Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    FREE USA GROUND SHIPPING
    Continental USA. On orders $150 and up
    Cannot be combined with coupons.

    AirForce Talon SS CO2, Adapter, 12-oz. CO2 Tank reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    4.5 (6 reviews)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Horace from USA on 2009-07-10 19:55:25

    Things I liked:Light! Accurate beyond belief right out of the box! Tons of accessories. Fairly quiet. Can be made nearly silent with a little patience and some reading on the Talon Chat Room.
    Things I would have changed:Second stage trigger adjustment. 3 lbs is good, but it could be great, given a bit of a nudge in the ounces of pull direction. Release is acceptable, but not really "crisp". The CO2 bottle could be angled downward, and give the shooter a better sight plane to look down. It's "ok" the way it is, but again, it falls just shy of being "Great!". So near, yet so far....
    What others should know:Buy this rifle! At 33 feet, zero magnification, BSA red dot optic, right out of the box, I put three .017 pellets in a .020 hole! That was free hand, sitting, elbows on my knees, no bi-pod or other rest. My friends....THAT's accurate! I am very pleased, and am preparing to get a second barrel to expand my shooting experience.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:3.0

    Value for money:4.0

    By Michael from USA on 2009-07-14 09:32:38

    Things I liked:Looks cool. Lots of shots from Co2 tank. Trigger is decent. No pumping! Nice short gun.
    Things I would have changed:Ergonomics. The tank makes for a lousy stock. Unless you get high scope mounts or the tri-rail accessory, your head will always be tilted looking through the scope. Of course raising the scope up higher makes sighting in the gun very range specific and some scopes won't have sufficient elevation adjustment which means drooper scope mounts (added cost). Scope is too high to begin with.
    What others should know:Forget 700 FPS in .177 caliber. Mine is running around 595 FPS with a 7.9 grain pellet at 70 degrees F. Rather disappointing since I specifically wanted a new gun with a higher muzzle velocity than the others I have. I'll probably wind up trying HPA which then means adding a pump or scuba tank for refills. I would have been happy with the Co2 if it really produced 700 FPS as advertised. I realize Co2 is temperature sensitive but everything I've read seems to indicate that even at 85 degrees I may only be around 625 FPS. Overall, I wish I would have had a chance to try the gun before purchasing. Pyramyd's 15% re-stocking fee + shipping would mean I would be out $75 if I returned it at this point. I'm thinking the Benjamin Marauder may have been a better choice for me.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Andrew from USA on 2010-10-05
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuracy, lightweight, short, and very well made that feels solid and comfortable to shoot. A very attractive gun ideal for small game, and easier to carry than a heavier spring piston.
      Things I would have changed:The Talon SS CO2 is not as quiet as I expected. The firing mechanism is quite loud, and the report from the rifle is louder than I expected from a gun with a compensator. I have a .22 spring piston rifle that is slightly quieter than the Talon SS CO2. Also, the CO2 gun loses a little power if you shoot often in a short time period . Even though the Talon SS is a high quality gun, it is pretty expensive for a rifle that shoots slower than the average .22 springer.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jim from USA on 2010-01-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything! This is my first adult (read expensive) airgun, and it lives up to my wildest expectations!
      Things I would have changed:I'd like to see some accessories aimed specifically at the CO2 tanks, like a cheekpiece (the tank gets cold) and a rubber butt pad to keep the back of the bottle from slipping around on your shoulder. Minor quibbles, the gun shoots GREAT!
      What others should know:This gun is fantastic for just general shooting. It's light, compact, and accurate. Since I do most of my shooting indoors at 10 meters, I found the trigger to be acceptable out of the box and getting better with use, even if it's not technically a target trigger. The SS shroud gives me sufficient separation with open sights for target accuracy, although I did have to fabricate a front sight base to get the sight up enough to use. I did hang a barrel weight on the end of the lower dovetail, the gun is just a tad muzzle light to hang right (personal preference, you might find it acceptable as is). No regrets, this gun is worth every penny.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

        By Michael from USA on 2009-07-14
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Looks cool. Lots of shots from Co2 tank. Trigger is decent. No pumping! Nice short gun.
      Things I would have changed:Ergonomics. The tank makes for a lousy stock. Unless you get high scope mounts or the tri-rail accessory, your head will always be tilted looking through the scope. Of course raising the scope up higher makes sighting in the gun very range specific and some scopes won't have sufficient elevation adjustment which means drooper scope mounts (added cost). Scope is too high to begin with.
      What others should know:Forget 700 FPS in .177 caliber. Mine is running around 595 FPS with a 7.9 grain pellet at 70 degrees F. Rather disappointing since I specifically wanted a new gun with a higher muzzle velocity than the others I have. I'll probably wind up trying HPA which then means adding a pump or scuba tank for refills. I would have been happy with the Co2 if it really produced 700 FPS as advertised. I realize Co2 is temperature sensitive but everything I've read seems to indicate that even at 85 degrees I may only be around 625 FPS. Overall, I wish I would have had a chance to try the gun before purchasing. Pyramyd's 15% re-stocking fee + shipping would mean I would be out $75 if I returned it at this point. I'm thinking the Benjamin Marauder may have been a better choice for me.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Horace from USA on 2009-07-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Light! Accurate beyond belief right out of the box! Tons of accessories. Fairly quiet. Can be made nearly silent with a little patience and some reading on the Talon Chat Room.
      Things I would have changed:Second stage trigger adjustment. 3 lbs is good, but it could be great, given a bit of a nudge in the ounces of pull direction. Release is acceptable, but not really "crisp". The CO2 bottle could be angled downward, and give the shooter a better sight plane to look down. It's "ok" the way it is, but again, it falls just shy of being "Great!". So near, yet so far....
      What others should know:Buy this rifle! At 33 feet, zero magnification, BSA red dot optic, right out of the box, I put three .017 pellets in a .020 hole! That was free hand, sitting, elbows on my knees, no bi-pod or other rest. My friends....THAT's accurate! I am very pleased, and am preparing to get a second barrel to expand my shooting experience.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Michael from USA on 2009-05-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I have put a couple thousand pellets through mine, and I love it. I get my CO2 tanks refilled and just keep shooting. This is my 6th air gun (the others were spingers). They sometimes shot very well, but I never believed the stories about consistent 1-hole groups untill now. High accuracy and consistency. Very simple to set up and use. Overall, this is a very well-designed and high quality machine. I shoot in my basement at night and in bad weather, and the Talon SS is quieter than my springers.
      Things I would have changed:Not much. I think that they should provide (or at least offer) a butt plate. I bought one for a 12 oz tank and one for my 20 oz. Check the paint ball stores online, but check the inner diameter. Some tanks are different. Also, AirForce needs to provide a manual specifically for the CO2 variant. The DVD is very good, but it also focuses on the air rather than CO2. The AirForce accessory bar requires the air tank (no place to connect it on the CO2).
      What others should know:I mounted a UTG bipod on an old UTG 11mm to picatinny mount I got to compensate for barrel droop on my RWS. I mounted it on the bottom rail and then mounted the cool and inexpensive UTG Deluxe Picatinny Foldable Metal Bipod from Pyramyd. Here in Colorado, I get my tanks refilled at the local sporting goods store (Sports Authority). $2.50 to $3.00 per refill and 400-500 good shots per tank. I like the option to go with air, but I have taken two squirrels with CO2 and get plenty of power for target shooting out to 60 yards, so I'm wondering why I would go to all the trouble and extra cost associated with air. Mine is 177 and likes RWS 8.2 g pellets best. I bought the pellet holder and use the velcro straps to hold a nice soft pad around my tank (It can get kind of cold on your face otherwise). The high rail for the scope is necessary given the design which uses the tank as a stock, but it puts your scope way above the barrel. The result is that my scope won't adjust elevation for shooting at ten meters. I have it zeroed at about 15 and it gets very low inside that, so I use the mil dots to compensate. No problem for accuracy, I had to turn to shooting at air soft pellets and aspirin to find something small enough for a target at 10 meters.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dave from USA on 2008-03-23
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Light weight, easy to use. I like the ease of using the CO2 as it gets many more shots than the High Pressure air. Also filling is as easy as going to the paint ball store. I also like the fact that if I want to use it with the high pressure air no, mods to the gun are required. Just change out the tank. The DVD that came with it was very good. I'm glad I took the time to watch it before running off and just shooting the gun. The scope rail worked great.
      Things I would have changed:It's not as quite as I had hoped. So I'm shooting a heavy pellet to help with that. I have found the noise varies greatly with the velocity of the pellet. The Crossman pellet so far is the quietest.
      What others should know:This is a super gun system. It was designed to be able to upgrade as you want. There are lots of options available for it. It's easy to change out the barrel to a different caliber if you would like. The CO2 is in liquid phase, which means the pressure at a given temperature will stay the same over the bulk of the shots.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top