Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By ahkell from USA on 2012-03-04 21:42:20

    Things I liked:Best trap for small cal.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:4.0

    By Larry from USA on 2013-03-05 11:16:31

    Things I liked:Heavy metal, good buy for the money
    Things I would have changed:Misdesigned lover plate! The sendary plate is FLAT; it needs to be rounded. As it is I had to take off 2 stars because of the back-splash. When a pellet hits the secondary plate is splashes causing small "shotgun" like holes in the target from the back side. This also throws a LOT of lead dust into the air.
    What others should know:Be sure to add some kind of exhaust fan, as the back splash throws a klot of lead and lead dust out of th unit.
    Sort by:
    • 1234 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Donald from USA on 2014-11-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very well built trap will stop 22 caliber pellets at 10 meters even thought not rated for that close. I shoot mainly 17 target rifle but decided to see if it would stop my hunting pellet rifel.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing very durable.
      What others should know:Have fun shooting indoors safely
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By michael from USA on 2014-09-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very well made heavy duty trap. Should last a very long time.
      Things I would have changed:Would love one that is twice the size width and height. Roughly 2'x2'
      What others should know:Lined with duct seal 10lbs. Makes for a very quiet trap that you can have confidence in to capture your lead. I have used safely with spring and pcp up to .25 cal 53 fpe.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Curtis from USA on 2014-09-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the fact that this is actually a .22lr trap. I was able to purchase this for my air rifle and .22 so the value was really great.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:As others have said there is a bit of ringing when the projectile hits. Not a big deal for me (I live in the country and everyone shoots) but if you are in a smaller environment you may need to try some sound/vibration reduction material on the outside.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By L from USA on 2014-07-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Heavy & rugged. Information on box states that it is rated for .22 LR.
      Things I would have changed:Better packaging. Mine arrived with 3 of the 4 corners bent. Probably because it had dropped several time during shipping. Straightened easily with a large adjustable wrench adjusted to the metal thickness. Paint was not damaged.
      What others should know:I hung a old piece of carpet over the back wall to dampen the sound of the pellet striking the back wall. Attached it using spring clips on the top of the back wall. Carpet hangs and moves when a pellet strikes it which absorbs some of the energy.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2014-04-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Heavy duty, pellets flatten out and fall into the trap as they should,well worth the money.
      Things I would have changed:A little larger would be nice but if it was larger it would have to cost more.
      What others should know:If you are a back yard shooter this is what you need to keep pellets from ricocheting and getting some-one hurt.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Kurt from USA on 2014-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:You hit this and it is quite and solid. Great target trap.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:It is heavy but solid as a rock.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Raymond from USA on 2014-03-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid, durable, very well made. Should last a lifetime
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Great trap for indoor shooting.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Cecil from USA on 2014-01-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything it's a well made trap, that can hold up under .25 and smaller high power pellet guns.
      Things I would have changed:I wish it had a sound damping coating on the outside, my CondorSS really makes it ring.
      What others should know:Be careful with the lead dust, the pellets literally splatter when they hit the backstop.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Cecil from USA on 2014-01-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It works like it should.
      Things I would have changed:Add sound dampening coating for indoor use.
      What others should know:Don't drop it on anything you don't want broken, seriously.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By paul from USA on 2013-12-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:its heavy duty, doesn't move around. does a pretty good job holding lead. very easy to move. very solid 1 piece unit. I would buy this again.
      Things I would have changed:maybe rubber spray coat the outside to help with the noise. I believe this unit is just a little high priced, but its going to last me a lifetime too.
      What others should know:if you cover the face entirely with duck tape "just one layer" this will stop any lead dust or fragments from coming back out onto the floor if you are shooting inside. once the tape gets shot up pretty bad just put another layer over the shot up area and keep shooting. it also reduces the clang by about 90%. I also duc taped a thick phone book to the backside to help with the noise, but the duck tape across the front really works wonders and its a really cheap noise fix. ive probably got 3500 pellets in the trap now and I have no lead dust at all in the house. I use to vacume the shooting area every session, but there is no need now. you should try it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By ATMG68 from USA on 2013-12-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:well, it is a trap .. it traps the lead and if you can and want to melt the lead down you can sell it and you save the money you spend on your pellets.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:If you buy a pellet trap . you can melt the used pellets down then sell the lead and make money.. In Fact make the money you spend on lead pellets. so the price of you pellets kinda becomes free and you get the fun of shooting your Airgun. Good luck. OH, if you buy a Champion pellet trap it can also handle a .22 cal Rimfire bullets ( it have not tested a rimfire yet)
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By ATMG68 from USA on 2013-12-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love it.. My Beeman shoots at 1200fps in .177cal with lead . and it shoots 1000fps lead .22 cal.. funny all you hear is a ding sound as they hit the back of the target.
      Things I would have changed:have a opening with a door so you can get the use pellets out easy.
      What others should know:You want this if you want to make a in your own car garage shooting range.I got tired of wooden boxes I made.this traps the pellets then you can melt then down and maybe sell the lead. This will take a .22 cal Rimfire bullet so for Pellets You are good. I think BBs would bounce out of the trap to be careful.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Vernon from USA on 2013-08-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It works.
      Things I would have changed:Trap rings loudly when it hits, much louder than the report of the gun. Not really good when you're trying to get some practice shots at home and not disturb everyone.
      What others should know:A couple of strategically placed metal bends can greatly reduce the impact ringing. I wound up applying insulating foam to the back and sides to finally quieten it down.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Harrigan from USA on 2013-08-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:As described in all the other reviews, this thing is *great*. I searched and searched for the right pellet trap, and all that stopped when I got this into my hands. It's heavy-duty, it's easy to use, it traps the pellets effectively... top notch stuff.
      Things I would have changed:Nothin'.
      What others should know:Two things -- use a piece of cardboard cut to size to cover the opening. Makes for a nicer backing to put the target on and also prevents any pellets from bouncing out, especially the hard non-lead types. Second, lay a few magazines or a phone book on the back it and check the sound level -- WAY quieter doing this, no more gong sound...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By DanAir from USA on 2013-08-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:VERY solid construction - at 20 lbs. this trap can handle hard hitting heavy .22 air rifle ammo with no damage (other than the expected interior surface paint removal). Saves $$$ in the long run instead of replacing $20 traps every month because their construction fails so quickly...
      Things I would have changed:Possibly coat the exterior with a rubber-like noise dampening material.
      What others should know:Trap is great, but be aware it is loud if used as-is. But when sand bags are placed on top of the unit it is much quieter... result is a dead thud versus a loud clang.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Matt from USA on 2013-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very sturdy, this thing weighs 20 pounds. My .177 RWS 34 doesn't come close to denting it. Should last forever. If you are shooting in the garage or backyard and can't risk a shot going through, you need this.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:The supplied metal clip is weak, get some good alligator clips at the hardware store.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Larry from USA on 2013-03-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Heavy metal, good buy for the money
      Things I would have changed:Misdesigned lover plate! The sendary plate is FLAT; it needs to be rounded. As it is I had to take off 2 stars because of the back-splash. When a pellet hits the secondary plate is splashes causing small "shotgun" like holes in the target from the back side. This also throws a LOT of lead dust into the air.
      What others should know:Be sure to add some kind of exhaust fan, as the back splash throws a klot of lead and lead dust out of th unit.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Peter from USA on 2013-02-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This trap is well built and stops dead anything my Walther Magnum Talon can throw at it. Have used it for 3 weeks.
      What others should know:It is not as loud to me as some have commented, but I use it outdoors only.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By pa.oldman from USA on 2013-02-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid Stops everything I have thrown at it
      Things I would have changed:Wish it was quieter
      What others should know:If you are using a Ballistic Curtain pellet trap and plan to move up to a higher power .177cal or .22cal just order one of these along with your air gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By LTC Gary from USA on 2012-12-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well made & serious kit indeed.
      Things I would have changed:Make it deeper to prevent lead splash. I have to vacuum up around the trap after each use to prevent any errant critter snapin' up some shiny, heavy metal.
    • 1234 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top