RWS Rifle Shooter's Kit, .177 Caliber reviews - page 1

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:4.0

By Brian from USA on 2012-04-18 05:08:23

Things I liked: Brianag618 USA; It is that time of year to start getting all our AIR GUNS ready for the shooting season. This KIT has everything you need to get all the Seats back in shape for the season.

Things I would have changed: Do away with the PELLETS, we all have a TON of them already, also do away with the small paper targets, again we all have all kids all over the house (plus some extra photos of our X-Wives that work prity well) Make the oils containers larger, this kit will just about get most of our gus ready one time.

What others should know: Just make sure you read the labels so you use the right oil in the right spots, aslo do not over do it with the oil in the POWER CHAMBER.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By john from USA on 2013-08-07 00:14:00

Things I liked: I am a fair minded person who tries to be honest in my product commentary which in this case is the RWS Rifle Shooters Cleaning kit for .177 caliber air rifles that I recently purchased at PyramidAir. I would not recommend this item for the following reasons. #1- The Rod assembly does not accept standard attachments as its end is a male thread. #2- The kit comes with one .177 caliber attachment which is a bore brush. There is no patch Jag. Included in the kit is one .22 caliber attachment which is a patch Jag with a male thread and is a larger diameter than that of the Rod assembly. So not only is the thread pitch incorrect on this .22 caliber attachment but it also has a male end that cannot mate with the rod as the rod also has a male threaded end.#3- The kit is expensive as well as poorly engineered. Not certain why the kit comes with only one .177 caliber bore brush attachment and no patch Jag as well as one .22 caliber attachment that does not even fit the rod? I cannot even find additional RWS attachments that fit the rods male threaded end so the kit is essentially useless right out of the box with no way to make it useful.

Things I would have changed: I would make the kit make sense and have more than one .177 caliber attachment. Also I would make the attachments have a male threaded end and the rod a female receptacle.

What others should know: If one wishes to purchase an item that is grossly inadequate, inaccurately advertised and poorly engineered than this is the one. I seriously doubt this review will ever see the light of day as it is blatantly honest and factual.I deserve a refund but having opened the item that is impossible. I have since purchased a different .177 caliber cleaning kit that comes with all the attachments required to properly maintain my air Rifle that I purchased from PyramidAir. I am extreme;y satisfied with that Air Rifle by the way and highly recommend it to my fellow air gunners!

Sort by:
  • 123 Next
  • Showitems
  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Ed from USA on 2014-08-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Oil, targets, pellets

    Things I would have changed: Cleaning rod needs to be stiffer and with a female end as most of the cleaning accessories for are male ends

    What others should know: Guess I could tell someone else to buy it do to all the other things that are with it. For a .177 it works so,so. Now a 22 would go out and buy or use regular 22 rifle cleaning gear.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By L from USA on 2014-07-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Chamber oil, spring cylinder oil with needle applicator. At first look seems like nice maintenance package with two sample tins of pellets.

    Things I would have changed: Change cleaning rod to a one piece coated rod. Shorten the jag--It is much too long to use with small patches required for .177 caliber or .22 barrels.

    What others should know: The cleaning rod is not usable without risking the damaging the barrel of your air rifle. When assembled the joints do not align properly. Each section has a sharp edge that protrudes from the adjoining section. This sharp edge will damage the bore of the barrel if it comes in contact with barrel when cleaning. RWS makes a lot to good products--this cleaning rod and jag are not . In addition, the jag is aluminum but it is much too long for small patches. I will not use either the sectional rod or the jag--very disappointing. I ordered a Dewey single piece coated rod with brass jag. I will not risk damaging the barrel of my new Beeman R9 with the RWS cleaning rod and jag.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By john from USA on 2013-08-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I am a fair minded person who tries to be honest in my product commentary which in this case is the RWS Rifle Shooters Cleaning kit for .177 caliber air rifles that I recently purchased at PyramidAir. I would not recommend this item for the following reasons. #1- The Rod assembly does not accept standard attachments as its end is a male thread. #2- The kit comes with one .177 caliber attachment which is a bore brush. There is no patch Jag. Included in the kit is one .22 caliber attachment which is a patch Jag with a male thread and is a larger diameter than that of the Rod assembly. So not only is the thread pitch incorrect on this .22 caliber attachment but it also has a male end that cannot mate with the rod as the rod also has a male threaded end.#3- The kit is expensive as well as poorly engineered. Not certain why the kit comes with only one .177 caliber bore brush attachment and no patch Jag as well as one .22 caliber attachment that does not even fit the rod? I cannot even find additional RWS attachments that fit the rods male threaded end so the kit is essentially useless right out of the box with no way to make it useful.

    Things I would have changed: I would make the kit make sense and have more than one .177 caliber attachment. Also I would make the attachments have a male threaded end and the rod a female receptacle.

    What others should know: If one wishes to purchase an item that is grossly inadequate, inaccurately advertised and poorly engineered than this is the one. I seriously doubt this review will ever see the light of day as it is blatantly honest and factual.I deserve a refund but having opened the item that is impossible. I have since purchased a different .177 caliber cleaning kit that comes with all the attachments required to properly maintain my air Rifle that I purchased from PyramidAir. I am extreme;y satisfied with that Air Rifle by the way and highly recommend it to my fellow air gunners!

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Rudedawg from USA on 2013-07-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The oil, needle and pellets.

    Things I would have changed: Different thread configuration of rod sections. As mentioned in other reviews the threaded ends are not female configuration making it more difficult to find and use attachments other than ones supplied. My fault for not looking closer at the set up.

    What others should know: Purchased 6/15/2013 with rifle and a threaded rod tip in a section broke off in the brush when inserting into barrel the 2nd used. Yes, the barrel was cocked and rod was not bent at any diverse angle, it just snapped. May just find another as it is too much of a hassle/cost to return to Umarex.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2013-06-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great price for what all you get. Cleaning rod is neat and compact. I would recomend this product.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Aaron from USA on 2013-02-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything you need in one package for air gun maintenance.

    Things I would have changed: Wish it was a bit cheaper but it had everything I needed and more.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2012-09-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well made, well thought out. Everything you need to clean and maintain your unit. Like the needle, handy. Also, you get 2 different tins of pellets and some 10 meter targets!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Spend the $$$ and get it, worth a little extra for quality stuff.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By zahir from Malaysia on 2012-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The price and the quality

    Things I would have changed: add more cleaning pellet

    What others should know: a must if u are serious about airgun

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2012-07-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: High quality pellets. High quality targets. High quality everything.

    What others should know: No case. Targets are small.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By dmitriy from USA on 2012-07-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: very good quality oils,i like included pellets,targets rod,nidle,cleaning pells,everything is just great starter pakage,i am 100% satisfied

    Things I would have changed: more cleaning pellets please

    What others should know: greate air chamber lube,no dieseling at all,spring cylinder oil is greate,cleans rust very well,got my very old crosman air rifle back in business.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Brian from USA on 2012-04-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Brianag618 USA; It is that time of year to start getting all our AIR GUNS ready for the shooting season. This KIT has everything you need to get all the Seats back in shape for the season.

    Things I would have changed: Do away with the PELLETS, we all have a TON of them already, also do away with the small paper targets, again we all have all kids all over the house (plus some extra photos of our X-Wives that work prity well) Make the oils containers larger, this kit will just about get most of our gus ready one time.

    What others should know: Just make sure you read the labels so you use the right oil in the right spots, aslo do not over do it with the oil in the POWER CHAMBER.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By steve from USA on 2012-02-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Was to disappointed to like anything

    Things I would have changed: Very cheap product. Did not want pellets. Targets are a joke. Rods broke at threaded end. Al this for 45.00

    What others should know: Save your money and go with a better product

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Brian from USA on 2012-01-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Good quality lubricants and cleaning tools.

    Things I would have changed: Leave out the targets and pellets and put it in a plastic case with .22 cal brush also.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2011-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well made quality rod. The oiling needle is perfect for dozens of uses

    Things I would have changed: Leave out the pellets and targets and add a sturdy case with room for .22 and .25 rods.

  • 3.0 3.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Garry from USA on 2011-11-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Contains RWS's recommended high quality chamber oil and spring oil. Steel rod threads together easily with no rough edges at the joints. Quality RWS pellets in the 8g range provided in the kit for initial sighting in of your rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Make the rod end with a female threaded end or an adapter that will accept more readily available male threaded jags and brushes. Once the nylon brush is worn out, good luck trying to find a replacement brush. Once the brush is worn out, the rod is only good for use with the aluminum cleaning pellet pusher.

    What others should know: This is still a good starter kit. Inclusion of the pellets and the RWS oil make this kit a reasonable value. Ultimately, you're probably going to get a different cleaning rod and accessories.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2011-10-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The tools enclosed are of good quality.

    Things I would have changed: Too bad they don't delete the pellets and targets and offer this in a re-useable case, perhaps one capable of holding a .22 rod and additional cleaning supplies. I have targets and lots of pellets but am having trouble finding some sort of travel container.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By George from USA on 2011-09-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Fairly comprehensive

    Things I would have changed: Longer barrel rod

    What others should know: Both of the plastic bottle tops were loose! One of them had leaked all the oil out. I have not asked PA for an adjustment yet.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By szadroga from USA on 2011-07-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Came as a complete kit. Oil, rods, handle.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: A decent basic cleaning kit.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2011-05-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Works well on my Crosman Storm XT. The pellets are a nice throw in.

    Things I would have changed: More cleaning pellets. Keep the paper targets. Kind of expensive if all you want is a cleaning kit, but excellent value if you use the pellets.

    What others should know: I use Crosman silicone oil to lube the power plant and then clean the barrel with this kit. It takes about 30 shots after this clean and oil to regain accuracy (no scope adjustment required, just put some pellets through the rifle). I initially just cleaned the rifle, but eventually shot both tins. I'm glad I did as these RWS pellets are about the best I've found for accuracy.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Roger from USA on 2011-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Came with everything needed to service my air rifle. The needle attachment is indispensable to get to the hard to reach places without taking the rifle apart.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe offer just a cleaning kit, this is a little more than JUST a cleaning kit.

    What others should know:

  • 123 Next
Navigation