Gamo Cone Pellet Trap, Collapsible, 100 Paper Targets reviews - page 1

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By ahkell from USA on 2012-05-19 00:34:07

Things I liked: You can put in on a fence post. It has a good trapping system. A good trap for target rifles and pistols.

Things I would have changed: Give it a big brother with heavy gauge steel.

What others should know: As the description says, this is a great trap for an Avanti target rifle, but don't use it with a .22 Walther Talon 'cause that's not what it's fer.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By james from USA on 2011-03-01 11:17:44

Things I liked: i like the targets but the trap was almost shot through within 150 shots. but pyramyd air replaced it without a problem i decided to try the tech force mod and its been fine.

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Arpad from USA on 2015-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice compact unit, perfect fit with target, easy to attach to backstop with bolt and wing nut. No sign of damage from the pellets to date. (My pellet velocity range is about 500 ft per sec).

    Things I would have changed: Sometimes the projectile fragments pop out from the front (by the target) or the top ( I mean the chimney type part on the back). Need to do something to contain the fragments.

    What others should know: I solved the problem by stuffing a plastic grocery bag into the trap behind the target. The pellets get tangled in the plastic, don't fragment as much (sometimes not at all) and stay put in the trap. Separating the lead from the plastic at the end of the session is no problem.

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By xian from USA on 2015-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: cheap

    Things I would have changed: heavier metal!!!

    What others should know: not so durable, i shoot a big cat 1250 1.77 at it around 15 yards away, and only about 300 rounds so far, pellets went through the rear metal part and appearently the hole is getting larger.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cameron from USA on 2015-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Small, cheap (I mean inexpensive!), light, easy to (make, cut, create, you choose) targets for. My second pellet trap is 9 years old (many pellets thru it). Very reliable.

    Things I would have changed: For the price, nothing. Maybe increase the heaviness of the gauge of the deflector.

    What others should know: There is a hole in the trap to hang it on the wall. It needs anchoring. My .25 calibre Kodiak SCOOTS IT BACK about an INCH every shot. Yes, the trap actually moves if you do not anchor it or hang it on the wall. The trap was designed for the slower target velocities. This is my second unit, as I had beat the first one to pieces, using the Kodiak. If you shoot a hunting rifle (high velocity and/or large calibre), consider the Champion Target Trap (Item Code: CH-40801 [PY-A-1026]).

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Randal from USA on 2015-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: traps pellets well

    Things I would have changed: make sure it is advertised as a 6X6 inch trap.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2015-02-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Small, easy set up works exactly as intended. Great for indoor practice. For the $, good buy.

  • 2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By roo from USA on 2015-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great for catching pellets, but...

    Things I would have changed: Needs to be sturdier gauge of steel. BEWARE of RICOCHETING

    What others should know: As I am a serious air rifle shooter who enjoys competing, I purchased this trap to shoot at 10 meters with my wife's Weihrauch HW 30s air rifle. As the velocity is only 675 fps, I felt that this trap would be sufficient. WRONG! The gauge of steel is too light weight to effectively work on a continuous basis with flathead lead pellets. This trap needs to be stronger to be safe as we began getting ricochets after 100 shots due to the deflector becoming deformed. If you are a serious shooter, this is not a safe trap.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By stephen from USA on 2014-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great product! Easy to use. The supplied paper targets are easy to insert into the frame, provide nice visible holes with wadcutters, and I have no complaints!

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: On rare occasions a pellet will bounce back through the target. Stuffing some newspaper into the trap will prevent this 100% of the time.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chas from USA on 2014-11-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Works well. Holds the Gamo and other targets very well. Price isn't bad.

    Things I would have changed: Is a bit loud when the pellets hit. Just a thin strip of rubber glued to the outside of the back would completely quiet it down. I've modified mine in that fashion and it's very quiet now.

    What others should know: Only use .177 caliber. I tried .22 and even at 650 fps it tore the trap apart. I'm only using it with my 10 meter .177 which only shoots at 500 fps. The trap is more than fine for that. Don't know how it would stand up with the higher power PCP's and Springers.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Barry from USA on 2014-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great trap for pistols and/or indoor shooting. Assembles and mounts easy. Bin at the back collects pellets and paper target punches. So far it's taken about 400 pellets from a Beeman P17 (410 FPS) and still going strong. Gamo targets slide in perfectly, are a good weight and inexpensive!

    Things I would have changed: Maybe add a second mounting screw notch just to keep it straight.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from Canada on 2014-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very sturdy, all metal construction. Comes with lots of Gamo refill papers. Easy to mount on a backing wall.

    Things I would have changed: Would be nice if it was a little larger and deeper. Some pellets pop right out after hitting the target.

    What others should know: For the money, it's a good buy and will get lots of use.

  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Roger from USA on 2014-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to put together and quick to set up for some shooting. The funnel shape and the collection 'bin' in the back is a great design and avoids shreds of lead from the pellets from laying around on the ground as a hazard.

    Things I would have changed: The plates that shape the metal of the funnel itself needs to be reinforced. The metal needs to be a good 2-3mm thicker, especially the rearmost part of the plates. Optionally they need to be made of a different, stronger material.

    What others should know: Set this kit up @ 12 meters (roughly 35-40 feet). Shot at it with an HW97K using Diana Magnum pellets. After about 100 shots the pellets had almost penetrated the back of the right hand plate. Some of the pellets had embedded themselves in the material, so repeated pellets hit the old pellets. Just a matter of time until the pellets make a hole, and then the pellet trap is useless since shots will (or at least risk) going straight through and into the background. Bottom line - after seeing the results after just 100 pellets I can not advise anyone to buy this product if they have a powerful air rifle. It may be good for air pistols or lower powered air rifles, optionally placed at longer ranges so the more powerful air rifles aren't able to dent/dig into the material due to lowered impact power due to distance.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2013-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: ease of setup but it didnt last but maybe 3-4 days before we started shooting threw the back.

    Things I would have changed: make it with some thicker metal

    What others should know: not a good buy unless your using it out past 25 yards

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By James from USA on 2013-12-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Size, price.

    Things I would have changed: Build quality could be better. Lot's better. The slanted stop needs to be thicker or reinforced.

    What others should know: I've put less than a hundred pellets into it, and already the slanted stop that guides pellets into the hopper is bent out of shape. Pellets are hitting at 500 fps, half what the trap is rated for, and already it's starting to fail? When I bend the stop back into place, the metal will fatigue more. It's a closed loop of destruction and failure will come sooner than later. I'm going to make a wedge of wood to hold the stop in place, but really, why does the customer have to fix/modify the product to keep it working, especially after so short a time? When this dies, I'll go to the local metal fabricator and have them make me another, more robust trap. It will probably cost a bit more, but at least I'll be able to put thousands of rounds into it and still pass it on to my descendants!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2013-04-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Easily set up for backyard, or indoor target shooting. Would not recommend for velocities above 500fps, as you will shorten the useful life of this trap, but performs great with most .177 air pistols.

    Things I would have changed: Increase the strength of the deflector in the back of the cone. Assembly, although not difficult, the instructions could be more precise.

    What others should know: Make certain to ONLY HAND TIGHTEN any and all screws until the trap is assembled. It will all fall correctly into place, and at this point fully tighten all screws. Must admit, I learned this the hard way. People with 1377's, a couple or three pumps are sufficient for target shooting. For you air rifle shooters, get a trap that is better constructed. You'll easily destroy this one within a short period of time due to too much muzzle velocity. Another lesson learned the hard way.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Butcho from USA on 2013-03-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Easy to assemble,well made steel construction, handy for rifle sighting and especially for pistol shooting.

    Things I would have changed: It could stand to be a little larger which would make it more useful.Otherwise a very handy inexpensive accessory.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Glenn from USA on 2013-01-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The 100 targets that comes with the trap are nice cardboard quality.

    Things I would have changed: This trap needs much thicker metal at the back of the trap.

    What others should know: While zeroing my .22 Mrod at 25 yards, it was shooting through the back of the trap after 6 rounds. Very disappointed. I've spent more time fixing the trap than shooting.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2013-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Portable, easy to set up. Great for target shooting anywhere.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: Easy to assemble, works great

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By archangel from USA on 2013-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easily assembly.

    Things I would have changed: none.

    What others should know: Great for backyard target shooting.Easily attaches to a post or tree.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vall from USA on 2012-08-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is very well built.

    Things I would have changed: Not so thick of a powder coating. Jeez its like 2x thicker, make the steel thicker, thin paint.

    What others should know: Assemble the cone first with all bolt very loose. I had to really push it into place. Then tighten. Make sure to get inside because a 1000fps pellet bend it very badly.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By James from USA on 2012-07-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Targets are thin cardboard as opposed to plain paper making them easy to handle and makes clean punch outs easily revealing if pellets are tumbling. Convienient. Has keyhole slot to hang on a nail or screw or sits level on flat surface. Nice textured finish.

    Things I would have changed: Collapsable description to disassembleable.

    What others should know: Pellet strikes are loud. Target is small. Some punishment is evident to deflector plate and back of unit after only about ten hits w/1000fps @ 100 ft.

  • 1234 Next
Navigation