Crosman 852 Pellet Trap reviews - page 1

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Kurt from USA on 2008-06-23 22:53:35

Things I liked: Only trap that I know of that can stop BB's and Pellets. The double curtain flaps and the steel backing are great. Great value for the ability to stop and trap pellets and BB's. Just Can't shoot pointed pellets. I have seen many traps that only stop pellets, and they cost well over the asking price for this awsum trap.

Things I would have changed: I would like it if Crosman would throw in 5-10 extra cardboard target holders. Once you blast away the thick cardboard front, you need to cut out a new one from cardboard boxes around your house. The plastic tabs that hold the cardboard facing are hard to push in even when making a pre punture hole. Most of all the frame around the front of the trap should NOT be Plastic. If you misplace a shot or two and shatter the frame that holds the double stops , they will no longer stay in thier proper place/position. The frame should be made of thin steel.

What others should know: This is a fantastic trap. It can and will stop BB's and Pellets even from high velocity pistols and rifles. Just know that you will need to cut out and replace the cardboard target holder/ trap face. Try very hard not to hit and shatter the frame that holds the traps. I did, but I stuffed old pants& shirts where the curtains were supposed to hang and it works great because I still have the steel back to keep the rounds in the trap.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By edward j from USA on 2015-05-09 12:39:38

Things I liked: that it is a pellet trap

Things I would have changed: better plastic better kevlar thicker steel backing

What others should know: do not shoot anything into this pellet trap maybe airsoft bb's

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Alfred from USA on 2015-08-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: easy clip in for targets. good size for a target

    Things I would have changed: sort of light.. it has tipped over a few times

    What others should know: not sure how durable the curtains are. it is all plastic

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2015-07-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Nice and portable, great for non-magnum rifles and pistols.

    Things I would have changed: The push tabs that hold the cardboard backing, easily broke and were lost within 2 weeks.

    What others should know: HELPFUL HINT: A really great substitute for the 4 push tabs that came with target to attach the cardboard backing are plastic Golf Tees. I went to Walmart and for $3.97 bought 40 plastic Golf Tees. Plastic tees fit much more snug than the wood. (The wood ones pop out too easily) The length allow homemade cardboard box slats to be easily attached to the front once the enclosed cardboard front target holder is all shot up. I've heard some people use metal fasteners - probably not the best idea. The box of he golf tees read: Club Champ Low Drag TEES.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Milton from USA on 2015-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good construction, works well for indoor or outdoor shooting.

    Things I would have changed: The ballistic curtains need to be of heftier construction. They wear out after about 50+ shots.

    What others should know: I make my own ballistic curtains out of used carpets.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By edward j from USA on 2015-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: that it is a pellet trap

    Things I would have changed: better plastic better kevlar thicker steel backing

    What others should know: do not shoot anything into this pellet trap maybe airsoft bb's

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Consultation from Canada on 2015-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The price, the safety features...

    Things I would have changed: Indicate clearly on the front cardboard to remove it carefully by lifting the plastic rivets... I torn mine away, thinking it was only a packaging item and then found it I should have used it as a backing for the targets. The red curtain shreds to pieces almost immediately, the other two are fine.. perhaps put 3 white curtains instead of the two white ones and the red one.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Paul from Canada on 2014-08-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Outer shell is sturdy. Metal slope does its job. Allows for steel BB re use. Having the same trap for pellets/bb/airsoft is great.

    Things I would have changed: Make the cloth holder not plastic. Mine exploded when struck too many times and broke in half. Using a metal wrench now :P The red cloth shreds way too fast and leave red string everywhere. The other white one is fine. The plastic pins to hold the paper are a waste of time. Just use some packers tape to hold everything.

    What others should know: Worth the cash, price is good on this site.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Mike from Canada on 2014-02-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Catches most of the pellets

    Things I would have changed: Make a bigger lip on the bottom so no pellets fall out. Make the actual product a bit bigger

    What others should know: First fabric layer (red) has frayed a lot and I've only had it for a day. The other layers will continue to stop the projectiles no problem.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Robert from USA on 2013-12-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Traps pellets as advertised

    Things I would have changed: More durable. The innerds are shredded after less than 100 22cal. pellets at 10yrs and 20yrds.

    What others should know: .22 cal tears it up.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By ThePizzel from USA on 2013-10-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Vary good stoping power.

    Things I would have changed: Can't think of any thing

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Rod from Canada on 2012-09-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Used for indoor shooting with .177 Winchester 500XS Works great.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kathleen from USA on 2012-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Dan was a big help in picking this out! I really like it & am enjoying using it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2012-06-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This trap is great for what I'm using it for, and my guess would be it would also be great for air rifle shooting at longer distances. I'm using it to shoot a Webley Alecto Ultra in my basement. The Webley is a multiple pump pre-charged pneumatic that has multiple power...from one pump up to 4, going from roughly 400 fps with one pump up to 700 fps with 4 pumps. I use it at a distance of about 7 yards with 2 pumps. I have 3 other pellet traps, and this one, by far is the most versatile and also quiet. If I had bought this one first, I probably wouldn't have bought any of the others.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing I can think of.

    What others should know: Get this trap and start shooting!

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By mike from USA on 2012-05-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: that it works

    Things I would have changed: it should handle the fps it says it will

    What others should know: it can only handle up to aprox. 500fps

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By egnile from USA on 2012-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: this is a really nice pellet trap!!! i use it indoors, works well, catches & traps everything!!!

    Things I would have changed: it's made of plastic & plastic is not a good match for inadvertant pellet strikes!! i don't know how the manufacturer could address this, without making the product to heavy & cost prohibitive!!! it's great as it is, very portable but i've gone thru several already!! anyone have any suggestions??

    What others should know: not really, it's a nice product!!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2012-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Small and light weight but yet big enough for the job it was intended for. Love it for my indoor shooting range.

    Things I would have changed: Two small 1/4 inch lips inside, one in front and one in back to catch the pellets so they do not roll back out the front under the stopping mats.

    What others should know: We use it and love it, we recylce the pellets so having all teh pellets inside the box would be nicer. Because of this we place it inside of another larger cardboard box so clean up is a breeze.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Joe from USA on 2012-03-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: One of the few BB-rated traps available.

    Things I would have changed: As a BB trap, it works fine although BBs seem to escape very easily unless you keep the cardboard cover on. Instead of supplying extra targets, extra covers would be helpful although you can simply use the targets as covers.

    What others should know: Do not use this trap for pellets! I tried a somewhat more powerful 2240 with this trap and pellets went through the trapping cloths very easily. You can help trap BBs better by tilting the trap backwards a bit.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By ahkell from USA on 2012-03-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.663 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Stops a target round.

    Things I would have changed: Stronger plastic tabs on back.

    What others should know: Only for target guns, don't use it for high velocity.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Peter Evans from USA on 2012-02-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: It's easy to use, Set it up and shoot. I bought mine and I use cardboard targets, cutting them from boxes is easy.

    Things I would have changed: The outer edges are made of plastic. While this is nice makes it lightweight my sibling has broken off chunks of plastic from learning how to use a bb gun. Metal frame would have been nicer.

    What others should know: This is a good target. Expect however that the curtain will need to be replaced. Crosman includes an order sheet for this. And while the description states that it works with rifle velocity up to 1200 fps I am doubtful. A daisy 880 has managed to leave small dents into the metal backing, Leading me to believe higher velocity air rifles may have problems.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By VICTOR from USA on 2012-02-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: VERY CONVENIENT PRODUCT - I HAVE FIRED MAYBE A HUNDRED BBs INTO IT WITH A CROSMAN PISTOL - IT STOPS MOST OF THE BBs FROM ABUT 25 FT - A FEW COME OUT, BUT THEY HAVE LOST MOST OF THEIR ENERGY. TARGETS i ORDERED AT SAME TIME DON'T COME CLOSE TO FITTING THE HOUSING - FOUND A TARGET SITE ON THE WEB AND NOW PRINT MY OWN TARGETS AND ADJUST THE IMAGE SO THEY FIT THIS PRODUCT EXACTLY. FABRIC BB STOPPERS SHEETS INSIDE ARE SHOWING A BIT OF WEAR. DUE TO THE SIZE, YOU NEED TO USUALLY PLACE THIS PRODUCT ON A BOX OR SOMETHING TO ELEVATE IT ABOVE GROUND LEVEL MAYBE 3 FEET - I USE OUR SMALL SPA ON THE PATIO.

    Things I would have changed: tHE PRODUCT IS FINE - THE COMPANY NEEDS TO HAVE A TARGET PRODUCT WHICH FITS THE HOUSING AND HOLDER ;PINS OF THIS PRODUCT AND TELL THE CUSTOMER THAT, IN FACT, THIS TARGET PRODUCT XYZ DOES FIT THE PINS IN THE CROSMAN PRODUCT. .

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2012-02-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good value for the money but cumbersome to use

    Things I would have changed: Pins holding the target are a pain and of no use if the target rips Using black, spring type paper clips is much faster and easier, and can be re-positioned if the target rips

    What others should know: Red cloth shreds badly with use

  • 123 Next
Navigation