Air Arms S510 Xtra FAC Sidelever PCP Air Rifle reviews - page 2

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By roadkingchap from USA on 2011-05-17 08:14:24

Things I liked: beautiful walnut stock, very light. accuracy beyond compare..rate it up there with the hw100..

Things I would have changed: need detents on the power adjuster

What others should know: if you are interested in this pellet rifle..buy it you want be sorry...

The most helpful critical review

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:3.0

Value for money:3.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Pao from USA on 2009-07-31 13:28:04

Things I liked: Innovative design. It's very comfortable and looks great in every way.

Things I would have changed: For a gun that cost more than my hunting rifle, they could have made a better safety switch. A better safety mechanism is a must.

What others should know: I bought two of these guns and had to return them both. The first one had to be re-zero every time I refilled the tank. Once re-zeroed again, the accuracy of the gun is unbelievable. Zeroing the gun every time the tank fills isn't cool so I sent it back. The second gun was unbelievable. I've never seen anything that accurate before but had to send it back because too much air was coming out each time it fired. It was filled to 200 bar and it takes only 10 rounds at high power to bring it down to 150 bar. So total shots were about 20 shots from 200 bar to 100 bar. The first gun was able to shoot 55 rounds before reaching the 100 bar. I wouldn't shoot at anything if below 100 bars. Save your pellets and refill the tank. If the product is exceptional, you shouldn't have to order the 10 for 10 review on the gun to avoid getting a lemon. I would've gave this gun a five star but it didn't work right for me.

Sort by:
  • Previous 12
  • Showitems
  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Chris from USA on 2009-04-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.02 ratings

    Things I liked: The classic hunting rifle look, with a beautiful right-hand walnut stock with rosewood schnabel, and modest checkering. The smooth sidelever cocking system makes it easy for anyone to advance through the 10-shot rotary magazine and get better then 1" groups at 50 yards. I also like the shrouded barrel...keeps it quiet.

    Things I would have changed: I am hard-pressed to find anything I would change on this rifle.

    What others should know: With its adjustable power, you get the best of both worlds--an awesome hunting rifle on high power and a target rifle when the power is dialed down. You can expect to get up to 40 shoots with a full charge. Rifle comes in both right- and left-hand models with your choice of beech or walnut.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By additionalmc from USA on 2009-03-29
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Excellent crafstmanship, multi-shot, powerful, fairly quiet, adjustable power

    Things I would have changed: nothing, this is an awesome rifle

    What others should know: you will be very pleased with this rifle, it is very comfortable to shoot, very accurate, and the quality is better than most real guns

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By John from USA on 2009-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Dollar for Dollar, this is the best value if you want accuracy and power. They all have the match barrels(12 grove).

    Things I would have changed: It would be great to have an exchangeable tank. Also, synthetic stock.

    What others should know: I am able to shoot group of 1 to 2 inches at 50 yards. I even have 3ish groups at 90 yards. I would compete with any PCP on the market to do this. Of course, I could have been the problem for some of the accuracy issues.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By wayne from USA on 2008-08-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Things I liked: I like the power, accuracy, the smoothness of the action, it indexes perfectly, the quality stock and machining, the power adjuster, the quickness I can get shots off, the balance and weight, it is perfect for field target or hunting squirrels, rabbits or starlings...I think it will be a collectors item someday...This rifle will compete with $2,000 field target rifles, for half the price...I'm getting 105 shots on a 195 bar fill, with my .177, with the first shots at 1020 fps with 10.6 kodiaks and ending at 731fps at 50 bar..... JBS 8.4 gr start at 1081fps and end at 792.... Mine takes a fill of 220 bar and then you can add 10 to 15 more shots that... At 50 yards I don't have to start aiming high until after 50 shots, then only 1 - 1/2 mil dots by the end at 50 bar!! No other PCP can come close to that number of accurate shots on a tank... I think that FN of Sweeden is making the parts for Air Arms on this one... it looks like the FN line a lot...

    Things I would have changed: Nothing to change, a perfect design and manufacturing job!

    What others should know: This is the easiest air rifle to shoot, no recoil, easy to target and hold...you'll be a winner in no time with this rifle.... save your money and go to the top of the heap... you'll not need to go any further than this....

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mike from USA on 2008-04-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Well designed and well balanced. This is the best of the best, the workmanship, quality and precision are all first class. It puts my Weatherby Magnum to shame. The rifle is very quiet, very accurate, and a joy to behold. It draws a crowd at my rifle club.

    Things I would have changed: The guage is hard to read, the numbers should be larger, and perhaps a color coded guage like the one shown in your illustration. The current guage is black and white.

    What others should know: If you can't afford this great gun don't worry. St. Peter will give you one when you go through the pearly gates.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Arthur from USA on 2007-09-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Things I liked: Very Accurate, Very pretty, Very quite. CP's @ Hi power = 954 FPS avg. SD of 3,...@ Low power = 446 FPS avg, SD of 2. 20 yds. indoor smallest group @ .063 C-C @ 180 BAR fill. Side lever works great. Has a really nice trigger.

    Things I would have changed: I would like the magazine to enter the rifle from the right side, can't use a large sidewheel on the scope for parallax adjustment, it blocks the magazine port. an adjustable cheekpiece would be nice.

    What others should know: Leapers 8-32 x 56 scope(SCP3-832AOMD) mounted on this rifle makes a fantastic combination ! Used Accushot 2 piece 30MM Hi mounts.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Rob from USA on 2007-09-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Very powerful. At full power a Kodiak in .22 has a muzzle velocity of 868fps, and Premiers go 985fps. I have only fired it to 11 yards, but Premiers and JSB heavies go into 1 hole. The quality of the rifle is excellent. It is quiet. At full power it's noise report is between an RWS 350 and a Sheridan Blue Streak, with no sharp blast. At the half power setting (870 fps with Premiers) it is as quiet as an RWS 350.

    Things I would have changed: The cheekpiece is not ambidextrous. I would prefer to have the top edge more rounded. The power rheostat has 5 marks, and rotates only 90 degrees. I would recommend it be a full circle with more settings.

    What others should know: For the money, I don't think there is a more quiet, powerful and accurate airgun.

  • Previous 12
Navigation