Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Crosman Nitro Piston Conversion, Fits Many Newer Gamo Rifles reviews - page 4

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By Lawrence from USA on 2009-06-14 12:40:27

    Things I liked:That I can hunt with it and leave my gun cocked until ready to shoot with no damage or weakening to the spring. It seams to have increased my power. No twang when shooting. I have the gamo CFX and I can group them at 30 yards in a dime now, But I also have the GRT III trigger. I Just Love my gun Now. It's awsome !!!
    Things I would have changed:Maybe a little cheaper in cost.
    What others should know:Shipping was real fast. No problems what so ever.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Burke from USA on 2010-06-25 09:52:11

    Things I liked:Pyramyd Air has an excellent service department that bent over backwards to help me with the issues we had with trying to install this conversion in my Gamo CFX.
    Things I would have changed:Make a gas piston to properly fit and operate in my Gamo CFX.
    What others should know:My CFX is an older one and the gas piston does not properly fit mine and was causing the gun to literally tear itself apart. After numerous phone calls and two trips back to Pyramyd Air, they have removed the piston and reinstalled my spring. Unfortunately, the gas piston will not work in all springers.
    Sort by:
    • 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Frank from USA on 2014-03-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Smoother operation.
      Things I would have changed:Considerably more effort to cock.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Paul from USA on 2014-02-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Had my Gamo Whisper Cat converted to the Nitro Piston. Dramatically reduced the noise from the original spring, the spring was painful to the ears without ear protection, still wear ear protection when shooting with the NP installed. Operation is smoother, seems to have more power and accuracy is up with various bullet weights.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:If you have a spring powered air rifle this will fit, get it converted, it is worth it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Cameron from USA on 2013-10-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:everything! i had the conversion done to my gamo whisper dx after the spring broke and i am so happy i did. Not only did it make my gun a true whisper it increased power, fps, and overall performance of my gun.
      Things I would have changed:nothing!
      What others should know:it made my gun so quiet that i can shoot it and a person on the other side of a wall will have no idea i shot. If u shoot and hunt with your airgun a lot like me then this is a must have for you!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By gregory from USA on 2013-09-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's a great conversion, a bit harder to cock but not to an extreme. It is also stronger than with the spring. I don't have a chrony but the time from shot to target is shorter and hits harder than before. Great job, fast turn around , money well spent.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing , it feels great.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By DARCY from USA on 2013-06-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Just as already described , the shooting becomes much more stable than before...I have a scope camera with footage before and after the conversion, The difference is amazing , the only force now is a push straight backwards ,not bouncy all over the place as before. The cocking effort is a little bit higher but nothing unbearable.This upgrade is definitely worth. I did not notice a reduction in the noise though...At least with the gamo whisper CFR [Noise sometimes depends on the area around the gun , echo,etc...
      Things I would have changed:nothing serious....cocking effort if possible without reducing the power...
      What others should know:On gamo whisper CFR the cocking effort will increase a bit....
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Stefan from USA on 2013-03-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is an awesome upgrade. I did it because my spring broke (after merely 1500 or so rounds) - and honestly, I'm glad it did. Rather than send it to GAMO which can take months, I'e heard, I sent it to Pyramid for this conversion. Like everybody else writes, it results in a much tighter mechanical action. THUMP, no twang, the rifle recoil is a nice solid kick, rather than the 'toylike' (for lack of a better way of putting it) spring feel, twist-twang-doublerecoil. The gun (GAMO WHISPER) is quieter than it was, though not silent. I think it is now about as quiet as it can get. It has changed the characteristics of the gun; pellets that worked well before don't work as well now. I have found that heavier pellets work better. 8.64 GR seems to be the magic spot. <8 is erratic. Because there is no twang sound, you can actually hear the pellet hit the target. At first, I wasn't sure if this was because the pellets were moving slower - I don't have a Chrony, but putting a PBA in the gun resulted in that sonic CRACK, which means that speeds are the same or increased as compared to the Spring. Unlike what others say, i think it IS definitely harder to cock the gun now. Side by side with another (springer) Whisper, confirmed this for me. Pyramid does a quick turn around and sends back the spring (or piece of the spring in my case) in a sealed plastic bag.
      Things I would have changed:I wish Pyramid would allow people to do the conversion. I'm very mechanically adept with the proper tools and sending the gun away for a (admittedly brief) 10 days, killed me. I was literally tracking it twice a day. Wish the price were less overall. I hope it lasts. Pyramid should replace the plastic linkage spacer that sits on the cocking mechanism. It was worn and cocking the gun really was grinding metal until I hand fashioned a piece out of (delrin) plastic.
      What others should know:If you're buying a Whisper, save the time and effort and buy a nitro-piston straight away. With shipping, etc, this upgrade cost me over 200 bucks -- 2/3 the cost of buying a NITROPISTON Whisper outright. With this piston, a GRT trigger, replaced linkage spacer, and good scope (I put a HAWKE Airmax scope on the gun) the WHISPER becomes seriously good gun. However, you COULD save money by getting the new IGT Whisper straight away. Supposedly, it has a new improved trigger and the gas ram. WIN WIN. If you already own a Whisper and are thinking about upgrading - do it, you won't be disappointed. Accurate shooting is still very determined by the hold on the gun and how you squeeze the trigger - I'm noticing that I have a tendency to pull the gun to the right slightly as I squeeze the trigger. Working on correcting that. Check shipping - UPS GROUND cost over 100 bucks from CA.!! I think USPS would be cheaper. Buy a cheap (25.00) hard plastic gun-case at a local sporting goods store for shipping. It's cheaper than paying to have it boxed and then you'll have an extra case.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Aaron from USA on 2012-12-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is the best thing that has ever happened to my gun. I got the nitro piston in my Gamo cfr and I am not regretting it. The accuracy, the cocking and the shooting have all changed dramatically in a very positive way.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:If you are wondering whether or not to buy the nitro piston buy it!! It will change everything about your gun.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Rick from USA on 2012-06-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very fast turnaround from Pyramyd. I shipped my Gamo Silent Cat on a Tuesday and received it back the following Tuesday. Kudos to them! The gun finally feels the way that I wish it had right out of the box with this mod. Cocking is smooth and linear. Recoil is a short, not too heavy backwards push. The gun now doesnt vibrate all over the place after you pull the trigger. Also, loving the fact that I can cock and load it then leave it sitting until those pesky squirrels decide to show up to eat in my wifes garden.
      Things I would have changed:Not sure...yet. I've got maybe 50 pellets through it so far. As of yet, I can say that it is just as loud as it was when the spring was in place just a different sound now. If it doesn't quite down more after another 200 pellets or so then I'm going to try a recommendation to put some sound deadner in the stock. By the way, I'm not saying it is loud just not as quiet as I would ultimately like it. I can still shoot and plink in the back yard without my neighbors knowing that I am doing so.
      What others should know:Overall, it is a great conversion. With that said, I am a little on the fence about one aspect of the conversion though. I cannot tell if FPS has dropped or increased after the conversion. I didn't chrono the gun before I had it converted which I should have. What I am also wondering is that Gamo and Crosman are advertising guns with the Nitro Piston conversion with many different FPS ratings for guns that are shooting the same caliber. So now I'm wondering where the piston that I received falls in the FPS pecking order. With all that said, I would still do it again I think.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By christopher from USA on 2012-06-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Fast turn around 11 days, big difference in gamo whisper deluxe. dont think FPS is any better after 200 shots, but alot smoother cocking and no spring noises.
      Things I would have changed:price
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Art from USA on 2012-04-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I am very happy with the quality and how it performs. I hate that "TWANG" noise when a regular pellet gun is fired. I will not even own one now that does not have the "NITRO PISTON!" I have a Ruger gun to send now if you can put one in the gun.
      Things I would have changed:Lets not change "ANYTHING!!!!"
      What others should know:This "REALLY" improves the performance of the pellet gun!!! Everyone should try one!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2012-04-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It virtually eliminated the shock and "twang" of the spring piston in my Gamo Whisper. My Gamo now shoots more consistent than it did with the spring piston. If/When you decide to get the conversion, which I highly recommend, you may want to try some "heavy" pellets. My gun shoots the Crosman Premier Heavy 10.5gr and the H&N Baracuda Hunter 10.34gr the best while the Crosman Premier hollow points 7.9gr shoot well also. The big thing I've noticed is that the Whisper shoots better with pellets that fit kinda snug in the barrel. If you are a hunter then the Nitro Piston is a needed upgrade in that you can leave the gun cocked to long periods of time.
      Things I would have changed:Would be nice to chronograph the gun before and after the conversion. Overall I have no complaints about the product or transaction.
      What others should know:It took about 2 weeks between sending and receiving the rifle. This is a conversion that I highly recommend because it makes spring piston guns more fun to shoot.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Murray from USA on 2012-03-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Less vibration when firing.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Steve from USA on 2011-07-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It lives up to all the claims - smoother, quieter and more consistency on the target
      Things I would have changed:none
      What others should know:give it 100 rounds to break in and to get accuracy
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Peter A from USA on 2011-07-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Absolutely awesome my velocity has not changed if anything it hits harder. And is very easy to cock. I can't say enough about this product.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:It is my opinion that this is a must have for your gamo airgun, You will not be disappointed, They installed it and returned it to me with in 7 days I was shocked.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2011-03-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very fast turn-around. Has more power than the spring did. No more torque or rattle from the spring.
      What others should know:makes lightweight pellets go supersonic and sound like a rimfire. Does seem to shoot better with the heavier pellets after the change, the lighter PBA ammo makes for wider groups and the leads were nice and tight.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Jordan from USA on 2011-02-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Reliable and does not have spring fatigue.
      Things I would have changed:Can't think of anything.
      What others should know:My piston actually had some problems and jammed up after about 200 shots. Pyramid air replaced it for free after i sent it in and it works great. Probably just an unlucky piston conversion. There is still some recoil even after this conversion piston is added to your rifle, so i recommend getting a scope stop.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Wayne from USA on 2011-02-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a excellent upgrade, I had this upgrade to my Gamo Whisper, the turn around from the company was unreal… Very happy with all aspect.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:The Gamo Whisper is very quite to start with and with this upgrade not only is it even quieter but very smooth in operation
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Darryl from USA on 2011-01-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I upgraded my Gamo Whisper with this Nitro piston conversion right after I purchased it. It is much quieter than the old spring mechanism. Smoother cocking action. It has more velocity than before.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:If you can upgrade your old or new air rifle, do it!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Rocke from USA on 2010-11-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is such an incredible upgrade! It should be mandatory to have this. For those of you who have a gun that CAN be upgraded to the NitroPiston...do it. Keeping your springer a "springer" is literally like living in the dark ages. I did it for my Gamo Whisper; wow!! What a HUGE improvement!!
      What others should know:The feel, sound, and recoil are instantly improved. They even send back the big nasty spring so you can see it for yourself. I'm telling you truthfully you will enjoy the upgrade and the performance of your converted rifle for years to come. GET THE UPGRADE!!!!!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Barton from USA on 2010-10-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I definately like the ability to leave it cocked and ready to fire with no loss of power (or damage to spring). Easy and smooth to cock. Not as hold sensative. No more Twang or Torque. Lasts much longer than any spring. Also, the techs check for proper operation of the rest of the gun. They alerted me that my safety was not operating correctly.
      Things I would have changed:The price is fair considering that the Nitro Piston is professionally installed at the PA tech shop. A before and after (10 shots ?) chrony test would be nice for those without their own chronograph. PA could offer more services while the gun is opened up, and make more money for minimal effort, such as a deburing and polishing of chamber, upgrade/replacement piston seals, etc.
      What others should know:I recently got a great deal on a lightly used (looks new) Gamo CFX .177 w/ GRT III trigger off the internet. It is very accurate and looks perfect but the Spring Twang was so bad that it was no fun to shoot (hence the great deal). Now that I've had the gas ram installed, it's so sweet I can't stop shooting it. Many Thanks PA. Others that had the conversion done to their rifle say the heavier pellets work best so I tried H&N Baracuda and Air Arms Diabolo Field Heavy.... but my CFX liked the H&N Field Target Trophy (8.64 grains) the best, with one hole groups at 25 yards. You sould also know that the gas ram is a little harsh during the first few dozen shots (break-in period) but starts to smooth out from use. I've shot mine less than 200 times and already notice a considerable difference. I would definately recomend this item to anyone that wants a serious upgrade to their power plant.
    • 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top