Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Benjamin & Sheridan Repair Kit, Fits Some Pre-1995 Multi-Pump Guns w/Soldered Valve reviews - page 2

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By ryn0909 from USA on 2007-09-24 13:42:34

    Things I liked:Fits both .177 and .22 cal rifles. Pretty easy to install for the mechanically inclined
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Clean the air chamber (where the piston slides in and out ) thoroughly, make sure there are no nics or burrs. Apply a thin coat of grease to all parts (rubber and metal) during assembly.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2014-09-08 06:03:05

    Things I liked:the tool is nice, well blued, and some of the parts fit.
    Things I would have changed:The one critical part is the rubber gasket. Apparently this is not a universal part and does not fit my gun. I see no option to order the correct gasket.
    What others should know:Before ordering the kit, I verified that my gun matched the description of the gun the kit was designed for. The one critical part is the rubber pump gasket. Apparently this is not a universal part for these airguns. The gasket supplied has a flat bottom, and my gun requires a gasket with a 1/4 inch hole (depression). There is no way the gasket can be adapted since it is too thin in the middle to modify. This appears to be an exercise in futility and a total waste of money. If I cannot find the correct gasket online, I will be forced to machine a new part for my gun to accept the gasket supplied.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 ... 56 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Jose from USA on 2013-11-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The valve tool provided made it simple to take apart the pump mechanism. I was able to repair my Sheridan C9 rifle and it is working once again. This kit was worth the money I spent!
      Things I would have changed:I would change the instructions. I had to go online to find better instructions that had step by step directions with pictures.
      What others should know:The most difficult part in installing this kit is taking out the pins on the rifle to remove the front part of the pump mechanism. It is very useful to have a good set of roll pinch puncih sets. If you haven't taken apart an old Sheridan rifle before then you will spend a couple of hours taking it apart and then putting back together. In the end it will be worth the time. I bought my Sheridan at a yard sale for $15.00 and then it worked only for a couple of days. I spent $30 plus shipping on this kit, a great deal to repair a popular American made rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Joe_Bob1999 from USA on 2013-09-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Worked great. Shaft on valve needed to be sanded down some to fit the valve body of my 1968 Silver Streak. The threaded end that you use to pull the valve stem out is instrumental in removing the valve parts.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe include a little packet of lithium grease?
      What others should know:It took some time to sand down the valve shaft and I had to use a battery impact drive to loosen the lock but with the square socket in it. I chucked up a 1/4 Allen wrench in the impact wrench and put the "L" part through the removal tool. Also you should wrap some tape around the removal tool to keep it from scratching.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By W H from USA on 2013-08-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to install
      Things I would have changed:More instructions on the removal of the old parts
      What others should know:The old parts were corroded to the extent that I had to fashion a rake or puller to remove the last few parts in the disassembly and use very fine steel wool to polish the old corrosion from the chamber.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2013-06-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Worked for 64 Sheridan blue streak
      Things I would have changed:Some parts don't work as good as original
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By melvin from USA on 2013-04-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The technical help was great Thanks David.
      What others should know:I repaired my pre 1963 Sheridan blue streak with the kit. The only problem and its minor is I have to cock the gun before pumping it now. Either I made a mistake or the stem on the valve seat is to long. Either way, Its working and I'm a Happy Air Gunner.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Joseph from USA on 2013-04-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The repair kit did the trick, it was not to hard to understand and the rifle was easy to break down, putting the parts in place from the repair kit went smoothly and putting the rifle back together was a challenge. All in all the kit worked well.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2013-03-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've been wanting to fix my Benjamin 312 for years now, it was passed down to me by my grandfather and I remember shooting.it when I was a kid, I'm 45 now. This kit was the ticket, I had to resolder the barrel as well but I think it shoots better now than it used to back in the day. I had no problem with the incuded instructions, a few pieces that were included I didn't have to use on this particular model. Altogether a great kit for fixing your older Benjamin, will probably order another kit soon just to put away for down the road.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:One of the parts that I didn't use from the kit was the little white plastic washer, I had a hard time getting it to fit into the receiver so I reused the original lead seal. It was still in good condition. I reccomend reusing yours if possible.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Geoff from USA on 2013-03-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Tech Support was great. I had to call twice and was very satisfied with the service.
      Things I would have changed:The instructions were good but some additional detail describing the replacement parts would be nice.
      What others should know:These people seem to know their business and they take care of business.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By michael from USA on 2013-02-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like that that the tool to remove the valve was included in the package, and I was able to repair my pellet rifle.
      Things I would have changed:The larger o ring that comes in the kit was smaller than the original o ring I had to reuse my old o ring. I was having a hard time with the poly washer and had to straighten my old lead seal and reuse it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2013-02-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I LOVE the fact that this repair kit is made for such an old gun. I inherited my Sheridan Silver Streak from my dad. He must have bought it in the 1950s. I remember shooting it as a kid. I am thrilled to be able to shoot it again.
      Things I would have changed:1) If it were within my power I would have someone read through all the posts here in the reviews section. The information and experience of others was invaluable to me. It should be used to create a better set of break down, repair and reassembly instructions. Without the reviews, repairs would have been much more difficult. Through these reviews I found a set of very good & detailed repair instructions; http://www.airgunhobby.com/ It is taken from Air Gun Hobby Magazine Vol Four Number One Jan, Feb, March 2007. 2) After reading all the info on this "reviews" area, I was befuddled by step no. 1. The statement "Small batches of these models were made with a different machine head cup. Let us know if you have a different head..." How am I supposed to know if the one I have is different from the others? After I dug out the old rubber piston head, I found that my cup had little barbs around the inside. I presume to hold the replacement rubber piston head (part 5). The rubber piston head is not easy to place back in the cup. I tried a lot of things to get the new rubber seated into the cup. I finally was successful using the trigger hammer (part 32) as a press and pressed the rubber into the cup using my bench vice. Crude but it worked. 3) Based on reading the reviews, reassembly went well. I did not replace the check valve however because most reviews said this replacement teflon piece doesn't work and my check valve seemed OK. Continued below....
      What others should know:My check valve is a small brass cup with a rubber disc inside. To my detriment, I reused it. Mistake! After I disassembled the gun again and still not wanting to use the teflon disc, I thought about digging the rubber part out of the old check valve. Instead, I took a hole punch, punched out a piece of rubber from an old bike tube and glued it to the face of the old check valve. Reassembled with finger crossed...it worked! Thanks Again to Pyramid Air for making this repair kit. You'll get all my future business. P.S. I used the old lead washer. I suggest getting rid of the teflon one and supplying a new lead washer in the kit.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2013-02-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have a 1969 Benjie 342 and the rebuild kit breathed new life into this old rifle. The instructions were good in my opinion and rebuilding this rifle was very easy and only took 15 minutes.
      Things I would have changed:Suggest including lead washer. The Teflon washer is too flimsy and was torn on my first try. Reused the old lead washer instead.
      What others should know:Definitely use the suggestion of wrapping the tool with duct tape to the size of the cylinder. This will help with aligning the packing nut. I put a screwdriver through the holes on the tool and held the barrel between my feet because of the pressure required to compress the springs.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Louis from USA on 2013-02-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Kit worked great.
      Things I would have changed:Instructions and drawing little tough to understand.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Chris from United Kingdom on 2013-02-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Got a mid 80's 'silver streak', that would not hold air.This kit sorted it out. Good value , as not only comes with everything including the valve extraction tool! Note:the 'Piston Head Cup' would not fit my rifle, it was slightly too big in diameter and too long! With the supplied 'Piston Head Cup' fitted it was nearly impossible to pump. Put the old one back, and pumps easily to full UK power limits!
      Things I would have changed:'Piston Head Cup' As two types were used at the factory
      What others should know:Kit was good value, but shipping was very expensive to the UK, twice the cost of the kit
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2013-01-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like that this kit is available. I was able to get my old '74 and '78 Dans up and running in one evening. Both rifles are back to their original power.
      Things I would have changed:I wish there was a (cheaper)kit minus the tool for those of us who have more than one rifle to fix. Still for the price it is more than worth it to get the old Dans working again.
      What others should know:This reseal is a fairly easy task if you have a little DIY ability. If your rifles are old and have been sitting for a while (20+ years) you may find the reseal to be a bit of a messy job, I wouldn't do it in the living room like I did. A 12ga mop works well to get the pump tube nice and clean before reasembly.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Morgan from Sweden on 2012-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought this kit for my Sheridan Blue Strike 1972, it worked out perfectly. Only problem seems to be changing the small O-ring pos 19, I wait and see if needed. Also a very good supprot from Stacy at tech. department. The tool was perfectly and 100% needed.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Mr James M. from USA on 2012-09-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy instructions to remove parts, and install new parts.
      Things I would have changed:Tell people that if they use a blow dryer to heat up old rubber seal to remove, would be quick and easy.
      What others should know:Do not do this unless you have some mechanic back ground.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By john from USA on 2012-08-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:good kit
      Things I would have changed:directions were shitty
      What others should know:beter directions with good pictures
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Bryan from USA on 2012-08-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The kit works and is a fair price; fitting is not easy or simple due to the original design. Be particularly careful not to crossthread the fine threads on re-installation. A whole lot easier after you have done it once!
      Things I would have changed:Instructions could be better as others have said, but there is more than enough on the web to oversome the rough bits.
      What others should know:IMHO keeping the old Sheridans operating is well worth the effort.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2012-06-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It worked.This is a 40 years old Sheridan Silver Streak that I have hung onto for 10 years hoping I would be able to restore it. I refinished the stock while it was a part and now it looks good and shoots great. Thanks
      Things I would have changed:Documentation poorly copied and confusing. I found an orginal owners manual online that had instructions. Still not clear until you do it once. The plastic split ring did not seat correctly and got mangled so i reverted to orginal lead ring. This part needs redesign, IMO.
      What others should know:Get the owners manual offline. Much better instructions.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from United Kingdom on 2012-05-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It works! This kit fixed my old Benjamin 342. The tool works very well, the seals fit it's all good! The PTFE valve body seal works a treat, I had to hook the old lead seal out with a pick and clean the seating surface. There's a pellet probe 'O' ring that's not needed on the 342 (no 'O' ring fitted on these), but what the heck. Please don't complain about the price of this kit, it's a proper bargain - you should try living in the UK! e.g. a new Bluestreak in the UK costs £300, that's about $475 - I kid you not! I'll put another 4 kits on back order, yes I think they're jolly good.
      Things I would have changed:The $50+ shipping charge to the UK, then I got hammered by Her Majesty's Customs and excise (bless the old girl)
      What others should know:So it fits my old 342, and it looks like it'll fit my HB20 pumper pistol too. I haven't taken the valve gear apart to check, but it's got the same square valve end cap as the 342. PA's customer support said "rifles only" but I reckon it'll fit.
    • « Previous 123 ... 56 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top