I highly recommend the Williams 64 peep sight. It provides excellent target acquisition and pinpoint accuracy without any of the bulk of a scope. It is "old time" in appearance and therefore goes well with the classic Benjamin pump pellet guns, Models 392 and 397. I installed this on my Benjamin 392 within a matter of minutes. To tap off the installed buckhorn sights use a rubber mallet and block of wood. First remove the screws and gently tap the sight downward until it falls free. On the range the peep sight needed two modest adjustments to bring the group up a few inches and slightly to the right. My final group was continuously dead center in the bulls eye, shooting offhand at 8 yards. Since this was after less than two dozen shots with a new, unfamiliar rifle, I have the greatest praise for this rifle/sight combination! Finally, this item was made in America, so if you buy it you will be supporting your neighbors and not our enemies.
      Things I would have changed:The example shown in the Williams packaging was of a different or generic model, and there were no obvious instructions. The item, itself, was pre-assembled and two screws were provided to attach the sight to the gun. The rest of the process seemed intuitive enough for someone reasonably handy. Not everyone is equally competent with tools and processes. Nor does everyone own tools of the type, quality, or precision sufficient for gunsmith-type work. Any written guidance or precautions on the installation or adjustment of the product would be appreciated and might prevent some unnecessary buyers remorse.
      What others should know:I recommend Blue Loctite for installing the Williams 64 to the brass receiver. Apply Loctite to the screw threads and use a firm, but not crushing force when tightening the screws. You will appreciate having no screws work loose and having no stripped threads. Also consider using Loctite on the threads on the aperture (eyepiece), to keep it from loosening and falling out. I have read many other comments here about this sight seriously lacking sufficient adjustment depth to correct excess shot elevation. My gun was brand new, and I had absolutely no issues with having to grind the peep sight hardware down to further lower the elevation adjustment. My gun was actually shooting several inches low at the lowest elevation setting, so I had to raise the elevation adjustment just a bit (4 click marks)to raise the zero on the sight into the core of the bulls eye. Peep sights are trouble-free. They stay zeroed and there are no glass surfaces to clean or break.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Karl from USA on 2014-11-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Worked without modification on a newer Benjamin 392.
      Things I would have changed:More travel to right and down.
      What others should know:Moved all the way right and all the way down but has the proper sight picture.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Maciej from Poland on 2014-11-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Makes my 397 an ultimate killing machine. Way better then the standard rear sights.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe the sight hole could be a bit smaller. Though it would be more precise with "needle made" front sight.
      What others should know:If you have B 392/397 just buy it and use it, You won't regret.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Karl from USA on 2014-11-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Perfect fit for a .22 caliber 1990's series Benjamin 397.
      Things I would have changed:Knobs would be much more convenient than little screws, but would add to the price. The supplied aperture is more like a "ghost ring" and precludes any really accurate shooting. I believe it measures .093 inches, but a .050 inch 3/8" replacement is available widely. Even at the lowest elevation setting, and with six pumps,the gun shoots high at 25 yard. I started shooting a 18.13 grain pellet but am still a half inch high at 25 yards with this pellet.
      What others should know:The front sight of rifle needs to be higher to really utilize the sight properly. Material can be removed from the base of the Williams sight, but at the expense of the anodizing. It is however, much more reliable than a scope as I've had great difficulty keeping a scope sighted in.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Cameron from USA on 2014-09-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very accurate, easy to change peep diameter, easy to install. Very solid once mounted and tightened down, no worry of it getting bumped and losing zero. Lots of adjustability.
      Things I would have changed:Click adjustments rather thane loosening screws, guessing and retightening. I'd gladly pay a few extra bucks for easier adjustment by click for distance shooting.
      What others should know:This should be mandatory with the purchase of a 392/397. Some complain that they can't adjust low enough, but I haven't experienced this. Installed, took 5 minutes to zero in, and is dead on target every time the gun comes out. Can't ask for much more than that.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Milton from USA on 2014-05-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This sight greatly helps improve the accuracy on the Benjamin 397 I purchased.
      Things I would have changed:The windage and elevation adjustments. Make them more of a micrometer type adjustment. Right now you have to loosen the screws and set the sights by hand where you think the windage and elevation should be set.
      What others should know:You have to remove the buckhorn sight on the Benjamin 392/397 by gently tapping them off the barrel. Be aware you may scrape off a little bluing. If you don't remove the buckhorn sight it will interfere with the Williams peep sight.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By kevin from USA on 2014-04-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid design with solid elevation adjustment. Looks good on my Benjamin 392. Provides increased accuracy and sighting speed.
      Things I would have changed:Better windage screws... I understand this isn't a micrometer adjusted sight but a couple extra quarters would buy some better screws...
      What others should know:This peep sight is a little difficult to get sighted in but once you do its really nice. I have young eyes and would like a smaller aperture but this is a great hunting combo! I put a little of the wife's hot pink nail polish on the front blade for even better sight picture. It made an accurate rifle even better!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Forrest from USA on 2014-03-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fits very well. Quality is good. The older ones had finer graduations. It works well.
      Things I would have changed:Include instructions.
      What others should know:You can get an exact sight picture quicker, then open sights. Looks good on Rifle. Put the front sight at exactly 6 O'clock, and at the bottom of the sight picture, with as little of front sight showing through aperture as possible. Put target on top of front sight. You will have an EXACT sight picture, like lining up open sight.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By william from USA on 2014-03-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well made and easy to mount and zero.
      Things I would have changed:Torx or Allen head screws
      What others should know:Screw heads are shallow.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Byron from USA on 2014-01-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The sight installed easy once you can figure out how it works. It is sturdy.
      Things I would have changed:I think it costs twice what it's worth. The screw slots are too shallow. Installation instructions were almost non existent.
      What others should know:Adjusting the windage is very crude and not easy to do. One of the windage screws was too short to fit.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Ricardo from USA on 2013-12-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The sight makes the Benjamin guns excellent field rifles. The Williams Peep gives a clear and accurate sight picture that allows the shooter to be much more accurate.
      Things I would have changed:The sight could be a little more streamlined in design, but it is still fairly snag free.
      What others should know:The aperture unscrews, so be careful not to lose it. However, without the aperture, the large threaded hole remains and makes an excellent "ghost ring" type sight.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Tom from USA on 2013-09-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Second one I've ordered. Easy to install. Easy to sight in on the gun. Great value.
      Things I would have changed:Click adjustments would be nice but would probably increase the price though probably not enough to prohibit purchase.
      What others should know:As I said above, good value.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By raymond from USA on 2013-08-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Made in the U.S.A. This is a very nice sight.The quality is top notch.It was easy to sight in.You will like this better than a scope on a Benjamin Sheridan multi pump air rifle.I have the scope and intermount for my 397 and this little Williams peep sight gives it a run for its money;and its more comfortable to use than a scope.It also makes pumping the rifle an easier task.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe make the windage adjustment a one screw affair like the elevation adjustment .As it is, it has two screws to adjust windage. Nothing wrong other than that.
      What others should know:The website states not to use this peep sight in Benjamin-Sheridan multi pumpers over 5 years old.I purchased this for a 1996 Benjamin Sheridan model 397PA and it bolted on with no fuss.I did not have to do any filing like others have had to do. Buy this Williams peep scope from PYRAMYD AIR.You will be happy with your purchase.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By John from USA on 2013-08-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to install and bore sight. Easley to adjust.
      What others should know:Got this for my Benjamin 392 it said it would fit, and it mounted on the gun as described in the instructions. However to get it sighted in I had to adjust it as far to the right as it would go and it still needed to go more. I had the stock sight adjusted in the same manner. I got this sight thinking that there was something wrong with the OE sight. I guess not, it must be the gun. I have four other air guns and the sights are all just about dead center to the barrel.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-08-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to install and easy to adjust for elevation and windage.
      Things I would have changed:Would be nice if came with multiple peep sizes.
      What others should know:This sight definitely helped improve my accuracy with my Benjamin 392 rifle. I'm getting much better group sizes with the peep sight compared with the rear sight that came on my rifle. I did have to remove the factory rear sight to get a clear line of sight.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2013-08-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Ease of mounting! Make's my Bemjamin's as accurate as I can shoot them!
      Things I would have changed:Make them standard sights on the Benjamin's
      What others should know:Will fit Benjamin's before 2000!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-07-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Dead simple to set up and use.
      Things I would have changed:Windage and elevation adjustments were difficult due to the way the screws hold the elements in place. A slight move one way or another was difficult and usually resulted in a frustratingly large shift. That said, I was sighted in at 15 yards in about 20 minutes.
      What others should know:I put this on a Benjiman 397PA that I purchased in 1998 or 99. Was a perfect fit. Had to remove the stock rear sight (not difficult, but on the Benji's you have to be concerned about stressing the barrel). If I had known what an improvement this would be over regular open sights. My 45 year old eye sight is beginning to make shooting with open sights difficult, and I expect it to get worse. This has improved the clarity of the target and the front sight tremendously. Considering a Merit #4 variable aperture hunting disc to replace the aperture that came with this assembly.
    • 12345 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top