Hawke Sport Optics 4.5-14x42 AO Sidewinder Tactical Rifle Scope, Illuminated Half Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 30mm Tube reviews - page 1

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By nathan from USA on 2011-05-31 10:51:54

Things I liked: 1000 shots and flawless functioning. No change in POI at varying magnifications. Holds zero, turret adjustments are precise and return zero to exact same POI. Range finding and marks are pretty accurate. Image quality is good to excellent. Even at 14x the scope is easy to center and get a clean image. 1/2 mildot reticle provides me enough aim points for exact shooting from 6 to 110 yards. Free HAWKE optics ballistics software.

Things I would have changed: This is pure wish list because I love this thing: With side focus and IR on one side and such tall turrets scope is pretty wide

What others should know: This scope on my beeman 97 is totally ridiculous. Found my JSB express pellets exact trajectory with Hawke ballistics calc and now I'm shooting staples holding up my targets out to 60 yards and topping dandelions in back corner of property just over 100 yards.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

By Keoni from USA on 2011-02-26 06:24:43

Things I liked: Lots of features, side wheel, finger adjustable turrents.

Things I would have changed: The glass isn't as clear as my used Bushnell Sportsman scope and this scope is like $80.

What others should know: The scope is heavy but built well, I don't think I'd buy another one and maybe just get two lower end scopes for the same price or save for a Bushnell Elite 3200 or 4200. As stated by Nico the sunshade doesn't accept the screw in dust guards.

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Scott from USA on 2014-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Such nice clear glass ... super fine 1/2 dot reticule just perfectly suited to Field target ( Hunter Class ) use.

    Things I would have changed: Give us the 4" SF wheel with the tactical ... seem only the regular sidewinders provide it ... Tac's get the little 2" which is great on a powder burner ... but us competitive AG'er need the 4" or even BIGGER.

    What others should know: Just received this as of mid Jan 2014 and SCOPE CAP NOW SCREWS ONTO HOOD !!! So past reviews of this issue look to have been corrected !! very nice.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Eddie from USA on 2014-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice scope! Glass is so clear, and fine recticles are perfect for pin point accuracy. The scope hold zero shots after shot. The small problem I have with it is the windage adjusting knob won't returned to lock position unless I wiggle the knob side to side. I sent it back to PA for replacement, other than that the scope is worth every penny.

    Things I would have changed: I don't need the fancy case once mounted the scope! Get rid of the case and lower the price a bit. Other than that the scope is perfect.

    What others should know: It is long, screw on lens caps, actually the cap is even screw onto the sunshade. Get bkl rings, don't go with leaper rings they don't align that well.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Lion from USA on 2013-12-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This scope is well made, with a good quality,with adjustments that make the focus and the precision perfect.

    Things I would have changed: Heavy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By stephen from USA on 2013-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Awesome scope love everything about it

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: This is a top notch scope.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Edwin from USA on 2013-03-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love the scope. I like the way I can zero it at 50yd and go back and forth to 10m and be right on

    Things I would have changed: flip up lens covers

    What others should know: If You put the 4" wheel on you have to cut out some of the wheel to get magazine in and out on my AA S510

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By FRED from USA on 2012-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: High end optics and side wheel parallax adjustment. The windage and elevation controls lock into place without tools and with the included tools, you can re-set the scales once you have sighted in the scope. Most expensive scope I own and you really do get what you pay for.

    Things I would have changed: I would have liked to have included some instructions for using the mil dots. Made me go hunting through my literature to refresh my knowledge. I also don't have a real need for illuminated reticles but that's just me.

    What others should know: It just fits on my Marauder with the factory stock and my head position. This is a long scope and it's eye relief may make it uncomfortable to look through with your normal shooting position, especially if the scope mounting rails on your rifle are limited in length.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2012-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: nice clear brite scope sidefocus works great. Reticle is nice.

    Things I would have changed: get rid of the case and discount the price or improve the qualtiy. Dont need a fancy case once its mounted on a rifle. include a 100mm side wheel as well

    What others should know: Reticle is very fine. nice optics for the money

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By mary from USA on 2011-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Everything,this scope incredible The half milldot spacing is a must for airgunners or anyone else that wants pinpoint accuracy The 10X reticle really works at 10 power setting. It makes the milldots exactly 3.6 inches apart at 100 yards making range finding very easy.

    Things I would have changed: Make the sunshade 1 inch shorter, and thread it so the lens cap will fit.

    What others should know: Scope is very long, a little over 18 inches with sunshade attached. May cause mounting problems on some rifles Mine is mounted on a Benjamin Trail NP XL. Getting the proper eye relief without having it go past where the barrel breaks open was sort of tricky.But it can be done. The use of narrow scope mounts can be very helpful. Because of design, the larger 42 mm. objective diameter is actually smaller than the original 40 mm. objective, so it mounts very close to the barrel.I used a medium height ring and it works very well.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By nathan from USA on 2011-05-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: 1000 shots and flawless functioning. No change in POI at varying magnifications. Holds zero, turret adjustments are precise and return zero to exact same POI. Range finding and marks are pretty accurate. Image quality is good to excellent. Even at 14x the scope is easy to center and get a clean image. 1/2 mildot reticle provides me enough aim points for exact shooting from 6 to 110 yards. Free HAWKE optics ballistics software.

    Things I would have changed: This is pure wish list because I love this thing: With side focus and IR on one side and such tall turrets scope is pretty wide

    What others should know: This scope on my beeman 97 is totally ridiculous. Found my JSB express pellets exact trajectory with Hawke ballistics calc and now I'm shooting staples holding up my targets out to 60 yards and topping dandelions in back corner of property just over 100 yards.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By roadkingchap from USA on 2011-05-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: a good buy for the price..rate it up there with high end scopes, gives you a good sharp well focused target...clics are precise...a very sturdy scope

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: a very good bargin for the cost...

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stu from USA on 2011-03-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good image edge to edge. Smooth operation of all adjustments. Cross hairs have sharp graduations and are fully illuminated. Windage and elevation adjustments have definite "click" at each stop.

    Things I would have changed: Do away with the hard case - not needed.

    What others should know: Heavy scope, but great optics for the money

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Keoni from USA on 2011-02-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Lots of features, side wheel, finger adjustable turrents.

    Things I would have changed: The glass isn't as clear as my used Bushnell Sportsman scope and this scope is like $80.

    What others should know: The scope is heavy but built well, I don't think I'd buy another one and maybe just get two lower end scopes for the same price or save for a Bushnell Elite 3200 or 4200. As stated by Nico the sunshade doesn't accept the screw in dust guards.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Nico from South Africa on 2011-01-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Good optics, useful IR, easy to sight in, finger adjustable and easily resetable (?) turrets.

    Things I would have changed: Fancy box is now empty...is the box really necessary? The sun shade is not threaded to accept the screw-in dust covers.

    What others should know: Fits perfect on CZ200S/AA S200 using the BKL 30mm offset mounts, clears the 10 shot magazine.

Navigation