AirForce Talon SS PCP Air Rifle, Spin-Loc, Blue reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

4.0 (8 reviews)
5 star:4 star:3 star:2 star:1 star:
(7 votes)(1 vote)
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By anthony from USA on 2011-06-03 01:25:14

Things I liked: I have been into airguns for quit a few years and have did all the chrony stuff and experamented with differant pellets and any thing else you can do with a BB gun. It says on the box that this gun is for adults only, it is correct. this is the most powerful, most accurate most dependable air gun I have ever had. Forget all the sites that sell hopup kits for this gun, it is AWESOME right out of the box. If you are ever going to buy a serious , quiet, killing machine, this is it.,

Things I would have changed: I got the blue one, the scope I mounted weights more than the gun.Send free JBS pellets.

What others should know: Not for beginners, This gun is serious.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:4.0

By feel31 from France on 2012-05-29 11:52:59

Things I liked: This is a rifle that has a great look and is lightweight, easy to handle, and very slight, its accuracy is perfect (with good pellets like H & N and JSB, both with round heads). The dovetail rail runs the length of the barrel until the beginning of the handle, it's really handy !!

Things I would have changed: Add a fill fitting for the air tank in the accessories in the original box. Offer a version with a longer barrel with integrated silencer.

What others should know: it is a shame that no filling connection is provided in the original box ...

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeffrey from USA on 2015-02-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Just about everything. This gun is great. Light, very accurate, and a very good platform to build upon. This gun is also extremely quiet and can be fired indoors or the back yard (proper backstops obviously) without any worries about neighbor complaints about noise.

    Things I would have changed: I am not crazy about the plastic grips, but I suppose it keeps the weight down on the gun.

    What others should know: If you were like me and a little nervous about the price on these guns (especially if it is your first PCP) don't be! This gun is worth every penny. exceptional quality and accuracy right out of the box.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bradley from USA on 2014-01-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is an amazing gun. I've had it for about 2 months now and all I can say is wow. I can stack pellets at 50 yards and depending on the day maybe even 75 yards. I can smack sparrows easily around the farm with this gun. If you buy this you will not be disappointed. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Things I would have changed: Really there's only a few things I would change. One being the but plate. It isn't THAT bad but if you plan on doing lots of shooting of long periods of hunting it can get a little annoying. Also if the scope rail could be a little higher since I'm a rather big guy ;)

    What others should know: If you are going to scope this gun which most do. You almost NEED to get high profile rings. This is for most people, if you are a little smaller or hold it differently you should be fine. Overall this is a wonderful gun :)

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Phillip from USA on 2013-05-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Picked up a .22, Very light, easy to get through the brush with, consistent enough (for not being tuned) 1" groups @ 50 yards are as simple as a steady rest. It groups better than my .25 condor did when it was new, but many upgrades later my condor will put 49fpe into a .4" group @ 60 yards using 25.4 JSB's or Polymags. If I can get that kinda result from a 12" barrel I will be amazed, but I am more than happy with the performance I'm getting from it stock.

    Things I would have changed: but-pad on tank isn't comfortable for long shooting sessions. Very Pellet picky, the beeman silver bear almost slides through the barrel and the ftt 14.33's are very tight. Include the sound-loc kit from the factory, the endcap helps but its still surprisingly loud if the hammer preload wheel is over 3.

    What others should know: Filling to 2800psi gives the best consistency for me and I have tried a plethora of pellets (ftt 14.33, Premier HP's, Barracuda 21, polymag 16, beeman silver bear 12.65, etc, but so far to get tight groups I'm stuck with JSB 18.13's (PW on 5.5) and 15.9's (PW on 5). My tank leaks pressure slowly, about 150-200 psi overnight. Pyramyd air didn't have any tanks so I called AF and they sent me one out the next day, I just have to mail this leaky one back to them when the other gets here. Pretty good CS but snail mail delivery of parts is kinda bad.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Animus from USA on 2012-08-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: For the price, out of the box(stock) is a excellent entry in to pcp air guns. I got the 2011 model no spin -loc in .177 average fps was around 980. At 35yrd it is spot on 5 shot on a dime, 50 yrds in a quarter; price you pay for lighter and smaller rounds. I got 3 types of ammo TF 8.5 pointed, crosman 10.5 rounded, and EJ 16.1 round. All 3 for me performed the same at 35yrds and the EJ's where more consistent at 50yrds plus. I got the pump for it. For the amount of shots you get out of a fill, the effort is fair trade. Will be getting a 24" barrel in the .22 cal for better performance. I did pair this with a leapers 3-12x44 AO swat, it is a little bulky the compact version would be better. The barrel is fixed with 4 grub screws, they do keep the barrel centered and true with the frame.

    Things I would have changed: I would have like to see integrated sling swivels, a basic set of iron sights, and wish it came in anodized orange. Possibly a metal trigger shoe, the plastic one works fine but gives it a toy feel. From a mfg stand point this would kill productivity, but the number one complaint for me is the top hat was too far out for my rifle so it was wasting air. Take a little more time and adjust it to fit the rifle the tank is boxed with.

    What others should know: First thing i did was clean the barrel, 10 swabs to clean the rust. It wasn't a flaking rust, possible metal dust from factory. I did coat the inside with some fp10 let it set 24hr then dry swabbed excess out. WARNING!!! Make sure to keep all patrolium products away from the tank(bad things happen if they get in there serious injury or death is possible) think of how a diesel engine works. This rifle has so much potential with the accessories available and research the web, Airforce has been around a while there are simple thing that can be done to optimize this unique rifle. Be sure to check all you screws a couple on mine where loose, no biggie these are things you should check with any rifle. Like others have said 2800 psi is optimal for the power curve for starting psi. If you take the time to learn this rifle, you will enjoy shooting it. Always safety first and have fun.

  • 3.0 3.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By feel31 from France on 2012-05-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a rifle that has a great look and is lightweight, easy to handle, and very slight, its accuracy is perfect (with good pellets like H & N and JSB, both with round heads). The dovetail rail runs the length of the barrel until the beginning of the handle, it's really handy !!

    Things I would have changed: Add a fill fitting for the air tank in the accessories in the original box. Offer a version with a longer barrel with integrated silencer.

    What others should know: it is a shame that no filling connection is provided in the original box ...

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Adan from USA on 2011-12-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Best pellet gun I have and ever bought, costly but worth ever bit. Bought the SS model in .22 and going to get the 12" .177 barrel after I get the scuba tank. Only one problem need alot of pellets good pellets..

    Things I would have changed: Grips, more comfortable stock end, trigger shoe and pressure guadge on tank.

    What others should know: Keep pellets stocked up....Air Force is always there to help with any question you have...

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Russ from USA on 2011-07-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very quiet. Very accurate once pressure sweet spot is found. Better than average trigger. Very easy to cock and load. Variable power/velocity. Plenty of power for short range (10 to 20 yards) small pests while not alarming the neighbors.

    Things I would have changed: Offer an add-on longer butt plate to increase length of pull. Wastes precious air when shooting fresh tank. Include a sling swivels for slings and front bipod attachment.

    What others should know: Works best around 2800 psi. Be prepared to spend significant amount on pump or scuba tank. Both Pyramid and AirForce folks are pleasant and helpful.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By anthony from USA on 2011-06-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I have been into airguns for quit a few years and have did all the chrony stuff and experamented with differant pellets and any thing else you can do with a BB gun. It says on the box that this gun is for adults only, it is correct. this is the most powerful, most accurate most dependable air gun I have ever had. Forget all the sites that sell hopup kits for this gun, it is AWESOME right out of the box. If you are ever going to buy a serious , quiet, killing machine, this is it.,

    Things I would have changed: I got the blue one, the scope I mounted weights more than the gun.Send free JBS pellets.

    What others should know: Not for beginners, This gun is serious.

Navigation