Williams Diopter Sight reviews - page 1

Add to CartIn-stock
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Fred from USA on 2014-05-28 16:14:03

Things I liked: accuracy, easy install, sights in quickly, fast delivery and excellent support

Things I would have changed: alternate sizes for aperture would be a nice addition to accommodate various light conditions

What others should know: I have the Williams peep sights on a Crosman Phantom, and on both a Benjamin 392 and 397. My accuracy has improved significantly. If you're a target shooter, your groups are going to close dramatically and if you hunt small pests you'll be making humane head shots with ease.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

By Greg from USA on 2015-08-09 16:35:37

Things I liked: Fits the HW30S

Things I would have changed: Add target knobs, add micrometer adjustments, decrease the size of the aperture.

What others should know: I would have bought a better sight if there were one available but this was the only item that fit the HW30S. Works ok, and is fine for the price, but I would have spent more to have a better sight.

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Athanasios from USA on 2015-08-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fits and works on most Air Rifles.you can spend $70 to $100 or buy this which is One of The Best for Less !

    Things I would have changed: Nothing !

    What others should know: Don't buy One,buy 2 or more they are Great Peeps !

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2015-08-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy installation. Good diopter size for hunting in low light. The relatively small outer diameter of the diopter and slimline frame allow for good vision of the target area. The black finish is durable. I had no problem in adjusting the sight. The vertical adjustment can be precisely adjusted by turning the small lock screw on the top next to the diopter. Of course the larger lock screw has to be loosened for this.

    Things I would have changed: While the slimline frame allows for good vision, I think it should be a little heavier with a lock screw on the outboard end of the "L" on which the diopter sits. I experienced enough movement under recoil to affect groups from a bench rest, even though all existing lock screws were tight. I suspect there would be a risk of bending or breaking the upper L if it were bumped, which could be a problem in the field. The addition of a windage screw would be helpful. The sliding diopter is difficult for me to adjust.

    What others should know: I am a fan of peep sights in general and Williams sights in particular. I prefer them over scopes for distances under 30 yards. This model notwithstanding, I find them to generally be well made, precise, and easy to shoot, with quick target acquisition. I used this model on two of my air rifles, an RWS 34 classic 22 caliber springer, and a Hatsan 95 Vortex 25 caliber. The sight held zero with the RWS better than it did with the Hatsan, but of course the two rifles use different power plants and have different recoil. Because I was concerned about bumping the sights in the field, and because the sight's screws kept working loose on the Hatsan, I replaced both of them with the Williams FP-AG TK dovetail mount, which I think is a better choice.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Greg from USA on 2015-08-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fits the HW30S

    Things I would have changed: Add target knobs, add micrometer adjustments, decrease the size of the aperture.

    What others should know: I would have bought a better sight if there were one available but this was the only item that fit the HW30S. Works ok, and is fine for the price, but I would have spent more to have a better sight.

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By ahkell from USA on 2015-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: once adjusted, it is a very accurate rear sight and very easy to use.

    What others should know: Sighting in is fiddly and involves loosening and tightening down of screws for each adjustment. Unfortunately it is not a question of so many clicks this way or that, it is much more tedious and hit or miss. Requires patience.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By zach from USA on 2015-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love peep sights in general and since my Bam 28 was so much fun with open sights (and limited in range as a 25 cal) I put one on to try tit out and cant put this rifle down now. It has become my favorite to shoot with this sight on it.

    Things I would have changed: Posts on both sides so; that there is no chance of bending the top rail

    What others should know: Such a huge improvement if you already have a globe sight up front!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2015-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Mounts easily into the 11mm dovetails. Adjustments for windage and elevation work very well and are not difficult to use.

    Things I would have changed: Add a level

    What others should know: Very good sight at a moderate price. Fits nicely with the existing front sight on my air rifle. Once sighted in it produced some nice groups.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Milton from USA on 2015-05-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The sight is easy to mount. The sight improved my accuracy with the gun I was using (Beeman Sportsman Dual Caliber w/RS2 Trigger).

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see the windage and elevation adjustments be a micrometer type adjustment. As it stands now, you have to loosen screws and adjust the sight manually. This may be required several times before getting the sight adjusted to where you want it set. Hence the 3 rating.

    What others should know: This is more a function of the gun than the sight, but the elevation adjustment is set higher than I desire it to be. However, there is still some room for adjustment. I ordered a scope rail to mount the sight up higher and to give more play in the elevation adjustment. The sight fit on top of the rail, but the rail did not fit on the rifle's dovetail.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By zach from USA on 2015-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to set up and fun to shoot with

    Things I would have changed: Include multiple apertures

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BigUglyHat from USA on 2015-02-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quick target aquisition!I got williams peep sights on a 45-70,22mag,mini14,28Ga slug gun,30/30 & a Ruger 10/22. Now i have 1 on the Ruger Yukon,may get 1 for Ruger Air hawk. its a Williams that speaks for it self. All metal,This model has no click adjustments,no turn knobs...nothing to snag on. Once locked down,remove elevation screw,its not doin anything,or shouldnt being bearing any wieght or force. Blue Loktit is a must for all my applications. I got one on my 45/70 w/ the turn knobs on it,just kept getting snagged,still does,just something else to be extra careful w/. Drive me nuts sometimes. I like this version the best. Streamline. 1 on 22mag been zeroed in for 25 years. As an old skeet shooter i simply dont need a scope under 150yrds im into quick target aquisition. Its what we used in the Army up to 300m. Father has old ww2 rifle collection so i grew up using peeps. Now im older & these are great w/my eyes.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, check pics.Williams makes diff models if you want some thing diff.

    What others should know: Ruger Yukon came w/ cross cut reciver for Weaver & the mount,i removed a section of this & put the peep sight in the middle using the back section as a stop for the peeps,the front section i can mount a light or laser on or high rise mount to see peeps threw. This platform has many options. Plus..kinda gives the Yukon a Mini 14 type look. The level of hieght adjustment you see is actual hieght zeroed at 25yrds (as a reference) The fiber optic sights on the front worked fine out side for reg shooting,but was too big indoors in low light & small bulleyes targets. Front optics came loose w/in 2500 rnds so instead of super gluing it back i shot threw the hole wich got tiresome as it was too small for me, so i used a wood file to file front sights down to a point. Still plenty of adjustment left. Used gold metalic marker to outline diopter for low light. I use this rig in barn around Horses in low light for coons & possums. Quick,Quiet,Lethal. Really happy w/it. Recomend to all.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Pat from USA on 2015-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to set up. fine adjustments, seems to be rugged. Used on my RWS with the factory sight rail.

    Things I would have changed: Metal peep versus plastic.

    What others should know: Pyramid Air got it to me fast and well packaged.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2015-01-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I mounted this on a RWS 460 MAG in 22 cal. So far it has worked just fine. I have a peep on my Mod 36 and I can shoot just as good as a scope at 40yds or less. I'm hoping that this will work the same. This gun has a reputation for eating scopes, so I hope this will avoid that. I like the removable peep insert as I have some different ones to play with. The height of this sight is just right for RWS guns which have a high front sight.

    Things I would have changed: The clamping screws are tiny. It looks like there is enough surface to go with the next size screws. I may ream and tap if these don't hold.

    What others should know: I gave a 4 star value for money mainly for the tiny screws and the clamping method used for the windage adjustment. It only goes so far and then you must move the screws to another hole. While this works, it is not just a simple adjustment. None of these issues are deal breakers, this should work just fine as long as it holds out under the recoil of this 460.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By clarence from USA on 2015-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: improves open sight accuracy for essentially a lower cost; parts appear well fitting and well finished

    Things I would have changed: lower the cost even more...

    What others should know: will stay snug and fit over the dovetail better if you can drape any special fiber or flexible plastic sheet (over the dovetail) prior affixing the side clamp of the sight

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By michael from USA on 2014-11-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Sorry, wasn't enough windage for my application. Sent it back.

    Things I would have changed: For the price nothing. If you want more features buy more features

    What others should know: Look careful at what your getting & remember once set it should be good for a long time.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By dennis from USA on 2014-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: works well..i dont like the tiny screws to adjust dove tail width... striped mine out right away..didnt see the lock down screw... but now that i know about it ...i would imagine go easy on the adjustment screws.....the sight is very fast ..easy to find target...keeps groups in a 1 inch pretty easy

    Things I would have changed: change the adjustment screws out for a knobbed screw instead of cap screws....they should be finger tight only anyway and are easy to stripp the allen head

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ray from USA on 2014-07-18
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Easy to install. Fairly easy to adjust. Looks good.

    Things I would have changed: I wish the windage adjustment was just as easy as the elevation adjustment.

    What others should know: This is my second Williams sight. I have them installed on a Benjamin 392 and a HW50. I much prefer this over a notch sight, and the increased sight radius really improves the accuracy over most stock sights. Buy one and try it. You won't know how good these are until you try it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By SCOTT from USA on 2014-06-21
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: EASY TO MOUNT AND GOOD VIEW. I ALWAYS REMOVE THE SMALL APATURE SO I CAN LINE UP A SHOT QUICKER. I USE IT FOR HUNTING AND WORKS GREAT

    Things I would have changed: NOTHING

    What others should know: BE SURE AND CHECK ALL SCREWS FOR TIGHTNESS.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Fred from USA on 2014-05-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: accuracy, easy install, sights in quickly, fast delivery and excellent support

    Things I would have changed: alternate sizes for aperture would be a nice addition to accommodate various light conditions

    What others should know: I have the Williams peep sights on a Crosman Phantom, and on both a Benjamin 392 and 397. My accuracy has improved significantly. If you're a target shooter, your groups are going to close dramatically and if you hunt small pests you'll be making humane head shots with ease.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Willis from USA on 2014-04-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Seems to be well made. Works well on the IZH MP61 abbreviated dovetail.

    Things I would have changed: Needs a smaller standard aperture. Out of the box it's more like a ghost ring than an aperture sight.

    What others should know: A little pricey, but this sight is a great alternative for the IZH 61 standard rear sight.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Athanasios from USA on 2014-04-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent Peeps at Low Price

    Things I would have changed: Nothing!

    What others should know: This is a Great way to upgrade any Air Rifle with factory sights !Buy One or Two !

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2014-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: It is a Williams receiver sight, good quality, and works as expected.

    Things I would have changed: I would like to have the target turrets on this unit, but they are not available.

    What others should know: I bought it to use on a Ruger American Rimfire, as expected the front sight is too short to work with this receiver sight, but no others seem to be available for this rifle at the current time.

  • 1234 Next
Navigation