Plano Vertical Rifle Case - Single Scoped reviews - page 1

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By JetChopperDude from USA on 2012-10-09 07:31:18

Things I liked: I was attracted to the 'vertical installation', versus the normal flat cases I've seen. This design of suspension, seems to make more sense, as it totally removes pressure points on items while stored or transported cases. I have a Benjamin Marauder, Leapers 4-16x44 scope, plus 80mm SIDEWHEEL) Additionally, the rigidity and affordability. I bought 3 cases (one for my Marauder, one for my Gamo Whisper, and one for my son's powder-burner). My son was PLEASANTLY surprised when I gave it to him.

Things I would have changed: Nothing I would specifically change, as I just made allowances for the differences. First, some people commented about the securing straps being a little short. Well..., maybe, but if you just give that a little attention..., during removal-installation of your weapon..., it just isn't that big of an issue. I was aware of it, and as far as evaluating the overall concept of the case..., it is a minimal issue.

What others should know: YES, and I think some of the Marauder owners (using a scope), should know this. You'll have to shave down the FORWARD support pad. With my scope-sidewheel setup (through trial and error), I probably removed 3/4" from the bottom. This totally removes the little recess (allows for strap clearance), plus a little more past that, allowing the rifle to rest down lower, for extra scope clearance. To maintain a parallel and angled configuration..., I used my bandsaw, to keep things neat-tidy. Probably took me a total of 15-minutes. Otherwise, a sharp serrated bread knife will probably suffice. Not a big deal, really. Additionally, with the way I have my scope mounted, I had to move the REAR support pad, AND STOCK forward, maybe 7-8". The rear strap settles into the notch of tme Mrod stock. Otherwise, situating the weapon to the normal installation point, would cause the lid to hit the rear end of my scope. Now, with the shaved forepad modification, and moving everything forward, I can close the lid. IF YOU HAVE A 100mm side wheel installed, YOU MIGHT HAVE PROBLEMS! Even now, I probably have minimal clearance for my 80mm sidewheel, as it's at the same level as the elevation knob. Maybe conversing with P.A. before ordering may give you some insight. For myself, GREAT CHOICE. With the Gamo and same scope set-up? NO SWEAT! Assembled the case, put in the gun..., shut the lid..., and I'm done. With PA's return policy, you can't lose. They're GREAT!!

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

By Joe from USA on 2014-11-27 11:44:47

Things I liked: Finally a case that will cradle your gun like the eggs box that cradles eggs. Excellent method to keep a gun from banging against the inside of the case and rubbing against the foam of the case during movements.

Things I would have changed: The foam in the fore-end needs to be stiffer so that the gun doesn't bang against the side of the case. There needs to be a stiff foam between the trigger and foam in fore-end to provide more support so that the gun doesn't bang against the side of the case.

What others should know: I inserted foam between the gun's trigger and foam in fore-end to provide more support so that the gun doesn't bang against the side of the case.

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Franklin from USA on 2015-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Cheap

    Things I would have changed: Make the area where the rifle scope would be located a bit higher. Competitive scopes are much higher than hunting scopes. The case indicates it will accept a Plano 3500 inside the case, under the rifle. It is marked so, but the case will go in the case along with the rifle.

    What others should know: Now a good value at all.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By SP4449 from USA on 2015-07-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very secure case.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the hinge was on the other side.

    What others should know: This is the best case I have. The gun is much better protected than in any of the flat cases I have used.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-01-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Holds gun in upright position. Fits all of my benji airguns with scopes.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Good case, I have two.

  • 4.0 4.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Albert from USA on 2014-11-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: When I purchased my Hatsan 125 Vortex I decided to include the 20/$20 to site in the scope. The case is very sturdy and well built. The case itself (minus the form inserts) should last a long time.

    Things I would have changed: I would change the form inserts that seem to be losing their form after a few uses. Also the velcro on the butt end is way too short while the piece on the barrel end is way too long. In light of the more than adequate interior spaceI would also include a foam insert or two for ammo or accessory storage.

    What others should know: I haven't compared other cases for scoped rifles in this category but the price point on this case seems right. Because of the overall exterior and build quality the above observations can be easily fixed by the owner. Overall I'm pleased with this purchase and may purchase an additional one for my Gamo Whiper Pro.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Joe from USA on 2014-11-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Finally a case that will cradle your gun like the eggs box that cradles eggs. Excellent method to keep a gun from banging against the inside of the case and rubbing against the foam of the case during movements.

    Things I would have changed: The foam in the fore-end needs to be stiffer so that the gun doesn't bang against the side of the case. There needs to be a stiff foam between the trigger and foam in fore-end to provide more support so that the gun doesn't bang against the side of the case.

    What others should know: I inserted foam between the gun's trigger and foam in fore-end to provide more support so that the gun doesn't bang against the side of the case.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vernon from USA on 2014-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The longest [and tallest] rifle I own is a Hatsan 125 - to which I have added a "dropper-rail," and a Leapers 4-16x50mm AO scope. This rifle fit perfectly in this rifle case. The quality of this rifle case is typical of the quality that Plano produces [tackle boxes and such] and I'm delighted with this purchase.

    Things I would have changed: Not a thing. I did make a change which was just minor [See Below]

    What others should know: There are two blocks of foam inside the case. One is at the rear of the rifle and one is by the for-end of the rifle. I did remove the small piece that protrudes at the bottome of these blocks; which lowered this Hatsan 125 [w/50mm scope], allowing the lid to close perfectly. I'm gonna buy another one, now that I've seen how it fits my rifles. Thanks for selling these cases PA. You're still my "GoTo" place for everything 'airgun' and will continue to be so.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scrambler82 from USA on 2014-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fitment was great; held the gun upright with supports for front and rear. Locking is good and solid. Case material is good and when closed the case is feels rugged and secure.

    Things I would have changed: Different gun supports in the case. Internal compartments for some equipment, i.e. pellet carrying, patches and quick cleaning equipment. More room on the top li for a high mounted scope.

    What others should know: Well made, rugged with plenty of room inside for single gun low scope mount. if you plan on a high mounted scope, like a 50mm, you should try the fit before buying.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Eric from USA on 2014-04-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Sturdy plastic was much heavier than I had pictured in my mind. Installation of included foam and tie-down straps are simple. Fits my Hatsan Dominator 200S air rifle with Leapers 4-12 scope with no problem.

    Things I would have changed: Longer Velcro strap for the rear tie-down would be nice, especially for the raised cheek riser. An integral, interior storage compartment on the bottom of the box for ammo and a bipod.

    What others should know: I have to remove the bipod in order for the gun to fit.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2014-01-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very good protection; holds your rifles secure; can keep your rifle upright so it does not lay over on the scope to knock out of sight; allows the use of a dessicant cannister to keep moisture from gun.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe make this case 1" deeper for rifles that use high rise mounts to fit.

    What others should know: If you want a great upright hard case that allows your rifles not to have to rest on a sighted scope this case is everything you need. I will say that I wished PLano had made it about 1" deeper to allow for rifles that use high mounts and drooper mounts to have clearance. To combat that however is to trim the waffer foam the butt of the gun and forearm sit on.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ernest from USA on 2013-10-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: great case

    What others should know: I have purchased two of these cases and both of my scoped rifles fit without a problem. No security straps were included with the second case but Ruth in customer service took care of that problem. Thank you Ruth. Very satisfied.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Kirk W from USA on 2013-10-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I wanted to buy a case that protected my scope. This one doesn't even touch it. also the velcro straps hold the rifle firmly in place.

    Things I would have changed: Alternative strap rings.

    What others should know: The shape is so unique that you know what you've put in it with out opening it check.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Monn-el from USA on 2013-08-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great case for my son's air rifle. Arrived on time and in great condition! Very pleased!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dave from USA on 2013-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Compact, small foot print, holds the rifle securely & the price is quite reasonable.

    Things I would have changed: The Velcro securing straps need to be a bit longer.

    What others should know: This is a great case, unfortunately not all rifles will fit properly in the case. A Marauder with Leapers scope is a tad too tall to close the lid.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By George from USA on 2013-02-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The straps, molding,and foam keep your rifle suspended safely inside this case for storaage and transport.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: I purchased this rifle case specically for my Beeman hw97k and it does a great job. I wanted an extra level of prorection for this very nice rifle.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carrell from USA on 2013-01-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: this case is perfect. it holds the gun well and provides enough room for storage of my pellets and cleaning suppllies

    Things I would have changed: none

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jerome from USA on 2012-12-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good size for my scoped gamo 22 cal. varmint hp

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Nice case

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By g from USA on 2012-10-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great protection. Sturdy construction. The foam blocks included are easy to modify. Great balance when you carry.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: I have both the Benji NP Trail All-weather & Trail XL1100. The XL1100 dropped in with 1" clearance at barrel end, several inches of scope clearance & looks like thew case was made for rifle. The all-weather needed some foam added.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JetChopperDude from USA on 2012-10-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I was attracted to the 'vertical installation', versus the normal flat cases I've seen. This design of suspension, seems to make more sense, as it totally removes pressure points on items while stored or transported cases. I have a Benjamin Marauder, Leapers 4-16x44 scope, plus 80mm SIDEWHEEL) Additionally, the rigidity and affordability. I bought 3 cases (one for my Marauder, one for my Gamo Whisper, and one for my son's powder-burner). My son was PLEASANTLY surprised when I gave it to him.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing I would specifically change, as I just made allowances for the differences. First, some people commented about the securing straps being a little short. Well..., maybe, but if you just give that a little attention..., during removal-installation of your weapon..., it just isn't that big of an issue. I was aware of it, and as far as evaluating the overall concept of the case..., it is a minimal issue.

    What others should know: YES, and I think some of the Marauder owners (using a scope), should know this. You'll have to shave down the FORWARD support pad. With my scope-sidewheel setup (through trial and error), I probably removed 3/4" from the bottom. This totally removes the little recess (allows for strap clearance), plus a little more past that, allowing the rifle to rest down lower, for extra scope clearance. To maintain a parallel and angled configuration..., I used my bandsaw, to keep things neat-tidy. Probably took me a total of 15-minutes. Otherwise, a sharp serrated bread knife will probably suffice. Not a big deal, really. Additionally, with the way I have my scope mounted, I had to move the REAR support pad, AND STOCK forward, maybe 7-8". The rear strap settles into the notch of tme Mrod stock. Otherwise, situating the weapon to the normal installation point, would cause the lid to hit the rear end of my scope. Now, with the shaved forepad modification, and moving everything forward, I can close the lid. IF YOU HAVE A 100mm side wheel installed, YOU MIGHT HAVE PROBLEMS! Even now, I probably have minimal clearance for my 80mm sidewheel, as it's at the same level as the elevation knob. Maybe conversing with P.A. before ordering may give you some insight. For myself, GREAT CHOICE. With the Gamo and same scope set-up? NO SWEAT! Assembled the case, put in the gun..., shut the lid..., and I'm done. With PA's return policy, you can't lose. They're GREAT!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2012-10-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The case holds your guns secure while allowing most guns with scopes to fit, even with high profile rings. Sits secure and is airline approved.

    Things I would have changed: Include a velcro pouch enclosure for adding the silver dehumidification cannisters inside to reduce moisture in the case when stored for a long time.

    What others should know: Great case. This is my 4th and love it!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2012-06-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the case because it protect my new nitro rifle. it is very good quality.

    Things I would have changed: The velcro strapes are to short make them longer

    What others should know: Good product I would buy it again maybe i will.

  • 123 Next
Navigation