Date: 25/7/2016 16:56
0

Hawke Optics 6-24x44 AO Varmint Rifle Scope, 1/2 Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By John from USA on 2014-06-27 23:15:32

Things I liked: Lightweight, very very clear and sharp. Mildot reticle is a bit cluttered but useful with 1/2 dots. Great glass all the way to 24X ! The range markings on the sidewheel are actually accurate ! Lens covers are clear and it's shootable with the far one on (objective) and the near one is quick to flip up.

Things I would have changed: Turrets, I would prefer taller ones that would accept a tape but that's a personal preference. Lens covers don't fold all the way back to flat, which means they stick up like almost every other cover, which means it won't last long. Ocular / Eyepiece lens does not have a stop to secure it and keep it from moving. Turrets are not resettable to zero.

What others should know: This is the clearest scope I've owned and it stays sharp all the way to 24X. It is equal to my Mueller and better than my AEON, Hawke Sidewinder 8-32x56, and my Hawke 6.5-20. I bought it because it's light and spring rated. Great glass and it passed my "box" test, although the clicks aren't as well defined as a sidewinder or my Mueller. Great simple scope, especially so as it's springer rated.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Richard from USA on 2014-03-07 16:32:45

Things I liked: The low weight, short length, side focus and mil-dot reticle.

Things I would have changed: The glass (plastic?) is from Korea. They need to use better quality.

What others should know: This scope had all of the right features I wanted. It was a shame that the clarity was pretty bad. Unusable at full power, like looking thru the bottom of a Coke bottle. To confirm what I thought, I handed it to a friend shooting right next to me and asked his opinion of my new scope without giving mine. I knew he'd be honest. He took about 3 shots, handed it back and said "this is the worst scope I've ever looked through". And he's right. It gets a little clearer at lower powers, around 14x, but then why pay for the extra magnification if it's unusable? Last Hawke scope I will ever buy, as none of them have impressed me with their optics, including the expensive side focus models.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Memo from USA on 2016-02-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great scope, very clear optics side wheel AO and very fine cross hairs with 1/2 mil dot markings. All in a sleek good looking package. Zeroed with only a few turns of the turrets. Very positive movement with the elevation and L;R adjustment.

    Things I would have changed: Flip up caps would be nice, and see through cross hairs like on some of the more expensive Hawke scopes would be nice but bot a deal breaker.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2015-12-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The reticle and the side focus.

    Things I would have changed: Have it come with the small wheel for the side focus as it can be hard to turn.

    What others should know: Be sure you get mounts with enough clearance for the turret swell on the bottom of this scope under the turrets as it seems to be extra tall. I bought BKL 1pc mounts and it bottomed out before hitting the tube in the rings. If using 2pc mounts it is no issue.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Bob from USA on 2015-11-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very clear lens and fast focus is very welcome for tri-focal eyes

    Things I would have changed: I should have ordered the illuminated reticles. Have them on my other scopes and didn't realize how much I have come to depend on them in low light. It would be nice if all of this series came with them.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Doug from USA on 2015-10-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good clear scope. If you are hunting keep on low power or target is very hard to find on 24 power.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: 18 through 24 power is clear but I have to use it off my benchrest.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Jake from USA on 2015-09-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What i like most is the price point. I also like the 24x zoom, quick side focus and half mildots.

    Things I would have changed: It get a little blurry on 24 power even when focused perfectly. It would benefit from a sunshade because if you shoot in any bright lighting it tends to not bode well with the optic. Also a medium side wheel would help alot as well. I also notice your POI will. Hange if you mess with the eye focus piece a bunch.

    What others should know: This a good scope for the money if you dont mind the few thing i mentioned above. The turrets are very smooth and adjust very well no problem on that front. If i were to buy this again i would also buy a sunshade with it the side focus wheel isnt as big of a deal but would also benefit from that. All that being said its a 200 dollar scope a little above average but it is not a leupold or any other higher end scope.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jerry from USA on 2015-09-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: O in 2 shots. Need I say more.

    Things I would have changed: My neighbors.

    What others should know: You will love it!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ENRIQUE from USA on 2015-04-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything.... The reticle is one of my favorites.... Keeps the zero.... Clear cristals.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: This scope worths the price.... You will be happy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By TED from USA on 2015-02-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very smooth side focus wheel. No illumination. Light weight. Power adjustment easy to change. Clear glass out to 24x. Ocular focus good. Elevation/windage adjust with soft clicks. Easy to sight in and use.

    Things I would have changed: Locking ring on ocular adjustment. Lens caps stiff to open. Eye relief can be fussy. PA needs to stock the sun shade.

    What others should know: Very easy to zero. Only took ten shots. I like the 1/2mil marks. They are great for adjusting changes without turning turrets. Just need to remember add/subtract value at set ranges. Overall a great product at its price point.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By cazador63 from USA on 2015-02-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: exelent clear

    Things I would have changed: nithing all is good

    What others should know: buy this scope to field target exelent

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Richard from USA on 2014-11-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice scope and mounted well on my Air Arms S510 PCP Air Rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Didn't care for the caps on the turrets and a little blurry.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By ryan from USA on 2014-07-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: it looks good on my condor, side parallax

    Things I would have changed: the glass its horrible, and the lens caps fall off they are way too big.

    What others should know: this scope is junk, at 16x my el cheapo $89.99 centerpoint 4x16x40 adventure class has a much clearer and crisper sight picture. very dissatisfied with hawk they are just a bunch of hype. Anyone who gave this scope a good rating has obviously never looked through a zeiss conquest or a luepold vx or a cheap centerpoint for that matter. awful, just plain awful!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2014-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Lightweight, very very clear and sharp. Mildot reticle is a bit cluttered but useful with 1/2 dots. Great glass all the way to 24X ! The range markings on the sidewheel are actually accurate ! Lens covers are clear and it's shootable with the far one on (objective) and the near one is quick to flip up.

    Things I would have changed: Turrets, I would prefer taller ones that would accept a tape but that's a personal preference. Lens covers don't fold all the way back to flat, which means they stick up like almost every other cover, which means it won't last long. Ocular / Eyepiece lens does not have a stop to secure it and keep it from moving. Turrets are not resettable to zero.

    What others should know: This is the clearest scope I've owned and it stays sharp all the way to 24X. It is equal to my Mueller and better than my AEON, Hawke Sidewinder 8-32x56, and my Hawke 6.5-20. I bought it because it's light and spring rated. Great glass and it passed my "box" test, although the clicks aren't as well defined as a sidewinder or my Mueller. Great simple scope, especially so as it's springer rated.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ryan from USA on 2014-04-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I have the 6 x 24 scope, and it works pretty well. I like the half mil dot reticle, helps when shooting at various distances. I keep it on 10x magnification most of the time and its very clear.

    Things I would have changed: The clarity does drop off noticeably after about 18x, but it is still useable. The lens caps could fit a little more snug, I plan on replacing them at some point.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ricka from USA on 2014-03-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent and good quality and beautiful.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Excellent weight and length and good visibility in all magnifications. If your looking for a light weight high magnification scope this is a good one. Watch out if you want to use a one piece mount as the scope saddle for the turrets hit the base of the bkl 260 medium mount so I had to use 2 piece bkl rings I had order for another scope and gun for now.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Richard from USA on 2014-03-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The low weight, short length, side focus and mil-dot reticle.

    Things I would have changed: The glass (plastic?) is from Korea. They need to use better quality.

    What others should know: This scope had all of the right features I wanted. It was a shame that the clarity was pretty bad. Unusable at full power, like looking thru the bottom of a Coke bottle. To confirm what I thought, I handed it to a friend shooting right next to me and asked his opinion of my new scope without giving mine. I knew he'd be honest. He took about 3 shots, handed it back and said "this is the worst scope I've ever looked through". And he's right. It gets a little clearer at lower powers, around 14x, but then why pay for the extra magnification if it's unusable? Last Hawke scope I will ever buy, as none of them have impressed me with their optics, including the expensive side focus models.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Cecil from USA on 2014-03-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The side focus and half mil-dot.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing, great scope.

    What others should know: Like the 4-16 X 44 that I got for my marauder, so going to try this one on my Savage B-Mag.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2014-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Clear at 24x nice side focus. nice glass

    Things I would have changed: wish it had a side focus wheel

    What others should know: Its half mill are great for hold over shots.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joyce from USA on 2014-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Awesome scope.works perfect with chair gun pro.great clarity dusk to dawn.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By james from USA on 2014-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I got this to put on my outlaw turkey shoot gun. I shoot 12ga @ 19yd so I need a good scope so far its grate!

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Mike from USA on 2014-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a good scope for the money. I like having a variable scope with mil dots for distances that I shoot. Very clear up to around 19 or 20 on the variable side of the scope. The flip open caps that come with it are just a little tight, but easy to fix.

    Things I would have changed: The glass on the scope past around 20 starts to blur and can't be corrected. For around $240 you can buy a Nikon or cheaper leupold for your pcp air gun.

    What others should know: Overall the scope is good just a few complaints. This is also the first hawke scope I've owned and pcp (marauder ). I'm still going to keep this scope because , like I said , out to variable 20 the scope is clear and stable just from 20 to 24 it's blurry. And also you start seeing the sight picture behind you showing up in the glass as your looking in.

  • 12 Next
Navigation