Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Shooting Chrony Alpha Master Chronograph, Red reviews - page 1

    Add to Cart


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By Dale from USA on 2009-10-26 17:46:30

    Things I liked:Compact and ease of setup.Helps to check the preformance of mods,ammo,pressures,and difference in fps with each setup.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:Fast shipping and fair price from pyramid air.
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Greg from USA on 2012-04-02 23:34:47

    Things I liked:Nothing - doesn't work at all.
    Things I would have changed:Make it work - and stop selling it until it does.
    What others should know:I am calling PA tomorrow to get a refund on this junk. The unit I received flat did not work at all under any lighting conditions. I was only able to get the chrony to register velocity a few times by putting a large piece of white legal paper over the entire unit in bright sun - but the paper would blow off at the slightest wind. I tried it on sunny days and cloudy days with and without the sun shades exposed to open sky and under a porch cover. Shot straight over the sensors from 1" to 5" above the sensor. Nothing worked. Every now and then it would register a velocity and otherwise it would just read error 1, error 2, and no reading at all. Don't buy this unit unless you read some online reviews saying they copped to the problem and fixed it.
    Sort by:
    • 12 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Dallas from USA on 2014-09-20
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to set up, easy to use
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:buy a shield, make a shield. don't shoot your chrony.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By CJLomax from USA on 2014-06-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The cord to the meter is long enough to not to shoot it! Ask me how I know. Luckily it was a .17 caliber so I have a new small dent. It is very accurate and reliable without the rabbit ears on a sunny day. No err's until the near sundown but that' expected.
      Things I would have changed:Add a rubber stop or gel to the front - sooner or later you will shoot it. Just wish I though of doing that before I shot it - I have one now.
      What others should know:You will need a 9v battery it does not come supplied - no worries but jeeze 9v batteries did go up for some reason. Probably all the new and old air gunners chronying.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Toby from USA on 2014-02-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Sturdy and compact. Seems to be very accurate and display is great.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:With some cheap LED lights from Lowes this thing worked great indoors. Accurate and reliable. Good product.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Peter from USA on 2013-07-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Strong and compact box.
      Things I would have changed:Make the steel plate in the front behind the Chrony sticker a lot thicker. I hit mine with a 25 cal JSB pellet by accident. Believe it or not, it knocked a .25 diameter plug out of the steel but it did not go through the plastic sensor housing behind it. Lucky me! I hammered it out flat, sprayed it red, and it's still working.
      What others should know:If you have trouble and are getting err1 or err2 (when the first or second screen does not read the shot), take a Harbor Freight cheap 24 led two way light ($3.99) and fasten it to the top of the skyscreen pointing at the sensor window below. One in the front and one in the rear and it never misses a read.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Ron from USA on 2013-05-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:wors good
      Things I would have changed:had to clean out the mounting threads with a die. diffusers are a bit fussy to use
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Bill from USA on 2013-05-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Chrony was simple to use, just unfold it and start shooting. Operation was straight forward, had data in a few minutes.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing!
      What others should know:Only problem would be adjusting lights for indoor use. I hung a over head light above the unit, @100 watt bulb worked fine.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2013-03-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:That it folds up in half. I’m able to fit all the parts in a small shoebox size storage container. I have used it with diffusers installed under non-fluorescent shop light and it worked great, also used without diffusers during day time and again worked great.
      Things I would have changed:The way the wire connecting the two sensors together moves when folding the chrony case. Care must be taken to make sure it stays inside case sides or it can be pinched when closing. I have seen these with a regular round wire bundle and also with a flat ribbon (which stays in place when folding). Also it would be nice if there was more space when closing to allow the installation of metal shields to protect the plastic sensor case. I almost forgot. The diffusers needed some slight modification to get a better fit between pieces. Some snapped together and a couple required some minor filing because the tab end was wider than the notched slot. I did this because the parts were getting stressed when installed on the chassis.
      What others should know:Beware of the angle of your barrel when shooting across this device because it is not just the front sensor that is in danger of being shot. A friend brought his chrony over and I managed to shoot the back sensor housing. Fortunately I only broke the casing and not the actual sensor. I repaired with JB epoxy and it is fine. I bought him a new one and took the newly customized one. The front sensor is semi-protected by the chrony housing, yet a strong pellet gun could shot through it. I added a removable ¼” aluminum plate to the front and also the back sensor. On the back sensor protective plate I have added some rubber (old mouse pad) to absorb the shock in case it gets hit again. These have to be removed or the case will not shut. The other thing I did was to add a center line stripe on each plate to make it easier when lining it up. It can be difficult sometimes to line up so both sensors are in line with the barrel and target. The sensors are only 1 ¼” and are easy to miss. Last tip. When installing the diffusers, lay the plastic assembly flat on the table with the rods/poles inserted into the diffuser and not the sensor case. When picking up the assy, pull the two rod ends slightly towards the center as you pick up. This will put a curve in the diffuser shields which will keep them together and will also allow the rods to be inserted easily into the sensor housing. The diffusers rods fit in the chrony at an angle and the plastic attachment points on t
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Barry from USA on 2013-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Works great, even in our basement. Just have to turn off the fluorescent lights and use an LED light kit. Provides good feedback of pellet velocities at various PCP air pressure levels.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:As stated above, it does not work with fluorescent lighting. Manual is very helpful.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By John from New Zealand on 2012-12-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The unit is compact, easy to asemble and very easy to use. The incorporation of a standard camera tripod screw attachment is a bonus. The screen extension is also a good feature.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Initially I had a minor problem with the electronics of the unit but this was rectified promptly by the manufacturer. The service from both Pyramid Air and Chrony was first class considering I live in New Zealand. The unit has been tested using an air rifle , a rimfire and a centrefire rifle and it performed perfectly. I would not hesitate to recommend this product to other shooters.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2012-09-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The portable display rules. Everything about this device is quality.
      Things I would have changed:Nope
      What others should know:Get skyscreen lights if you plan to use indoors.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2012-09-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I like the compact size that it folds into for storage! The remote screen is a plus for viewing numbers after the shot! Works really well, while using to test my different Air rifles!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing! I like it like it is!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By jczhotbull from USA on 2012-06-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Diseño compacto, la longitud del cable puede cubrir cualquier requerimiento, una bateria de 9v, conectar prender y listo...
      Things I would have changed:La forma de colocar los difusores, requiere doblarlos un poco y el mio en menos de una semana ya una de las bases donde se coloca el alambre a uno de los difusores esta a punto de romperse por la tension al doblar... deberia mejorarse ese sistema, y para disparar con .177 o 4.5mm wow debes colocar el arma casi a 4 o 6 cm del primer sensor para estar seguro que el diabolo pase bien derecho por ambos sensores, un minimo movimiento y tienes error en cualquiera de los dos sensores... deberia de poseerun rango mayor de captura del diabolo.
      What others should know:Funciona excelente luego de prepararlo muy bien y alinaerlo con el arma a usar.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Greg from USA on 2012-04-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Nothing - doesn't work at all.
      Things I would have changed:Make it work - and stop selling it until it does.
      What others should know:I am calling PA tomorrow to get a refund on this junk. The unit I received flat did not work at all under any lighting conditions. I was only able to get the chrony to register velocity a few times by putting a large piece of white legal paper over the entire unit in bright sun - but the paper would blow off at the slightest wind. I tried it on sunny days and cloudy days with and without the sun shades exposed to open sky and under a porch cover. Shot straight over the sensors from 1" to 5" above the sensor. Nothing worked. Every now and then it would register a velocity and otherwise it would just read error 1, error 2, and no reading at all. Don't buy this unit unless you read some online reviews saying they copped to the problem and fixed it.
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

        By Phillip from USA on 2012-03-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:fun when it reads...
      Things I would have changed:more sensitive pickup, my beeman eco 9.65grn alloy .22 pellets only trigger error1, my 14.66 ftt 5.53's read 3 of 8 fired, read 8 of 8 finally after using 21.14grn h&n's
      What others should know:doesnt pick up small low density pellets at all...
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Peter from USA on 2011-12-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Ease of use; compact- folds up in an easy to carry and store unit; Accurate; gives read-outs of not only fps but in a series: high fps, low fps, average fps, extreme spread and standard deviations; Grate value for the money- I can remember when owning a chronograph was way out of the average persons budget. Thanks Chrony!!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. This unit has everything your typical range rat could ever want.
      What others should know:You must buy the lighting accessory if you plan on using it indoors. While the Chrony itself is a great value, the lamps are quite overpriced for what you get. That being said, the chrony and light package together is still a great value, just a little less so due to the overpriced lamps.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By old dude from USA on 2011-08-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The very competitive price, fast shipping.........! chrony worked perfectly, and the remote display is out of the way of stray pellets.
      Things I would have changed:nothing...
      What others should know:Getting ready to tune hw97k. It's shooting 850fps with a broken spring. With the chrony I'll know how good the tune is, and be able to determine what the gun is shooting in the future. Any serious spring piston airgunner should have one of these invaluable tools.........
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By keith from USA on 2011-01-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It works great. Simple and easy to use. You definitely need to invest in a tripod if you are going to use this in front of a benchrest at a gun range. I used it to test my new Air Arms TX200 MkIII with the Air Arms 4.52 .177 pellets. I was getting slightly below and above 900 feet per second with these pellets. FPS dropped to 836 with the JSB Exact Heavy pellets. I think I will stick with the 4.52 pellets.
      Things I would have changed:Lots of little parts. Once I took the chrony out of the factory box I couldn't get all of the pieces and parts to fit back into the box. Don't throw the factory box away.
      What others should know:You need a 9 volt battery for this chrony.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2010-07-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I had the F1 and would much rather the Alpha Master for a few more dollars. The portable screen keeps it out of the way of stray pellets that my F1 screen was unable to avoid on a few occasions....
      Things I would have changed:I would make the front of the Chrony thicker to protect the first sensor.....
      What others should know:Changing the angle that the projectile crosses the sensors can and will change the speed that the Chrony detects dramatically.... A gun being shot across a Chrony needs to be secured so that it shoots along the same path each time for maximum accuracy in recording speeds......
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Richard from USA on 2010-07-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Rapid problem identification. Identified problems immediately on one air rifle and air pistol. I knew the rifle was weak, but not that weak, and I was clueless that the pistol was that bad until I saw the results.
      Things I would have changed:nothing, fantastic product.
      What others should know:A must if you like keeping your air guns tuned, it really takes the guess work out.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Dale from USA on 2009-10-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Compact and ease of setup.Helps to check the preformance of mods,ammo,pressures,and difference in fps with each setup.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:Fast shipping and fair price from pyramid air.
    • 12 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top