Date: 21/2/2017 3:10
0

Air Arms TX200 MkIII Air Rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online review   and share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Tom from USA on 2007-12-04 15:44:18

Things I liked: I like the build quality of the gun, above all. Everything is done right. This is the kind of rifle you'll be proud to own for the rest of your life. It's the most accurate spring gun below $3,000. There are so many refinements in the trigger, the bedding, the barrel and breech, that I could write all day long about this rifle! In fact, you can read my TX200 article on this website.

Things I would have changed: Nothing!

What others should know: This is an underlever and therefore has limited access to the breech. People with very large hands may find it difficult to load until they develop a technique. The gun has 3 holes for a vertical scope stop pin, so buy scope mounts with a stop pin. Find the one best pellet, and use it exclusively. I've found both Beeman Kodiaks and 10.3-grain JSB Exacts to be equally accurate in my TX. I would scope this gun with a Bushnell 6-18x40 Trophy or a Leapers 3-12x44 AO SWAT Mini-Size scope.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:5.0

By TaiN from USA on 2015-12-12 23:26:52

Things I liked: The blueing of the barel. Accuracy.

Things I would have changed: Cocking. The rifle was a refurbished model with a cocking problem and safety lock engagement. After a 100 rounds of pellet, I figured out how to cock the rifle so that the safety lock would engage and also how to cock it so that it would not engaged (I was still able to close the breech and fire with the safety lock not being engaged). For an expensive rifle like that, the cocking should work every single time and the safety lock also should engaged every single time. IT IS AN UNSAFE GUN. I checked the internet regarding the cocking problem with the TX200 MK3 and there are quite a few people reporting this problem.

What others should know: I bought this rifle as a refurbished model. The gun came with the the old packaging + manual + the RMA document from the previous owner. I did ask customer support regarding the cocking problem and they told me to return the gun. I really wanted to keep the rifle, but at the same time I didn't know if the cocking problem would get worse or not in the future. Throughout this course of the problem I found that: - Pyramid Air Customer service was not up to their par. Customer support assured me that a manager would contact me through my email, but it's been more than a week and nothing happened. I wanted to know whether PA sold a refurbished product without it having refurbished since I encountered the same problem as from the previous owner. - I also contacted Air Arms and reported the problem and I did not hear anything from Air Arms. So for new buyer, please check the internet by searching for "Air Arms TX200MK3 cocking problem" before considering buying this rifle

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 910 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Michael from USA on 2017-01-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is the best air rifle that I have ever owned. Outstanding springer. Quality of workmanship is incredible. My best and most accurate. Thanks.

    Things I would have changed: Absolutely nothing! And I might add, I would keep anyone else from messing with perfection.

    What others should know: It loves the H and N sport .22 cal pellets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Mm00se from USA on 2016-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Outstanding fit and finish. Tac driver right out of the box. You get what you pay for here worth every penny.

    Things I would have changed: The two stage trigger I am not fan of ,but that is just me. For you folks that match grade two stage triggers it is excellent. Needs a bit more power would like to see may be 900 fps versis 700 fps.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Smaug from USA on 2016-12-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Fit and finish are excellent. Stock and bluing are gorgeous. Trigger is excellent; better than the Rekord on Weihrauchs. Grip ergonomics are wonderful; very comfortable to shoot. It is a very easy airgun to work on. I also like how quiet it is, with that built-in shroud. It doesn't even look like it's there, but it is, and it is a nice quiet springer.

    Things I would have changed: The rubber bumper against which the cocking lever rests falls out almost immediately, and doesn't want to be put back in. In stock tune for our market, it is buzzy. Mine was shooting at 16 FPE and kept buzzing the stock screws loose. The shooting mechanism is all steel, with no synthetics to dampen vibration. Dovetail scope rails are over-polished; not quite sharp enough. I haven't had a scope come off of them, so maybe I worry too much, but I don't get a feeling of confidence when mounting a scope.

    What others should know: It's a very heavy gun; plan on at least 12 lbs. by the time you get a worthy scope on it. (get at LEAST 12X) I resented the weight at first, until I realized the weight is what makes it NOT hold-sensitive. After a couple weeks, I got used to the weight, and I don't even think about it, except when I come to it from something much lighter. I detuned mine with a 12 FPE kit, and it's actually shooting at 9 FPE, but it is PCP accurate: we're talking about easy cloverleaf 10-shot groups at 30 yards. Due to the weight, this gun can be shot from a rest, which would wreck the accuracy of the lighter springers. I shot this gun in a couple informal field target events, and did quite well. I had my reservations about whether the lower power would be adequate for my backyard pesting. I took one shot on a squirrel at 37 yards after it was detuned to 9 FPE. Air Arms Diabolo Field 8.4 gr. It punched through the chest cavity, and stopped just under the skin on the far side. It likes AA Diabolo Field.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Kevin from USA on 2016-12-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: I was lucky enough to get this in .177 cal with the beech stock ,as a refurbished item,and even though fedex really was hard on the outer shipping box pyramid had the a.a. box packed snugly inside and there was no damage to the gun. With that aside I have allot of air guns ,both rifle and pistol but this rifle is like nothing I have ever seen or used before. I was outside today and the wind was w.s.w 5-10 mph with 27m.p.h. gusts now I used a 11 mm. to picatinny adaptor to mount my scope ( centerpoint 6-20x50 a.o) so I had to put a couple of shims at the rear ring. but once it was zeroed even in this wind it was so accurate it is scary, When I took the rifle out of the box the blueing was so rich and deep it reminded me of my berrta 16 ga. shotgun and the stock there are no words to describe the beauty of the deepp rich grain and stain the trigger has about a 1/8 in. 1st stage and the second stage breaks with it feels like less than a pound. great gun buy it if you can you will not reg

    Things I would have changed: nada

    What others should know: This is the best value for the money and I would put it up against any german air rifle on the market. If you do not have this rifle bue have allways wa nted one then get it because you will not find a better air gun and if you want to shoot feid target than this is the gun !!!!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2016-11-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everybody says this gun is impressive but until you see and hold one you don't get the full measure of its stature. This is a monster of an air rifle. It's bigger and heavier than my Browning 300 magnum elk rifle. The blueing or black chroming (whatever) is elegant. The walnut is nicely figured although the plain oil finish is .... plain. The over all look of the gun is just a knockout. Those fish scales are hot. But for the weight its perfect. The rifle is reasonably quiet. Not urban back yard quiet but nowhere close to a 22 rimfire. It does not have a twang. But it does go chank and not chunk when it speaks. No growl from the cocking action. You can hear the spring but barely. The recoil is noticeable but contained and tamed by the heft of the gun. The cocking effort is not bad at all for a reasonably fit person. I'm a large person but older and I could have done it all day. Sitting makes the cocking very easy. Just put the butt of the gun on the edge of the chair

    Things I would have changed: The stock is chunky. I have large hands and the pistol grip is thick. Fat. Perhaps all this wood is necessary to contain or survive the spring action. It's very heavy with a scope. You would have to be The Rock or maybe The Mountain from GOTs to carry this gun scoped in the field. The gun has significant barrel droop. poi is about 7 inches low at least. I will have to order a compensating mount. It's a shame they do not give us the option of open sights. I would really like to add them but the front is pretty much a no way proposition. I'm leaving the accuracy rating off for now. I just have to shoot it a lot more.

    What others should know: I cannot yet say if the gun is or is not hold sensitive. Although it seems like it is. I've only got a hundred pellets through it. I tried all different holds but always with a sandbag at the front. Toward the end of this 100 pellet session it seemed to settle down. I had the best luck with a not quite 'firm' tuck to the shoulder, nothing at the front and using my fist at the butt to control elevation. Finally got some quarter and nickel sized groups at 25 yds. The so called artillery hold did not work at all. Nothing under 2 inches that way. The rifle is .22 cal and I shot Exact Jumbo diabolo 16 grain pellets. The trigger is quite nice. I will not need or want to fiddle with it. It's ugly and not of the same class as the dapper rifle it is attached to. The butt pad is nicely done. The black color goes well with the dark walnut. Fit to the stock is quite good. The cocking mechanism is very solid and the bear trap works very well. Just be sure to completely cock it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By michael from USA on 2016-11-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Stock and finish are second to none. Accuracy was *pretty good* out of the box. Still breaking it in tho.

    Things I would have changed: Not much- maybe the safety. It would be nice to be able to re-engage the safety without having to re-cock it.

    What others should know: Been drooling over a TX200 for a few years now. Finally jumped on a .22 (RH) refurb this summer. A single (barely noticeable) blemish on the stock. Would definitely buy a refurb again from PA- great way to save $. It's heavy- my TX200 with Accushot 3-12x AO compact scope is about 11lbs. My copy seems to be taking its time breaking in- ~300-400 pellets so far. I fed it 1 tin of RWS 11.9 Hobby (break-in only) then 14.5gr Superdomes, and 14.0gr MeisterKs. Accuracy is very good but I can do better with my .177 HW30s- for now. Indoors im getting sub-dime size groups at ~10yds. Outdoors i'm getting 2" groups at 25yds- Still trying to perfect my hold. Maybe mine just doesn't like the RWS pellets over 10yds. Will update review after I've tried other pellets.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By TheShooter71 from USA on 2016-10-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: I am new to the air rifle sport. I purchased a Benjamin Trail NP from a friend and shot with for about three weeks. It is truly a great starter rifle. I then saw the TX 200 and I was hooked. I ordered one three weeks ago and I am totally impressed with look, construction, accuracy of the rifle.

    Things I would have changed: I would not change anything

    What others should know: All air guns have their break in period. I put about 1000 or so rounds through it. I used 8.44 be Diablo Match pellet. It really likes these pellets.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    By PRB from USA on 2016-10-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a very well built air rifle ( TX 200 MKIII.Walnut.RH, .177). It exhibits the best qualities of fine handmade craftsmanship (some of it due to the superb Minnelli stock). There is an easy solidity and fluidity to the entire cocking and firing process that is unmatched by many high end spring air rifles. I came to the TX 200 from - my last port of call - the Air Arms Pro Sport. While that rifle is also very good it does not possess the overall harmony of TX200. The Pro Spot is more awkward to cock repeatedly and is hold sensitive with some residual ringing. I also found the TX200 Mk3 to be more stable and easier to point and shoot off hand than the Pro Sport.

    Things I would have changed: This is a medium powered spring air rifle. However, the cocking effort is clearly higher than the 29lb specified. In fact I feel it is very similar to the Pro Spot (40 plus) without the awkward lowered mid body (trigger level) cocking system. I think the rifle would do better as a sub 12 ft pound rifle with an easier cocking effort. Some refinement in the stock shape to cover the visible gap between the stock and the metal body would help, as would a redesign of the cocking mechanism to eliminate the slight rattle. Refining the cocking arm release system to match the Weihrauch HW 97K's superlative push button release system would complete the ensemble. I feel I am nitpicking here!

    What others should know: For those of us getting back to air gunning like me from my break barrel youth years, this is a welcome home. It is accurate, refined and worthy of the finest of scopes. It is somewhat weighty at over 10 pounds with scope. However, I actually found it easier to hand hold, aim and shoot than the slightly lighter and more mid-balanced Pro Sport. I also heard (subjectively) it to be quieter than the Pro Sport. I am very thankful to Pyramyd Air for their excellent 30 day return policy. This period is absolutely vital to get a good sense of the operation of an air rifle and to ascertain if it will suit you.

  • 2.0 2.0

    1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    By Paul from USA on 2016-09-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I own 20 springers and understand that they are all a bit of the luck of the draw. This is a beautiful air rifle but I got the lemon. All parts are machined well and this rifle is cosmetically beautiful.

    Things I would have changed: I received the tx200 and had horrible accuracy compared to all of my other rifles. I have had the anti bear trap fail on me and the the gun would not cock consistently. I contacted AA and they asked for my serial number and thought I had a bad barrel that they produced for a while. Sent the rifle to Pyramyd and they found a broken sintered part within the rifle and cleaned the barrel. I got it back and it was better but the best I could do is groups the size of a quarter at 20 yards. I have rifles at 20 yards that make one hole with five shots. Weight is heavy making it a better target rifle than a hunter. Not sure where to go from here.

    What others should know: Buying any air rifle is a percentage game as you can see most people have had excellent results with the tx200. My only real negative on AA part is that they are selling a tuned perfect rifle and this gun should have been found at their factory as a defective product. Letting it break in won't improve it enough. I have better luck with HW products and tuning them corrects an problems with accuracy. Bad luck on my part.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Greg from USA on 2016-07-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fit and finish. Accuracy. Stock fit. Trigger Overall quality

    Things I would have changed: Nothing.

    What others should know: The quality of this air rifle matches or exceeds many sporting firearms. The bluing is deep and lustrous, while the finish of the walnut stock is a smooth matte with well-done fishtail checkering. I chose the .22 cal., since this rifle is intended for pest control around my yard. After mounting a Vortex Diamondback 1.75 -5x scope and sighting in, I was able to achieve dime-sized groups at 25 yds using the Diabolo Jumbo Express pellet. I will experiment with many more pellets over time, since I would prefer a little heavier pellet for solid kills on the larger pests. Overall, I am very pleased. This rifle is a keeper.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Ted from USA on 2016-06-26
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent accuracy when you find the pellets that group best and the trigger is crisp with a little adjustment. You can't beat the looks of this gun with fish scale checkering and deep bluing, I selected a walnut stock which is beautiful. Select the best scope you can afford for this gun and you won't be disappointed. Accutrac 3x12x44 was my choice. Very pleased with this quality made rifle and its performance from AA.

    Things I would have changed: Love this gun as is...

    What others should know: If your looking for a high quality, under lever air rifle that is as accurate as you can get from a springer than look no more. TX200 MKIII

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Perry from USA on 2016-05-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great gun! The workmanship is top. No different than a nice powder gun. Very accurate gun. I am all about accuracy and as a springer goes it is the best. My 11 year old son shot it for the first time and was accurate. Keep in mind he was shooting a Red Ryder. I would recommend strongly the cocking aid PY-A-3164. Makes it easy to grab and for a low price..... This also saves the finish. I shoot the Crosman Premier Lights. The gun likes these even better than $$$ pellets. I am impressed with Air Arms so much I just ordered a A S510.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: Buy the cocking aid. PY-A-3164 and the gun likes the .177 Crosman premier lights. I would use the BKL centered rings for the scope. That is if you want your scope centered. $30.00 less you can buy cheap rings that set your scope off to one the side. :(

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-03-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the looks (walnut), it is very accurate.

    Things I would have changed: The weight is very heavy with a scope over 10 lbs. The pellet loading port could be a little larger. I would like to see a button release for the cocking handle.

    What others should know: It shoot several pellets well, 15 gr. H&N around 675 fps. The accuracy is excellent.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Robert from USA on 2016-02-15
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Fit and finish of the stock and metal work is excellent. Excellent trigger. It does not seem too hold sensitive for a spring piston rifle. Accuracy was good out of the box and seems to be improving as it is breaking in. Cocking effort is reasonable. I am a 66 yr. old man.

    Things I would have changed: get rid of the automatic safety, I know when to put on and take off the safety

    What others should know: I have had the .177cal. TX200 rifle for about 2 weeks now and put a Optisan 4-16x Viper scope on it, using BKL 11mm to Weaver mounts with Kelbly 30mm rings. I have about 300 pellets through the rifle so far. It is shooting smoother now than out of the box and more accurately, the scope is holding up well. I did have to tighten up the stock screws once so far as I expected, I will Loctite the screws. I have not changed the trigger pull, as it was fine out of the box, first stage is a bit long, but I have become used to it now, and the second stage let off is crisp. I intend to purchase a second TX200 and Optisan 4-16x Viper scope for my 15 yr old grandson so that we may enjoy target practice around my acreage and perhaps shoot some HFT matches this summer. We are primarily long range High power F tr class shooters, but these rifles should give us some less expensive trigger time with out having to travel to the rifle range. My other choice of Air rifle was a HW97K., coin toss.

  • 4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Gary from USA on 2016-02-05
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I like the gun in general. It is very accurate and doesn't require a special way to hold it. You can use the military hold, or rest it on a beanbag, and it still shoots well. The quality is outstanding. There was no "break in" period. It prefers the .117 Crosman hollow points, although several other pellets do well also.

    Things I would have changed: I made the mistake of buying it in .117, which is way too small for me. Consequently loading is a hit and miss frustrating process and takes all the fun out of using this rifle. This is the 1 star off reason. Should have got the .22. Old clumsy fingers. I get along fine with break-barrel or magazine rifles.

    What others should know: It is heavy, too heavy to use hand-held for long. You will need a shooting tripod or bench rest or something. It has a healthy kick, and is loud. It needs a shrouded barrel or silencer.

  • 5.0 5.0

    3.0 3.0

    5.0 5.0

    By RKBGAP from USA on 2016-01-22
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The way it looks, feels and shoots. Don't think you can buy a springer that shoots any better than this one will. It's a gun you will be proud to shoot and own.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing really. I think they are a little too expensive. If you're considering buying one of these I would assume you're doing your homework so you know what it looks like. You're probably trying to decide whether to buy this or an RWS 54 or an HW 97 or at least something in these gun's category. I decided on this one and I am not sorry. I do think Air Arms quality control could be better on the little things like sending it out with the 2 stock screws and trigger guard screws tight. Also, be sure to buy good scope mounts WITH A SCOPE STOP. the BKLs will not keep your scope from sliding back. I found that out the hard way. Just buy a good pair of Leaper 4 screw mounts either medium or high depending on the size of your scope objective and be sure it has a scope stop. You won't have to worry about that again.

    What others should know: At first I got the Hunter Carbine model. It had some minor issues so I had to return to PA. (They were absolutely wonderful to work with). I changed to the regular MK III and I'm glad I did. The longer version cocks more smoothly, shoots more smoothly and is quieter. The cocking arm on the HC,I got, was sloppy feeling with a lot of back and forth play in it. There is only about 3 inches difference in the length so the looks aren't that much different. In my opinion the regular MK III is just a better all around gun. Also if you get one of these check the gun over before shooting. The screws were loose. Also, mine had a tiny scratch on the top of the barrel about an inch in front of the breech. Nothing bad and nothing somebody casually looking at the gun would notice. It actually drives me nuts that it's there but it shoots so well that I'm keeping it. So the bottom line is you should check yours over when you get it and make sure everything is tight and there are no blemishes

  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By TaiN from USA on 2015-12-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Things I liked: The blueing of the barel. Accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: Cocking. The rifle was a refurbished model with a cocking problem and safety lock engagement. After a 100 rounds of pellet, I figured out how to cock the rifle so that the safety lock would engage and also how to cock it so that it would not engaged (I was still able to close the breech and fire with the safety lock not being engaged). For an expensive rifle like that, the cocking should work every single time and the safety lock also should engaged every single time. IT IS AN UNSAFE GUN. I checked the internet regarding the cocking problem with the TX200 MK3 and there are quite a few people reporting this problem.

    What others should know: I bought this rifle as a refurbished model. The gun came with the the old packaging + manual + the RMA document from the previous owner. I did ask customer support regarding the cocking problem and they told me to return the gun. I really wanted to keep the rifle, but at the same time I didn't know if the cocking problem would get worse or not in the future. Throughout this course of the problem I found that: - Pyramid Air Customer service was not up to their par. Customer support assured me that a manager would contact me through my email, but it's been more than a week and nothing happened. I wanted to know whether PA sold a refurbished product without it having refurbished since I encountered the same problem as from the previous owner. - I also contacted Air Arms and reported the problem and I did not hear anything from Air Arms. So for new buyer, please check the internet by searching for "Air Arms TX200MK3 cocking problem" before considering buying this rifle

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2015-11-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Once you open the box you can tell that this is a quality airgun. The bluing is absolutely perfect and the walnut stock with it's checkering is awesome. The best part is the airgun can shoot. I tried 4 different pellets and it liked the heavy 18.3 gr. Diablo pellets the best. I would call a 3/8" 5 shot group at 25 yards accurate. Very happy with the gun. Yes the price is up there but you pay for quality.

    Things I would have changed: Actually happy the way it is.

  • 4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bob from USA on 2015-11-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    3.01 rating

    Things I liked: This is quality springer. The accuracy is very good, but not real exceptional. It's a little hold sensitive, but acceptable. My favorite feature by far is the trigger, which is just wonderful out of the box. While waiting for delivery, I plotted and planned to tweak that trigger very carefully to my preference. Imagine my disappointment when it was perfect right out of the box! Oh well...

    Things I would have changed: Built in Weaver/Pic scope mount would have been a nice and weight saving feature. The walnut stock is great, and beautifully sculpted and finished. Luck of the draw got me ugly grain and figuring. It doesn't even look like walnut grain. A better bumper system at the end of the under lever that doesn't fall off would have been nice. Like others, I found O-rings to use for bumpers, but the grooves are razor sharp. They eventually cut the O-rings and your hand if you're not careful. Loading pellets are a real pain if your close in eyesight is bad, but I have no idea how to improve that. It's the nature of an under lever. The weight of this rifle is astounding, it could have been made a tad lighter. For the price point and weight, I think it should be more accurate and less fussy about hold and pellet preference. The first 2-3 shots are usually fliers. Don't know how to fix this, but it needs fixing. It does settle down nicely after 2-3 shots, but the starling is long gone by then, right?

    What others should know: This rifle is a beast. At 5'10", 185 and stronger than average, I cannot shoot it off hand. Yes, it's that heavy. My big scope and AO focus wheel doesn't help, but still... I do not recommend this rifle for hunting for that reason and 1 other. As mentioned, the first couple of shots are about .5 off at 20 yards, not counting shooter error. Pests and game will not allow you a couple of warmup shots. It could make a good ratting gun if you use a rest. Bottom line, I have myself an expensive paper puncher here. Though accurate at paper punching, it's not even exceptional. So far, my best pellets are on the heavy side. It likes Diablo and H&N in the 10gr range. Strangely, Crosman Ultra Mag 10.5gr shoot awful, but Crosman Premier HP 7.9gr shoot only fair. I still have a few pellets to try. If it sounds like I don't like this gun, that's not what I meant to convey. I do like it, but I'm pretty picky and am not bashful about saying what I like and dislike.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Hawk4357 from USA on 2015-11-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought the walnut stock in .22 cal and it far exceeded my expectations.The walnut stock is beautiful with a very rich,deep blueing on the metal.It is very well engineered with attention to detail such as the nice checkering on the stock.I originally bought this rifle because I grew very frustrated with my RWS 460 and how hold sensitive it was.One of the best decisions I ever made.My TX200 is not hold sensitive at all.Very accurate with all the pellets I have put thru it.Yes it is heavy at 9lbs but I'm not humping it thru the woods.

    Things I would have changed: Cut the dovetail grooves deeper-they are very shallow.Design it so there is a good way to use a sling.

    What others should know: Yes it is expensive but you more than get your money's worth.This is the Ferrari of springers.

  • 123 ... 910 Next
Navigation