Date: 3/12/2016 21:37
0

Williams Diopter Sight reviews - page 1

Add to Cart

In-stock

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

By Fred from USA on 2014-05-28 16:14:03

Things I liked: accuracy, easy install, sights in quickly, fast delivery and excellent support

Things I would have changed: alternate sizes for aperture would be a nice addition to accommodate various light conditions

What others should know: I have the Williams peep sights on a Crosman Phantom, and on both a Benjamin 392 and 397. My accuracy has improved significantly. If you're a target shooter, your groups are going to close dramatically and if you hunt small pests you'll be making humane head shots with ease.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

By Vihren from USA on 2016-05-15 09:36:50

Things I liked: Solid metal construction

Things I would have changed: Windage adjustments

What others should know: Adjustments for windage and elevation are very clumsy. The one for windage is adjustable by hand which makes accurate settings practically impossible.

Sort by:
  • 1234 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jerry from USA on 2016-07-30
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This sight is well made for the price.

    What others should know: I have fat fingers and it is difficult to manipulate the little screw that locks the dovetail backup wedge in place. I have tried it on 3 rifles and haven't been able to match it up to the front sight that comes with the gun. it sits too high and wont lower enough to bring the shots on target.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    By kevin from USA on 2016-07-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the second style of willaims peep I have purchased. This unit is sturdy and has stayed zeroed after encountering the typical handling and slight bumping a rifle would normally encounter. All the connections tighten down well and are rock solid.

    Things I would have changed: Not much, it would be nice if Williams would make an insert pack with popular different sizes so you could change the hole size for different shooting scenarios. It seems they all screw in the same threads so you could make a universal kit to sell separately.

    What others should know: I always say that the fasteners are marginal on these willaims sights. The screw quality is good but the slots are very shallow. Be very careful when selecting a screw driver to tighten the screws. Also you will need to disassemble the sight to mount it. It is very easy, once you realize that is what is needed. Switch back and forth snugging the Allen headed screws down and don't drop that little wrench! This setup is pretty good on my hw30s. I use the post and bead front insert and it seems to be a winning combination. The hole is larger than I would have liked so I moved the sight down the dovetail further from my eye to make the hole appear smaller. It has worked well for the target shooting and light pesting (sparrows) I use the rifle for.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Art from USA on 2016-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a great fit for Nitro Piston, Ruger Blackhawk and Airhawk, Winchester Springers, and the economy Hatsan in .25. Much better than bad plastic rear sights that this class of springers come with in box. I have read so many comments about mag springers being "scope destroyers" this is a logical alternative for close and mid range.

    Things I would have changed: One word: CRUDE. I have Beeman peep sights from '90s. They actually are click adjustments with knobs to turn. This is the closest I could find on PA site. But the Williams site works great on my $100 Fury NP. Still, an upgrade to click movements - even with price hike - would be worth extra $. Beeman produced one with small screws that a mini screwdriver could operate. Williams could do that. The windage is a piece you slide side to side and then screw down. It can work, but look to small notch in front of sight hole, in good light, to line up with lines. The elevation is functional; just make sure to tighten lateral screw on left side to lock down elevation arm, when ready, after adjustments.

    What others should know: For gas spring users, in addition to heavy ammo like JSB Monsters or Beasts, make sure to Loctite lateral screws on peep site and scope stop. Even with 25 grain Monsters that REALLY slowed down my NP, and made my Fury useful, easier to shoot, and accurate, the jolt still backed out screws. Loctite Blue.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Matthew from USA on 2016-05-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Good construction, very solid, very rugged, and very accurate on my Hatsan 100X.

    Things I would have changed: Add a stop pin that is built in, and increase the amount of lateral adjustment you can provide. Mine is currently almost maxed out to the left to get my rifle to shoot properly.

    What others should know: This isn't a top-of-the-line sight, but it is top-notch. If you purchase it, be prepared to make concessions and have some slugs nearby. I was pretty salty about it for about an hour until I got it sighted in, but once I did I couldn't be happier.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Clay from USA on 2016-05-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Crisp and clear, can use as a ghost ring sight by removing aperture disc.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. Simple and works.

    What others should know: Stock blocks downward elevation changes. Requires inletting upper stock on left side.Something I will not do on my 50S. Restricts ammo choices to heavier pellets which print higher on target. Mine has target knobs which I like.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Vihren from USA on 2016-05-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Solid metal construction

    Things I would have changed: Windage adjustments

    What others should know: Adjustments for windage and elevation are very clumsy. The one for windage is adjustable by hand which makes accurate settings practically impossible.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Roneld from USA on 2016-05-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: worked on a Marksman 1792 rifle

    Things I would have changed: needs a smaller peephole

    What others should know: no

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BigWoodHat from USA on 2016-01-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Williams quality. Fit right on a Hat 155 Vortex .25. Has not budged. Plenty of adjustment on every Hatsan Ive used them on. Diopter easily drillable.

    What others should know: Williams works great on everything i own. Had it Zeroed in 12 shots out of the box, using rear sights to line it up before i removed them. Vortex is so smooth it hasnt moved. I drilled out Diopter to .125. It comes w/ a .093. I use them from 17yrds indoor to 100yrds outdoor. I have these on/or have used them on Hatsan 125, 150, 155, Edge & Turkish Webley. Ive had plenty of adjustment to play w/.

  • 3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Charles from USA on 2016-01-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Price

    Things I would have changed: Almost run out of travel moving it to the left on HW30s. HW50s and HW 95s Must be a HW Williams thing. But they still work.

    What others should know: For air guns buy the one with the adjusting knobs. Easier to use when changing pellets!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BigWoodHat from USA on 2015-10-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Williams Quality, I own several on several diff rifles over the years. This 1 is streamline which I like, I have 1 w/ the knobs also.

    What others should know: Ive made a few comments on this one before. I got this one for Hat 150. Needs a stop on the front and back to keep secure. Non Magnums haven't required any stop. I also drilled out Diopter hole bigger. Removed fiber optic in front sight and use it like a ghost ring because its a humungus sized front sight on the Hat 150 As a suggestion, put the platform on first and shoot it a few times, then lock the platform down w/ blue loktit let it set up. Then put the elevation platform on, line it up w/ your rear site before removing it. I haven't ever had to use loktit on the elevation platform. Really simple don't get frustrated, play w/ it first. I have totally stripped one out before but I repaired it w/ red loktit and it has never moved, it resides on the AirHawk which has no recoil. Webley Spector required front & rear stop also. Another suggestion-don't put all the way to rear of dovetail, the taper at rear of dovetail grooves on Spector will act like a wedge and pop it off.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Athanasios from USA on 2015-08-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fits and works on most Air Rifles.you can spend $70 to $100 or buy this which is One of The Best for Less !

    Things I would have changed: Nothing !

    What others should know: Don't buy One,buy 2 or more they are Great Peeps !

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Wayne from USA on 2015-08-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy installation. Good diopter size for hunting in low light. The relatively small outer diameter of the diopter and slimline frame allow for good vision of the target area. The black finish is durable. I had no problem in adjusting the sight. The vertical adjustment can be precisely adjusted by turning the small lock screw on the top next to the diopter. Of course the larger lock screw has to be loosened for this.

    Things I would have changed: While the slimline frame allows for good vision, I think it should be a little heavier with a lock screw on the outboard end of the "L" on which the diopter sits. I experienced enough movement under recoil to affect groups from a bench rest, even though all existing lock screws were tight. I suspect there would be a risk of bending or breaking the upper L if it were bumped, which could be a problem in the field. The addition of a windage screw would be helpful. The sliding diopter is difficult for me to adjust.

    What others should know: I am a fan of peep sights in general and Williams sights in particular. I prefer them over scopes for distances under 30 yards. This model notwithstanding, I find them to generally be well made, precise, and easy to shoot, with quick target acquisition. I used this model on two of my air rifles, an RWS 34 classic 22 caliber springer, and a Hatsan 95 Vortex 25 caliber. The sight held zero with the RWS better than it did with the Hatsan, but of course the two rifles use different power plants and have different recoil. Because I was concerned about bumping the sights in the field, and because the sight's screws kept working loose on the Hatsan, I replaced both of them with the Williams FP-AG TK dovetail mount, which I think is a better choice.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    By Greg from USA on 2015-08-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fits the HW30S

    Things I would have changed: Add target knobs, add micrometer adjustments, decrease the size of the aperture.

    What others should know: I would have bought a better sight if there were one available but this was the only item that fit the HW30S. Works ok, and is fine for the price, but I would have spent more to have a better sight.

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    By ahkell from USA on 2015-07-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: once adjusted, it is a very accurate rear sight and very easy to use.

    What others should know: Sighting in is fiddly and involves loosening and tightening down of screws for each adjustment. Unfortunately it is not a question of so many clicks this way or that, it is much more tedious and hit or miss. Requires patience.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By zach from USA on 2015-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love peep sights in general and since my Bam 28 was so much fun with open sights (and limited in range as a 25 cal) I put one on to try tit out and cant put this rifle down now. It has become my favorite to shoot with this sight on it.

    Things I would have changed: Posts on both sides so; that there is no chance of bending the top rail

    What others should know: Such a huge improvement if you already have a globe sight up front!

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joseph from USA on 2015-06-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Mounts easily into the 11mm dovetails. Adjustments for windage and elevation work very well and are not difficult to use.

    Things I would have changed: Add a level

    What others should know: Very good sight at a moderate price. Fits nicely with the existing front sight on my air rifle. Once sighted in it produced some nice groups.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Milton from USA on 2015-05-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The sight is easy to mount. The sight improved my accuracy with the gun I was using (Beeman Sportsman Dual Caliber w/RS2 Trigger).

    Things I would have changed: I would like to see the windage and elevation adjustments be a micrometer type adjustment. As it stands now, you have to loosen screws and adjust the sight manually. This may be required several times before getting the sight adjusted to where you want it set. Hence the 3 rating.

    What others should know: This is more a function of the gun than the sight, but the elevation adjustment is set higher than I desire it to be. However, there is still some room for adjustment. I ordered a scope rail to mount the sight up higher and to give more play in the elevation adjustment. The sight fit on top of the rail, but the rail did not fit on the rifle's dovetail.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By zach from USA on 2015-05-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to set up and fun to shoot with

    Things I would have changed: Include multiple apertures

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BigWoodHat from USA on 2015-02-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quick target aquisition!I got williams peep sights on a 45-70,22mag,mini14,28Ga slug gun,30/30 & a Ruger 10/22. Now i have 1 on the Ruger Yukon,may get 1 for Ruger Air hawk. its a Williams that speaks for it self. All metal,This model has no click adjustments,no turn knobs...nothing to snag on. Once locked down,remove elevation screw,its not doin anything,or shouldnt being bearing any wieght or force. Blue Loktit is a must for all my applications. I got one on my 45/70 w/ the turn knobs on it,just kept getting snagged,still does,just something else to be extra careful w/. Drive me nuts sometimes. I like this version the best. Streamline. 1 on 22mag been zeroed in for 25 years. As an old skeet shooter i simply dont need a scope under 150yrds im into quick target aquisition. Its what we used in the Army up to 300m. Father has old ww2 rifle collection so i grew up using peeps. Now im older & these are great w/my eyes.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing, check pics.Williams makes diff models if you want some thing diff.

    What others should know: Ruger Yukon came w/ cross cut reciver for Weaver & the mount,i removed a section of this & put the peep sight in the middle using the back section as a stop for the peeps,the front section i can mount a light or laser on or high rise mount to see peeps threw. This platform has many options. Plus..kinda gives the Yukon a Mini 14 type look. The level of hieght adjustment you see is actual hieght zeroed at 25yrds (as a reference) The fiber optic sights on the front worked fine out side for reg shooting,but was too big indoors in low light & small bulleyes targets. Front optics came loose w/in 2500 rnds so instead of super gluing it back i shot threw the hole wich got tiresome as it was too small for me, so i used a wood file to file front sights down to a point. Still plenty of adjustment left. Used gold metalic marker to outline diopter for low light. I use this rig in barn around Horses in low light for coons & possums. Quick,Quiet,Lethal. Really happy w/it. Recomend to all.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Pat from USA on 2015-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Easy to set up. fine adjustments, seems to be rugged. Used on my RWS with the factory sight rail.

    Things I would have changed: Metal peep versus plastic.

    What others should know: Pyramid Air got it to me fast and well packaged.

  • 1234 Next
Navigation