Date: 7/12/2016 20:26
0

Gamo Cone Pellet Trap, Collapsible, 100 Paper Targets reviews - page 1

Pre-order

Out of Stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By ahkell from USA on 2012-05-19 00:34:07

Things I liked: You can put in on a fence post. It has a good trapping system. A good trap for target rifles and pistols.

Things I would have changed: Give it a big brother with heavy gauge steel.

What others should know: As the description says, this is a great trap for an Avanti target rifle, but don't use it with a .22 Walther Talon 'cause that's not what it's fer.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By james from USA on 2011-03-01 11:17:44

Things I liked: i like the targets but the trap was almost shot through within 150 shots. but pyramyd air replaced it without a problem i decided to try the tech force mod and its been fine.

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By walter shipman from USA on 2016-08-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Easy to assemble - yes, you have to assemble it - i did it in 5 minutes. Compact, apprx 5" x 5" frontal area (targets are 5" x 5"), 7" front to back.

    Things I would have changed: Sturdier material - it's made of a relatively light gauge steel, pellets from a powerful gun, say 7 - 800 fps or better, are going to dent it like crazy, if you are close at all. Better quality control: once the sides were assembled, they did not want to slide into the base unit - got about half-way and stuck, had to use physical persuasion and a rubber mallet to finish the job. And, you want it to be all the way into the base as the deflector is not lined up correctly, else. I agree with another reviewer, it would be nice 'twere larger. Also be nice if they'd designed the thing to fit over the end of a standard piece of dimensional lumber, 2x2, 2x4, etc.

    What others should know: It comes in 5 pieces (sides, top, bottom, and base + 8 acorn nuts). Assembly is straightforward, just be sure to put the 'top' on top, otherwise your targets will not slide in, and the cone will not slide into the base. As to stuffing rags, etc., behind the deflector, after reading B.B. Pelletier's "Worlds Best Pellet Trap", i use rubber mulch both behind the deflector and behind the target (had to add an extra layer of cardboard behind the target to prevent the mulch from 'leaking' out, tho'. Added benefit: Lower noise!

  • 2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By carl from USA on 2016-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Target slides right in from top, 100 good viewable (from a distance )target centers, And it captures the lead.

    Things I would have changed: Make the back flap that stops the pellet heavy duty so it does not bend so easy

    What others should know: Stuff with foam or just rags to protect the rear stop piece from bending. (you can this thing last alot longer at close range) Use these at 25 and 50 yards with HW 95s 177 and 22 no problem if they are full of foam. Last 10,000 shots or so. 1,000 without.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Victor from USA on 2016-06-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to setup I use it on several air rifle

    Things I would have changed: None

    What others should know: Just Read instructions don't use a rifle that shoots at 1200 and get to close

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alexis from USA on 2015-11-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: love how they come with extra targets and its awesome how durable it is for its size and price

    Things I would have changed: I WOULD ENJOY THE PRODUCT MORE IF IT WAS A LITTLE LARGER

    What others should know: you can not go wrong with purchasing this item

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ray from USA on 2015-10-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: small & easy to carry around or store

    Things I would have changed: nothing

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2015-09-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I own two. They do what they're supposed to with no problems. The first one shows no corrosion after 11 months of sitting outside in all weather. The low power airguns I use cause no damage. The only way I can imagine these failing would be if the screws rust, which I'm sure could be mended with loctite or whatever glue you like. For me what elevates this from "nothing special" to "pretty cool" is the easy assembly with the included tool, the surprising weather resistance, and the good quality of the targets.

    What others should know: My opinion is that any and all airguns powerful enough for ethical hunting are too powerful for these. If that's what you've got then you need to buy something sturdier. These do have a noisy "ping" when shot, so if I were to put one in the basement I would try to dampen it somehow.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Price and the extra 100 targets. Easy to assemble.

    Things I would have changed: It could be a little heavier steel.

    What others should know: I have about 700 rounds with a 750 fps gun, the target and the steel is starting to show some heavy damage. The center back has almost blown a hole through the thin steel. The little channels that hold the target have bent making it difficult to slide the targets in. A flat screw driver can be used the pry the channels open again. I feel that this target would be great for someone with a gun putting out less than 500 fps.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Arpad from USA on 2015-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice compact unit, perfect fit with target, easy to attach to backstop with bolt and wing nut. No sign of damage from the pellets to date. (My pellet velocity range is about 500 ft per sec).

    Things I would have changed: Sometimes the projectile fragments pop out from the front (by the target) or the top ( I mean the chimney type part on the back). Need to do something to contain the fragments.

    What others should know: I solved the problem by stuffing a plastic grocery bag into the trap behind the target. The pellets get tangled in the plastic, don't fragment as much (sometimes not at all) and stay put in the trap. Separating the lead from the plastic at the end of the session is no problem.

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By xian from USA on 2015-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: cheap

    Things I would have changed: heavier metal!!!

    What others should know: not so durable, i shoot a big cat 1250 1.77 at it around 15 yards away, and only about 300 rounds so far, pellets went through the rear metal part and appearently the hole is getting larger.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cameron from USA on 2015-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Small, cheap (I mean inexpensive!), light, easy to (make, cut, create, you choose) targets for. My second pellet trap is 9 years old (many pellets thru it). Very reliable.

    Things I would have changed: For the price, nothing. Maybe increase the heaviness of the gauge of the deflector.

    What others should know: There is a hole in the trap to hang it on the wall. It needs anchoring. My .25 calibre Kodiak SCOOTS IT BACK about an INCH every shot. Yes, the trap actually moves if you do not anchor it or hang it on the wall. The trap was designed for the slower target velocities. This is my second unit, as I had beat the first one to pieces, using the Kodiak. If you shoot a hunting rifle (high velocity and/or large calibre), consider the Champion Target Trap (Item Code: CH-40801 [PY-A-1026]).

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Randal from USA on 2015-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: traps pellets well

    Things I would have changed: make sure it is advertised as a 6X6 inch trap.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2015-02-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Small, easy set up works exactly as intended. Great for indoor practice. For the $, good buy.

  • 2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By roo from USA on 2015-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great for catching pellets, but...

    Things I would have changed: Needs to be sturdier gauge of steel. BEWARE of RICOCHETING

    What others should know: As I am a serious air rifle shooter who enjoys competing, I purchased this trap to shoot at 10 meters with my wife's Weihrauch HW 30s air rifle. As the velocity is only 675 fps, I felt that this trap would be sufficient. WRONG! The gauge of steel is too light weight to effectively work on a continuous basis with flathead lead pellets. This trap needs to be stronger to be safe as we began getting ricochets after 100 shots due to the deflector becoming deformed. If you are a serious shooter, this is not a safe trap.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By stephen from USA on 2014-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great product! Easy to use. The supplied paper targets are easy to insert into the frame, provide nice visible holes with wadcutters, and I have no complaints!

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: On rare occasions a pellet will bounce back through the target. Stuffing some newspaper into the trap will prevent this 100% of the time.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chas from USA on 2014-11-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Works well. Holds the Gamo and other targets very well. Price isn't bad.

    Things I would have changed: Is a bit loud when the pellets hit. Just a thin strip of rubber glued to the outside of the back would completely quiet it down. I've modified mine in that fashion and it's very quiet now.

    What others should know: Only use .177 caliber. I tried .22 and even at 650 fps it tore the trap apart. I'm only using it with my 10 meter .177 which only shoots at 500 fps. The trap is more than fine for that. Don't know how it would stand up with the higher power PCP's and Springers.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Barry from USA on 2014-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Great trap for pistols and/or indoor shooting. Assembles and mounts easy. Bin at the back collects pellets and paper target punches. So far it's taken about 400 pellets from a Beeman P17 (410 FPS) and still going strong. Gamo targets slide in perfectly, are a good weight and inexpensive!

    Things I would have changed: Maybe add a second mounting screw notch just to keep it straight.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from Canada on 2014-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very sturdy, all metal construction. Comes with lots of Gamo refill papers. Easy to mount on a backing wall.

    Things I would have changed: Would be nice if it was a little larger and deeper. Some pellets pop right out after hitting the target.

    What others should know: For the money, it's a good buy and will get lots of use.

  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Roger from USA on 2014-06-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to put together and quick to set up for some shooting. The funnel shape and the collection 'bin' in the back is a great design and avoids shreds of lead from the pellets from laying around on the ground as a hazard.

    Things I would have changed: The plates that shape the metal of the funnel itself needs to be reinforced. The metal needs to be a good 2-3mm thicker, especially the rearmost part of the plates. Optionally they need to be made of a different, stronger material.

    What others should know: Set this kit up @ 12 meters (roughly 35-40 feet). Shot at it with an HW97K using Diana Magnum pellets. After about 100 shots the pellets had almost penetrated the back of the right hand plate. Some of the pellets had embedded themselves in the material, so repeated pellets hit the old pellets. Just a matter of time until the pellets make a hole, and then the pellet trap is useless since shots will (or at least risk) going straight through and into the background. Bottom line - after seeing the results after just 100 pellets I can not advise anyone to buy this product if they have a powerful air rifle. It may be good for air pistols or lower powered air rifles, optionally placed at longer ranges so the more powerful air rifles aren't able to dent/dig into the material due to lowered impact power due to distance.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Douglas from USA on 2013-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: ease of setup but it didnt last but maybe 3-4 days before we started shooting threw the back.

    Things I would have changed: make it with some thicker metal

    What others should know: not a good buy unless your using it out past 25 yards

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By James from USA on 2013-12-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Size, price.

    Things I would have changed: Build quality could be better. Lot's better. The slanted stop needs to be thicker or reinforced.

    What others should know: I've put less than a hundred pellets into it, and already the slanted stop that guides pellets into the hopper is bent out of shape. Pellets are hitting at 500 fps, half what the trap is rated for, and already it's starting to fail? When I bend the stop back into place, the metal will fatigue more. It's a closed loop of destruction and failure will come sooner than later. I'm going to make a wedge of wood to hold the stop in place, but really, why does the customer have to fix/modify the product to keep it working, especially after so short a time? When this dies, I'll go to the local metal fabricator and have them make me another, more robust trap. It will probably cost a bit more, but at least I'll be able to put thousands of rounds into it and still pass it on to my descendants!

  • 1234 Next
Navigation