Hawke Sport Optics HD IR Series 2-7x32 AO Rifle Scope, Illuminated Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube reviews - page 1

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

By JRF from USA on 2011-09-06 15:05:49

Things I liked: relatively short and light but still "full size" (not a "compact" model that needs a mounting scheme to bring it closer to the eye); illuminated reticle (the IR in the name) includes only the mil-dots

Things I would have changed: I didn't like the lens caps (loose caps held by elastic strings)

What others should know: I don't know why this costs more than the Leapers or Centerpoint since this is also made in China.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

By park from USA on 2014-02-01 11:01:23

Things I liked: Clarity, illuminated mil dot. Over all wt.

Things I would have changed: Turret adjustment.

What others should know: I found the turret adjustment very "mushy". I couldn't feel the clicks, whats more hear them. Even though the turrets are covered, I would always be concerned that it wouldn't stay zeroed. This scope is going back in exchange for another one.

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Steven from USA on 2015-03-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nice illuminated Reticle. I really like the thin reticle (crosshairs) and the small mil-dots.

    Things I would have changed: Upgrade the optics for better focus.

    What others should know: I was disappointed in the focus. The optics just are not up to par. The focus was okay at 10 yards, but when I moved to just only 16 yards it became difficult to get my target into focus. When I shot at 40 yards the focus was okay. There seems to be a range of 15 yds to 20 yards where it is difficult to get a sharp focus. My BSA scopes have a much higer quality optics and BSA gives me easy and very sharp focus, regardless of distance. All of my future scope purchases will be BSA. I plan to buy a BSA scope and put this Hawke scope on my shelf for backup purposes only.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2015-01-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Built like an iron pipe. Pretty good optics, illuminated cross hairs, very usable zoom range, great for real-world field shooting and hunting.

    Things I would have changed: Built like an iron pipe. This thing is heavy, like really surprisingly heavy for a scope with these compact dimensions. Illuminated reticle isn't quite bright enough to stand up to bright overcast. Zoom and objective adjustment rings are VERY stiff, I hope they loosen up with use... at least I know they won't move unless I want them to.

    What others should know: A great scope for the money. At 4X-zoom my old leapers 4x32 AO is ever so slightly sharper, but the Hawke has better contrast. Edge sharpness starts to suffer beyond 5x, but center sharpness is good through the zoom range. You could probably bludgeon someone to death with this little scope, it's heavy and VERY solidly built.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Geno from USA on 2014-12-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Holds zero clear optics value for mony

    Things I would have changed: Make resetting turrets

    What others should know: Does not work well in low light but this is Normal for. 32 objective too small to allow enough light

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By G.Austin from USA on 2014-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Affordable, illuminated reticle, mil dot, AO, and accurate.

    Things I would have changed: Offer the same feature set with much better optics at twice the price.

    What others should know: Holds zero on my light recoil Beeman R7. Optics are average, not great, and I can see a little "fuzz" with a brightly lit targets, low contrast subjects are fine. Illuminated reticle is a nice feature. The mil-dot seems calibrated for 10x power, since the scope is a 7x you cannot get true milling. So just use it a 5x and half your mildot calculations. I would buy another one because the price and feature set are perfect for me. NOTE: I will update this review down the road if the scope fails.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ogre8472 from USA on 2014-04-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This scope has a very nice look to it. The coating on the main tube is dark and even. The objective bell is textured enough to make adjusting easy but not so lose that it will change by being brushed by an arm sleeve or coat.

    Things I would have changed: It is a little heavy for a scope of its power. Some larger numbers on the power magnification collar would be nice too.

    What others should know: Worth every penny! I have bought other scopes in this price range that cannot hold a candle to this quality. I just wish I had bought one sooner.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2014-04-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice - just the right size and zoom for my air gun

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charlie from USA on 2014-02-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: 2-7 is an ideal real world power. 2 is great for stability and 7 is as much magnification as any human can actually hand hold. turret clicks are solid. Illumination is good. Adjustable bell "can" take the parallax out at any range. Scope is plenty bright, don't think you have to have a giant objective, even at 7 power this scope is as bright as a 50 at 12 power. Mounts perfectly, (nice and down tight to the the barrel) in Burris Signature medium 22 rings. +20 shims rear, -10 front. The lock pin worked well in the rear ring on the RWS48 rail. without the pin I could not get the ring clamp tight enough not to move back 0.040 with each shot. about 200 shots have passed under the scope so far. I'm grouping under 1" at 60 feet. I'm a long time gun powder burner, this is my first air rifle, learning to use a very light hold seems key to consistent shots that let the scope shine. Optically this scope is pretty darn good. At 7 power there is a tiny bit of chromatic aberration, but that's not uncommon even on much more expensive scopes. edge to edge sharpness is good. eye relief distance usability is nice and broad perhaps an inch back and forth so its not a hard scope to shoot quickly. comes with see thru cover caps which I much prefer over flip caps on an adjustable bell scope.

    Things I would have changed: I'm often a low light hunter. the lowest illumination level is perfectly usable but brighter than I would choose to dial in if there were a few lower illumination clicks. That said, its not my $1800 IOR sniper scope, so I can't really complain, this is just a wish list item.

    What others should know: This was my first springer air rifle mount, RWS 48. While the felt recoil is very low compared to any of my hunting rifles, the severity of the spring jerk is amazing. I could not get the ring mounts tight enough for them not to walk backward with each shot. Using the included pin was not an option it was a necessity.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By park from USA on 2014-02-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Clarity, illuminated mil dot. Over all wt.

    Things I would have changed: Turret adjustment.

    What others should know: I found the turret adjustment very "mushy". I couldn't feel the clicks, whats more hear them. Even though the turrets are covered, I would always be concerned that it wouldn't stay zeroed. This scope is going back in exchange for another one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Edward from USA on 2014-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great glass, great value, just what the kid's HW50 needed.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Customer Service recommended this scope for the kid's new HW50. They didn't recommend the most expensive; but rather, they recommended what was perfect for the rifle it was going to be mounted on. Thanks Pyramid Air, that's true customer service.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jesse from USA on 2014-01-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Works great for my Marauder pistol. The lowest setting helps get on target fast for hunting and the higher power was great for sighting it in and shooting some groups

    Things I would have changed: a cat tail on the magnification dial would be awesome it is a little stiff. and the illumination is unnecessary to me if i could have saved a few bucks and got the same scope without i would have

    What others should know: awesome scope for the money I think it would be good in any pcp application not sure about springers though

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joel from USA on 2013-11-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Bright, black, red, green crosshairs. Quality made, heavy and etched glass (crosshair). This scope is perfect for my Crosman 1720T with Crosman rifle stock. The green crosshair works great on little black bullseye target. I use this scope for 10-meter and 50-foot indoor rifle competition, and the 2x-7x magnification is perfect for my need. The green crosshair is perfect for indoor range lighting where the little black bullseye targets are not very well lit at 50 feet down range. I can shoot 1-ragged hole at 10 meters (33 feet), standing unsupported! At 50 feet, it is another story, and mostly user error :-).

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, in fact I'm saving up for another scope for my custom Ruger 10-22! This scope will replace the rimfire Nikon 4x scope on the Ruger 10-22. The Nikon is an excellent scope, but the black crosshair of the Nikon scope on little bullseye target makes my eyes water and my vision becomes blurry after 20 rounds or so. With the Hawke scope, not a single tear drop hit the floor, not even after 100 rounds.

    What others should know: 2x-7x power, so don't expect to see nose hair color of the squirrel at 100 yards! You cannot beat this scope with the price, not even the Nikon 4x rimfire scope.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2013-11-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything about this little scope is great, I have mounted it on my marauder pistol and I couldn't be happier the scope is nice and clear and keeps it's setting best scope I own right now.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: If you are looking to buy this scope don't hesitate you won't be disappointed with the purchase. The space that I have to hunt the pest is small because I live in a town house so the 2-7x32 is perfect I set it on 4 and I'm good up to about 15 yards.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Cam from USA on 2013-02-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Compact, Good Optics, Inexpensive

    Things I would have changed: Just wish the zoom and focus twisted a little easier, I think in time they will get easier, but little stiff when new.

    What others should know: Great to small air guns and worth the money, really a great value.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2013-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Perfect for the Marauder pistol. Nice close-in objective focus.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Works great on Marauder pistol. Get 1" high-profile rings for Marauder pistol so you have plenty of room for top-side clip.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Booger from USA on 2012-11-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It has a very clear and sharp view.

    Things I would have changed: Magnification should be at least 9 to help my poor old eyes.

    What others should know: I put this scope in the same class as my Center Points (4-9x32 and 4-16x40), but not near as good as my UTG 4-16x56AO, SWAT, EZ-TAP. My new TX200 deserves the best scope I can afford. I will use my Hawke on my Beeman RS/2 for instruction to my children. Bottom line "you get what you pay for".

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Carlos from USA on 2012-10-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is not too heavy and the optics are clear

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see the option of a side focus adjustable objective

    What others should know: nice scope

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Rey from USA on 2012-09-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very clear optics and very fine reticles that react to fine adjustments.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe better lens covers.

    What others should know: A little overpriced compared to other scopes in this category.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2012-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Really clear objectives and sharp images with this scope. Extremely well made and the illuminated reticle helps out in low light conditions.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Great hunting scope for any rifle.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By jose from USA on 2011-12-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: As advertised, Good quality scope, smooth action. Have no yet put it through its paces though, may add to the review later.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By JRF from USA on 2011-09-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: relatively short and light but still "full size" (not a "compact" model that needs a mounting scheme to bring it closer to the eye); illuminated reticle (the IR in the name) includes only the mil-dots

    Things I would have changed: I didn't like the lens caps (loose caps held by elastic strings)

    What others should know: I don't know why this costs more than the Leapers or Centerpoint since this is also made in China.

Navigation