Date: 6/2/2016 23:21

Shooting Chrony Alpha Master Chronograph, Red reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Dale from USA on 2009-10-26 17:46:30

Things I liked: Compact and ease of setup.Helps to check the preformance of mods,ammo,pressures,and difference in fps with each setup.

Things I would have changed: Nothing

What others should know: Fast shipping and fair price from pyramid air.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By Greg from USA on 2012-04-02 23:34:47

Things I liked: Nothing - doesn't work at all.

Things I would have changed: Make it work - and stop selling it until it does.

What others should know: I am calling PA tomorrow to get a refund on this junk. The unit I received flat did not work at all under any lighting conditions. I was only able to get the chrony to register velocity a few times by putting a large piece of white legal paper over the entire unit in bright sun - but the paper would blow off at the slightest wind. I tried it on sunny days and cloudy days with and without the sun shades exposed to open sky and under a porch cover. Shot straight over the sensors from 1" to 5" above the sensor. Nothing worked. Every now and then it would register a velocity and otherwise it would just read error 1, error 2, and no reading at all. Don't buy this unit unless you read some online reviews saying they copped to the problem and fixed it.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steven from USA on 2015-12-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything! Easy to setup, easy to use. Easy to read the digital readout. I am real happy with this unit and wish I would have bought one years ago!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: The Alpha Master Chronograph is a well made, sturdy product. This is my first chronograph and it has worked flawlessly for me. I found the instructions easy to understand and it made it easy to setup the unit the very first time I used it. I really like how easy the unit folds up into a compact unit for storage and transportation. I have used the unit both outdoors and indoors. After ordering the indoor light unit for the chronograph I discovered I was able to "jury rig" my own method of lighting for indoor use. Although, I am very happy with the indoor lighting equipment for the unit. I created an Excel spreadsheet to record my readings for each shot, lowest velocity, high velocity, average velocity, extreme spread and standard deviation. I also record the pellet weight and then calculate the energy for the average velocity. I believe this information is very helpful in determining which pellet your air gun likes. I am extremely happy with this purchase.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2015-11-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The face/control box separates from the main unit allowing you easy access to the digital readout and controls.

    Things I would have changed: I found it extremely difficult to get it to work consistently. I was able to obtain two good 16 shot strings and then numerous errors front or rear sensor. This was outside with and with out the diffusers. I am new to this and it maybe user error but I find the unit difficult to operate properly. I was told adding a light source under the diffusers will solve my problem. Hope so.

    What others should know: I was told Competition Electronics makes the Pro Chrono Digital Cronograph and it has newer electronics and is much more user friendly

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2015-11-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This unit is compact and great to use with the convenient portable display unit. Well built with a clear instruction booklet.

    Things I would have changed: None

    What others should know: The unit requires ample lighting to perform accurately. The included white translucent diffusers are well made and if not abused should last a long time. Being a retired engineer, this unit should be handled with the respect that any delicate instrument requires. It would also be a good idea to provide some type of protective device placed in front of the Chrony to prevent damage due to an errant pellet. I've used it quite a bit and have no complaints at all. For the price, it is a good product and is well made.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Danno from USA on 2015-03-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The Red Shooting Chrony Alpha Master Chronograph is compact, easy to set-up, easy to use, and easy to transport/store when not in use. It is built with quality and should last any shooter for years of use with minimal maintenance.

    Things I would have changed: A battery operated LED indoor light option would be very nice, but you can DIY very easily and cheaply ( like I did ).

    What others should know: This unit has worked flawlessly for me. It can be a little finicky about lighting or the alignment of your shots, but once you get it dialed in this chrono just does what it is supposed to do. I would recommend this chrono to any shooter.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2014-11-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is simple, it was what I was expecting.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Leonard from USA on 2014-10-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Compact, easy to set up and operate, *very* sturdy construction

    Things I would have changed: Remote control instructions printed in an abbreviated fashion and placed on the back of the remote would save a few foot steps. Integrating an LED light source facing upwards toward mirrored diffusers would make the unit operate in "all lighting" environments and be a real convenience.

    What others should know: If you need a chronograph then you cant go wrong with this one. The remote is a good feature to have and worth the few extra dollars. For typical airgunners I would say this is all you need. The extra memory and outputs to PC are nice and if you chronograph guns for a living or are into reloading ammo as in firearms then the statistical information provided by the more expensive units in the line might pay off for you. On the other hand, if you don't have to show professionally prepared reports then stats provided by this RED unit and a basic scientific calculator that you pack with the unit will give you all the stats one could desire. Get it; *****

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Dallas from USA on 2014-09-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to set up, easy to use

    Things I would have changed: nothing

    What others should know: buy a shield, make a shield. don't shoot your chrony.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By CJLomax from USA on 2014-06-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The cord to the meter is long enough to not to shoot it! Ask me how I know. Luckily it was a .17 caliber so I have a new small dent. It is very accurate and reliable without the rabbit ears on a sunny day. No err's until the near sundown but that' expected.

    Things I would have changed: Add a rubber stop or gel to the front - sooner or later you will shoot it. Just wish I though of doing that before I shot it - I have one now.

    What others should know: You will need a 9v battery it does not come supplied - no worries but jeeze 9v batteries did go up for some reason. Probably all the new and old air gunners chronying.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Toby from USA on 2014-02-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Sturdy and compact. Seems to be very accurate and display is great.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: With some cheap LED lights from Lowes this thing worked great indoors. Accurate and reliable. Good product.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Peter from USA on 2013-07-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Strong and compact box.

    Things I would have changed: Make the steel plate in the front behind the Chrony sticker a lot thicker. I hit mine with a 25 cal JSB pellet by accident. Believe it or not, it knocked a .25 diameter plug out of the steel but it did not go through the plastic sensor housing behind it. Lucky me! I hammered it out flat, sprayed it red, and it's still working.

    What others should know: If you have trouble and are getting err1 or err2 (when the first or second screen does not read the shot), take a Harbor Freight cheap 24 led two way light ($3.99) and fasten it to the top of the skyscreen pointing at the sensor window below. One in the front and one in the rear and it never misses a read.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Ron from USA on 2013-05-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: wors good

    Things I would have changed: had to clean out the mounting threads with a die. diffusers are a bit fussy to use

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bill from USA on 2013-05-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Chrony was simple to use, just unfold it and start shooting. Operation was straight forward, had data in a few minutes.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing!

    What others should know: Only problem would be adjusting lights for indoor use. I hung a over head light above the unit, @100 watt bulb worked fine.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2013-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: That it folds up in half. I’m able to fit all the parts in a small shoebox size storage container. I have used it with diffusers installed under non-fluorescent shop light and it worked great, also used without diffusers during day time and again worked great.

    Things I would have changed: The way the wire connecting the two sensors together moves when folding the chrony case. Care must be taken to make sure it stays inside case sides or it can be pinched when closing. I have seen these with a regular round wire bundle and also with a flat ribbon (which stays in place when folding). Also it would be nice if there was more space when closing to allow the installation of metal shields to protect the plastic sensor case. I almost forgot. The diffusers needed some slight modification to get a better fit between pieces. Some snapped together and a couple required some minor filing because the tab end was wider than the notched slot. I did this because the parts were getting stressed when installed on the chassis.

    What others should know: Beware of the angle of your barrel when shooting across this device because it is not just the front sensor that is in danger of being shot. A friend brought his chrony over and I managed to shoot the back sensor housing. Fortunately I only broke the casing and not the actual sensor. I repaired with JB epoxy and it is fine. I bought him a new one and took the newly customized one. The front sensor is semi-protected by the chrony housing, yet a strong pellet gun could shot through it. I added a removable ¼” aluminum plate to the front and also the back sensor. On the back sensor protective plate I have added some rubber (old mouse pad) to absorb the shock in case it gets hit again. These have to be removed or the case will not shut. The other thing I did was to add a center line stripe on each plate to make it easier when lining it up. It can be difficult sometimes to line up so both sensors are in line with the barrel and target. The sensors are only 1 ¼” and are easy to miss. Last tip. When installing the diffusers, lay the plastic assembly flat on the table with the rods/poles inserted into the diffuser and not the sensor case. When picking up the assy, pull the two rod ends slightly towards the center as you pick up. This will put a curve in the diffuser shields which will keep them together and will also allow the rods to be inserted easily into the sensor housing. The diffusers rods fit in the chrony at an angle and the plastic attachment points on t

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Barry from USA on 2013-02-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Works great, even in our basement. Just have to turn off the fluorescent lights and use an LED light kit. Provides good feedback of pellet velocities at various PCP air pressure levels.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: As stated above, it does not work with fluorescent lighting. Manual is very helpful.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from New Zealand on 2012-12-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The unit is compact, easy to asemble and very easy to use. The incorporation of a standard camera tripod screw attachment is a bonus. The screen extension is also a good feature.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Initially I had a minor problem with the electronics of the unit but this was rectified promptly by the manufacturer. The service from both Pyramid Air and Chrony was first class considering I live in New Zealand. The unit has been tested using an air rifle , a rimfire and a centrefire rifle and it performed perfectly. I would not hesitate to recommend this product to other shooters.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By David from USA on 2012-09-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The portable display rules. Everything about this device is quality.

    Things I would have changed: Nope

    What others should know: Get skyscreen lights if you plan to use indoors.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2012-09-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the compact size that it folds into for storage! The remote screen is a plus for viewing numbers after the shot! Works really well, while using to test my different Air rifles!

    Things I would have changed: Nothing! I like it like it is!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By jczhotbull from USA on 2012-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Diseño compacto, la longitud del cable puede cubrir cualquier requerimiento, una bateria de 9v, conectar prender y listo...

    Things I would have changed: La forma de colocar los difusores, requiere doblarlos un poco y el mio en menos de una semana ya una de las bases donde se coloca el alambre a uno de los difusores esta a punto de romperse por la tension al doblar... deberia mejorarse ese sistema, y para disparar con .177 o 4.5mm wow debes colocar el arma casi a 4 o 6 cm del primer sensor para estar seguro que el diabolo pase bien derecho por ambos sensores, un minimo movimiento y tienes error en cualquiera de los dos sensores... deberia de poseerun rango mayor de captura del diabolo.

    What others should know: Funciona excelente luego de prepararlo muy bien y alinaerlo con el arma a usar.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Greg from USA on 2012-04-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Nothing - doesn't work at all.

    Things I would have changed: Make it work - and stop selling it until it does.

    What others should know: I am calling PA tomorrow to get a refund on this junk. The unit I received flat did not work at all under any lighting conditions. I was only able to get the chrony to register velocity a few times by putting a large piece of white legal paper over the entire unit in bright sun - but the paper would blow off at the slightest wind. I tried it on sunny days and cloudy days with and without the sun shades exposed to open sky and under a porch cover. Shot straight over the sensors from 1" to 5" above the sensor. Nothing worked. Every now and then it would register a velocity and otherwise it would just read error 1, error 2, and no reading at all. Don't buy this unit unless you read some online reviews saying they copped to the problem and fixed it.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Phillip from USA on 2012-03-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: fun when it reads...

    Things I would have changed: more sensitive pickup, my beeman eco 9.65grn alloy .22 pellets only trigger error1, my 14.66 ftt 5.53's read 3 of 8 fired, read 8 of 8 finally after using 21.14grn h&n's

    What others should know: doesnt pick up small low density pellets at all...

  • 12 Next
Navigation