Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Otis Flex Cleaning Kit, .177 & .22 Cal. reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By Alex from USA on 2008-06-27 14:06:13

    Things I liked:Every thing has its place in the zipper pouch. Nice and compact easy to store with out taking up space.
    Things I would have changed:Given more cleaning swabs.
    What others should know:Product works as it should. I am happy with it. Their are smaller parts for attachments that look like they would be easy to loose, but the pouch seems to hold them well.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2011-01-25 12:32:49

    Things I liked:Nothing
    What others should know:Does not work for tight breech air guns.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Nick from USA on 2013-11-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It is compact and easy to carry when in the field. Everything you need is there.
      Things I would have changed:Add some barrel cleaning soft pellets.
      What others should know:Don't buy this for your only cleaning and maintenance kit. There are other things you need to have to give your gun a proper cleaning. I have read opinions that the flexible cable can cause wear of the barrel rifling if used too often.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By James from USA on 2013-03-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Does the job. Handy case.
      Things I would have changed:Supply more patches.
      What others should know:Seems to work best on .22 cal. not .177 cal.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Chad from USA on 2013-03-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Good product for cleaning .177 and .22 air rifles
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:The kit that I received did not have a DVD inside of it
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Royal from USA on 2013-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very high quality and well thought out set. I really liked the patch system!!! The Otis patches offer significantly more cleaning area than conventional cleaning patches, very ingenious!
      Things I would have changed:I would like to see the set offered without the big plastic packaging, the belt storage case and the pistol only length cleaning rod. Thus the 4 stars as I paid for more than I needed.
      What others should know:The Otis patch system will clean your barrel with less patches than a standard rod with .177 patches.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2013-01-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Best cleaning system I have used
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:great product.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Earl from USA on 2012-08-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to use. best way to clean guns with closed breeches.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Hemn Mahmmod from Iraq on 2012-03-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Flexible rods, patches, brush, instruction CD is very good & informative, it works as advertised, otis oil.
      Things I would have changed:Put more patches.
      What others should know:Don't use with Marauder because of the o-ring inside the barrel, use Nylon brush for that, i purchased for my Marauder,finally i realized that i have to purchase 36" .22 & .25 Caliber Coated Dewey Rod & Jag with nylon brush.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2012-02-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Compact & easy to use.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Pahlevan from USA on 2011-12-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very good value, compact, easy to use and ideal for the field kit
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Ed from USA on 2011-11-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Compact. A place for everything. Nice zippered case.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By joseph from USA on 2011-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Its me again-- JF Castro. I just submmitted a most excellent review (if I could say so myself) on the OTIS Flex Cabl;e System. In my excitement of telling you about OTIS' excellent Lifetime--no questions asked--warranty of the actual Flex cable, I forgot to mention I just ordered a brand-new OTIS Flex System Kit to replace the kit I bought in 1995. But here's my problem (if you could actually call this `a problem'): My old OTIS kit is now perfectly functional, perfectly complete. So what do I dowith the OTIS Flex Cleaning kit I just abought? From all indications my old kit will last another 16 years at least given its already proven track record. Darn! I guess this new kit might grow some serious dust before I ever get a chance to use it. Its the OTIS quality, you know. Can't beat it; gotta appreciate it! And best of all its made in the USA!!! Can I get an `AMEN' on this? HA!!!
      Things I would have changed:You need to place a disclaimer on this product informing potential customers that the OTIS Flex Cleaning Kit is going to last them a very, VERY LONG time. Check that out!
      What others should know:Please read my previous email over this same OTIS product. The OTIS Flex Cleaning Kit rates seriously graat for some many reasons as already annotated.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By joseph from USA on 2011-09-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:OTIS quality. I bout my first OTIS flex cleaning kit in 1995. I used this kit to clean my high-quality German-made air rifles (.177 cal and .22 cal), and my British-made WEBLEY air pistol (.177 cal). I recently used this cleaning kit on my .22 cal rimfires. This same OTIS cleaning kit held up extremely well without issues or problems throughout these years. HOWEVER, I did notice part of the flex cable was getting frayed a couple of weeks ago. Looked to me like fair-wear-and tear. Remember, I owned this product for going on 16 years. As a result, I contacted OTIS, explained my situation to them, and sent them my damaged cable for a FREE replacement. No questions asked, no problems whatsoever. OTIS has some of the friendliest Customer Service people I ever encountered. Less than a week later, OTIS sent me my replacement cae PLUS the following FREE items: (1) a pack of 2" cleaning patches (about 100 pieces), (2) a 1/2-ounce tube of their excellent ULTRA-BORE Cleaner/Lubricant, and (3) a CD ROM catalog of their outstanding products. All for FREE! In summig up, I say you can't beat the quality of QTIS products (look at how long my OTIS Flex cable lasted), or their Lifetime Warranty.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing EXCEPT for one area: Make the OTIS bore brushes available in your Pyramid Catalog. OTIS makes a .22 cal bore brush that I just know will fit my HENRY Lever-action repeating rifle. Check that out.
      What others should know:The OTIS Flex cable cleaning set cannot damage your expensive air rifle barrels if you use their products correctly. I should know this seeing that I used the OTIS Flex Cleaning system on my FWB 300 Match recoiless air rifles in addition to my other excellent sporting air rifles and air pistols. BONUS!!!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Kim from USA on 2011-07-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:works ok could be better
      Things I would have changed:the T handle seems light
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Joseph from USA on 2011-01-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nothing
      What others should know:Does not work for tight breech air guns.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Keith from USA on 2011-01-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:restored accuracy to my airforce talon ss which was fouled by about 100 crosman premier pellets (which are the filthiest pellets i've ever seen). i was pretty unhappy about my prize talon ss losing accuracy. and i'm delighted to have that accuracy restored with a simple cleaning.
      Things I would have changed:nothing about this product. (but i will avoid crosman premiers.)
      What others should know:i saw some reviewers that were having trouble keeping patches attached to the cable. after reading the directions, i still did not understand how to attach patches. but after viewing the video, it was clear how patches should be attached and i had no problems attaching patches quickly and securely. patches could not be removed from the cable no matter how much tugging i tried and that applied much more force than drawing the cable patch from the breech to the muzzle. also, some people mentioned there weren't enough patches. each can be drawn through your barrel 6 times (3 per side). i used 3 patches (18 barrel draws) to clean an unholy mess inside my .22 barrel. i'm sure i'll eventually run out of patches but because i'm never using those crosman's again, i don't forsee the need for that many cleanings in the near future. and, if i do need more patches, i have some old 100% cotton t-shirts that should each supply many patches. it might also be possible to satisfactorily launder the t-shirt patches if i run out of old t-shirts.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2010-10-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Compact, coated flexible cable. Bought it to have one cleaning kit for .177 and .22 in one for less than purchasing 2 cleaning kits (one for each caliber). Worked well in my Walther NightHawk pistol.
      Things I would have changed:I think a previous review was correct describing the brush for .17 rather than the larger .177, which is what I have. The loop for the patches is fixed at one end of the cable. That end is too big to fit into my receiver. If it were smaller or removable, I may have been able to insert it, push the cable from the muzzle, then screw the cable onto the loop to draw it through the barrel. The J-shaped optical bore "light" would be a good idea if it were small enough to fit into my receiver.
      What others should know:I could not use this product to clean my Crosman 766. I suspect it would not work in the Crosman 760 or 2100 B because it would not fit into the receiver.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Jimmy from USA on 2009-10-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Compact
      Things I would have changed:Cleaning brush came off the first time I used it on my .177 air rifle. I think it should be just a threaded cable that you could put either type of end on. Not have permanently attached end.
      What others should know:Order extra cleaning patches.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Ted from USA on 2009-08-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The kit is compact, and easily slips into your case. I've used stiff rods in the past. I still opt for them when I need to clean my rimfire rifles. But, I only use swabs for my Benjamin Marauder; so the flexible wires work just fine.
      Things I would have changed:The kit should ship with more pads. There are barely enough to clean your gun once.
      What others should know:I use this to clean my Marauder. I remove the shroud for cleaning. I slip the wire (with swab attachment) through the muzzle. When it reaches the action, I carefully insert a swab, add a couple drops of cleaner, and pull it back through. Works nicely.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By LB from USA on 2009-07-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I liked the 34in. .177 cleaning cable rather cleaning rod.In addition,the bore reflecter;it shots the loose lead in the barrel if you have bad eyes.The Ultra Bore Solvent does what it says what it will do and i love it.
      Things I would have changed:The advertisment,it says it's for .177-.22cal ,but actually it's for .17cal-.22cal.
      What others should know:I have a Gamo Hunter Sport (.177cal) and the "so called .177cal." brush wouldn't fit in it!That's the same issue with patches that come with it,luckily I order extra patches that work(Beeman Deluxe Cleaning Patches).Other than those issues its a neat cleaning kit.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Alex from USA on 2008-06-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Every thing has its place in the zipper pouch. Nice and compact easy to store with out taking up space.
      Things I would have changed:Given more cleaning swabs.
      What others should know:Product works as it should. I am happy with it. Their are smaller parts for attachments that look like they would be easy to loose, but the pouch seems to hold them well.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top