Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Benjamin & Sheridan Repair Kit, Fits Some Pre-1995 Multi-Pump Guns w/Soldered Valve reviews - page 2

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By ryn0909 from USA on 2007-09-24 13:42:34

    Things I liked:Fits both .177 and .22 cal rifles. Pretty easy to install for the mechanically inclined
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Clean the air chamber (where the piston slides in and out ) thoroughly, make sure there are no nics or burrs. Apply a thin coat of grease to all parts (rubber and metal) during assembly.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By Roy from USA on 2014-07-16 23:20:25

    Things I liked:The tool, however it should come with a rod to loosen and tighten the replaced parts.
    Things I would have changed:Better instructions. Better rubber gaskets, a link with video showing how step by step to replace valves. I would replace the techs who are on duty to answer what ever questions you may have to replace the parts for they are clueless on what to do.
    What others should know:The best way to repair your air gun is of you have the right tools. Don't expect this to be easy unless you have a gunsmith shop with the right punches and tools to get the job done. By the way the number to call for help is a joke. I called three times and never received a good answer on what I needed to do in order to remove certain parts. The best answer I was told by one of the techs was to use good judgment.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 ... 56 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Geoff from USA on 2013-03-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Tech Support was great. I had to call twice and was very satisfied with the service.
      Things I would have changed:The instructions were good but some additional detail describing the replacement parts would be nice.
      What others should know:These people seem to know their business and they take care of business.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By michael from USA on 2013-02-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like that that the tool to remove the valve was included in the package, and I was able to repair my pellet rifle.
      Things I would have changed:The larger o ring that comes in the kit was smaller than the original o ring I had to reuse my old o ring. I was having a hard time with the poly washer and had to straighten my old lead seal and reuse it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2013-02-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I LOVE the fact that this repair kit is made for such an old gun. I inherited my Sheridan Silver Streak from my dad. He must have bought it in the 1950s. I remember shooting it as a kid. I am thrilled to be able to shoot it again.
      Things I would have changed:1) If it were within my power I would have someone read through all the posts here in the reviews section. The information and experience of others was invaluable to me. It should be used to create a better set of break down, repair and reassembly instructions. Without the reviews, repairs would have been much more difficult. Through these reviews I found a set of very good & detailed repair instructions; http://www.airgunhobby.com/ It is taken from Air Gun Hobby Magazine Vol Four Number One Jan, Feb, March 2007. 2) After reading all the info on this "reviews" area, I was befuddled by step no. 1. The statement "Small batches of these models were made with a different machine head cup. Let us know if you have a different head..." How am I supposed to know if the one I have is different from the others? After I dug out the old rubber piston head, I found that my cup had little barbs around the inside. I presume to hold the replacement rubber piston head (part 5). The rubber piston head is not easy to place back in the cup. I tried a lot of things to get the new rubber seated into the cup. I finally was successful using the trigger hammer (part 32) as a press and pressed the rubber into the cup using my bench vice. Crude but it worked. 3) Based on reading the reviews, reassembly went well. I did not replace the check valve however because most reviews said this replacement teflon piece doesn't work and my check valve seemed OK. Continued below....
      What others should know:My check valve is a small brass cup with a rubber disc inside. To my detriment, I reused it. Mistake! After I disassembled the gun again and still not wanting to use the teflon disc, I thought about digging the rubber part out of the old check valve. Instead, I took a hole punch, punched out a piece of rubber from an old bike tube and glued it to the face of the old check valve. Reassembled with finger crossed...it worked! Thanks Again to Pyramid Air for making this repair kit. You'll get all my future business. P.S. I used the old lead washer. I suggest getting rid of the teflon one and supplying a new lead washer in the kit.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2013-02-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have a 1969 Benjie 342 and the rebuild kit breathed new life into this old rifle. The instructions were good in my opinion and rebuilding this rifle was very easy and only took 15 minutes.
      Things I would have changed:Suggest including lead washer. The Teflon washer is too flimsy and was torn on my first try. Reused the old lead washer instead.
      What others should know:Definitely use the suggestion of wrapping the tool with duct tape to the size of the cylinder. This will help with aligning the packing nut. I put a screwdriver through the holes on the tool and held the barrel between my feet because of the pressure required to compress the springs.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Louis from USA on 2013-02-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Kit worked great.
      Things I would have changed:Instructions and drawing little tough to understand.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Christopher from United Kingdom on 2013-02-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Got a mid 80's 'silver streak', that would not hold air.This kit sorted it out. Good value , as not only comes with everything including the valve extraction tool! Note:the 'Piston Head Cup' would not fit my rifle, it was slightly too big in diameter and too long! With the supplied 'Piston Head Cup' fitted it was nearly impossible to pump. Put the old one back, and pumps easily to full UK power limits!
      Things I would have changed:'Piston Head Cup' As two types were used at the factory
      What others should know:Kit was good value, but shipping was very expensive to the UK, twice the cost of the kit
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2013-01-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like that this kit is available. I was able to get my old '74 and '78 Dans up and running in one evening. Both rifles are back to their original power.
      Things I would have changed:I wish there was a (cheaper)kit minus the tool for those of us who have more than one rifle to fix. Still for the price it is more than worth it to get the old Dans working again.
      What others should know:This reseal is a fairly easy task if you have a little DIY ability. If your rifles are old and have been sitting for a while (20+ years) you may find the reseal to be a bit of a messy job, I wouldn't do it in the living room like I did. A 12ga mop works well to get the pump tube nice and clean before reasembly.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Morgan from Sweden on 2012-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought this kit for my Sheridan Blue Strike 1972, it worked out perfectly. Only problem seems to be changing the small O-ring pos 19, I wait and see if needed. Also a very good supprot from Stacy at tech. department. The tool was perfectly and 100% needed.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Mr James M. from USA on 2012-09-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy instructions to remove parts, and install new parts.
      Things I would have changed:Tell people that if they use a blow dryer to heat up old rubber seal to remove, would be quick and easy.
      What others should know:Do not do this unless you have some mechanic back ground.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By JOHN from USA on 2012-08-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:good kit
      Things I would have changed:directions were shitty
      What others should know:beter directions with good pictures
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Bryan from USA on 2012-08-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The kit works and is a fair price; fitting is not easy or simple due to the original design. Be particularly careful not to crossthread the fine threads on re-installation. A whole lot easier after you have done it once!
      Things I would have changed:Instructions could be better as others have said, but there is more than enough on the web to oversome the rough bits.
      What others should know:IMHO keeping the old Sheridans operating is well worth the effort.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2012-06-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It worked.This is a 40 years old Sheridan Silver Streak that I have hung onto for 10 years hoping I would be able to restore it. I refinished the stock while it was a part and now it looks good and shoots great. Thanks
      Things I would have changed:Documentation poorly copied and confusing. I found an orginal owners manual online that had instructions. Still not clear until you do it once. The plastic split ring did not seat correctly and got mangled so i reverted to orginal lead ring. This part needs redesign, IMO.
      What others should know:Get the owners manual offline. Much better instructions.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from United Kingdom on 2012-05-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It works! This kit fixed my old Benjamin 342. The tool works very well, the seals fit it's all good! The PTFE valve body seal works a treat, I had to hook the old lead seal out with a pick and clean the seating surface. There's a pellet probe 'O' ring that's not needed on the 342 (no 'O' ring fitted on these), but what the heck. Please don't complain about the price of this kit, it's a proper bargain - you should try living in the UK! e.g. a new Bluestreak in the UK costs £300, that's about $475 - I kid you not! I'll put another 4 kits on back order, yes I think they're jolly good.
      Things I would have changed:The $50+ shipping charge to the UK, then I got hammered by Her Majesty's Customs and excise (bless the old girl)
      What others should know:So it fits my old 342, and it looks like it'll fit my HB20 pumper pistol too. I haven't taken the valve gear apart to check, but it's got the same square valve end cap as the 342. PA's customer support said "rifles only" but I reckon it'll fit.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Garry from USA on 2012-05-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is the second kit I have purchased. Everything worked out pretty well and the reseal was successful. I did have to purchase an O-ring to replace the deteriorated front fiber gasket/seal (not provided in the kit and suggested in the instructions)
      Things I would have changed:Sell just the repair parts for those customers who already have the valve nut tool to save a few dollars. The teflon ring provided with the kit is really fragile (mine was cracked in the package). Provide an exact replacement for the lead seal. I would be willing to pay a bit more to get exact replacement parts in fit and materials.
      What others should know:You can search the web and find more descriptive instructions (with photos) than those provided in the kit for resealing your rifle.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Spencer L from USA on 2012-04-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The tool is well made and works very well. The inlet valve seal did not work in my rifle a Model "C" (Racine) serial number 314XXX (1980). This was a disapointment as the main problem with the rifle was at the inlet seal. I used a modified faucet washer instead on the original brass support, worked perfectly. My lead seal was still OK so I can not comment on the use of the white pastic ring that is substituted in this kit but I have my doubts. Instructions are near worthless but Airgun Blog has perfect directions with photos.
      Things I would have changed:Needs to be available without the tool for the next rifle to be resealed.
      What others should know:This is not job for someone who has not been inside an airgun before. Job requires at least moderate skill and experience.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Mike from USA on 2012-03-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Valve tool, Inlet & exhuast valve seals & spring
      Things I would have changed:The thin white seal that replaces the lead seal did not hold air well. The pump cup does not fit the older 310-317 models with the hole in the middle of the cup, so it would be good to offer this option too.
      What others should know:I ordered the older pump cup seal and lead seal from J.G. Airgun. A good substitute for the lead seal is Danco brand TEF valve packing rope 3/32" from Home Depot. Cut a piece slightly longer than than the inside diameter of the valve,overlap the ends and install the brass nut. It is self forming and holds air great.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By pvr from USA on 2012-03-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Service tech eager to help with advice and instructions on installation
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Bobby from USA on 2012-03-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Economical solution for the DIY mechanic. Well made tool. Adequate instructions for the experienced mechanic.
      Things I would have changed:Offer the seals and spring as a refill. I now have two tools because I needed to fix two rifles. Also offering the kit for Benjamin 347s which use a different piston cup and slightly different discharge valve.
      What others should know:An air rifle press is handy to put these parts in. The discharge valve spring has considerable compression, using an air rifle press will allow the mechanic to feel the threads engaging. If the discharge valve is cross-threaded, the rifle is ruined.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By John from USA on 2012-02-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The fact that a repair kit is available.
      Things I would have changed:That white split washer is not worth a damn. I was able to reuse the lead washer in one of my guns; I haven't figured out what to do in the other gun as I cannot screw the parts back together with the white washer. Instructions could be a lot more detailed, especially for someone who has never done this before.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-12-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It appears that everything I needed was in there. It scared me because it didn't work for awhile. It took a rather thorough oiling and burning it to seat right. It works fine now.
      Things I would have changed:The instructions (lack thereof) are horrible. You could use some thing to really know what you are doing. I searched the internet to compensate... still not very good.
      What others should know:Glad I found you. I rebuilt a gun that I had for 50 years.
    • « Previous 123 ... 56 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top