Benjamin & Sheridan Repair Kit, Fits Some Pre-1995 Multi-Pump Guns w/Soldered Valve reviews - page 2

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By ryn0909 from USA on 2007-09-24 13:42:34

Things I liked: Fits both .177 and .22 cal rifles. Pretty easy to install for the mechanically inclined

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: Clean the air chamber (where the piston slides in and out ) thoroughly, make sure there are no nics or burrs. Apply a thin coat of grease to all parts (rubber and metal) during assembly.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By jim from USA on 2015-07-12 12:42:45

Things I liked: I purchased the repair kit for my 347 Benjamin, arrived on time, the tool needed was perfect.

Things I would have changed: the parts were not for the 347, I think they fit a Sheridan. Was a waste of money for me.

What others should know: I do not know where to find the right parts, If I can not find the right parts then I will see if somewhere near me repairs the 347.

Sort by:
  • Previous 123 ... 67 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cliff from USA on 2014-04-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything about this repair kit is top notch. The instructions are clear and concise, the tool for removing the brass plug makes the entire job possible. The kit is easy to do, and like any project if you take your time, think things through it will go smoothly. The kit came quickly even though it was "out of stock" when I ordered and it was packaged well.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing really, except added suggestions for removing and installing the brass plug with the tool. I'm afraid this is the step where those with limited mechanical skill and experience could end up ruining their air rifle. See below in "Anything else airgunners should know." Hopefully there's a kit out there without the tool so that when my air gun fails again (after another 34 years of loyal service) I can just but the parts. But I'll be 80 at that time and probably out of the air gunning realm.

    What others should know: The instructions should touch on the following facts, which will save novices a lot of time, headache and frustration: A) After removing the brass plug the lead washing is likely going to be a huge pain to remove. I created a long hook out of welding rod to pull it out past the threads in the tube (where the brass plug was). A coat hanger can do the same thing after altering it with a wire cutter and a needle nose pliers. B) After placing the assembly and attempting to screw the brass plug back in, you'll need not only muscle, but stamina and a keen sense of "squareness" to thread it in. A lot of downward force needs to be placed on assembly through the brass plug and tool while attempting to screw it in place without cross-threading. If you cross thread, you'll ruin everything. A keen sense of orientation when performing this task is critical.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Ross from USA on 2014-03-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The tool and the diagram

    Things I would have changed: The nylon washer is useless and the thin o-ring was too thin.

    What others should know: I have an older Sheridan Blue Streak that did not hold air. I purchased this kit from Pyramid Air and got it a few days (perfect) the dis-assembly whet very well but that is where it ended. I re-assembled exactly as instructed being careful to to cross thread the square nut. This went fine but the gun still leaked just as before. I dis-assembled and re-assembled several more times and no luck and of course my luck was destine to run out I started to cross thread the square nut. I had to walk away for the night and re-visit again the next day. I came to realize that the thin o-ring was the problem and just not thick enough. I substituted the thin washer with and O-ring from a Crosman 760 powermaster valve. (The o-ring that joins the 760 valve together) it worked perfect. But my trouble was not over I could not get the square nut to grab due to some cross threading. So I decided to try turning the square nut upside down due to fact that the threads are close to the very top of the nut. I also eliminated the nylon washer. The nut threaded right on and the gun works perfect. I passed 8 shots over the Chrony and averaged 620 fbs with Sheridan Diablo 14.3 gr. I love Pyramid Air and is my first place I go to for my airgun needs. But I think you may be able to find a better seal kit out there.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2014-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fixed two old Sheridan's with these. Works good.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Ron from USA on 2014-02-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The tool with which to get the back of the air chamber apart and all the tips in these reviews with out which I may not have been successful at repairing my 1983 Benjamin model 347.

    Things I would have changed: Get rid of the PTFE split washer, part # 27 and supply something that works just in case the lead washer does get damaged. I was REAL careful to NOT damage the lead washer. Some sort of tool is needed for use in removing the small screw that is in the bolt that contacts the hammer. A flat screw driver DOES NOT work. I had to mill the head off with a dremel tool then drill out and re-tap the screw hole and fabricate a new screw to take it's place.

    What others should know: After removing part #29, parts # 27,28,31 and 25 fell right out. I had to spray kroil into the air chamber and let soak 30 minutes then reassemble the the air piston and pump handle to blow parts #30,23 and 24 out of the chamber as they were corroded in place. I cleaned up and reused the brass check valve/inlet valve part #30 gluing a piece of bicycle tire innertube to it's face as described in another review here. I had to file down the face of the new exhaust valve(part #31), the part facing the muzzle, so it fit the out let/exhaust valve spring. I chucked the valve in an electric drill and used a regular file for this, an idea also taken from a previous review . I used the supplied thin O ring part # 26 as the thin gasket did break during disassembly. I reused the lead washer because the supplied PTFE split washer, part # 27, is a joke I thoroughly cleaned all interior surfaces and parts and very lightly lubed parts with Ballistol to help prevent future corrosion. I used nail gun/air tool oil for rubber surfaces. The air chamber mechanism now works like new. I took my time and paid very close attention to how the thing came apart. A schematic and part numbers and names were found on Crosman's web site. I will keep at least one pump in the chamber at all times from now on the keep debris out of the air chamber and parts. All that's left now is to see how long the gun functions with this overhaul. I hope it lasts another 30 years.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Charles from USA on 2014-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The pieces and the valve tool fit the model rifle I have

    Things I would have changed: The teflon intake valve does not seal right. I think it is too stiff and would not seal properly. I would like to purchase only the seals and not the valve tool

    What others should know: Saving and re-using the lead gasket is better tan usind the teflon gasket

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2014-02-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great kit ! Nice quality replacment parts.

    Things I would have changed: Add 2 Roll Pins for the front barrel.

    What others should know: Get this Kit if you want to bring your Old Benjamin Sheridan (With the soldered Valve)back to life ! And the Customer Service is Great !! Thanks Pyramyd Air

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2014-01-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This repair kit fit my mid-1970's Sheridan CB9 (5mm) pump gun. I hadn't touched the gun in decades and it would not hold air. Now it shoots like brand new! The price for the kit is probably close to market value for the rifle as old as it is, but this was my first pellet gun with a lot of sentimental value to me. Now that I know how it all goes together and works, I know better how to keep it running. This kit saved my Sheridan from the scrap heap!!

    What others should know: It was a royal PITA to get the valve *carefully* screwed back in without cross-threading it, but other than that everything went fine.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Wilmer from USA on 2014-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate description of kit and tool works good on older Benjamin/Sheridan airguns.

    Things I would have changed: Quality of the parts but these older parts are not easy to copy.

    What others should know: Overall it does work for the older model pump airguns.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jose from USA on 2013-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The valve tool provided made it simple to take apart the pump mechanism. I was able to repair my Sheridan C9 rifle and it is working once again. This kit was worth the money I spent!

    Things I would have changed: I would change the instructions. I had to go online to find better instructions that had step by step directions with pictures.

    What others should know: The most difficult part in installing this kit is taking out the pins on the rifle to remove the front part of the pump mechanism. It is very useful to have a good set of roll pinch puncih sets. If you haven't taken apart an old Sheridan rifle before then you will spend a couple of hours taking it apart and then putting back together. In the end it will be worth the time. I bought my Sheridan at a yard sale for $15.00 and then it worked only for a couple of days. I spent $30 plus shipping on this kit, a great deal to repair a popular American made rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe_Bob1999 from USA on 2013-09-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Worked great. Shaft on valve needed to be sanded down some to fit the valve body of my 1968 Silver Streak. The threaded end that you use to pull the valve stem out is instrumental in removing the valve parts.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe include a little packet of lithium grease?

    What others should know: It took some time to sand down the valve shaft and I had to use a battery impact drive to loosen the lock but with the square socket in it. I chucked up a 1/4 Allen wrench in the impact wrench and put the "L" part through the removal tool. Also you should wrap some tape around the removal tool to keep it from scratching.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By W H from USA on 2013-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to install

    Things I would have changed: More instructions on the removal of the old parts

    What others should know: The old parts were corroded to the extent that I had to fashion a rake or puller to remove the last few parts in the disassembly and use very fine steel wool to polish the old corrosion from the chamber.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2013-06-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Worked for 64 Sheridan blue streak

    Things I would have changed: Some parts don't work as good as original

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By melvin from USA on 2013-04-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The technical help was great Thanks David.

    What others should know: I repaired my pre 1963 Sheridan blue streak with the kit. The only problem and its minor is I have to cock the gun before pumping it now. Either I made a mistake or the stem on the valve seat is to long. Either way, Its working and I'm a Happy Air Gunner.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2013-04-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The repair kit did the trick, it was not to hard to understand and the rifle was easy to break down, putting the parts in place from the repair kit went smoothly and putting the rifle back together was a challenge. All in all the kit worked well.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2013-03-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I've been wanting to fix my Benjamin 312 for years now, it was passed down to me by my grandfather and I remember shooting.it when I was a kid, I'm 45 now. This kit was the ticket, I had to resolder the barrel as well but I think it shoots better now than it used to back in the day. I had no problem with the incuded instructions, a few pieces that were included I didn't have to use on this particular model. Altogether a great kit for fixing your older Benjamin, will probably order another kit soon just to put away for down the road.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: One of the parts that I didn't use from the kit was the little white plastic washer, I had a hard time getting it to fit into the receiver so I reused the original lead seal. It was still in good condition. I reccomend reusing yours if possible.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Geoff from USA on 2013-03-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Tech Support was great. I had to call twice and was very satisfied with the service.

    Things I would have changed: The instructions were good but some additional detail describing the replacement parts would be nice.

    What others should know: These people seem to know their business and they take care of business.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By michael from USA on 2013-02-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like that that the tool to remove the valve was included in the package, and I was able to repair my pellet rifle.

    Things I would have changed: The larger o ring that comes in the kit was smaller than the original o ring I had to reuse my old o ring. I was having a hard time with the poly washer and had to straighten my old lead seal and reuse it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2013-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have a 1969 Benjie 342 and the rebuild kit breathed new life into this old rifle. The instructions were good in my opinion and rebuilding this rifle was very easy and only took 15 minutes.

    Things I would have changed: Suggest including lead washer. The Teflon washer is too flimsy and was torn on my first try. Reused the old lead washer instead.

    What others should know: Definitely use the suggestion of wrapping the tool with duct tape to the size of the cylinder. This will help with aligning the packing nut. I put a screwdriver through the holes on the tool and held the barrel between my feet because of the pressure required to compress the springs.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Louis from USA on 2013-02-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Kit worked great.

    Things I would have changed: Instructions and drawing little tough to understand.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from United Kingdom on 2013-02-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Got a mid 80's 'silver streak', that would not hold air.This kit sorted it out. Good value , as not only comes with everything including the valve extraction tool! Note:the 'Piston Head Cup' would not fit my rifle, it was slightly too big in diameter and too long! With the supplied 'Piston Head Cup' fitted it was nearly impossible to pump. Put the old one back, and pumps easily to full UK power limits!

    Things I would have changed: 'Piston Head Cup' As two types were used at the factory

    What others should know: Kit was good value, but shipping was very expensive to the UK, twice the cost of the kit

  • Previous 123 ... 67 Next
Navigation