Date: 26/9/2016 9:31
0

UTG Scope Mount Base, Fits RWS Diana 48, 52, 54 & 460 Magnum with TO5 Trigger, Compensates for Droop & Stops Scope Shift reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Ryan from USA on 2010-06-24 11:35:07

Things I liked: Very solid. Integrated stop in the front is nice. Screws feel very strong without the feeling that they're going to strip out when getting tightened down.

Things I would have changed: Maybe 4 screws instead of 3 on the clamp.

What others should know: This mount compensates for 17" of barrel drop. It was way too much on my RWS 54. I installed it with a brand new Leapers 3-12x44 SWAT scope and I needed to shim under the scope on the front scope mount.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

By David from USA on 2014-11-01 09:25:57

Things I liked: Solid construction but careless machining with poor quality control.

Things I would have changed: Pay attention to customer complaints. Some may appear without merit until you study the full complaint.

What others should know: The machining was done so the item could not be used as designed without material alteration by the customer. Original was returned to Pyramyd who promptly sent another with the same flaw "BUT" with marks showing it had been used and without doubt returned by another frustrated customer.

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Smaug from USA on 2016-08-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Just the thing to make mounting a scope feasible on Diana recoilless rifles with barrel droop. Price is fair, quality is good.

    Things I would have changed: It should be longer so it can extend rearward over the whole rail of a Diana 54 or 56, and let the shooter have and affordable scope (read: short eye relief) mounted comfortably far back. Use blue thread locking fluid. If this is not possible, due to it having to accommodate the 460, make two different versions. Until that happens, get yourself a high quality scope with long eye relief. (ex. Burris Timberline 4-16x33)

    What others should know: The hook goes over the FRONT of the built-in scope mount, not the back. If you've bought any of the rifles this is advertised for, you should get it, and a set of Weaver rings to go with it. and some blue loctite.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By richard from USA on 2015-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: price

    Things I would have changed: No quality control on the finished part and could not be used as I received it. The dove tail cut radius that ended at the front stop was not fully relieved by the side cut. A small portion of the radius remained and the front stop would not contact the front of the dove tail rail on the gun. I had to get out the dremill tool and grind away on the part until the interference was removed. Either poor design or poor machining with no quality control to inspect the feature dimension. Without the modification I made the part was useless

    What others should know: without modifying the part it is defective

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jim from USA on 2015-07-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Product is well made, and easy to install. Works well on my Diana 54 Air King -- now at about 1000 shots post-install -- and my Diana Model 52 (newly installed). I used blue Loc-Tite and have not had any problems.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: It does add quite a bit of height, so you may well want low scope rings -- depending on the bell diameter of your scope.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from New Zealand on 2015-03-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great value for money! Easy to fit to the rifle and works well.The fitting instructions are very clear, and I really don't see why the mount base couldn't be fitted to other models.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: Nothing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Wolf from USA on 2014-12-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This mount works perfectly. Does not move. Would buy another if needed.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Pete from USA on 2014-11-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I use this mount on a RWS 54 Air King and it has held rock solid for many thousand shots. I like that there is a center stop pin in the mount.

    Things I would have changed: The mount sits a bit high necessitating low rings for scope mounting.

    What others should know: All of these UTG droop compensating mounts seem to work best with low rings on most rifles.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By David from USA on 2014-11-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid construction but careless machining with poor quality control.

    Things I would have changed: Pay attention to customer complaints. Some may appear without merit until you study the full complaint.

    What others should know: The machining was done so the item could not be used as designed without material alteration by the customer. Original was returned to Pyramyd who promptly sent another with the same flaw "BUT" with marks showing it had been used and without doubt returned by another frustrated customer.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Vincent from USA on 2012-06-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good fit on the factory dovetail. Numbered slots on the rail. Comes with proper wrenches for installation and good instructions. Good amount of elevation change, and the scope is not too high if mounted with low rings. Looks good on the rifle, which can't be said of a lot of other airgun mounts.

    Things I would have changed: I would make this rail slightly longer, with more adjustment to the front. RWS 48 rifles have a short length of pull, which requires the scope to be mounted further forward for proper eye relief.

    What others should know: This is a good quality scope base at a very reasonable price.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ron from USA on 2012-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It's a very solid mount

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: no

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Carl O. from USA on 2012-02-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The unit is very well built and fits perfectly. It was supplied with extra screw and recoil stop which was thoughtful. Also the hex tools came in handy for a quick installation. Original packaging is also handy to store extra screws and hex keys for future use.

    Things I would have changed: Make in USA

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2012-02-07
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Really keeps the scope from shifting.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing....

    What others should know: Works best with the lowest rings you can find... I recommend the B-Square Low Sport Utility Rings, which have a double set of scope lockdown screws.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Smaug from USA on 2012-01-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Looks like it would work great, if you have a T05 trigger. (read on)

    Things I would have changed: Make a version to work on the newer Dianas with the T06 trigger.

    What others should know: As they say in the red fine print below in the item description, it is not the right one for the newer rifles. Nowadays, it will only work on a used one with the older trigger. I'm a dummy for missing this and ordering it any way, but there you have it. I'm posting this in the hopes that someone else will read the reviews but not the full item description, like I sometimes do. ;)

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike Mason from USA on 2011-12-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very well made

    Things I would have changed: Make it longer so it will fit the RWS rifles with the T06 triggers

    What others should know: Will NOT fit RWS rifles with the T06 triggers, as stated in the online description on Pyramyd Air’s website. Yet they include it on the package deal, I got with my RWS model 54. When I called Pyramyd Air, the promptly sent me a different adapter, and told me I could keep the UTG base and rings. They took good care of me and am sure they would do the same for anyone else, but they should fix the package deal, so all the parts fit together.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By David from USA on 2011-12-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a solid professionally mount. Looks great.

    Things I would have changed: Make it longer so a scope could be mounted closer to the shooter if needed.

    What others should know: This mount gives lesser compensation than the DN 034 but barely so and still far too much for my RWS 350. I am told a far lesser compensator is coming out presently. OH BOY!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By primo from USA on 2011-12-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: This product is well made and it serves a very important purpose on any RWS rifle for which it is to be used. Don't even try putting regular mounts on these rifles they kick like mules and the shock damages the rifle and scope. The droop compensator is comes in very handy depending on your rifle.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: It you can make it work on other mag rifles like the Gamo socom extreme it's a very good deal.

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By David from USA on 2011-11-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is a solid mount on my RWS 350. That's all that I found good about this one. The one I have moved the point of impact 2+ inches to the right at 25 feet relative to several other configurations I tried before buying the DN 460. It also gave me no elevation improvement from the DN 034 which gives an advertised greater compensation. In fact when I returned to the 034 in desperation the impact moved down in stead of up. Definitely a waste of money in my case! I should have shimmed and saved a bunch of consternation.

    What others should know: I gave both UTG and Pyramyd extensive info on my attempts and each said basically the same. (Yup! Airgun scopes are problematic. Read this manual and keep trying.) Not much help at all!!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By johnny from USA on 2011-08-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: everything, built like a tank.

    Things I would have changed: nothing

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Anthony from USA on 2011-05-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Things I liked: Rock solid

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Andrew from USA on 2011-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: sturdy and mounts tightly. Weaver mounting base instead of dovetail. great price.

    Things I would have changed: nothing at this price

    What others should know: I mounted this on an older RWS 48 in .177 to see if it actually will hold up to some heavy recoil. So far so good. I have shot at least 800 pellets out of the gun in the last week and the scope is still sitting where it started. My arm is sore from cocking this rifle but the mount has not loosened at all. I did use some blue loctite on the threads to be sure. The piece that prevents movement on the front of this mount is a slight bit big. I was able to sand down a small amount to make it sit just shy of the receiver. It engages the factory mount perfectly and sits level. Once you lock this down it isn't moving. I did have an RWS c mount on before which worked well. The only trouble is the scope rings are 1 inch and I wanted to install a 30mm scope. The weaver mount is also great at keeping the rings from moving. I do like a one piece mount since it looks cleaner but at this price and since the mount fit so securely, I don't mind the seperate rings. It also gives me more options as to size of scope barrel. I was also able to mount a peep sight to the rail which I played with for a hundred pellets. Kind of neat getting the open sight to sit way back on the receiver instead of where the factory sight is installed. Was actually very acurate at 20 yards off a rest with the peep sight. Nice surprise. If the scope failed on a hunting trip, I can install the peep and keep going. I like this mount.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2011-04-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: This base comes in two versions, each designed for specific RWS Rifles, the model numbers accompanying the literature. I put this on an RWS 52, and there is no more scope shift or creep. The built in droop compensation allows the scope to remain very close to its optical center, without approaching the scope's limits up or down. I mounted a pair of the new Hawke low profile rings with four screws per ring-cap. The Leapers 3 x 9 x 50, a heavy scope, doesn't move. I had it zeroed in at the standard 10 meter aigun distance in five shots.

    Things I would have changed: The front shoulder and the rear stop pin keep this thing anchored in place with zero movement. As an option, offer this part without the front extended 'shoulder' so that it can also be used with rifles other than Diana/ RWS.

    What others should know: I filed the front shoulder off the second unit and put it on the TX-200, and it works beautifully. Torque for the base mount screws is 30 inch/ lbs, Hawkwe ring bases 20 inch/ lbs, and ring-caps 15 inch/ lbs.

  • 1234 Next
Navigation