Date: 25/7/2016 6:0
0

Benjamin Hand Pump, Fits Crosman & Benjamin PCP Guns reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Barry from USA on 2010-12-21 18:32:22

Things I liked: Good quality. It is doing just as it is designed.

What others should know: Follow instructions. Pump slow and deliberate.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By gray from USA on 2016-06-28 09:28:40

Things I liked: Easy to use, no problems there.

Things I would have changed: The internals with better o-rings, an o-ring replacement kit and better chrome on the shaft. An air dryer assembly would be nice to keep moisture in the pump to a minimum.

What others should know: I did some research on this and heard stories of this pump not lasting very long and they were right. Mine lasted 4 months before becoming useless. I used this about once a week and sometimes not even that and it will not hold pressure. There are a lot of videos out there on people tearing them apart to replace the o-rings inside. I would think Benjamin would do some market research and address the many issues they have with pump failing so quickly. Do yourself a favor and don't buy this pump. $180 dollars down the drain. Not very good quality.I assume the o-rings are shot and mine has a pitted chrome shaft where the metal isn't polished out sufficiently.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 1011 Next
  • Showitems
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By gray from USA on 2016-06-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to use, no problems there.

    Things I would have changed: The internals with better o-rings, an o-ring replacement kit and better chrome on the shaft. An air dryer assembly would be nice to keep moisture in the pump to a minimum.

    What others should know: I did some research on this and heard stories of this pump not lasting very long and they were right. Mine lasted 4 months before becoming useless. I used this about once a week and sometimes not even that and it will not hold pressure. There are a lot of videos out there on people tearing them apart to replace the o-rings inside. I would think Benjamin would do some market research and address the many issues they have with pump failing so quickly. Do yourself a favor and don't buy this pump. $180 dollars down the drain. Not very good quality.I assume the o-rings are shot and mine has a pitted chrome shaft where the metal isn't polished out sufficiently.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Austin from USA on 2016-06-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Works very well. Sturdy, all components work properly. Not a bad value for the money, seeing as it's regulated, gauged and needs to be extremely hardy to fill a rifle to 3000 psi.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Perfect if your buying a gun that fills to 2000psi. You may want to buy a tank if exceeding that. To get my Benjamin bulldog from 2000 to 3000 psi takes all my weight pushing down on the pump just to fill.....(if I weighed any less than the 170lbs I do....it may not happen)

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Gary from USA on 2016-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: High quality pump but it takes over 100 pumps to get the pressure up to over 2000 lbs.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Antonio from USA on 2016-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I have no problem filling my Marauder rifle to 2900 psi. I pump slow amd deliberate as demonstrated in the PA videos. I'm in reasonable shape amd weigh 180 lbs. Product works as advertised. The hose is short. I fill in the house with rifle laying on carpet. No problems.

    Things I would have changed: No issues in the first 2 weeks.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By James from USA on 2016-06-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: built well sturdy as can be

    Things I would have changed: Little tighter quality control

    What others should know: Got this pump with my Marauder bundle deal. Pump works fine, just had to do a little work to it out of the box. The screws for the base plate were not quite right, did not screw into the base properly. Had to chase a tap down the pump base holes, and run a die over screws to get the thing to go together. After that, no issues and it works as it should. Be prepared for a workout, I am 6'5" and 250lbs and it pumps easy with my weight over it, but is hard on the back bending over.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2016-05-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Ready to use on my Benjamin Discovery, and maybe Marauder, right out of the box. Seems well built.

    Things I would have changed: It doesn't have a moisture filter, even as an option.

    What others should know: Takes work to pump rifles! Was running both my Disco and Marauder on co2. Easy, cheap power source but wanted a pump to be independent of expiring co2 tanks, and to get more power, if needed. I plan mostly to just fill the guns to the same level of air that the co2 fill provides so I can switch back and forth if I want and not have to change the scope settings. It works well for me.Easier pumping lower pressures, saves pump too.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2016-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Simple to operate, and gauge matches gun readings

    Things I would have changed: can't really fault the pump, but it wears a person out to fill if pressure is under 1K when you start.

    What others should know: Don't be afraid of buying as it's not that bad to pump up to pressure - I'm over 55 y.o. and I can do it just fine. Besides how many times do you really fire 16 accurate shots down range? So only one fill usually for an outing for me...

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2016-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This thing works great! It's not as fast as an air tank but it gave me about a weeks more worth of shooting since I couldn't find a place to fill my tank. I fill my marauder to 2500psi and shoot it down to 1800-1900 psi then refill. It took about 75 pumps to get it back up to pressure at most. It won't replace the convenience of an air tank but if you find yourself in a situation like mine on vacation you'll be glad you have it.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-05-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality and convince..

    Things I would have changed: Include a desiccant filter.

    What others should know: If you weigh less than 160 pounds it is very difficult to pump it from 2000 to 3000 pounds.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By john from USA on 2016-04-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent for my maurader and ninja tank

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Pump slow and steady with full strokes and it works perfectly

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Brian from USA on 2016-03-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: For the price, and the function, it is not a bad pump.

    Things I would have changed: The problem is there is a O-ring (or two) that will fail in short order (time varies upon rest time between pumps, total pumps, pumps per week etc). 9/32 (OD), 1/16 (CS) are needed. My pump lasted about 2 years with moderate use. I allowed the pump to rest for a few minutes between pumping sessions (M-Rod to 3k psi). The fix is not bad or hard. With proper instructions it can be done in an hour or so. Kind of messy with all the greased parts to clean. An adjustable wrench, a 12mm wrench, vice grips, small punch and hammer is needed. Supplies to clean, Q-tips, old tee-shirt, that kind of thing. O-ring lube.

    What others should know: Just know if you buy this pump, it will require some degree of maintenance. Depending on how you look at it, it could be seen as a good thing as you have a intimate knowledge of how your pump operates and how to fix it. If you are not a DIY, you will not like this pump.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joshua from USA on 2016-03-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great product works well with my bulldog 357. From 2000 psi to 3000 psi it takes about 75 pumps to fill it.

    Things I would have changed: Have air filter that comes with it.

    What others should know: I weigh 130 from 2500 psi to 3000 psi is hard but it can be done.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Reginald from USA on 2016-02-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I was expecting for it to feel flimsy like the bicycle tire pumps, but this pump is as solid as they come. Very sturdy, extremely easy to assembly and easier to use. YouTube and other reviews had me anticipating a huge workout, but because I didn't want to get the air temperature too high to end up with a lower reading after cooling, I took my time and pumped slowly. It was fairly easy to fill from 1000 psi to 2900 psi, then again from 2000 psi back to 2900 psi.

    Things I would have changed: It does take a lot of strokes to fill from 1000 to 3000 psi (about 187 give or take a few). At the same time, I know you can't reduce the number of strokes without increasing the amount of force required to pump those strokes. I would have liked a longer hose so that I could keep an eye on the gauge on the rifle as I was pumping instead of having to stop, get down on the floor, and look at the gauge, stand back up, and continue pumping if necessary.

    What others should know: If it's hard for you, you may be trying to pump too fast. I know it'll take a lot longer, but you'll get a more accurate reading on both gauges and you'll have energy to actually shoot. Be patient, it's worth it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bob from USA on 2016-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to use. Surprised how easy to pump up my gun. 75 strokes from 0 to 2800 psig.

    Things I would have changed: An air drying unit would be a good addition. I bought one separately.

    What others should know: I am 67 and had no problem using this pump. The secret is technique. Slow full strokes to allow air flow is key.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ricky from USA on 2015-12-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Pump functions great. Has only used it 3 times. Gets the job done..

    What others should know: I plan to buy a air tank for two reasons; less effort and quicker to fill gun

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2015-11-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very easy to use if you read the directions. It only took me about 10 pumps to get the cross an challenger to full charge.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see a bigger foot stand and longer hose for the pump.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Quincy from USA on 2015-10-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This inexpensive pump does it's job and does it well. I like the fact that with the proper technique I can get 1,000psi in my Synrod in 4 minutes. The construction is sturdy enough and doesn't feel flimsy in the least.

    Things I would have changed: The base needs to be wider plain and simple. Crosman should also supply a little tub of lube for those occasions where you accidentally touch the shaft and remove lube in the process.

    What others should know: This thing will get hot if you pump for 5 minutes or more. I'm not talking warm here and can and will get hot when it's under load and you're trying to get that 3,000psi fill on a longer pump sessions. It really is a good idea to allow the pump to cool for 10 minutes or more between intense sessions. Also keep an eye on the screws as they do work themselves loose over time.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Randy from USA on 2015-09-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nothing

    Things I would have changed: Longer fill hose. Clear warning about level of effort required to fill Marauder.

    What others should know: Extensive effort is required to fill rifle. If you have any physical issues don't buy pump, opt for some type of fill tank. PyramydAir's return policy is not cost effective considering shipping and restocking fee's if it's taken out of box or used just once.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Astigmatism from USA on 2015-09-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Feels very well made and sturdy.

    Things I would have changed: The length of the hose, I would prefer to fill with the rifle off of the ground.

    What others should know: It works, I like it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Miller, from USA on 2015-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Works as advertised. Fills my mrod from 2000psi to 3000 psi in about 4-5 minutes.

    Things I would have changed: Slightly longer fill hose.

    What others should know: I bought this pump along with an Mrod. It works very well for me but some should note that if you are not in decent physical shape it may take some breaks between pumping to fill your gun to the recommended PSI/BAR. It definitely beats buying a scuba tank and the pump to fill it($1000+). Make sure to take your time with the pump and go up and down slowly allowing the air time to move through the pump.If you are located in an area where you could easily have tanks filled that would be the best route in my opinion. As for me, there are no shops around for at least 50 miles and this pump does the job just fine. If you shoot more than most, I would go ahead and buy a tank to use for filling the air gun because you will get tired of pumping.

  • 123 ... 1011 Next
Navigation