Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    Shooting Chrony F-1 Chronograph, Green reviews - page 1

    Pre-order


    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2012-05-26 06:57:57

    Things I liked:In a word: Simplicity. The unit is also accurate (I compared it to my PACT chrono).
    Things I would have changed:I'd shroud the wiring; it could be possible to crimp/cut/damage the wiring or insulation if one weren't attentive when closing-up the unit.
    What others should know:This is the unit to own for those quick checks & as an aid in airgun tuning. Everything fits easily in a small tote or range bag.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:1.0

    Value for money:1.0

    By Victor from USA on 2014-01-22 18:16:47

    Things I liked:Works sometimes ...
    Things I would have changed:Make it more reliable, less sensitive to lighting, easier to reliably make work.
    What others should know:For almost a hundred bucks, this is almost a piece of junk. I normally don't write reviews but am compelled to do so here to warn others of how bad this product really is (don't believe the hype). This thing is very sensitive to how you have it set up to the exact lighting conditions in order for it to work properly. For the occasional user, be prepared to become frustrated and waste lots of ammo. It works better for slower guns. For example, I was able to get it to work pretty consistently on one afternoon on my Beeman P17, which clocks in at approx. 365 FPS. But in that same afternoon, I was only able to get 2 readings out of 20 shots fired from my faster DROZD (which clocks in at approx. 590 FPS).
    Sort by:
    • 123 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Kim from USA on 2014-05-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:For the money, this is a good chronograph. It has a place in the bottom for tripod mounting that is really snappy! I like the green coloring, too. I hooked up a momentary switch I made and can thus page through the data of my shots (low, high, avg, etc...)
      Things I would have changed:I'd make it less light fussy.
      What others should know:The auxiliary input lets you hook up a chrony printer or momentary switch to collect all of the data: low, high, avg, es and sd.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Willis from USA on 2014-04-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great build quality. Love the compactness of the fold-up design. Works great for airguns and .22LR, but haven't tried it on larger calibers yet.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing....
      What others should know:Get the carry bag. Everything fits, including the screens and supports, even the optional printer.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Unknown Infidel from USA on 2014-04-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It's not too hard to operate. Only one switch. It needs alot of direct lighting to make it work. In order to use it inside I had to use both of my livingroom lamps with bare bulbs sideways hanging off a tv tray over each sensor in order to get any kind of readings. Half of my readings error out. I'm guessing that is because of the lighting I have to use.
      Things I would have changed:Make it more indoor friendly. This thing is only one part of what you need to operate it indoors. Everything else they call accessories.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By jerald from USA on 2014-03-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to assemble, easy to use, easy to carry, works great and the part I like best, it's easy on the wallet. I had to have it to chrony my pcp air rifles for tuning.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing.
      What others should know:Mine is accurate and gets the job done.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By bud from USA on 2014-02-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Works great, easy to assemble and operate. Received package on time.
      Things I would have changed:All readings were lower than Mfgrs. specs. I will do more testing and report. Nothing really to change. Some of my remarks would be better applied to gun Mfg. specs.
      What others should know:I'm glad I read instructions warning against using fluorescent lighting. Never gave that one a thought. So, turn off all halogen and fluorescent lights above chrony.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Nils from USA on 2014-02-09
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Simple to set up and use. Seems to give a reliable reading.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing
      What others should know:If you have an airgun that can be tuned you need a chronograph.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Lefty from USA on 2014-02-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Memory and statistics on up to 32 shot string. Count shot totals past 100 shots which is handy for counting gun CO2 shot capacity. Selection of arrangements for aiming guide rods and diffuser pieces. Long capacity battery power for chrony electronics.
      Things I would have changed:Better organize the user's manual so that all of the available features are more clearly explained. Downgraded the Value for Money rating because they wouldn't spend a couple dollars for a push button on the unit to cycle through the data that it stores. Shouldn't have to buy the accessory button unit or printer to get at the features it has built in.
      What others should know:The timing gates are quite fussy about the lighting source they need to function reliably. I decided the best setup for my indoor use is a totally enclosed hood over the unit to block all the stray light and provide artificial light sources above each diffuser. Firing over the timing gates needs to be precise requiring a well positioned down-range target to ensure the timing gates don't miss a projectile passover.
    • Overall rating:1.0 1.0

      Value for money:1.0 1.0

        By Victor from USA on 2014-01-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      2.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Works sometimes ...
      Things I would have changed:Make it more reliable, less sensitive to lighting, easier to reliably make work.
      What others should know:For almost a hundred bucks, this is almost a piece of junk. I normally don't write reviews but am compelled to do so here to warn others of how bad this product really is (don't believe the hype). This thing is very sensitive to how you have it set up to the exact lighting conditions in order for it to work properly. For the occasional user, be prepared to become frustrated and waste lots of ammo. It works better for slower guns. For example, I was able to get it to work pretty consistently on one afternoon on my Beeman P17, which clocks in at approx. 365 FPS. But in that same afternoon, I was only able to get 2 readings out of 20 shots fired from my faster DROZD (which clocks in at approx. 590 FPS).
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By William from USA on 2013-08-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Works perfect, even with some overcast skies. Easy setup, just install a 9 volt battery and turn it on. Excellent value for the money.
      What others should know:Be careful and not pinch the wire inside, it has a tendency to move over to the edge when you are folding it back up for storage. If you are collecting data at far distance you need to be sure to set a concrete block of something in front of it that will stop of deflect a bullet or projectile, so as you don't accidentally shoot it. Just make sure you projectile goes over it between 4 to 6 inches for it to read properly.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Vernon from USA on 2013-08-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:It does measure over a wide range of velocities.
      Things I would have changed:If it doesn't read a projectile, it can give err 01 or err 02. The only way to clear 02 is to turn it off and on again.
      What others should know:Mine is sensitive to lighting conditions, prefers to be out of the sun or indirect lighting. You must have proper lighting for it to work correctly. The best sensing range is a few inches above the photoreceptors. Always know your bullet path, and protect the front of the chrony or you will wind up shooting it! I actually clipped the back metal trying to figure out the proper height for the projectile above the sensors. I’m going to be use some ¼” thick aluminum pieces to cover the front of the display and back sensor to give it a little more protection.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By John from USA on 2013-06-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy set up and simple to operate. Withing 10 minutes of unpacking and reading directions I was shooting thru it.
      Things I would have changed:Id add a cheap carrying case to keep the rods and chrony stuff together. Not a deal breaker if you dont.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Mag from USA on 2013-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Portable/Foldable, works well indoors and outdoors, and very accurate - was able to compare to a friend's much more expensive unit. All you really need to understand the performance of your airgun
      Things I would have changed:Add a carrying case to transport where I need it -- not a big deal though
      What others should know:You could pay more but you really don't need to. Its got all you need
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By joshua from USA on 2012-11-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:VERY HIGH GRADE STUFF YOU NEED IT IF YOU WANT TO KNOW HOW YOUR AIR GUN IS PERFORMING BUT ITS NOT JUST FOR AIR GUNS. ANYTHING THAT CAN FIT THROUGH THE CHRONOGRAPH. YOU CANT GO WRONG WITH THIS TRUST ME FOLKS.
      Things I would have changed:WORKED WITH A WALL OUT LET MAYBE
      What others should know:TOP OF THE LINE CHRONOGRAPH FOLKS
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Maria c from USA on 2012-08-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It feels sturdy and lasts a really long time on one battery! Has helped a lot.
      Things I would have changed:Sometimes when you close it you can pinch the wire that connects the second eye. But if you watch when you close it it won't happen.
      What others should know:BUY ONE!! A chronograph is so helpful! I've played with my ,marauder settings and had it shooting very inefficiently. With this chrony I got it almost right and shooting 40-50 shots consistently! I put all the numbers on my tablet and then got a app for charts and graphs, and it helps even more getting a grasp of everything.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Edward from USA on 2012-06-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy to setup
      Things I would have changed:nothing
      What others should know:Impossible to tune a PCP with out a chronograph
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Franklin from USA on 2012-06-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Low cost and easy to setup
      Things I would have changed:Perhaps a light sensitivity adjustment for indoor use.
      What others should know:I had to put two spotlights above it to use it indoors. I have a 10yd indoor range so I do most of the chrony testing indoors. It still doesn't work on every shot. I might need to do some adjusting of the illumination.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

        By Jim from USA on 2012-05-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:In a word: Simplicity. The unit is also accurate (I compared it to my PACT chrono).
      Things I would have changed:I'd shroud the wiring; it could be possible to crimp/cut/damage the wiring or insulation if one weren't attentive when closing-up the unit.
      What others should know:This is the unit to own for those quick checks & as an aid in airgun tuning. Everything fits easily in a small tote or range bag.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Brandin from Canada on 2012-05-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Simple and easy to use, folds.
      Things I would have changed:Offer it for cheaper or at least include light diffusers.
      What others should know:You cannot use these in a fluorescent lit room but halogen worked fine for me.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

        By Ernesto S from USA on 2012-04-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Compacto, fácil de transportar, útil y simple. Cumple su objetivo!
      Things I would have changed:El precio, es un poco alto para ser un producto tan simple.
      What others should know:Debe tener cuidado al usarlo porque en caso de fallar el tiro, el pellet golpearía directamente el display. Para aprender a usarlo correctamente es mejor visitar la pagina de chrony directamente.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Sverre from Norway on 2012-03-13
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Easy and simple to use and ok value for money. High quality metal construction. Compact size, just fold it together when not in use. Brilliant!
      Things I would have changed:1. One model should read both feet and meters... 2. A manual that actually can be read.. 3. Lower price...it is after all a very simple construction, basically consisting of two lightmeters, wire and display!
      What others should know:Difficult to find a reason to buy a more expensive model unless you have very, very special needs. Though easy to figure out how to set up; The manual is a joke! Some barely readable papers with half of the text missing from the pages..(manufacturer should at least buy a new xerox machine..).
    • 123 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top