Daisy Globe Front Sight + Insert, 3/8" Dovetail reviews - page 1

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

By Robert from USA on 2010-07-09 18:06:48

Things I liked: Along with the Daisy peep sight this turns the 953 into a real tack driver.

Things I would have changed: The compensator is the same as the one already mounted on Daisy 953 so it's like buying thing you already have. I'd rather buy just the sight and pay less.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Shooter08 from USA on 2011-05-16 22:57:00

Things I liked: Style looks OK.

Things I would have changed: When I tried to attach the sight to the dovetail mount on the barrel weight, the sight cracked and will not tighten. The sight base is made of plastic and is not suitable for this application.

What others should know: This problem is a material design problem and will likely occur with other sights if they are tightened just enough to get a hairline crack started. Once there is a small crack, the sight is no good. This item was backordered for months, and unfortunately the wait was not worth it.

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ahkell from USA on 2015-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This one was a replacement from Pyramyd, therefor 5 stars for value. I will clear that up by saying that I give 3 stars to the sight itself and 5+ stars to Pyramyd. The original sight which arrived with the rifle, the very fine 853 Synthetic with MacMillon style stock, broke in half, at 5 ft/lbs, when it was assembled. This one works just fine. Came with a barrel weight, which is nice.

    Things I would have changed: More inserts should be provided. I got a 4.0 circle. The light I shoot in is bright enough for a lollipop, which I prefer. I changed it to a lollipop with some tin snips and glue.

    What others should know: Another example of the finest Customer Service I've come across. Pyramyd, Dillon, RCBS and Vortex Optics are my "Zero Anxiety" companies. When I need, (want), an item, I order everything through from these businesses. One more thing; I don't want to sound preachy and I don't want to give that impression, but let's all of us shooters reread our Ten Commandments of Shooting Safety once a month or so and be sure to hunt ethically, be courteous, and cooperate with each other as well as opponents to our sport bas best as we can. When we shoot or transport an air gun or firearm, we give up some freedoms. We give up the freedom to get angry, to get lazy, to get complacent, etc. Fill in the blank.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2014-04-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This easy to install front sight is solid. We paired it with a Daisy aperture rear sight, and the improvement to our Daisy 953 was outstanding.

    Things I would have changed: Include a selection of inserts so that the sight picture can be fine tuned.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ThePizzel from USA on 2013-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Vary easy to mount and sight in. Really good buy.

    Things I would have changed: Can't think of anything.

    What others should know: Only took eight shoots to sight in @ ten meters. Well worth the money. :)

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rick from USA on 2013-08-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Exactly as expected. A budget sight to introduce someone to rifle team type sights

    Things I would have changed: The cross bar is at the slightest (but annoying) cant. It does not affect function, just annoying. Have to remind the youngster to not use that cross bar as a level reference

    What others should know: Perfect sight for a 953 build. By the time you are ready to upgrade, you'll need a better rifle too.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2013-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I needed the compensator/muzzle brake/weight for the conversion of a Crosman 2300KT into an entry level 10 meter rifle. The compensator fits the 2300 barrel perfectly. Instead of the sight that came with it I will be using the AirForce Front Target Sight (AFU1058 [PY-A-2238]) which offers more adjustment and 3 transparent sight inserts.

    Things I would have changed: Sell the compensator separately. Ten dollars would seem to be a reasonable price for it. Also, the compensator should be cast with a flat spot above the mounting grooves. Additionally, the web page for the product does not make it clear that the compensator does come with the sight.

    What others should know: The compensator and the sight arrive unattached. Neither the Daisy globe sight that comes with the compensator nor the AirForce front target sight will fit securely onto the compensator as is. You will need to either file the sight mounts to fit the round shape of the compensator or file a flat spot onto the top of the compensators sight mounting grooves. Also note that some rear sights cannot be adjusted high enough to work with either sight. I am using the Air Venturi Rear Sight (AA-6213147R [PY-A-3191] mounted on top of the BKL 3/8" or 11mm Dovetail Riser, 1-5/8" Long, Silver (BKL-172S [PY-A-2879]) and the combination of these parts makes for an excellent sight setup on the Crosman 2300KT. Gets a bit spendy but some of us 2300/2400 fans just can’t seem to control ourselves.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By george from USA on 2012-08-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the price and value for the money

    Things I would have changed: make the plastic globe sight mounting clip out of a stronger plastic. they break easy.

    What others should know: these front sights along with daisy's rear diopter sight make a nice sight upgrade to daisy's model 853

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2011-06-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Got this for my 953 but I only really needed the globe sight. Attaches securly but do be careful of over tightening and breaking the plastic

    Things I would have changed: I'd make the clasp out of metal to avoid the brittle plastic. Wish it came with some different sights options for the price you pay for the set.

    What others should know: Great with the Avanti Diopter sight. It is been very useful in teaching my girls how to shoot with peep hole sights.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Shooter08 from USA on 2011-05-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Style looks OK.

    Things I would have changed: When I tried to attach the sight to the dovetail mount on the barrel weight, the sight cracked and will not tighten. The sight base is made of plastic and is not suitable for this application.

    What others should know: This problem is a material design problem and will likely occur with other sights if they are tightened just enough to get a hairline crack started. Once there is a small crack, the sight is no good. This item was backordered for months, and unfortunately the wait was not worth it.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By EFreeman from USA on 2011-04-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very easy to see.

    Things I would have changed: The barrell spacer is made of plastic and broke when I was installing it. However, i called Daisy and they sent me a replacement right away.

    What others should know: I bought this for a 953 along with a rear Daisy Peep Sight. I could not adjust the peep sight high enough to use the globe sight. I called Daisy. This globe sight only works with the Daisy Diopter rear sight. It is not designed to work with the Daisy Peep sight.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By EFreeman from USA on 2011-04-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: When installed on 953 with Daisy front peep sight, the gun is very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: The barrell spacer or bracket that attaches the sight to the gun is plastic. If you tighten the screw very much it will break. However; Daisy customer service was excellent, and a replacement was sent right away.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2010-07-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Along with the Daisy peep sight this turns the 953 into a real tack driver.

    Things I would have changed: The compensator is the same as the one already mounted on Daisy 953 so it's like buying thing you already have. I'd rather buy just the sight and pay less.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Aubrey from USA on 2010-05-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The Globe sight itself fits my Anschutz 1451 ST .22 target rifle and that's what I ordered it for. The other nice thing is that the Lyman and Anschutz 17mm inserts fit it perfectly allowing for lots more (albeit costly) availability of inserts

    Things I would have changed: Sell the sight separate from the compensator. This sight works well on .22 target rifles as well as airguns and is an inexpensive alternative to those extremely expensive branded front sights. Either make more inserts available or at least advertise the size of the inserts so people don't have to hunt all over for that information.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Kent from USA on 2010-01-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Compensator and globe sight come together as a unit. Weight of the unit helps reduce barrel movement.

    Things I would have changed: Too much plastic in the globe sight. Add an extra insert.

    What others should know: Two set screws on the bottom of the barrel compensator make it easy to mount on most air gun barrels. Fits on crosman barrels with no modifications. It sits high on barrel but if you combine it with a mendoza peep sight you will end up with a reasonably good sight system for under sixty bucks. Mendoza sight might require some slight modification but even with that you can have both sights mounted and ready to start shooting in less then 45 minutes. Point of aim is not as precise as a scope but accuracy will be much improved over most stock sights.

Navigation