Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Shooting Chrony Alpha Chronograph, Red reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    4.5 (19 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By JOHN from USA on 2009-02-16 10:28:56

    Things I liked:A necessary tool for getting to know my airguns' capabilities (and shortcomings). I may use it outdoors in the Spring to check muzzle velocity of my .22 rim fire saddle gun!
    Things I would have changed:I added the CHRONY lights for best indoor readings - would have bought the LED light set if I had known about it as they tend to be more durable and very long-lasting.
    What others should know:I ran CHRONY tests on my Crosman Classic pistol at 3x pumps, then 4x on up to max 10x pumps and recorded all the averages, mins and max, etc. Now I know exactly the number of pumps needed for accurate 10 meter target shooting at home!
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:3.0

    By Michael from USA on 2013-02-03 10:37:12

    Things I liked:String steel outer shell. Well construct. Good fit & finish except for one thing (see things I would change). Mine arrived with an electrical problem, I decided to swap it for another make & model. Transports well. Lots of different models to choose from.
    Things I would have changed:I don't like the "pressure panel" style of front display push buttons. In terms of reliability, they are hit-or-miss. Mine and already started to de-laminate. (Advantage: they are cheap to manufacture and keep the costs down.) Had the front panel been different, I might have stuck with the product,
    What others should know:I could be happy with one of these, I just decided to go a different direction. Some clever mechanical design features that an engineer can appreciate. Had mine worked out of the box I could have been quite happy with it.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Brian from USA on 2014-04-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:perfect reading every time. My last one had one error reading after another
      Things I would have changed:Nothing I can think of.
      What others should know:I think you will be very pleased with this crony.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Michael from USA on 2013-02-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:String steel outer shell. Well construct. Good fit & finish except for one thing (see things I would change). Mine arrived with an electrical problem, I decided to swap it for another make & model. Transports well. Lots of different models to choose from.
      Things I would have changed:I don't like the "pressure panel" style of front display push buttons. In terms of reliability, they are hit-or-miss. Mine and already started to de-laminate. (Advantage: they are cheap to manufacture and keep the costs down.) Had the front panel been different, I might have stuck with the product,
      What others should know:I could be happy with one of these, I just decided to go a different direction. Some clever mechanical design features that an engineer can appreciate. Had mine worked out of the box I could have been quite happy with it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Booger from USA on 2013-01-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Compact, easy to use, construction, price, portability, and easy to add other components.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing I can think of.
      What others should know:I love the Crony, I have bought a TX200MK3 and an RWS 34, both of which I paid for the 10 for $10 and with minor calculations my rifles are getting stronger over the few months I have owned them. This is a wonderful tool and the only thing to make it better is if PA would also sell a spring compressor so we can keep our air guns in top notch condition.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Chris from USA on 2012-08-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very easy to use, with one exception I will mention below. I basically took it out of the box and started using it.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, this is a very well thought out design.
      What others should know:If you are using an air-gun, like my Marauder, it's best to give it a little more distance from the muzzle than you first think you would need. I started with about 3 feet and it was giving me funny readings. I moved it to about 5 feet away from the muzzle. It worked well then. The problem I mentioned above came up at this point. It is hard to line air gun up with the sensors on the unit. I was advised to use a bore sight to line it up. I haven't tried that. Don't have the money for one. If you are going to "tune" your airgun or you are in a country that muzzle energy limits, this is a must have!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By gary from USA on 2012-04-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:good value for the money.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:if you are going to tune your air gun will will be needing this.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By primo from USA on 2012-03-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The workmanship on this equipment reminded me of military grade.The operating instructions are reasonable to understand even for a beginner.As for the utility its an indispensable tool for reaching the best performance of guns vs ammo. Good deal for the $ ------Just found out my GAMO SOCOM extreme is malfunctioning-- bad news re: GAMOS part & service.
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:Easy to use do not let the instructions intimidate you they have a short cut included and more likely than not youll get the the chrony going A-OK. Remember to find a sunny spot to use it- put the reflectors on and shoot 4 to 6 inches above the sensors-and 3 to 5 feet AWAY from the unit- take your time and use eye protection. Dont forget to turn it on!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By breakfastchef from USA on 2011-10-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The Shooting Chrony just plain works. The fold-up design protects internal components and makes it easier to transport.
      Things I would have changed:I would like to see the cost of accessories and add-on devices drop a bit.
      What others should know:Be very meticulous in the setup of the Shooting Chrony. When I first received the device, I got a lot of errors. I found that the projectile must fly directly over the small sensors of the chrony to properly register a reading. This means you may need to do some test shots to see that your barrel alignment is really close to the centerline of the Chrony. Also, a tripod is a really useful accessory to have for the Chrony.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By George from USA on 2011-09-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to use and reliable
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Raymundo from USA on 2011-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This unit is very compact and easy to use. It has all the functions I need to see where my air rifles and firearm velocities are at.
      Things I would have changed:Perhaps the area that scans the pellet as it passes over could be a bit wider to be easier to fire over. Other than that, I wouldn't change anything.
      What others should know:Having one of these is essential for knowing if your air guns are operating properly. It will let you know if the velocities are even close to where they should be and can help you know (if the velocities are too low) that there is a problem with the gun. I would recommend these for all air gunners.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Martin C. from USA on 2011-03-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to use after proper set up.
      Things I would have changed:Install cord retainer to prevent pinching it when closing unit.
      What others should know:I used a self adhesive plastic zip tie mount and a looped zip tie to prevent cord from pinching upon closing the unit. And it wants to get pinched.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By daniel from USA on 2011-02-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Every thing works as advertised
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:needs direct sunlight. won't work in the shade or overcast day
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By tom from USA on 2010-12-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:ease of operation,construction is top notch,price is very reasonable.
      Things I would have changed:make sensors a bit wider, but not that bad just a little compensation and your good to go
      What others should know:vital pieceof equipment for knowing velocity and consistency in your air rifle
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By larry from USA on 2010-10-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:easy to use, compact, very portable,fits my tri-pod which makes it adjustable for any use.
      Things I would have changed:maybe have adjustable back-lit light on screen if needed
      What others should know:if these are calibrated correctly, all advertised velocities are not what they claim. (at least the guns i own!) But over time, i can find out which ones lose power the fastest. Really great for testing different pellets!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2010-05-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to set up, easy on the wallet, and does exactly what it's intended to do. Without one you are shooting in the dark. Compare rifles and ammo....learn if your older guns are down on power and need repair. Buy one if you have a few extra bucks....It's an education and a good investment, not just for air rifles, but your whole firearm collection.....and archery...and slingshots....and blowguns.....and spit balls....well.....you get the idea...it's a must !
      Things I would have changed:Nothing, it's fantastic !
      What others should know:I bought the middle of the road model, but even the cheapest one does the same basic velocity measurement with the same sensors....it's just a matter of if you want a couple extra features. 30 years ago when we were using Oehler equipment for center fire measurements it cost like 10X more. These devices are like the bargain of the century compared to what we used.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Mr. from USA on 2009-04-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I purchased this several weeks ago and know now what all of my rifles are shooting as far as speed. This tool was very simple to set-up and use and folds into it self for easy storage or transporting to the range.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Works as advertised.
      What others should know:Read the instructions to get the full potential of use from this tool. Everyone that has air rifles should have one of these tools. After measuring the speed of all of my rifles I was able to see the ones that needed attention. I found rifle with very slow speeds and disassemble the rifle to find the seal mounting screw almost unthreaded it self out causing a poor cylinder to piston seal. After the repair and lube job this rifle is now shooting were it needs to be. You really need one of these tools.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By JOHN from USA on 2009-02-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:A necessary tool for getting to know my airguns' capabilities (and shortcomings). I may use it outdoors in the Spring to check muzzle velocity of my .22 rim fire saddle gun!
      Things I would have changed:I added the CHRONY lights for best indoor readings - would have bought the LED light set if I had known about it as they tend to be more durable and very long-lasting.
      What others should know:I ran CHRONY tests on my Crosman Classic pistol at 3x pumps, then 4x on up to max 10x pumps and recorded all the averages, mins and max, etc. Now I know exactly the number of pumps needed for accurate 10 meter target shooting at home!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2009-01-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to set up and use. Good quality housing and parts are sturdy.
      Things I would have changed:Instruction manual needs to be worded for the novice- Not many people have completed Physics 231 and 232.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2008-10-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Very easy to set up and compact. And the price was very good
      Things I would have changed:I would make the sensors wider if the pellet does not pass directly over the sensor you will received errors. When shooting pistol or rifle from a further distance due to muzzle blast a lot of errors may occur. Also make the diffusers a solid piece of plastic.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2007-09-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Ease of setup. Consistent readouts. Can be used indoors under strong incandescant bulbs (100+ watts) without diffuser screens or accessory lights.
      Things I would have changed:Aimpoint over screens should be marked on diffuser supports. I marked optimum position with electrical tape.
      What others should know:Read and FOLLOW instructions carefully. Aiming tolerances and muzzle distance from screens are critical for good readings.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top