Air Arms Pro-Sport reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Michael from USA on 2008-10-20 22:54:57

Things I liked: EVERYTHING! The craftsmanship, the balance, the accuracy is unbelievable.

Things I would have changed: NOT A THING!

What others should know: Don't let the sticker price scare you! I was hesitant too, But once I started shooting this gun I was hooked. By far my favorite and the most accurate springer I own. I am yet to find a pellet that his rifle dosen't shoot well. It may not have the hitting power of some airguns but It lacks in power it makes up for with surgical precision. I got mine in .22 cal. If you are serious about airgunning you can't go without having one of these in your collection.

The most helpful critical review

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:5.0

By tomgaylord from USA on 2007-08-08 10:19:16

Things I liked: The sleek looks are great. The hidden underlever in the forearm is nifty. The stock is profiled well for offhand shooting and field target.

Things I would have changed: The rifle cocks too hard. The linkage needs to be revised.

What others should know: This rifle is just as accurate as a TX200.

Sort by:
  • 12 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Richard from USA on 2015-08-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality and beauty of the rifle from the walnut stock to the bluing. And for a springer, the rifle is remarkably quiet. I bought the .22 caliber and couldn't be happier.

    Things I would have changed: Cocking easier.

    What others should know: From the time you open the box, you will immediately notice the quality of an Air Arms product. I also own the TX200 MKIII and 510. The adage that you get what you pay for is particularly true with Air Arms.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By wifishing from USA on 2015-05-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Every thing, from the finishes(wood and metal), trigger pull, accuracy. Top of its class!

    Things I would have changed: Make an thumb hold model.

    What others should know: Do you want to be proud of your air rifle. Buy a Pro Sport.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Russell from USA on 2015-03-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is very nice. I actually got two of these as the first one had a problem, but Pyramyd air fixed it up right away. This gun will shoot one-hole groups out past 40 yards. The trigger is very smooth and predictable. It is not very pellet fussy at all and has shot well with about 90% of the pellets that I have tried. I have settled in on the JSB Diabolo Heavy. It shoots that pellet in the high 700's for a little over 13.6 ft/lbs. It has very little recoil and the muzzle report is very low. I would guess the shroud and baffles are doing their job. Given the weight of the gun with the Hawke 6-24x56 scope, it balances very well and shoots nicely off-hand.

    Things I would have changed: The stock fits shoulders very well, but the finish is not what I would expect of a gun at this price. On the subject of price, this is a VERY expensive gun. It was a bit difficult to pony up this much money for an airgun. I don't think the quality is any better than my R-1 which is over $100 less. The trigger feels very nice, but it is a bit of a pain to get it set up. The instructions were of no help. I had to look at the parts break down of the trigger to determine what each screw did in order to get it to work the way I thought it should. I am at about 500 shots through it and it has gotten smoother, but it still has a bit of spring twang. It does NOT come out of the box shooting like a tuned gun.

    What others should know: It was very hard to spend this much money on a rifle this expensive. It is made very well and it does shoot nicely. I cannot decide if I like this gun better than my R1. The recoil in much more tame on the ProSport. The right-handed stock shoulders much better. The R1 is made every bit as nicely with a better finish on the stock. The Beeman has two more ft/lbs of power and is cheaper. The triggers do feel differently, but to pick one, its a toss-up.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2015-01-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is an excellent rifle. When shipped it was tested with hobby pellets and yielded 785 fps and 14.4 ft. #, but this is a pellet that it does not particularly like. With Crossman premiers it gives 721.6 fps (1" 10 shot groups at 35 yards, and with JSB Jumbo Heavies it produces 635 fps (3/4" groups at 35 yds., with 8 of the 10 in less than 1/2"). Both at over 16 ft.-# of energy. I also have a TX200 in .177, and the Pro Sport is slightly more shootable for me (I like the balance better,as the TX is somewhat barrel heavy). This is probably due to the fact that I am no good offhand and always use a rest of some kind, or pass up the shot.

    Things I would have changed: A sling swivel yoke attached to the front stock bolts so that it could swing forward to clear the cocking lever would be very nice.

    What others should know: Both this gun and my TX200 (.177) are not hold sensitive except for using a very loose grip on the trigger hand. Using a loose grip here seems to shrink 30 yard groups from 1" to 5/8" - 1/2" with JSB heavies in both calibers (these being my best pellets to date).

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By martin from USA on 2014-08-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The accuracy, heft n feel makes it seem like its not even an air rifle at all. Very beautiful gun and still very powerful.

    Things I would have changed: Safety! Sometimes doesn't engage when u cock the rifle u really gotta use force, I suggest one around the trigger guard n the option of open sights to realy test this rifles potential..

    What others should know: This gun is not silent at all. Pretty much jus sounds like a cheap springer u would buy at big 5 but I guess that muffles it good enough for it being a powerful, accurate springer in its own way. But the advertisement does not in any way sound like the real gun in person!!!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Thomas from USA on 2014-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Bought AA Prosport in both .177 and .22 recently--beech stock for the .22 and walnut for the .177 from PA. I shoot them lying directly on a front rest (norman springer artilllery hold not needed) at distances between 50 and 100 feet, sighted in at 20 meters. I cannot believe how accurate and consistent these rifles are with H&N FTT's. The rifles are quite handsome with blueing that seems feet deep.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing. I have no problems with the cocking system.

    What others should know: These are the most accurate springers I have ever shot. I can see why some reviewers consider them the apex of spring rifles. I've chronyed the .22 at 16.8 ft lbs/717 fps. Have not done the .177 yet

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gene from USA on 2014-07-11
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This air riffle is very accurate right from the box, Trigger is really nice.

    Things I would have changed: Very heavy

    What others should know: This riffle is really excellent. No need to modify so many things like other cheaper air riffles.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By david from Mexico on 2014-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the design on the arm, the art on the wood and the comfortable that it feels. I absolutely recomend this.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Is an accurate arm and very comfortable for the buyer.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By 103David from USA on 2013-12-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: In my lucky, lucky life, I've owned a number of very pretty objects, but as pertains to rifles, a brass framed .50 Hawken, and (up to now) a Mannlicher stocked Ruger International have led the pack for pure scuptureal beauty. But at the very, very least, this one ties for the lead. Damn! This thing is pretty! Turns out, everything you've read in the reviews is true. (Not necessarily in any particular order;) It's beautiful, quiet, very accurate, heavy, all the good and bad springerisms (finicky about hold,) supurb quality everywhere, underlever cocking is hefty but if you're generally upright & walking around otherwise, unless you're a total weeine, nothing you can't handle...and you pretty quickly get the cocking knack, excellent trigger, needs little if any tune or change out of the box. At this point, I still haven't had the time to really wring this one out, so stay tuned. Did I mention this is really pretty? Finally, to a potential buyer; The first thing you do is check-out Pyramid's "Refurb, Open Box, Used, Etc" department. You may be astonished at what you find there. I saved well over $100 on the absolutley beautiful walnut stock option (that I really wanted but was trying to talk myself out of.) Life is short, don't fool around, get what you want. The last thing you do before you push the "buy now" button, go for the "10 for 10" deal. Aside having an actual human making sure the thing works, you get something that verifys, within a very few feet, Tom's Blog test.

    Things I would have changed: Not a lot to the object at question, really, but I still fancy iron sights of some sort or another and wish they be more available. Williams seems to be able to provide the rear, but the front sight seems to be a little more problematic. Also, perhaps some sort of viable sling. It's been pointed out that something as purely pretty as this likely shouldn't be subjected to a slung carry in the woods. Maybe so, but I'd still like the option. (Does one want to force Audrey Hepburn to thrash around in the forest? Food for thought.}

    What others should know: I used up a lot of brain-cells and about six-months of examination, stat-comparison, and obsesive-compulsive behavior on selection here. (Josh Ungier has his MD, the Eye Surgeon, I have my MD the OTG Psychiatrist, who's considering a book on me. Some say we're a perfect match.) Your next question is what were the other contenders? Gaylord's TX200, and Air Arms Biathilon. The various contemplated but rejected items are another story for another day, but a lot had to do with not only performance, but esthetics, and what the future may hold for anyone that owns something that can launch a [projectile] of some kind. Be it made of lead, plastic, a pea or a potatoe, sooner or later, somebody is going to try and take it away. I'm thinking at least air (so far) is free and I can stock up on a lot of pellets. Back to the point, after the initial "Wow, this walnut stock is really pretty," comes, upon picking it up, "Wow, this is really heavy!" The other reviews were right. But here's the funny thing, to a military vet and\or a long-time shooter, the next thought is,"...but this feels somehow familier." To cut to the chase, I hauled my Dad's Garand out of the safe, an lo & behold, ProSport steel & walnut stock and scope, vs Garand steel & walnut stock is an almost perfect within a few ounces, wood & Steel match. Who'd have thought? If I can handle an Garand, an M60 or an M14 at 19, we can still do this now. And it'll be a lot quieter.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Loren from USA on 2013-10-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle deserves all the rave reviews it receives online. Accurate, quality, beautiful walnut stock. It sure raises the bar for my next rifle to get over.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Worth every penny. It will spoil you!!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Don from USA on 2013-09-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is everything I hoped it would be. Accurate and very quiet. Fit and finish are excellent the trigger is smooth light and predictable. Pricey yes but worth every dollar spent and the walnut stock is beautiful

    Things I would have changed: There is nothing to change

    What others should know: If you want a smooth cocking accurate competition ready out of the box rifle this is the springer to purchase

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By hoof from USA on 2013-05-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is of the quality of the finest custom center fire rifles costing thousands!

    Things I would have changed: Cocking arm could have been anodized black.

    What others should know: If your sick of inaccurate springer air rifles...look no further, should have got this years ago.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Jeff from USA on 2013-03-25
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Starting out, accuracy was best only with lighter pellets, but with 150+ rounds through it, that has improved considerably with heavier. I had sighted in at 15yds; at 30 yards it's just as accurate and shoots slightly higher, so it's definitely got the power! Once you get a technique for the substantial cocking effort, loading is easy; the chamber is easy to access quickly. Out to 50yds, this rifle is a potent as a rimfire for small game, and more accurate than most shooters.

    Things I would have changed: I don't like that you can't reset the safety if you don't fire; that could be changed. Otherwise, it's a fantastic air gun.

    What others should know: As others have mentioned, it is hard to cock, owing primarily to the short lever. I'm 57 and not as strong as I used to be, but once you get a technique for it, it's manageable. Also it's a 9 lb. rifle, and it's difficult to attach a sling due to the under-lever, but you may be able to find one that attaches to the barrel shroud. However, the extra weight is great for steady shooting. From what I've read, it has a long break-in, and that seems to be the case for me as well. But it'll still shoot ragged holes with most pellets at 15-25yds. Also, it's quiet if you shoot indoors. It flattens pellets thinner than a dime using a steel target stop at 15yds.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By WvAirgunner79 from USA on 2013-02-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This gun is freakn awesome!!! I've got the walnut stock in .177 & it is absoultey stunning. It's by far the best spring gun i've shot. I put a Hawke Ev 3x9x40AO on it & had it sighted in dead on at 20yrds within 10mins.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing except maybe the price.

    What others should know: This gun is expensive,but it's worth every penny! Guns are like anything else in life.. You get what you pay for. If you want an accurate gun that is easy to handle,shoot,& are a serious airgunner you can't go wrong with this gun.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By brian from USA on 2012-10-27
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent feel for offhand shooting Great two stage trigger Excellent long range accuracy

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Cocking force is heavy but once you develop a technique it is not bad

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By keith from USA on 2012-02-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: the best springer you can buy unbelievable accurate the best stock and blueing

    Things I would have changed: 9 lbs. is alot but if you have a rest it doesnt matter

    What others should know: loading for me is a little slow i bought a 177 small pellets but shoots flat Air Arms is really good

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ryan from USA on 2012-01-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Looks Great! Flat underside of the forearm makes it steady.

    Things I would have changed: Ability to re-engage the safety would be nice.

    What others should know: This is fairly hard to cock, but man it's accurate w/ the Air Arms Heavies. One holers @ 11yds off the back of my couch. I like it better than my TX200.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By BJ from USA on 2012-01-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: The prosport has to be one of the finest airrifles I have ever owner, i also own the tx200 which is agreat rifle, but the prosport gets shot the most. This rifle shoots as well as my best 22 longrifle rimfire at fifty yrds. It's a real keeper. Everyone who see's it is impressed.

    Things I would have changed: Others complain about the safety, but I find it a nice way to slow down push it in, breath aim and shoot. I wouldn't changea thing except the price,

    What others should know: Have a look at Youtube, my son did a nice short video with me shooting on our pellet range, Go to youtube type in shooting shack, only 3-4 minutes long, gives you a better feeling of this rile ( complete with music) Truly a terriffic airrifle, easy to clean and tune.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2011-10-02
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very Easy Rifle to shoot. 1/2 pound lighter in Beech Stock. Trigger is great right out of box. Have owned a TX 200 MK III, I like this rifle better. Better balance overall. Cocking effort is a little harder than MK III. Would purchase again. Likes 14.3 Crossman Hollow Points.

    Things I would have changed: Resettable safety.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Joe from USA on 2011-09-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: Excellent Rifle. I ordered this Beech Stock 1/2 pound lighter. The finish on stock looks better than walnut. I have a TX 200 MkIII in walnut.The Pro-Sport is hands down a better gun. It has better balance & less recoil. I can hit a paint ball with it at 30 yards. You cannot go wrong if you purchase this gun. Under lever is a great design.

    Things I would have changed: To be able to re-set the safety without recocking gun.

  • 12 Next
Navigation