Date: 3/12/2016 10:45
0

Hawke Optics 6-24x44 AO Varmint Rifle Scope, 1/2 Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By John from USA on 2014-06-27 23:15:32

Things I liked: Lightweight, very very clear and sharp. Mildot reticle is a bit cluttered but useful with 1/2 dots. Great glass all the way to 24X ! The range markings on the sidewheel are actually accurate ! Lens covers are clear and it's shootable with the far one on (objective) and the near one is quick to flip up.

Things I would have changed: Turrets, I would prefer taller ones that would accept a tape but that's a personal preference. Lens covers don't fold all the way back to flat, which means they stick up like almost every other cover, which means it won't last long. Ocular / Eyepiece lens does not have a stop to secure it and keep it from moving. Turrets are not resettable to zero.

What others should know: This is the clearest scope I've owned and it stays sharp all the way to 24X. It is equal to my Mueller and better than my AEON, Hawke Sidewinder 8-32x56, and my Hawke 6.5-20. I bought it because it's light and spring rated. Great glass and it passed my "box" test, although the clicks aren't as well defined as a sidewinder or my Mueller. Great simple scope, especially so as it's springer rated.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Richard from USA on 2014-03-07 16:32:45

Things I liked: The low weight, short length, side focus and mil-dot reticle.

Things I would have changed: The glass (plastic?) is from Korea. They need to use better quality.

What others should know: This scope had all of the right features I wanted. It was a shame that the clarity was pretty bad. Unusable at full power, like looking thru the bottom of a Coke bottle. To confirm what I thought, I handed it to a friend shooting right next to me and asked his opinion of my new scope without giving mine. I knew he'd be honest. He took about 3 shots, handed it back and said "this is the worst scope I've ever looked through". And he's right. It gets a little clearer at lower powers, around 14x, but then why pay for the extra magnification if it's unusable? Last Hawke scope I will ever buy, as none of them have impressed me with their optics, including the expensive side focus models.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2016-09-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great looking scope, well put together and vary lights...

    Things I would have changed: Nothing at this time really havn't had time to put it through its Paces yet

    What others should know: Nothing yet still working on reviewing it fully

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Memo from USA on 2016-02-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great scope, very clear optics side wheel AO and very fine cross hairs with 1/2 mil dot markings. All in a sleek good looking package. Zeroed with only a few turns of the turrets. Very positive movement with the elevation and L;R adjustment.

    Things I would have changed: Flip up caps would be nice, and see through cross hairs like on some of the more expensive Hawke scopes would be nice but bot a deal breaker.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2015-12-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The reticle and the side focus.

    Things I would have changed: Have it come with the small wheel for the side focus as it can be hard to turn.

    What others should know: Be sure you get mounts with enough clearance for the turret swell on the bottom of this scope under the turrets as it seems to be extra tall. I bought BKL 1pc mounts and it bottomed out before hitting the tube in the rings. If using 2pc mounts it is no issue.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bob from USA on 2015-11-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very clear lens and fast focus is very welcome for tri-focal eyes

    Things I would have changed: I should have ordered the illuminated reticles. Have them on my other scopes and didn't realize how much I have come to depend on them in low light. It would be nice if all of this series came with them.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Doug from USA on 2015-10-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good clear scope. If you are hunting keep on low power or target is very hard to find on 24 power.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: 18 through 24 power is clear but I have to use it off my benchrest.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jake from USA on 2015-09-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What i like most is the price point. I also like the 24x zoom, quick side focus and half mildots.

    Things I would have changed: It get a little blurry on 24 power even when focused perfectly. It would benefit from a sunshade because if you shoot in any bright lighting it tends to not bode well with the optic. Also a medium side wheel would help alot as well. I also notice your POI will. Hange if you mess with the eye focus piece a bunch.

    What others should know: This a good scope for the money if you dont mind the few thing i mentioned above. The turrets are very smooth and adjust very well no problem on that front. If i were to buy this again i would also buy a sunshade with it the side focus wheel isnt as big of a deal but would also benefit from that. All that being said its a 200 dollar scope a little above average but it is not a leupold or any other higher end scope.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jerry from USA on 2015-09-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: O in 2 shots. Need I say more.

    Things I would have changed: My neighbors.

    What others should know: You will love it!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ENRIQUE from USA on 2015-04-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything.... The reticle is one of my favorites.... Keeps the zero.... Clear cristals.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: This scope worths the price.... You will be happy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By TED from USA on 2015-02-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very smooth side focus wheel. No illumination. Light weight. Power adjustment easy to change. Clear glass out to 24x. Ocular focus good. Elevation/windage adjust with soft clicks. Easy to sight in and use.

    Things I would have changed: Locking ring on ocular adjustment. Lens caps stiff to open. Eye relief can be fussy. PA needs to stock the sun shade.

    What others should know: Very easy to zero. Only took ten shots. I like the 1/2mil marks. They are great for adjusting changes without turning turrets. Just need to remember add/subtract value at set ranges. Overall a great product at its price point.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By cazador63 from USA on 2015-02-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: exelent clear

    Things I would have changed: nithing all is good

    What others should know: buy this scope to field target exelent

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Richard from USA on 2014-11-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice scope and mounted well on my Air Arms S510 PCP Air Rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Didn't care for the caps on the turrets and a little blurry.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By ryan from USA on 2014-07-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: it looks good on my condor, side parallax

    Things I would have changed: the glass its horrible, and the lens caps fall off they are way too big.

    What others should know: this scope is junk, at 16x my el cheapo $89.99 centerpoint 4x16x40 adventure class has a much clearer and crisper sight picture. very dissatisfied with hawk they are just a bunch of hype. Anyone who gave this scope a good rating has obviously never looked through a zeiss conquest or a luepold vx or a cheap centerpoint for that matter. awful, just plain awful!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2014-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Lightweight, very very clear and sharp. Mildot reticle is a bit cluttered but useful with 1/2 dots. Great glass all the way to 24X ! The range markings on the sidewheel are actually accurate ! Lens covers are clear and it's shootable with the far one on (objective) and the near one is quick to flip up.

    Things I would have changed: Turrets, I would prefer taller ones that would accept a tape but that's a personal preference. Lens covers don't fold all the way back to flat, which means they stick up like almost every other cover, which means it won't last long. Ocular / Eyepiece lens does not have a stop to secure it and keep it from moving. Turrets are not resettable to zero.

    What others should know: This is the clearest scope I've owned and it stays sharp all the way to 24X. It is equal to my Mueller and better than my AEON, Hawke Sidewinder 8-32x56, and my Hawke 6.5-20. I bought it because it's light and spring rated. Great glass and it passed my "box" test, although the clicks aren't as well defined as a sidewinder or my Mueller. Great simple scope, especially so as it's springer rated.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ryan from USA on 2014-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have the 6 x 24 scope, and it works pretty well. I like the half mil dot reticle, helps when shooting at various distances. I keep it on 10x magnification most of the time and its very clear.

    Things I would have changed: The clarity does drop off noticeably after about 18x, but it is still useable. The lens caps could fit a little more snug, I plan on replacing them at some point.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ricka from USA on 2014-03-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent and good quality and beautiful.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Excellent weight and length and good visibility in all magnifications. If your looking for a light weight high magnification scope this is a good one. Watch out if you want to use a one piece mount as the scope saddle for the turrets hit the base of the bkl 260 medium mount so I had to use 2 piece bkl rings I had order for another scope and gun for now.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Richard from USA on 2014-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The low weight, short length, side focus and mil-dot reticle.

    Things I would have changed: The glass (plastic?) is from Korea. They need to use better quality.

    What others should know: This scope had all of the right features I wanted. It was a shame that the clarity was pretty bad. Unusable at full power, like looking thru the bottom of a Coke bottle. To confirm what I thought, I handed it to a friend shooting right next to me and asked his opinion of my new scope without giving mine. I knew he'd be honest. He took about 3 shots, handed it back and said "this is the worst scope I've ever looked through". And he's right. It gets a little clearer at lower powers, around 14x, but then why pay for the extra magnification if it's unusable? Last Hawke scope I will ever buy, as none of them have impressed me with their optics, including the expensive side focus models.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cecil from USA on 2014-03-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The side focus and half mil-dot.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing, great scope.

    What others should know: Like the 4-16 X 44 that I got for my marauder, so going to try this one on my Savage B-Mag.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2014-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Clear at 24x nice side focus. nice glass

    Things I would have changed: wish it had a side focus wheel

    What others should know: Its half mill are great for hold over shots.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joyce from USA on 2014-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Awesome scope.works perfect with chair gun pro.great clarity dusk to dawn.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By james from USA on 2014-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I got this to put on my outlaw turkey shoot gun. I shoot 12ga @ 19yd so I need a good scope so far its grate!

  • 12 Next
Navigation