AirForce Talon SS PCP Air Rifle, Spin-Loc, Red reviews - page 1

Average Customer Review

5.0 (7 reviews)
5 star:4 star:3 star:2 star:1 star:
(7 votes)
Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By ken from USA on 2011-10-25 17:15:03

Things I liked: it's quiet and accurate, also fun

Things I would have changed: the pistol grip could use a a hogue overmold

What others should know: get the cO2 adaptor, it still has good punch and you can shoot all week on a tank. I shot more than a whole 100ct tin of pellets on 1 cO2 fill. I also removed the forestock and used a 11mm to standard rail adaptor so i could install a pistol foregrip that has a storage compartment to keep a handfull of ammo ready with the gun.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By kendall from USA on 2015-08-10 12:37:59

Things I liked: My first impression (have a few years experience handling R&D military weapons) was - WOW this feels great! It really appears to be a balanced, solid base and throws up well. This weapon comes as assembly required. Not very difficult, take your time and it goes pretty quick - this will also help you understand how the power plant works. The included DVD is great starting point. Having dealt with high power energy for my entire adult life - I dialed the power setting to 0 and gave it a couple dry fires. Everything seems to work, so loaded it up and shot it across the field. So quiet, I thought I miss fired, I heard the mechanics - didn't hear any air... Thought to my self, great, already broke it! Did a quick peek down the barrel and didn't find a pellet! Operation Check Stat - time to crank it up. I found about level 3 was a good starting point. Scope 0 was confusing at first (aw! pellets going through the same hole), but now it's shooting shaggy 1 hole groups at 20 meters!

Things I would have changed: This weapon requires about 6 different sizes of allen wrenches. Also, would throw a magnetic foster fitting in the mix - the plastic one just doesn't seem to work all that well. Minor I know, having to hunt for stuff actually! Other than the superfluously stated; this rifle is right on the money.

What others should know: Site picture takes some time to get use too. Trigger location is shorter that I'm personally use to. These are minor; after about 30 shots, I was adjusted. While this sounds like a toy; the impact and accuracy is a weapon. It is almost hole for hole accurate at 20 meters (haven't had the chance to shoot further yet). Hand pumping tanks from dry to 3000 psi is a chore, it sucks, it makes your back hurt, got blisters.... It took me a few hours to get the tank pumped up, due to break times :). However once you get it pumped up, you can maintain it pretty easy. So, if you can find a way to get that initial charge, afterwards the hand pump goes pretty quick.

Sort by:
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By kendall from USA on 2015-08-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: My first impression (have a few years experience handling R&D military weapons) was - WOW this feels great! It really appears to be a balanced, solid base and throws up well. This weapon comes as assembly required. Not very difficult, take your time and it goes pretty quick - this will also help you understand how the power plant works. The included DVD is great starting point. Having dealt with high power energy for my entire adult life - I dialed the power setting to 0 and gave it a couple dry fires. Everything seems to work, so loaded it up and shot it across the field. So quiet, I thought I miss fired, I heard the mechanics - didn't hear any air... Thought to my self, great, already broke it! Did a quick peek down the barrel and didn't find a pellet! Operation Check Stat - time to crank it up. I found about level 3 was a good starting point. Scope 0 was confusing at first (aw! pellets going through the same hole), but now it's shooting shaggy 1 hole groups at 20 meters!

    Things I would have changed: This weapon requires about 6 different sizes of allen wrenches. Also, would throw a magnetic foster fitting in the mix - the plastic one just doesn't seem to work all that well. Minor I know, having to hunt for stuff actually! Other than the superfluously stated; this rifle is right on the money.

    What others should know: Site picture takes some time to get use too. Trigger location is shorter that I'm personally use to. These are minor; after about 30 shots, I was adjusted. While this sounds like a toy; the impact and accuracy is a weapon. It is almost hole for hole accurate at 20 meters (haven't had the chance to shoot further yet). Hand pumping tanks from dry to 3000 psi is a chore, it sucks, it makes your back hurt, got blisters.... It took me a few hours to get the tank pumped up, due to break times :). However once you get it pumped up, you can maintain it pretty easy. So, if you can find a way to get that initial charge, afterwards the hand pump goes pretty quick.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By omar from USA on 2014-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Like that it feels like it can take a beating and lots of space for accesories and the power wheel is nice to have

    Things I would have changed: The price its pretty expensive for a simple looking build..I would hve made a nicer stock more like a maddog style. .did I mention the price hahaha

    What others should know: Great gun with heavy pellets on high power 10

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By joshua from USA on 2012-10-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy is amazing and it shoots most pellets I've shot very well

    Things I would have changed: Interchangeable grips would b nice

    What others should know: It's quiet but still loud enough to get a little attention at night

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2012-06-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: US MADE!! Compact, lightweight and accurate. Lots of information out there as to how to tweak and modify this gun platform for accuracy and/or power. Trigger is OK to good.

    Things I would have changed: Safety system is not so good. As in any gun, don't rely on it. Lots of reports of spontaneous firing as safety is released.

    What others should know: VERY accurate. With JAB Exact pellets shoots 1/2" groups at 30 yards consistently. Conserve air by dialing down the power. Still plenty of power to take care of squirrels at lower settings. There are lots of accessories designed and sold by users available. Look at TalonAirgun.com forums for a great deal of information on this gun/platform since it's release. Also, AirForce is a USA company! I had a missing spin-loc spanner wrench that they quickly mailed out to me.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By morris from USA on 2012-04-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: good power in .25 cal and accurate.

    Things I would have changed: how about a color in green!!

    What others should know: this is my fifth airforce rifle and the finish is great.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ShysterXD from USA on 2012-01-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Lightweight and short. Perfect for my wife (5' 4" tall). Very quite and won't disturb the neighbors. The .25 cal has plenty of power for dispatching squirrels at 50 yards.

    Things I would have changed: I would alter the pad on the stock to be more comfortable and ergonomic. The rail for mounting the sight is too low and requires high to very high ring mounts.

    What others should know: This is my first PCP. Obtaining 3000 psi is more difficult than I imagined. A steel scuba tank is only 3500 psi. So, you will quickly fall below 3000 psi in the scuba tank and be unable to fill the gun to the max level. Pumping requires a lot of effort and time. Best bet is get a nitrogen tank with proper figttings (~$550) or you can use a Shoebox compressor (~$500) which requires you already have a shopo compressor.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By ken from USA on 2011-10-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: it's quiet and accurate, also fun

    Things I would have changed: the pistol grip could use a a hogue overmold

    What others should know: get the cO2 adaptor, it still has good punch and you can shoot all week on a tank. I shot more than a whole 100ct tin of pellets on 1 cO2 fill. I also removed the forestock and used a 11mm to standard rail adaptor so i could install a pistol foregrip that has a storage compartment to keep a handfull of ammo ready with the gun.

Navigation