Champion Heavy Duty Metal Trap reviews - page 1

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By ahkell from USA on 2012-03-04 21:42:20

Things I liked: Best trap for small cal.

Things I would have changed: Nothing

The most helpful critical review

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:4.0

By Larry from USA on 2013-03-05 11:16:31

Things I liked: Heavy metal, good buy for the money

Things I would have changed: Misdesigned lover plate! The sendary plate is FLAT; it needs to be rounded. As it is I had to take off 2 stars because of the back-splash. When a pellet hits the secondary plate is splashes causing small "shotgun" like holes in the target from the back side. This also throws a LOT of lead dust into the air.

What others should know: Be sure to add some kind of exhaust fan, as the back splash throws a klot of lead and lead dust out of th unit.

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2015-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Works great in my indoor range.

    Things I would have changed: Could be a little less money, but it functions properly so you get what you pay for.

    What others should know: Do not hesitate to get one,

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2015-04-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: A quality steel trap that can safely stop the pellets from my air guns. It's built like a tank. I have it set up in my basement for all year fun.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: It's noisy and heavy. It works just fine.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vincent from USA on 2015-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great quality, good value for the money

    What others should know: Perfectly safe for my Marauder .25 PCP

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2015-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: does the job expected

    Things I would have changed: Add some weights to attach to the bottom of the target to prevent movement when hit by a slower pellet resulting is an elongated hole.

    What others should know: It is surprisingly straightforward in this new world of perception's value vs. honorable inclusion. It is exactly as you would expect with no negative surprises. ( so far)

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Henry from USA on 2015-01-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: does the job

    Things I would have changed: nothing .

    What others should know: no

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charlotte from USA on 2015-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This trap will last me forever. I know it is pricey for a pellet trap BUT it is worth it. It is a one time purchase and I will never shoot out the back of this trap. If I shoot the clamp and ruin it, I'll go to any office supply store like Staples or Office Max and buy another. I wish I had bought this trap years ago. I have shot my 22 cal BSA into it and not a dimple. If you want to do some serious long term shooting, this is the trap. It's pretty heavy for a pellet trap because it was made for rimfire.

    Things I would have changed: I haven't a clue.

    What others should know: You won't regret buying it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Donald from USA on 2014-11-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well built trap will stop 22 caliber pellets at 10 meters even thought not rated for that close. I shoot mainly 17 target rifle but decided to see if it would stop my hunting pellet rifel.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing very durable.

    What others should know: Have fun shooting indoors safely

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By michael from USA on 2014-09-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very well made heavy duty trap. Should last a very long time.

    Things I would have changed: Would love one that is twice the size width and height. Roughly 2'x2'

    What others should know: Lined with duct seal 10lbs. Makes for a very quiet trap that you can have confidence in to capture your lead. I have used safely with spring and pcp up to .25 cal 53 fpe.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Curtis from USA on 2014-09-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the fact that this is actually a .22lr trap. I was able to purchase this for my air rifle and .22 so the value was really great.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: As others have said there is a bit of ringing when the projectile hits. Not a big deal for me (I live in the country and everyone shoots) but if you are in a smaller environment you may need to try some sound/vibration reduction material on the outside.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By L from USA on 2014-07-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Heavy & rugged. Information on box states that it is rated for .22 LR.

    Things I would have changed: Better packaging. Mine arrived with 3 of the 4 corners bent. Probably because it had dropped several time during shipping. Straightened easily with a large adjustable wrench adjusted to the metal thickness. Paint was not damaged.

    What others should know: I hung a old piece of carpet over the back wall to dampen the sound of the pellet striking the back wall. Attached it using spring clips on the top of the back wall. Carpet hangs and moves when a pellet strikes it which absorbs some of the energy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2014-04-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Heavy duty, pellets flatten out and fall into the trap as they should,well worth the money.

    Things I would have changed: A little larger would be nice but if it was larger it would have to cost more.

    What others should know: If you are a back yard shooter this is what you need to keep pellets from ricocheting and getting some-one hurt.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kurt from USA on 2014-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: You hit this and it is quite and solid. Great target trap.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: It is heavy but solid as a rock.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Raymond from USA on 2014-03-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid, durable, very well made. Should last a lifetime

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Great trap for indoor shooting.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cecil from USA on 2014-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything it's a well made trap, that can hold up under .25 and smaller high power pellet guns.

    Things I would have changed: I wish it had a sound damping coating on the outside, my CondorSS really makes it ring.

    What others should know: Be careful with the lead dust, the pellets literally splatter when they hit the backstop.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cecil from USA on 2014-01-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It works like it should.

    Things I would have changed: Add sound dampening coating for indoor use.

    What others should know: Don't drop it on anything you don't want broken, seriously.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By paul from USA on 2013-12-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: its heavy duty, doesn't move around. does a pretty good job holding lead. very easy to move. very solid 1 piece unit. I would buy this again.

    Things I would have changed: maybe rubber spray coat the outside to help with the noise. I believe this unit is just a little high priced, but its going to last me a lifetime too.

    What others should know: if you cover the face entirely with duck tape "just one layer" this will stop any lead dust or fragments from coming back out onto the floor if you are shooting inside. once the tape gets shot up pretty bad just put another layer over the shot up area and keep shooting. it also reduces the clang by about 90%. I also duc taped a thick phone book to the backside to help with the noise, but the duck tape across the front really works wonders and its a really cheap noise fix. ive probably got 3500 pellets in the trap now and I have no lead dust at all in the house. I use to vacume the shooting area every session, but there is no need now. you should try it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ATMG68 from USA on 2013-12-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: well, it is a trap .. it traps the lead and if you can and want to melt the lead down you can sell it and you save the money you spend on your pellets.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: If you buy a pellet trap . you can melt the used pellets down then sell the lead and make money.. In Fact make the money you spend on lead pellets. so the price of you pellets kinda becomes free and you get the fun of shooting your Airgun. Good luck. OH, if you buy a Champion pellet trap it can also handle a .22 cal Rimfire bullets ( it have not tested a rimfire yet)

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ATMG68 from USA on 2013-12-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love it.. My Beeman shoots at 1200fps in .177cal with lead . and it shoots 1000fps lead .22 cal.. funny all you hear is a ding sound as they hit the back of the target.

    Things I would have changed: have a opening with a door so you can get the use pellets out easy.

    What others should know: You want this if you want to make a in your own car garage shooting range.I got tired of wooden boxes I made.this traps the pellets then you can melt then down and maybe sell the lead. This will take a .22 cal Rimfire bullet so for Pellets You are good. I think BBs would bounce out of the trap to be careful.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vernon from USA on 2013-08-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It works.

    Things I would have changed: Trap rings loudly when it hits, much louder than the report of the gun. Not really good when you're trying to get some practice shots at home and not disturb everyone.

    What others should know: A couple of strategically placed metal bends can greatly reduce the impact ringing. I wound up applying insulating foam to the back and sides to finally quieten it down.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Harrigan from USA on 2013-08-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Things I liked: As described in all the other reviews, this thing is *great*. I searched and searched for the right pellet trap, and all that stopped when I got this into my hands. It's heavy-duty, it's easy to use, it traps the pellets effectively... top notch stuff.

    Things I would have changed: Nothin'.

    What others should know: Two things -- use a piece of cardboard cut to size to cover the opening. Makes for a nicer backing to put the target on and also prevents any pellets from bouncing out, especially the hard non-lead types. Second, lay a few magazines or a phone book on the back it and check the sound level -- WAY quieter doing this, no more gong sound...

  • 1234 Next
Navigation