Hawke Optics 3-12x44 AO Varmint Rifle Scope, 1/2 Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube reviews - page 1

Pre-order


Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

By Eric from USA on 2013-05-17 16:10:56

Things I liked:Lots of things to like. Very clear optics. Nice flip up lens covers that are clear so you can peek through. Very accurate. Holds its POI very consistently on my Beeman R9 that I use for hunter field target. I love the side focus although the numbers aren't perfectly matched to my vision. A very nice screw on shade is made for this scope and is cheap. I am getting another one for my RWS 460, so that tells you I like this scope and think it will hold up well. I love the half mil dot reticle. Yes, it is a bit busy, but it makes the scope just that much more precise and it is fine enough that it isn't in the way if you are just aiming at the center.
Things I would have changed:Just one thing...Come on Hawke, make a large side wheel for this thing like you make for the sidewinders. I don't need it for hunting, but for field target it would absolutely make this the best hunter field target scope in its price range.
What others should know:Unless having an add on side wheel is make or break, you cannot buy a better scope for anywhere near this money. It's not cheap, but it blows away all the lesser priced scopes I have used and some that are close in price as well.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:2.0

By Airgun Papa from USA on 2014-09-22 11:22:08

Things I liked:It is an attractively designed scope with a very nice combination of features that make it a fine airgun scope.
Things I would have changed:It simply is over-priced for the optical quality it has. I found no glaring flaws with it, but the Bushnell AR 3-12x40 mm SF scope offering is identically priced at several outlets and the superior optical quality in that scope makes me wonder why the optical quality of this one should be so inferior? They both have the same features throughout (and sadly, are both made in China.)
What others should know:I do not believe you will be greatly disappointed in this scope, but there are superior options at the same price level.
Sort by:
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Garrett from USA on 2015-07-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Side parallax makes for fast adjustments and this one has fluid motion and audible clicks. Turret adjustments are likewise clean and easy. I've put this scope through the punishment of easily 200 shots on a .22 magnum Walther Talon and it's held up perfectly. All round simple, elegant design that's a pleasure to use.
    Things I would have changed:Two things I'd like to have changed, first and foremost I'd like more adjustment to the eye focus. I have a crisp image with eye piece at it's lowest setting but a bit more adjustment would be nice and as I age am sure I'll need it. The second feature would be to make this scope in a true 30mm tube. This would likely aid in the clarity when zooming over 10X at closer range. It's not a problem when shooting over 100ft but closer ranges you need to keep zoom 9X and under. Not a big issue unless your aiming at humming birds. I don't believe a 30mm tube would add much weight but certainly would aid in low light settings and believe the haze above 10X at close range.
    What others should know:Don't trust the parallax readings at all. You'll have to check them yourself. I made a range and spent the day zeroing at 100ft then plinking at targets 50ft out to 200ft at 25ft intervals. If I thought the parallax was measured in feet the scope would be close. Seriously I didn't bother marking with paint pen as it's almost perfectly 25ft under distance. In that if making a 100ft shot the parallax is set to 75 yards, 125ft set to 100yrds, 50ft was 33yrds. The actual meaning of the numbers was useless but it did work out that I can quickly adjust for distance without having to paint lines. Overall this scope is a dream to shoot. Quick to zero in and once I got the knack of using the mil dots and 10 mph wind could hit 2 inch groupings at 175ft. Amazing what happens to drop with 200ft shots. Had 3" metal targets that was lucky to hit one in three. It's unnatural and will take much practice but mil dots are crisp and quick to use with the dash-dot 1/2 mil sequence.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

      By Airgun Papa from USA on 2015-05-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I have had another of this same model Hawke which was free of the defect described in this review. The tracking of the turret adjustments is excellent and the operation of all knobs is reliable and at the right level of resistance.
    Things I would have changed:You may not notice the lack of clarity in the optics of this scope unless you compare it side by side with one of its competitors in this price range. So knowing that superior optical quality is available at this price point, I would want it in this optic. It is however a good optic.
    What others should know:I recently have encountered a problem with the recticle of two Hawke scopes. One was this model and the other was with the Hawke Airmax EV 3-9 x 40 mm AO (HK5172) model. In both cases, the reticle rotated in the housing out of square with the turret housing. I unfortunately bought the other scope elsewhere and they do not have the 30 day return policy of Pyramyd Air. So that scope has to be sent to Hawke. On this one, Pyramyd has taken care of the issue and accepted the return of the scope even paying the return shipping to them. That other web-based outlet will never see my patronage in the purchase of a scope again. Pyramyd is the best!
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

      By Mike from USA on 2014-12-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Scope is very clear and has a crisp image and was very easy to mount and sight in. I like having the parallax focus on the side instead of up front which makes for fast focus adjustments
    Things I would have changed:Should come with choice of scope mounting rings
    What others should know:very well made and can not go wrong with a hawke scope ae I have 3 and have had no issues and love al3
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

      By Airgun Papa from USA on 2014-09-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:It is an attractively designed scope with a very nice combination of features that make it a fine airgun scope.
    Things I would have changed:It simply is over-priced for the optical quality it has. I found no glaring flaws with it, but the Bushnell AR 3-12x40 mm SF scope offering is identically priced at several outlets and the superior optical quality in that scope makes me wonder why the optical quality of this one should be so inferior? They both have the same features throughout (and sadly, are both made in China.)
    What others should know:I do not believe you will be greatly disappointed in this scope, but there are superior options at the same price level.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By James from USA on 2013-10-29
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This scope is has good quality for the price and has held together on my Spring Gun.
    Things I would have changed:I would increase Eye relief.
    What others should know:Parallax adjustment numbers are not accurate.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

      By James from USA on 2013-05-20
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:The clarity is excellent. There is some aberrations when zooming in. The eye relief is HORRIBLE for me. If Im not with-in 1/8" at a distance of 3.5"...its blurry. What that means, is that unless your eye relief is dead on, you've got a blurry scope. Now, if you manage to KEEP that eye relief constant, then you're good to go. Its also a weird scope when sighting in. You have to sight in at 30 yds or less but BEFORE doing that, you have to adjust your focus, then after that, the zoom function takes over..and if its not in focus, perfectly, you'll miss your target. Granted, Im shooting at 75-100yds with this scope....a little beyond its intended range. But..it DOES work well, if you manage to sight it in at 30 yds, then use the zoom function to do the rest....kind of. A Leopold in the same price range blows this scope away.
    Things I would have changed:Scope covers are junk.
  • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

      By James from USA on 2013-05-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:After sighting in, it stays accurate. not the best value for the $
    Things I would have changed:The optics are that of a $100 scope, not $190.00. Aberrations at 10yds to 100yds using the zoom. While the optics are clear, the peripheral optics are that of a $20 scope. Its a good scope, just not a $189.00 scope.
    What others should know:But Leupold for the same $ with no abbreviation.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

      By Eric from USA on 2013-05-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Lots of things to like. Very clear optics. Nice flip up lens covers that are clear so you can peek through. Very accurate. Holds its POI very consistently on my Beeman R9 that I use for hunter field target. I love the side focus although the numbers aren't perfectly matched to my vision. A very nice screw on shade is made for this scope and is cheap. I am getting another one for my RWS 460, so that tells you I like this scope and think it will hold up well. I love the half mil dot reticle. Yes, it is a bit busy, but it makes the scope just that much more precise and it is fine enough that it isn't in the way if you are just aiming at the center.
    Things I would have changed:Just one thing...Come on Hawke, make a large side wheel for this thing like you make for the sidewinders. I don't need it for hunting, but for field target it would absolutely make this the best hunter field target scope in its price range.
    What others should know:Unless having an add on side wheel is make or break, you cannot buy a better scope for anywhere near this money. It's not cheap, but it blows away all the lesser priced scopes I have used and some that are close in price as well.
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top