Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Air Arms S510 Carbine Thumbhole, Sidelever reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Average Customer Review

    5.0 (8 reviews)
    5 star:4 star:3 star:2 star:1 star:
    (7 votes)(1 vote)
    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By James from USA on 2009-04-07 01:00:00

    Things I liked:Quiet! 14.5" LOP, adjustable power, 10rd repeater, sidelever, 200 bar reservoir, smooth alloy trigger, nice grain in the fancy checkered stock, adjustable vertical buttplate, threaded barrel/shroud to make it quieter if you want. Topped it off with a Hawke 4-12x40A.O. scope and medium adjustable B-square rings, as accurate as it can be held and squeezed.
    Things I would have changed:300bar reservoir, nonremovable moderator, regulator for more shots, sling swivels, forearm rail, synthetic stock version, MPR multi-adjustable trigger
    What others should know:Lots of features at a price also RC mags are the same price as OEM but work MUCH better as they index smoother!!! Figure around 30 accurate powered shots per 190bar fill.
    0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:4.0

    Value for money:4.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By thomas from USA on 2011-12-04 12:14:24

    Things I liked:Excellent design on the thumbhole stock, nice checkering, but the finish is as rough as new hewn lumber. I was appaled at the poor job done on the stock final finish. However, the walnut stock was so beautiful that I disassembled the gun, buffed the stock down with 0000 steel wool and hand applied a fresh coat of Tung Oil gun stock finish. In fact, it is going to get a second hand-rubbed coating. That really brought out the deep-rich walnut wood features (grain). The bluing on the air chamber is amazing, bright polished. The mechanics of the piece is top drawer. I get 40 shots (4 mags) B4 pressure drops to 100Bar. Accuracy seems to be maintained nicely trough the 100Bar drop. Trigger is REALLY FINE, smooth and crisp second staged.
    Things I would have changed:Better finish on the stock. Price - costs more that a Weatherby or a Browning forearm. But, I bit the "pellet", so to speak, and am keeping it. British pound vice Korean $$$ is probably a lot of the cost difference but the overall quality is 300% over all others.
    What others should know:Buy extra magazines, if you can. I have had no luck in getting any from Pyramid or any other site/source. One mag realy dilutes the purpose of a repeater. If I had only one air gun, it would be this one or another Air Arms.
    Sort by:
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Fred from USA on 2014-03-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Very nicely made. Accuracy: shooting 3/8" groups of JSB Exact at 25 yds. Power adjuster. Adjustable butt.
      Things I would have changed:Some of the specs on PA website. My copy weighed 7lbs, not the advertised 5.5lbs. It'll shoot the advertised 920 fps with super light pellets. My 10 for 10 test was done with 11gr pellets. However JSB exact were shooting about 810-830fps. My s410 RIFLE would shoot these heavier pellets at the advertised speeds. I wish the cheek rest were a bit higher.
      What others should know:Great handling carbine!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Adam from USA on 2013-04-26
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Extremely well made
      Things I would have changed:Filling connector options
      What others should know:Make sure you have the proper filling equipment. My Benjamin connector would not work with this amazing air rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Brant from USA on 2012-07-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent walnut stock. As nice as the Minelli on my Daystate Air Ranger ($2k gun). High quality barrel bluing. The carbine is very light weight. Very crisp clean trigger. Initial shots very accurate. Adjustable power.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing is necessary. Make it easier for single shot conversion if one wants that.
      What others should know:Louder than a Marauder. The gun rivals my Daystate Air Ranger in quality in every regard but better for carrying in the field because of lower size and weight and more features. I had Pyramyd do the $10 test on this level gun.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By MobyMyster from USA on 2011-12-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I already own a S410 SL EXTRA FAC in 22cal but wanted a carbine. This carbine is absolutely fantastic - everything I hoped for. Wood (walnut thumb hole) is outstanding. Metal to wood finishing is top notch as well. Attention to detail is the usual AA quality.
      Things I would have changed:THE SAFETY ON THE TRIGGER. Hello AA, is anybody there? Every AA owner I know with this safety hates it. Please change the location of the safety.
      What others should know:Much louder than my S410. Much louder...! To be "backyard friendly" you're gonna want a LDC. Nuts on a real shooter tho. Likes JSB's in 16 and 18gr. Shooting JSB 18's @ 50% & 100% power chronys out at 718 & 887 respectfully. The 16 grainers @ 50 & 100% power, chrony at 753 & 910 respectfully. Shooting the 18gr @ 50% power at 25 yds can easily be covered with a dime. Haven't tried longer ranges yet as mother nature is into her "windy" faze. But if this carbine shoots line my S410 EXTRA at distances - I'll be double happy.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By thomas from USA on 2011-12-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Excellent design on the thumbhole stock, nice checkering, but the finish is as rough as new hewn lumber. I was appaled at the poor job done on the stock final finish. However, the walnut stock was so beautiful that I disassembled the gun, buffed the stock down with 0000 steel wool and hand applied a fresh coat of Tung Oil gun stock finish. In fact, it is going to get a second hand-rubbed coating. That really brought out the deep-rich walnut wood features (grain). The bluing on the air chamber is amazing, bright polished. The mechanics of the piece is top drawer. I get 40 shots (4 mags) B4 pressure drops to 100Bar. Accuracy seems to be maintained nicely trough the 100Bar drop. Trigger is REALLY FINE, smooth and crisp second staged.
      Things I would have changed:Better finish on the stock. Price - costs more that a Weatherby or a Browning forearm. But, I bit the "pellet", so to speak, and am keeping it. British pound vice Korean $$$ is probably a lot of the cost difference but the overall quality is 300% over all others.
      What others should know:Buy extra magazines, if you can. I have had no luck in getting any from Pyramid or any other site/source. One mag realy dilutes the purpose of a repeater. If I had only one air gun, it would be this one or another Air Arms.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By BENJAMIN from USA on 2010-08-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This gun is smooth and well mannered. It cycles like butter, has great balance and is very quiet. The perfect balance of performance and price in .22
      Things I would have changed:I have found a couple of "rough" spots on the stock.
      What others should know:Gets a solid 30 shots per fill. Look into aftermarket cartridges - they're smoother and easier to load.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Customer from USA on 2009-05-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked: The more things like this rifle and precision combined with power, good autonomy and be versatile. power enables the control of many forms of use in conjunction with the dots of the telescope.
      Things I would have changed: I change the butt, the model is already outdated compared to newer carbines, a more elegant and functional fit well in it.
      What others should know:This rifle is a perfect balance of cost benefit, for their details. Sufiente has power to set targets small to 110j, and power comes with great impact for small and medium fighters.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2009-04-07
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Quiet! 14.5" LOP, adjustable power, 10rd repeater, sidelever, 200 bar reservoir, smooth alloy trigger, nice grain in the fancy checkered stock, adjustable vertical buttplate, threaded barrel/shroud to make it quieter if you want. Topped it off with a Hawke 4-12x40A.O. scope and medium adjustable B-square rings, as accurate as it can be held and squeezed.
      Things I would have changed:300bar reservoir, nonremovable moderator, regulator for more shots, sling swivels, forearm rail, synthetic stock version, MPR multi-adjustable trigger
      What others should know:Lots of features at a price also RC mags are the same price as OEM but work MUCH better as they index smoother!!! Figure around 30 accurate powered shots per 190bar fill.
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top