Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Hill Pump MK3, Up to 3300 PSI reviews - page 3

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:4.0

    By Vernon from USA on 2011-09-26 14:00:43

    Things I liked:I got a Hill MK3 pump because the farm is 100 miles from the nearest filling place. I completely emptied a Sam Yang dual tank Dragon Claw rifle to see how long it would take me to fill the gun by pumping and it took 700 pumps to reach 3000 psi. From 2000 to 2500 psi takes 100 pumps and you have to stop to let the pump cool down. 2500-3000 psi takes closer to 120 pumps and takes quite a bit of effort on both the up and down stroke. I had been filling the gun inside an air conditioned house without using the desiccant. When I went to the farm, the humidity increased throughout the day and I swear it got harder to pump the more humid it got. I never did see any water vapor from the gun on any of my shots so that indicates to me the desiccant was adequately removing the water vapor.
    Things I would have changed:Pump does what it’s supposed to do, produce high pressure at low volume. In 80°F weather I can do 50 strokes at 2000-3000 psi before the pump gets warm. Change the hose length, 1 foot is way to short! Make the base bigger. It works but you have to be on something hard, on anything slighty soft you start burying the pump.
    What others should know:If filling a gun from zero pressure, you can pump a couple hundred times before the pump gets warm. When you get the pump, take off the bottom brass guide of the outer cover and check for debris. Mine had a piece of the o-ring in the threads.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:2.0

    By Paul from USA on 2014-07-09 17:53:58

    Things I liked:When it was new it seemed to work fine. A month later with not much use it started getting harder to pump. Sent it back twice to be repaired, never worked right again.
    What others should know:Have a Benjamin pump I got before the Hill and the Benjamin is still going strong after over a year of heavy use.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123456 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Chris from USA on 2013-05-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is a very well made hand pump. It took me approximatrely 200 strokes to air up my Marauder .22 from 0 to 300 PSI so it di the job without getting tired.
      Things I would have changed:I would make the hose longer. The short hose makes it ackward to attach to the rifle without laying the gun on the ground directly in front of the pump.
      What others should know:Definitely recommend this. I don't think you will ever need to buy another.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By andrew from USA on 2013-05-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:this is a real deal heavy duty pump made by a real deal company that makes all kinds of pumps for commercial and home use.the weight of this pump tells me its going to last a long time,no flimsy junk here,its solid,built like a tank
      Things I would have changed:none
      What others should know:spend the extra 100 to get this 300 dollar pump,its worth it
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Tyson from USA on 2013-04-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Not a delicate item. Built like a tank!You can tell that this is a high quality product as soon as you LIFT it up and start inspecting the hardware. Built like a tank. You can tell where the extra $$ went. I love the fact that you can rebuild these as well.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. If it was lighter, it would probably be less robust.
      What others should know:Follow the directions...and don't drop it, this pump will hurt your floor. Don't waste money on a "disposable" pump. get the Hill Pump. You can actually feel the quality of this product. You WILL know where your extra money went.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By kevin from USA on 2013-04-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very well built,, very reliable.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Get ready for a workout,, but not that bad . I am 50 years old and have no problem pumping up my M-rod, and I use it almost daily
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Dennis from USA on 2013-04-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid build. Moisture filter.
      What others should know:Top of line hand pumps. Great back up for extended trips away from fill source for tanks.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By NEIL from USA on 2013-04-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I was very concerned that being 60 years old and not in the best of shape that using a high pressure hand pump would be impossible. What I found was a very easy to use pump. Pump Slow and steady using your legs. No binding, no overheating. Excellent quality.
      Things I would have changed:My only complaint is that the connection hose sticks straight out (difficult to bend) from the pump making it a challenge to box or cover if you want to keep it dust free. Some type of elbow swivel would be handy
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Alex from USA on 2013-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Ease in pumping for an old guy.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Edwin from USA on 2013-03-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid well built pump. Looks good works good.
      Things I would have changed:Longer hose.
      What others should know:Its a work out. I take a break in the middle and when I start back it take a few pumps to fill the line again
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Michael from USA on 2013-03-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Solid built.
      Things I would have changed:Expensive. Reduce cost.
      What others should know:Does take many pumps to get to 3000 psi.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By BRYAN from USA on 2013-03-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This pump is solid. All accessories available such as rebuild kit, micron filter, grease, drying material. Seems to create more psi per pump than the Benji.
      Things I would have changed:Only change would be larger foot base so more stable when standing up.
      What others should know:The key to any of the high pressure pumps is dont overpump in a single use. I limit to about 50 slow steady pumps and then let cool for about 15 mins.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By CSOReaper from USA on 2013-03-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Incredible build quality, very smooth operation. This is a pump that will last a lifetime.
      Things I would have changed:The fill hose needs to be longer. It is only about a foot in length which isn't a lot when you go to fill. I would like to see the foot pad have rubber on the bottom installed from the factory.
      What others should know:I had the Benjamin pump and returned for this one. Spend the extra money and get this one. It is 10 times the pump the Benjamin is, built way better and it is smooth.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Duane from USA on 2013-03-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:High quality fit and finish make it a fine esthetic buy, but better than that, it is durable. It flat WORKS and now that I've had it for 3 weeks and using it most every day, it continues to work.
      Things I would have changed:1) Include a small packet of silicone grease since it requires some regreasing after the first 30 minutes of use. And every two hours after that. 2) Make the base plate a little larger so big people can more comfortably pump on the down stroke. As it is my toes are barely on the plate and my hands clip my knees on the last 2" of the down stroke.
      What others should know:If you are trying to decide between this pump and one of the lower priced competitors, bite the bullet and get this pump first. It is by far the best hand pump out there. You won't be disappointed. You need to be patient when pumping. It's not a race but rather a process. Once you get the system up to 1800 psi it takes about ten full strokes for every 100 psi increase. I've never gone above 2800 psi but it may take more strokes per 100 psi above that. It's definitely worth the money you pay for this pump if you are large and strong enough to use it. I'd say you need to be a minimum of roughly 150 pounds and fairly fit to use this pump effectively. Even locking my elbows on the down stroke it takes my full weight and some shoulder flex to get to the bottom of the stroke and i'm 6' 1" and 180 pounds. The best grease is silicone scuba divers grease. It is food grade and won't degrade the seals.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Terry from USA on 2013-03-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Well made pump. Not as hard as I thought to pump to 3000 psi.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:It seems to pump a little more air if you wait at the top of the stroke for air to transfer between stages but this slows down the whold process. Pumps up my Sam Yang Recluse dual tank from 2000 to 3000 psi in 100 strokes and is only a little warm. It is not inexpensive but it is worth the cost.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2013-03-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very solid and high quality build. You get what you pay for. I like that it removes moisture with an easy to maintain system. I was surprised how easy it was to get from 150 to 200 bar. Maybe 55-60 pumps in the Evanix Rainstorm Bullpup 3D (see my review for that awesomeness). It should be said that I'm about 6'1 and 220 lbs mostly muscle (ok some fat too lol) so I can just lean into the pumps. But even so, I think anyone of any size can operate this. It's GREAT exercise. I did get a bit tired after going from 150 to 200 bar about three times in a row (I recommend keeping on topping it off - it's quicker and more fun as you spend more time shooting the most powerful shots.). That's why I ordered the AV carbon fiber air tank though. I will keep this bad boy (pump) for the zombie apocalypse or for when my tank empties. RECOMMENDED.
      Things I would have changed:Longer hose and bigger base would be nice but those are very minor things. Also I'm sure more length in the hose would mean more initial pumps to equalize the pressure. In which case, I think the length is fine.
      What others should know:There was a little red ring that came with it (a washer?). I couldn't find anything in the manual on it so I didn't install it. But so far I've filled the gun like 12 times and no issues. Pyramyd Air support was great when I called them (I didn't tighten the nut so I heard some hissing but we figured that out right quick.). Thanks PA team!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2013-02-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything.
      Things I would have changed:I would ship with a 1/8" quick disconnect.
      What others should know:Make sure to buy your AG quick disconnect. It is 1/8" BPP not NPT.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Barry from USA on 2013-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Works very well. Gives you a good workout. Easy to assemble and maintain.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:The Hill pump works great......we ended up buying a Shoebox Freedom 8 compressor because we shot the gun so much it was wearing Grandpa out!! Not a pump for young children, it requires size and strength. Better to turn on a switch that fills the gun after 50 shots in less than 7 minutes!!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2013-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice pump. Smooth action with moisture filter. Easy to assemble.
      Things I would have changed:Larger aluminum base to dissipate heat. No big deal as you'll probably need to catch your breath anyway (while it cools down)... Hose is too short and too wide. I installed a 24" microbore hose instead.
      What others should know:Spend the $30 for a microbore hose. Added a hint of "yellow No. 5" teflon paste to the threads.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Greg from USA on 2013-02-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy assembly. Easy to use and maintain. Feels like it will last a long time—very durable construction.
      Things I would have changed:Longer hose, but not a big deal. Either way you still need to lay your gun on the floor to fill it. Include and install the hose adapter for free. At a minimum include a strip of Teflon tape for the purchaser to install. That would definitely help justify the high pump cost. Include a small tube of grease to lubricate the pump. That too would help with the high cost.
      What others should know:Read multiple reviews. The high expense caused me to read a lot of them. They helped point out the importance of obtaining a pump that is going to last. It is too bad "Hill" does not seem to have any competition for a strong pump, so they can ask the high price. I had been using an 80cf scuba tank, but quickly found that it was very inconvenient. The tank pressure slowly dropped from use to the point of adjusting the scope to compensate. And the few times I had the tank filled the dive shop gave me 2900 psi! (Other dive shop too far away) Hauling the tank to and from the scuba store was inconvenient. I had to drop it off and pick it up later in the day; so two trips were involved for one fill. Taking the tank on vacation was annoying too. I'm really looking forward to taking the pump on vacation this summer.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Kurt from USA on 2013-02-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent pump! Solid feel and buildquality.
      Things I would have changed:Maybe a longer hose. Include some fittings.
      What others should know:Make sure you have the correct fitings to charge your gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Philip from USA on 2013-01-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:High quality pump and built to last. Can be user disassembled and maintained with rebuild kit available.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, it works well.
      What others should know:Expect to get a work out pumping up your PCP. For the Benjamin Marauder to pump from 2100PSI to 2900PSI took some 55 slow pumps - not fast like a tire pump. For my weight of 140lbs the final 20 pumps require full body weight on the handles with my feet leaving the floor at the bottom of the down-stroke. The stroke is a rapid downward motion with full body weight on the handle for the last few inches of stroke. This gets the job done - remember to bleed off the pressure with the brass fitting before slipping back the sleeve on the Air Venturi Female Quick-Disconnect Adapter.
    • « Previous 123456 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top