Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Hawke Sport Optics Airmax EV 3-9x40 AO Rifle Scope, Map 6 Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2011-10-01 11:45:57

    Things I liked:Map 6 Reticle, clarity of optics, overall quality, price.
    Things I would have changed:Turret caps are thin and delicate. This allows for easy to cross - threading of the cap if not attentive. Rather minor, but I find it annoying.
    What others should know:This is a nice scope for the money. The glass on mine is clear, AO adjusts smoothly, and the Map 6 Reticle is perfect for air gunning. I have this mounted on an R7 with UTG Accushot medium scope rings. Scope sits nice and low in this configuration. However, be aware you will need to trim flip-up covers to fully adjust the AO with medium mounts. Not difficult to do or a deal breaker. Excellent price vs. value.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By Robert from USA on 2012-08-25 16:59:02

    Things I liked:The overall quality of the Hawke Airmax EV 3-9x40 appeared to be good. I mounted it on my Beeman R7 with Beeman 1" medium profile rings that provide a very secure mount.
    Things I would have changed:The elevation adjustment at first would go almost 400 clicks as the directions said it would. Then the second and subsequent times I tried it would only go about 250 clicks. The adjustment for windage continued to go for about 400 clicks. Shot groups would be quite low for about six shots and then quite high for about six shots. The shot groups remained centered for windage. It appeared that the center tube was changing its position for elevation, but was consistent for windage. The click stops for elevation and windage were not centered on the index line. There was not any way to adjust the settings for elevation and for windage back to 0 after sighting in. The adjustment for focus and parallax was difficult to move, and the adjustment for power was very difficult to change.
    What others should know:I returned the Airmax EV 3-9x40 scope and got another brand scope of the same power that cost $190. After mounting it with the same Beeman rings, it performs vastly better. Shot groups are much closer together, sometimes forming just one hole. The adjustment for focus and parallax and for power are secure, but easy to move. The settings for elevation and for windage can be returned to 0 after sighting in. The reticle is simpler and easier to use. The overall quality and performance is significantly better than the Airmax EV 3-9x40, but id did cost $60. more.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Walter from USA on 2014-08-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Real good scope for the price.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:buy it..
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Dale from USA on 2014-04-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Hawke scopes are very clear and the cross hairs are not too heavy. Very good scope.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Worth the money.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Walter from USA on 2013-06-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wonderful scope, extremely clear turrets adjust flawlessly. Best airgun scope on the market!
      Things I would have changed:None.
      What others should know:Map 6 reticle is awesome works like a champ.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Shawn from USA on 2013-02-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Solid Construction, Clear, Ease of AO and focus.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:Hawke Scopes are a Great Value for top quality. Once you put one on your air rifle, air pistol, rim fire, or centerfire rifle, you'll keep coming back for another. I know I have 4.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By ZippyPop from USA on 2012-12-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very nice, clear optics. Fit and finish is good. Installed on an HW30S and does the job very well.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:I'm impressed with clarity and eye relief on this scope. It's an excellent value for the quality of the optics. It's much better than It's BSA counterpart, and very close to the Nikon EFR, but for less money.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By ZippyPop from USA on 2012-12-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very clear. Especially for the price range is falls into. The Map6 reticle is nice as well.
      Things I would have changed:Not much.
      What others should know:IMO: It's better than the BSA counterparts, and very close to the Nikon EFR, for less money.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By Robert from USA on 2012-08-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The overall quality of the Hawke Airmax EV 3-9x40 appeared to be good. I mounted it on my Beeman R7 with Beeman 1" medium profile rings that provide a very secure mount.
      Things I would have changed:The elevation adjustment at first would go almost 400 clicks as the directions said it would. Then the second and subsequent times I tried it would only go about 250 clicks. The adjustment for windage continued to go for about 400 clicks. Shot groups would be quite low for about six shots and then quite high for about six shots. The shot groups remained centered for windage. It appeared that the center tube was changing its position for elevation, but was consistent for windage. The click stops for elevation and windage were not centered on the index line. There was not any way to adjust the settings for elevation and for windage back to 0 after sighting in. The adjustment for focus and parallax was difficult to move, and the adjustment for power was very difficult to change.
      What others should know:I returned the Airmax EV 3-9x40 scope and got another brand scope of the same power that cost $190. After mounting it with the same Beeman rings, it performs vastly better. Shot groups are much closer together, sometimes forming just one hole. The adjustment for focus and parallax and for power are secure, but easy to move. The settings for elevation and for windage can be returned to 0 after sighting in. The reticle is simpler and easier to use. The overall quality and performance is significantly better than the Airmax EV 3-9x40, but id did cost $60. more.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Rick from USA on 2012-07-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The MAP6 reticule works great! Surprisingly clear & crisp optics. Overall fit and finish is far above the price point. Excellent value.
      Things I would have changed:Give the Hawke line more exposure(although if the word got out the price would most likely go up) Otherwise, nothing needs changing- unless Hawke could be convinced to bring out a *fixed* 4 or 6x with an etched MAP6 reticule.
      What others should know:Tough Scope!!! After going through 3 "springer rated" scopes, this one is still intact and going and going. Great scope from 10m line to 75 yards.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2012-07-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The sight picture is sharp and clear, even on the edges. I like the reticle.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. It's a good scope for the money.
      What others should know:Download the "Chairgun" app from Hawke. It's a little difficult to understand at first, but there are a lot of demonstrations on YouTube which make it clear.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Vera from USA on 2012-04-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This scope is mounted on my .22 cal Marauder and was easy to sight-in. The adjustments for windage and elevation are very straight forward. Clarity is good edge to edge. The brightness is great with the ability to see fur coloration at dusk.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Map 6 Multiple Aim Point is great; sight-in at 30 yards, adjust down two Mil-dots for 40 yards and bingo. Just ask the squirrels and crows, I let the air out of.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Jimmy from USA on 2011-10-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very clear optics ,nice scope ,over scope look like and optics like high end scope.
      Things I would have changed:mill dots are a little hard to see.
      What others should know:nice scope
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2011-10-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Map 6 Reticle, clarity of optics, overall quality, price.
      Things I would have changed:Turret caps are thin and delicate. This allows for easy to cross - threading of the cap if not attentive. Rather minor, but I find it annoying.
      What others should know:This is a nice scope for the money. The glass on mine is clear, AO adjusts smoothly, and the Map 6 Reticle is perfect for air gunning. I have this mounted on an R7 with UTG Accushot medium scope rings. Scope sits nice and low in this configuration. However, be aware you will need to trim flip-up covers to fully adjust the AO with medium mounts. Not difficult to do or a deal breaker. Excellent price vs. value.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top