Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Leapers 5th Gen 3-12x40 AO Rifle Scope, Ill. Mil-Dot Reticle, 1/4 MOA, 1" Tube, Max Strength See-Thru Weaver/Picatinny Rings reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    By Customer from USA on 2012-01-28 00:40:54

    Things I liked:The target turrets make adjustment very easy. The lockdown rings are easy to use and one does not have to have extra tools (like set screw wrenches) to use them. The adjustable objective is outstanding. I set the scope on 12X and leave it there, using the AO to focus at varying distances to the target. Clarity is as good or better than any scope I have ever owned. I mounted it on my HW-97K, and I can now shoot groups at 15 yds that are only .200 inches in diameter. Shooting the phosphorus off the head of a standard kitchen match at 15 yds is now a simple proposition. The reticle also has more mildots for ranging and range estimation than most scopes have, another nice touch. It is very easy to change out the illuminated reticle battery, but I have little need for an ir. It is only needed under very dim light conditions and I rarely shoot in such conditions, but it is nice to have in case it is needed.
    Things I would have changed:The only problem I found was the flip-up lens caps were inappropriate for this style of scope. The eye lens is turned to set your power from 3X to 12X, and the objective is turned to adjust parallax. In both situations, the hinges on the caps run into the scope tube when you turn far enough, making it necessary to pull them off to focus and adjust properly. I went to a local gunshop and bought a standard set of lens caps that slide over the existing lenses and are held in place by small elastic cords. UTG would be better off using this type of lens cap, perhaps with a clear lens in one end and a yellow lens in the other so you could see through the lens caps without taking them off if necessary.
    What others should know:The scope comes with a very nice set of quick detach rings for a Weaver or Picatinney rail, but most air rifles utilize the standard 11mm dovetail cut, and in this case you will need to order a different set of rings. I bought a set of UTG rings for an 11mm dovetail from PA, but the rings that came with the scope are actually nicer.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3

    Value for money:4

    By William from USA on 2012-02-17 16:54:17

    Things I liked:Great price and top value for the dollar
    Things I would have changed:larger scope crosshairadjustment
    What others should know:small range of scope crosshair adjustment
    Sort by:
    • 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

        By Keith Watson from USA on 2013-09-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Price point is fair for what this scope is. It does the job.
      Things I would have changed:Make the scope hold its zero a bit better. The zero would go out every 8 - 10 shots.
      What others should know:Not the best scope for a springer in my opinion. It will likely perform much better when mounted on a PCP rifle.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By richard from USA on 2012-11-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:good image ( could be a little more crisp) adjustment turrets not capped for easy access and not to pricey. Goes very good with my Air Venturi Halestorm ( Hatsan AT44 side lever in wood). It is about my favorite 22cal. Very accurate
      Things I would have changed:I don't need lit sights- better lenses may offer sharper brighter image. It still gets five stars.
      What others should know:For the price it is great. I don,t evpect it to become a hand me down like a Lupold or Redfield but at present it works fine. Does anyone have a Leapers, UTG, or center Point that is over 5 years old.I'm wondering how they hold up against time. Thanks guys.As always-Shoot Safe.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By richard from USA on 2012-11-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I love this scope,good sharp image, easy to adjust , stays on target shot after shot mounted on Hatsan AT44 22cal. Very accurate rifle. They go good together.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. If I didn't like the scope I would have returned it for something else. It cost less than my Bushnell Banner Trophy and works just as good.
      What others should know:If a product I purchase doesn't work correctly I return it to Pyramyd without argument. Thats their best policy. The answer is always (Thats not a problem sir). WOW! I'm staying with these guys.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Mike from USA on 2012-11-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Leapers 5th Gen 3-12x40 scope is GREAT. I purchased this scope to replace two defective scopes which came as "combo" packages... ie. air rifle came from manufacturer with low quality scope.
      Things I would have changed:I would not change anything on this Leapers Scope.
      What others should know:Do NOT purchase a rifle which comes with a scope "bundled" with the rifle. Select the air rifle you want and then consider this Leapers scope or talk the excellent Pyramid Air chat reps like Richard or Micheal to get a quality scope suitable to your requirements.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Gary from USA on 2012-10-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Cant complain about a thing. Installed this on my Diana RWS 34 and once installed and zeroed in I havent had to make any adjustments since.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By matt from USA on 2012-10-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very clear. Very sold feeling. Beefy rings.
      Things I would have changed:I wish the rings it shipped with were lower. I put it on a RWS 34 with a droop compensating mount and on that mount these rings were way too high. I could not get it sighted in correctly. PA told me these would be "hi" when ordering... I wish I had listened to them!
      What others should know:Read the manual. It said to sight in at 35 yards. I started closer. That combined with the tall rings + my inexperience made for some early frustration. Fortunately I had a lower set of rings from another leapers scope with worked well. To me the illuminated reticle is a novelty, not much more. The AO really is nice. I have a leapers 4x32 that the AO on that scope does not seem to do much when compared to this (especially at 12x)!
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Ken from USA on 2012-10-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:FOr under $70, you can't get more scope. It's an almost incredible value. Light shines through bright and clear, glass is amazing. Clicks on the W/E knobs are very positive. Compare this scope to others at triple the price, and it'll hold its own. You can't find anything better near this price point.
      Things I would have changed:It may be a bit heavy, but I don't see how this would be a problem for anyone.
      What others should know:We'll see how shockproof it really is. I'm mounting it on a Winny 1000X break barrel. Don't think I'll ever use the red or green reticles, so battery life is not an issue, but may be for someone else. Had to buy a separate mount adapter to fit my 11mm dovetail.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By DAVID from USA on 2012-10-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:crisp optics,AO to 5 yards, awesome.Even at close range max power delivers very clear picture.crckets and grasshoppers beware!
      What others should know:I really don't think you'll find a better scope in this price range.see through mounts are useless due to the size of the objective lens but still pretty good mounts.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Dana R from USA on 2012-10-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:i love the entire line of these scopes,this and the 4x16.Good secure tuttent knobs,recoil won`t knock them off a click with each shot.Good optics.
      Things I would have changed:The scope they sent me the crosshair wire was too heavy for an airgun,I think. Still very useable,and will work on a 20 Ga shotgun shell empty hull @ 40 yds.
      What others should know:No
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Matt from USA on 2012-10-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I bought this here for 70 dollars, put it on my Titan .22. Took a little fiddling with the dials to zero it, but once it was on, it never moved, even after re-zeroing my turrets. The coating on the glass transmits light nicely, and the reticle is clear. The Adjustable Objective is awesome. I can have a clear image on 12x magnification at about THREE yards, which is amazing! I have taken out several ground moles using this set up and aiming on the 4-down dot. For such a cheap scope, I am really amazed at how well everything works. My zero has not shifted after many, many focus adjustments.
      Things I would have changed:The whole LED system. There's nothing -wrong- with it, but I searched for hours for a scope like this, for a comparative (I would have payed 170) price, WITHOUT A STUPID LED SYSTEM. If you want it, if you use it, great. It would be better if the reticle were etched. If the manufacture wants to waste money on an LED system, why can't they just spend a little extra and do it right? Now I'm ranting.
      What others should know:This scope can't be beat for this price. I only gave it a 4 star review because I own Zeisses and Swarovskis and Leupolds. However, if I could, I'd like to give it about FIFTY stars for value.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Bradley from USA on 2012-10-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is an outstanding scope. I have mine mounted to a Beeman HW97K, and it is proving to be a great combination. The optics are surprisingly good for a scope at this price point, and illuminated reticle is pretty cool. I also like the lock-down rings and the re-zero screw on the adjustment knobs. Again, this is a great scope.
      Things I would have changed:The scope is definitely a bit on the heavy side, but in my opinion it's not nearly as heavy as some make it sound. Remember that this is a very strong scope that can handle the unique shock of a springer like the Beeman HW97K. If you want this kind of strength without the extra weight, you're going to have to pay a lot more.
      What others should know:I'm very pleased with this scope. It comes with flip-top scope covers which you may or may not be able to use depending on how much clearance you have between the scope and the receiver. If you're thinking of trying this scope, don't hesitate. I think you'll be happy.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Bradley from USA on 2012-09-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is an excellent scope for the money. It's a bit on the heavy side, but I don't mind having a few extra ounces of weight given the durability that I'm getting in return at this price point. I have mine mounted to an HW97KT Synthetic, and I couldn't be happier. The sight picture is much crisper and clearer than I expected, and I really like the lock-down rings on the adjustment knobs. The illuminated reticle is also a nice feature to have if you hunt.
      Things I would have changed:It comes with pop-up lens covers that I can't use with my current set-up because of the limited clearance between the scope bell and gun receiver. Consequently, I would like to see it come with an alternate lens cover of some sort. I have a CenterPoint that came with an additionaly neoprene cover that I'm currently using. It's a bit small for this scope, but it's getting the job done.
      What others should know:This scope is really nice. I can't say enough good things about it. UTG Leapers makes a great scope. Buy it. You won't regret it.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By James from USA on 2012-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Super clear,great field of view and easy to adjust
      Things I would have changed:nothing!
      What others should know:This is a great scope that I'm using on my 1974 Sheridan Blue Streak. It is deadly on squirrels and small rodents up to 30yds.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2012-09-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:IMO this is the best scope for the money that you can buy. The lighted reticle was an unimportant feature for me. The quality of the optics are obviously not as good as Hawke, but for the money you can't beat it. I really like the adjustment knobs, and the ability to set zero on the scope. The scope was set up, and zeroed in less than 20 minutes.
      Things I would have changed:AO on the side would be great, but you really can't expect this for the price offered.
      What others should know:if you're on a budget you can't go wrong.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By John from USA on 2012-09-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything! Has taken everything mt Springer has thrown at it!
      Things I would have changed:Only thing I would change, if possible is weight! Just to make a little more friendly for an Old Man!
      What others should know:Great Quality for your money
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By ALBERT from USA on 2012-09-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very clear at 10m. good price for a decent scope
      What others should know:Great scope for the money. Have it on a springer for 2 months now and seems to be holding up. ill reticle very helpful when shooting in dark/low light situation.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Jose from USA on 2012-09-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:great scope with all the features you could ever need, and will work great for most air rifles out there.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:its weird to get used to it, but once you do its great and you wonder why other scopes dont come with the turret style adjustment knobs, and why few others dont have the zero locking by securing it 100% with a few turns of an allen key/wrench.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Rolaids from USA on 2012-09-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      51 rating
       
      Things I liked:Great scope for the $$$$. Holds accuracy on my RWS 54.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing really at this price range its more than a bargain.
      What others should know:Worth trying if this is the price range you are looking for.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Brandon from USA on 2012-08-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Adjustable objective. Clear at all magnifications. Inexpensive. Looks good. Included rings are top shelf. Handles a magnum gas springer with no worries. Handles a 22mag and 270win just as well, if a little weak magnification wise for the flat shooting 270. POI adjustment is intuitive and easy to adjust and lock without tools. Mill-dot reticule is nearly perfect... overall a very good value.
      Things I would have changed:Reticule illumination is fiddly and stiff. Light gray would be a good additional reticule color. The AO, reticule illumination, and magnification rings are too stiff on mine to easily stay on target while adjusting. Objective lens cap isn't usable and should be replaced by UTC/Leapers on this model.
      What others should know:This is my first UTC/Leapers scope and I have no regrets with my purchase. The quality is very high for this price point. I plan to put one of these on my 22magnum crow popper so the rabbits and doves will have something to eat next fall.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

        By Toby from USA on 2012-08-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The clarity of this scope is great. Rivals scopes that cost much much more. Great value and I would recommend this scope over and over.
      Things I would have changed:Can't think of anything off hand.
      What others should know:If you're looking for a very affordable high quality scope look no further. Buy this scope with confidence it will meet and exceed your expectations.
    • 123 Next »
    Over
    ammo packs sold