Hill Pump MK3, Up to 3300 PSI reviews - page 3

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

By Vernon from USA on 2011-09-26 14:00:43

Things I liked: I got a Hill MK3 pump because the farm is 100 miles from the nearest filling place. I completely emptied a Sam Yang dual tank Dragon Claw rifle to see how long it would take me to fill the gun by pumping and it took 700 pumps to reach 3000 psi. From 2000 to 2500 psi takes 100 pumps and you have to stop to let the pump cool down. 2500-3000 psi takes closer to 120 pumps and takes quite a bit of effort on both the up and down stroke. I had been filling the gun inside an air conditioned house without using the desiccant. When I went to the farm, the humidity increased throughout the day and I swear it got harder to pump the more humid it got. I never did see any water vapor from the gun on any of my shots so that indicates to me the desiccant was adequately removing the water vapor.

Things I would have changed: Pump does what it’s supposed to do, produce high pressure at low volume. In 80°F weather I can do 50 strokes at 2000-3000 psi before the pump gets warm. Change the hose length, 1 foot is way to short! Make the base bigger. It works but you have to be on something hard, on anything slighty soft you start burying the pump.

What others should know: If filling a gun from zero pressure, you can pump a couple hundred times before the pump gets warm. When you get the pump, take off the bottom brass guide of the outer cover and check for debris. Mine had a piece of the o-ring in the threads.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

By William from USA on 2014-11-08 10:21:02

Things I liked: Very high quality. Extremely well made

What others should know: This pump is very hard to use. You need to be in excellent physical shape to use it. I was never able to charge my Recluse above 1500 psi.

Sort by:
  • Previous 1234 ... 67 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Larry from USA on 2013-12-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very easy to pump air into my 22 cal marauders. I am a 63 year old retired office worker and do not find it a problem at all to pump up. Bought two marauders instead of any thoughts of waisting any time in the field for pump ups or contamination of my Hill pump.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: I have not filled my marauders beyond 2750 psi but should not be a problem to pump to 3000 psi in my opinion since it is so easy with this hand pump.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Eric from USA on 2013-12-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great working hpa pump. Works like its advertised.

    Things I would have changed: nothing, other than the price but hopefully this pump will last a very long time

    What others should know: I don't know if it helps but I came with the idea to unscrew the filter after I'm done with it and place it in a zip-loc bag to make the dry-pac last longer.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2013-11-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Well made. fills my Air Force Condor SS from 2000 lbs. to 3000lb. In about 160 pump strokes.

    Things I would have changed: Could use a longer hose and the base could be a little larger to keep pump from tipping over.

    What others should know: It doesn't seem to get very hot on the outside but it is recommended to let it cool for 10 min. After every 40 pump strokes.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2013-10-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I purchased this pump as a replacement for a Benjamin pump that had to be rebuilt twice. This pump is the best quality pump available,don't think twice, buy it!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: The filter system that is included with the pump is great for removing any moisture produced by high pressure compressed air that will damage your air rifle

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Elijah from USA on 2013-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid construction,best pump i have ever used. Smooth operation,fast filling. Takes less energy than the other pumps we own.Definitely worth the extra money.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: If you buy a pump,buy this one.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By roy from USA on 2013-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: this pump is very well built & sturdy.

    Things I would have changed: nothing.

    What others should know: Iam I am 63 yrs. old &130 lbs. and can pump my m-rod I pump a little &rest a little.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By richard from USA on 2013-08-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: What a great way to charge my PCP's... Very easy & not hard at all... A very smart investment... I researched on- line and wasn't sure which way to go-pump or air tank... I'm so glad I choose the pump... Takes less than a few minutes for full charge... Very happy with my purchase... Don't cheat yourself, treat yourself!!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Air tanks are cool, but this pump rocks!!! It's an investment, and well worth it.... And air is free......

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Eddie from USA on 2013-08-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It works but you have to put out an effort. You get your exercise using one. I am 6 ft 5 inches and 260 lbs and it is easy to pump toward the 2500 to 3000 I can tell I am using more energy. I have not tried others but like the idea they have a kit to rebuild the pump. I have not had a problem with this pump and would recommend it if that is the way you want to go.

    Things I would have changed: a longer hose and bigger base.

    What others should know: I use my shooting rest and lay my marauder with the barrel toward the floor and the pump will fit easy. The gun is upside down so I can see the air guage

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Eddie from USA on 2013-08-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is my first pump so I have nothing to compare it with. It was easy to put together. It is simple to use and it works great.

    Things I would have changed: Sell with the proper fittings you need for you gun.

    What others should know: There is still a physical activity needed to use

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Theodore from USA on 2013-08-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The hill pump takes less effort and less pumps then others in its class.

    Things I would have changed: The base could be a little sturdier.

    What others should know: If you buy a pump make sure it has a dry pack of some kind if you live in a humid area!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2013-07-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a very good hand pump. It is very well built,and you can tell as soon as you put your hands on it. It's heavy,and well put together.

    Things I would have changed: The price is a little on the steep side.

    What others should know: I also have a Benjamin hand pump,what a joke. It worked for two weeks than wouldent pump air. It created a vacume that wouldent let the handle come up.So I got the hill pump,what a joy. should have got this one first and saved a hundred bucks. It's a much better pump then the benjamin,plus it's rebuildable.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Precision from USA on 2013-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I am very happy I purchased this pump. Though it was more expensive, it's the best value for quality and durability. This was built to last.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Make sure you use the correct silicone grease needed. If you use the pump a lot then this should be greased often to insure long life.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By chris from USA on 2013-07-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fills a smaller precharged gun with ease! Even from a completely dry air tank, it only takes about 4 minutes of vigorous pumping to get it filled to 3000 psi (roughly 200 bar). Very nicely made and feels solid as a rock. Should last many many years with basic servicing!

    Things I would have changed: None so far...

    What others should know: Pump valving feels pretty stiff when first being used... it will loosen up after some use. To get it to loosen a little quicker, try filling a rifle from dead empty. I'm totally new to these guns and this pump makes this a worthwhile hobby for me!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By robert from USA on 2013-07-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: industrial quality and easy stroke.

    Things I would have changed: Instructions. I had no clue where the red washer went.

    What others should know: This pump is very well built and has an easy stroke. I just bend at the knees and let body weight do the work. If you can do deep knee bends you can use this pump!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BZapp7 from USA on 2013-06-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The moisture filter. Ease of use.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: I think this one is about 33% percent easier to use than the benjamin. Don't make the mistake I did to buy the benjamin because it's cheaper. You'll only regret it. If you have a foster fitting on your gun also buy this: Air Venturi Female Quick-Disconnect Adapter, 1/8" BSPP Male Threads, Steel, Rated to 5000 PSI

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Craig from USA on 2013-06-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The quality of the build. Spend a little more and cry now. Spend less and cry later. I has a lifetime warranty and is built like a tank. Pumping up a gun is not a big deal- takes a couple of minutes of a light workout. You'll never have to worry about a low tank again.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: It says not recommended for anyone one under 170. Don't worry about that. I only weigh 140 and have no problems- I am in pretty good shape however.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Po from USA on 2013-05-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is a high quality, high pressure pump. Only warms up slightly after 75 straight pump session (need a break). It does not takes that much more effort to pump up to 200 bar and I weight only 140 pounds at 5'3". Concentrate the down push power from chest then to triceps and elbow. It's a great upper body workout. I'm gonna look like a gorilla after the summer with this pump.

    Things I would have changed: Could have included a small tube of lube to start with and maybe a tad bit longer hose (6" more would be great) and a tad bit larger stand (not to step on to pump but my dog sniff it and it tips over too easily)

    What others should know: I listened to the other air gunners and got the Hill pump from the start. I think it's gonna be good! I like the idea of pumping the air instead of using scuba tank (perhaps later to quick fill for certain situation) and I get a great workout doing it!

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Clarence from USA on 2013-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This pump exceeds my expectation. I use it to fill my paintball 3000psi tanks. From completely empty to full it takes 100-150 pumps and about 5-10min. The pumping is not difficult and the pump does not over heat like the pumps shown on the internet reviews. Having the capability to manually fill a tank is awesome and will pay for itself over time.

    Things I would have changed: Just continue to improve the product, more volume per pump at the same are cheaper price point.

    What others should know: If you use it to fill a paintball tank purchase the proper hose attachment / adapter to interface with your tank. They sell them to.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2013-05-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a quality pump, takes less effort to pump than the Benjamin pump but a few more strokes. Your Benjamin pump hose will work on this pump so you would not need to buy an adaptor to fill your disco or M-rod.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing should be changed.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Chris from USA on 2013-05-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a very well made hand pump. It took me approximatrely 200 strokes to air up my Marauder .22 from 0 to 300 PSI so it di the job without getting tired.

    Things I would have changed: I would make the hose longer. The short hose makes it ackward to attach to the rifle without laying the gun on the ground directly in front of the pump.

    What others should know: Definitely recommend this. I don't think you will ever need to buy another.

  • Previous 1234 ... 67 Next
Navigation