Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    AirForce Talon PCP Rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5 (11 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5

    Value for money:5

    Accuracy:5

    By Rob from USA on 2008-01-26 00:37:07

    Things I liked:Great accuracy, not to bad in the noise department, easy to carry and looks sexy.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing that i know of at the moment.
    What others should know:Be sure to get a high scope mount and throw a nice scope on this one. I havent even formally sighted it in and im able to nail things out 55-ish yards away the size of something half the size of a coke can or so with ease. The trigger might look a little cheap from the picture, but it feels great...forms well to your finger and low poundage, nice and crisp. As stated earlier, im able to take out the lids of gatorade bottles at 55 yards or so, this thing is a lot of fun. Also, if your looking to put a bipod on it, a regular one for like a normal rifle wont work even with the swivel stud set, the piece its supposed to rest on isnt big enough...you'll have to buy the one the company makes itself.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4

    Value for money:3

    Accuracy:3

    By Karl from USA on 2014-03-22 11:28:04

    Things I liked:Nice and light and easy to carry. Has plenty of power for my needs. Best accuracy for me is with a power wheel setting of 7. My rifle shoots best with JSB Exact 15.89 grain pellets, but the Crossman Premier HP is a close second.
    Things I would have changed:Trigger is not nearly as nice as other PCP rifles I've shot. Mine breaks cleanly at 2.5 pounds with no creep and is fine for hunting I suppose, but it would be nice to have an adjustable trigger to get the pull weight down.
    What others should know:Gun was delivered with an improperly made spin-lock bushing. The tank would not index properly on the frame. Once it was tightened, to get it loose, I had to flood the bushing with Kroil and use a plastic hammer with the spin-lock wrench to get the tank off. In doing this, scratched the anodizing off the frame in two places. I contacted AirForce about the problem and emailed pictures of the stuck tank. AirForce customer service acknowledged some of the guns were shipped with out of tolerance spin-lock bushings and apparently, I received one of them. AirForce sent a replacement bushing and wrench which I received the next day. The replacement bushing resolved the indexing problem, but the scratches remain. Accuracy is okay, about like my RWS 48 spring gun. My FX Typhoon will shot rings around the Talon though.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:3 3.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By Karl from USA on 2014-03-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Nice and light and easy to carry. Has plenty of power for my needs. Best accuracy for me is with a power wheel setting of 7. My rifle shoots best with JSB Exact 15.89 grain pellets, but the Crossman Premier HP is a close second.
      Things I would have changed:Trigger is not nearly as nice as other PCP rifles I've shot. Mine breaks cleanly at 2.5 pounds with no creep and is fine for hunting I suppose, but it would be nice to have an adjustable trigger to get the pull weight down.
      What others should know:Gun was delivered with an improperly made spin-lock bushing. The tank would not index properly on the frame. Once it was tightened, to get it loose, I had to flood the bushing with Kroil and use a plastic hammer with the spin-lock wrench to get the tank off. In doing this, scratched the anodizing off the frame in two places. I contacted AirForce about the problem and emailed pictures of the stuck tank. AirForce customer service acknowledged some of the guns were shipped with out of tolerance spin-lock bushings and apparently, I received one of them. AirForce sent a replacement bushing and wrench which I received the next day. The replacement bushing resolved the indexing problem, but the scratches remain. Accuracy is okay, about like my RWS 48 spring gun. My FX Typhoon will shot rings around the Talon though.
    • Overall rating:4 4.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:4 4.0

        By Jeff from USA on 2012-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:How many airguns have their own airgun geeks club? The talon does! A bunch of pelletheads all gather together online and compare and show off their talons to each other. some peoples kids, huh? The talon is not just an airgun. the talon is a whole shooting system. You can have interchangeable barrel lengths, four different calibers, and different power plant options(hpa or CO2), you can have several airguns in one package. The talon is a great entry level into the world of PCP airguns. Even without all the extras, the talon, taken on its own merits is a rock solid airgun. The talon Is very simple and sparten by design, but the simple straightforward desgn is what makes it so powerful.
      Things I would have changed:Out of the box, the talon is a fine shooting machine with a bit of room for improvement. there are a couple of quirks that are easily overcome. one of them is the safety. it seems just out of reach when you are wrapping your finger around the trigger, and if youve already drawn a bead on your target and forgotten to switch it to fire. you may find yourself missing your shot entirely, when you have to have to lower the gun to switch it to "fire".
      What others should know:If youre already into PCP guns than you most likely have necessary sundries. the scuba tank to fill your HPA tank is a must. the air force hand pump can be a real headache. The hand pum is subject to failure and has one of the o-rings that needs replacing on occasion. The replacement can be done at home by someone with a good set of tools and above average mechanical skills, or it has to be returned to the manufacturer for repair. When the pump is working well, you get about ten PSI per pump. its a long way to 3000 psi at that rate. Also, the talon loves heavier pellets. I like shooting a .25 cal. thirty five grain domed pellet that will blow through a green 2x4 at twenty yards. by changing to a twenty four inch barrel, you can increase the muzzle velocity quite a bit. One of the things that makes the talon very cool, is the tuning and mods that can be performed to give it even more power. there are people out there that do just that, tune talons. that is why the talon has its own group of airgun geeks that show off their own personal tweeks and modifications that theyve made on their talons, talon SS, talon Ps and condors.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Yolanda from USA on 2012-07-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Solid construction. The only thing that sounds when I shake my gun is the safety pin, which by the way, works perfect. I have seen many airforce airguns that have the numbers pasted like a sticker but with this one they came painted to the plastic dial, good work there. Haven't shot it yet since I'm waiting for pellets and some parts but it seems that is going to be a success. The high room you have for customization. Turning it into a .177 .20 .22 and a powerful .25 caliber gun. THE TRIGGER is AWESOME but shamefully its plastic. The trigger on my Air Arms TX200 is a dream to shoot, but the trigger on the Talon is even softer and very predictable. Its NON ADJUSTABLE. The ''butt pad'' is a SOLID PIECE OF METAL. I thought it was plastic too. Love that!
      Things I would have changed:The plastic parts, both of them and the trigger too. They look and feel like a cheap bb gun. For 500 dollars they should had came at least with some quality hard plastic parts at least. Telling you the truth, I can't think of something else I would have changed.
      What others should know:This is my first pcp air rifle. Bought it with a Hill Pump, so make sure you get the right adapters. What I did to save money was just get the AirForce 1/8" and 1/4" BSPP Refill Adapter. Just screw one part to the Hill pump hose and leave it there, the other part screws to the bottle.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Momot from Ukraine on 2011-12-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I take three days, a complete delight! Superb! Distance of 50 m, a group of five shots, the expansion of no more than 0.02 m. It is a powerful and beautiful rifle! High quality, good price.
      Things I would have changed:A shot from a rifle is very loud, you need a silencer. I want to buy in your store for many more products. I live in Ukraine. Shipping and customs clearance is very expensive. Please add a lot of different ways of payment and delivery for the people of my country.
      What others should know:A shot from a rifle is very loud, you need a silencer. We'll have to make a silencer. Balloon pump clogged, great exercise! :) Download the cylinder in the evening - to shoot in the morning, shake bottle during the day - to shoot at night. I liked it! Attention, the rifle is very powerful - the danger.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By ENRIQUE from USA on 2011-09-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have my Air Force Talon for about 2.5 years and I liked it..... I just bought the barrell 24" in 6.35 (.25) and all of a sudden I built the most impressive rifle among the many air rifles I have. The Talon gives me 50 shoots at 46 ft/in.... Enough power for anything from coyote to squirrell..... Amazing power at amazing accuracy and a lot of shoots per load.
      Things I would have changed:"24" barrell .25 cal. from factory..... Unbeatable.
      What others should know:Wow with this combination..... Ah!!!! I forgot..... this whole power rifle is 2.5 kgs., scope incuded.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By ckfortenberry@sbcglo from USA on 2011-08-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:everything !
      Things I would have changed:the safty takes a little getting use to
      What others should know:10 shot group at 100 yds. with the 24in. barrel is a shocking three/eights of a in. jsb diabolo 15.9 exact the scope is good for 50yd. at 100yd. for 71yr. old eyes the cross hare needs to be sharper
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:4 4.0

      Accuracy:3 3.0

        By Dongsheng from USA on 2010-12-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:very good. but I need more springs. when I do the decomposition of the air gun, the spring was lose.
      Things I would have changed:need more spring
      What others should know:very good.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By David from USA on 2010-10-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      11 rating
       
      Things I liked:no lo puedo creer el talon es liviano super comodo super preciso a 35yrd y es que es con co2 no puedo esperar a usar el taque de air comprimido.un tanque de 20 onz de co2 dura bastante lo recomiendo
      Things I would have changed:nada
      What others should know:compren muchos pellets es adictivo
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Alex from USA on 2009-08-31
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:AMAZING rifle : quick to reload, very accurate - shot after shot the grouping remained solid - even interchanging different maker's pellets (same weight).
      Things I would have changed:I'd like to know how much air pressure is left in the tank - rather than guesstimating based on the number of shots fired.
      What others should know:the specifications show the noise as "3 - medium". It is definitely louder than that - think 0.22LR
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By nrafan from USA on 2009-02-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Best buy on the market---Amazing accuracy and ease of use.Powerfull and very well made in the USA.
      What others should know:Buy the tri-rail and use a good scope to bring out this rifles potential.My favorite of my seven rifles.
    • Overall rating:5 5.0

      Value for money:5 5.0

      Accuracy:5 5.0

        By Rob from USA on 2008-01-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Great accuracy, not to bad in the noise department, easy to carry and looks sexy.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing that i know of at the moment.
      What others should know:Be sure to get a high scope mount and throw a nice scope on this one. I havent even formally sighted it in and im able to nail things out 55-ish yards away the size of something half the size of a coke can or so with ease. The trigger might look a little cheap from the picture, but it feels great...forms well to your finger and low poundage, nice and crisp. As stated earlier, im able to take out the lids of gatorade bottles at 55 yards or so, this thing is a lot of fun. Also, if your looking to put a bipod on it, a regular one for like a normal rifle wont work even with the swivel stud set, the piece its supposed to rest on isnt big enough...you'll have to buy the one the company makes itself.
    Over
    ammo packs sold