Date: 1/10/2016 15:20
0

Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By ahkell from USA on 2012-03-04 21:42:20

Things I liked: Best trap for small cal.

Things I would have changed: Nothing

The most helpful critical review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:4.0

By Larry from USA on 2013-03-05 11:16:31

Things I liked: Heavy metal, good buy for the money

Things I would have changed: Misdesigned lover plate! The sendary plate is FLAT; it needs to be rounded. As it is I had to take off 2 stars because of the back-splash. When a pellet hits the secondary plate is splashes causing small "shotgun" like holes in the target from the back side. This also throws a LOT of lead dust into the air.

What others should know: Be sure to add some kind of exhaust fan, as the back splash throws a klot of lead and lead dust out of th unit.

Sort by:
  • 12345 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By john from USA on 2016-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I esp. like that I received the item I ordered unlike the rifle I ordered at the same time. It does what it is suppose to do and that is a good thing.

    Things I would have changed: It's a bit heavy, but I guess you would need that for a .22.

    What others should know: Also, not fond of the sneaky discount practices. The 10% of they promise you does not include all items even though that promise does not contain the words "on selective items only". The 20% coupon they send you didn't even include this item and again no mention of item restriction.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Lawrence from USA on 2016-03-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like that this trap is made well and seems to be made out of heavy enough steel. Time will tell.

    Things I would have changed: I'm using a pellet rifle and boy is this trap loud when the pellets hit.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2016-02-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's nice and hefty. Built strong and it stops the pellets.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing-it works just fine

    What others should know: I cut cardboard to fit the opening and taped the targets to the cardboard. It keeps dust and paper debris in the trap and not on the floor.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Francis from USA on 2015-10-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This absoluty great for my indoor range. Get a lot of winter shooting, works great worth the money

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Big Shady from USA on 2015-10-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: SAFETY: knowing your pellet cannot penetrate your backboard. Peace Of Mind: knowing your neighbors cant complain Pride: knowing I'm shooting the right way

    Things I would have changed: A little wider would be nice.

    What others should know: A MUST HAVE FOR .177 -.25 CALIBER

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jared from USA on 2015-10-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's sturdy, it's heavy, and can be modified to be relatively quiet. It has made it possible for me to set up an indoor range in my basement for a wide variety of airguns (pistols and rifles).

    Things I would have changed: I would make it a little easier on the user to quiet it down. Many other traps of various styles of "curtains" and such an addition could provide much quieter operation. I would suggest using some sort of carpet-like material to line the inside, attached using some sort of hook system, and offer replacement "liners" as these would obviously take on a lot of wear and tear. Would be a good way to add consumables to this product line.

    What others should know: It's sturdy, it can be loud. Line the inside with some kind of carpet (I used indoor/outdoor only because it's more durable). If using outside, no mods really needed. If using inside, also suggest placing a telephone book on the back to deaden some of the sound. I use a variety of targets and have even created a custom knock down target to place in front of this "backstop" that auto resets (using old spoons and some bits and pieced of wood and metal rods (spokes from an old bicycle wheel). Ingenuity can take this product to a much higher usage rate and flexibility of target options.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2015-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Works great in my indoor range.

    Things I would have changed: Could be a little less money, but it functions properly so you get what you pay for.

    What others should know: Do not hesitate to get one,

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2015-04-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A quality steel trap that can safely stop the pellets from my air guns. It's built like a tank. I have it set up in my basement for all year fun.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: It's noisy and heavy. It works just fine.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vincent from USA on 2015-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great quality, good value for the money

    What others should know: Perfectly safe for my Marauder .25 PCP

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2015-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: does the job expected

    Things I would have changed: Add some weights to attach to the bottom of the target to prevent movement when hit by a slower pellet resulting is an elongated hole.

    What others should know: It is surprisingly straightforward in this new world of perception's value vs. honorable inclusion. It is exactly as you would expect with no negative surprises. ( so far)

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Henry from USA on 2015-01-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: does the job

    Things I would have changed: nothing .

    What others should know: no

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charlotte from USA on 2015-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This trap will last me forever. I know it is pricey for a pellet trap BUT it is worth it. It is a one time purchase and I will never shoot out the back of this trap. If I shoot the clamp and ruin it, I'll go to any office supply store like Staples or Office Max and buy another. I wish I had bought this trap years ago. I have shot my 22 cal BSA into it and not a dimple. If you want to do some serious long term shooting, this is the trap. It's pretty heavy for a pellet trap because it was made for rimfire.

    Things I would have changed: I haven't a clue.

    What others should know: You won't regret buying it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2014-11-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well built trap will stop 22 caliber pellets at 10 meters even thought not rated for that close. I shoot mainly 17 target rifle but decided to see if it would stop my hunting pellet rifel.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing very durable.

    What others should know: Have fun shooting indoors safely

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By michael from USA on 2014-09-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well made heavy duty trap. Should last a very long time.

    Things I would have changed: Would love one that is twice the size width and height. Roughly 2'x2'

    What others should know: Lined with duct seal 10lbs. Makes for a very quiet trap that you can have confidence in to capture your lead. I have used safely with spring and pcp up to .25 cal 53 fpe.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Curtis from USA on 2014-09-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the fact that this is actually a .22lr trap. I was able to purchase this for my air rifle and .22 so the value was really great.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: As others have said there is a bit of ringing when the projectile hits. Not a big deal for me (I live in the country and everyone shoots) but if you are in a smaller environment you may need to try some sound/vibration reduction material on the outside.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By L from USA on 2014-07-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Heavy & rugged. Information on box states that it is rated for .22 LR.

    Things I would have changed: Better packaging. Mine arrived with 3 of the 4 corners bent. Probably because it had dropped several time during shipping. Straightened easily with a large adjustable wrench adjusted to the metal thickness. Paint was not damaged.

    What others should know: I hung a old piece of carpet over the back wall to dampen the sound of the pellet striking the back wall. Attached it using spring clips on the top of the back wall. Carpet hangs and moves when a pellet strikes it which absorbs some of the energy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2014-04-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Heavy duty, pellets flatten out and fall into the trap as they should,well worth the money.

    Things I would have changed: A little larger would be nice but if it was larger it would have to cost more.

    What others should know: If you are a back yard shooter this is what you need to keep pellets from ricocheting and getting some-one hurt.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kurt from USA on 2014-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: You hit this and it is quite and solid. Great target trap.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: It is heavy but solid as a rock.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Raymond from USA on 2014-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid, durable, very well made. Should last a lifetime

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Great trap for indoor shooting.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cecil from USA on 2014-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything it's a well made trap, that can hold up under .25 and smaller high power pellet guns.

    Things I would have changed: I wish it had a sound damping coating on the outside, my CondorSS really makes it ring.

    What others should know: Be careful with the lead dust, the pellets literally splatter when they hit the backstop.

  • 12345 Next
Navigation