Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle reviews - page 1



Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Tom from USA on 2007-12-04 15:44:18

Things I liked:I like the build quality of the gun, above all. Everything is done right. This is the kind of rifle you'll be proud to own for the rest of your life. It's the most accurate spring gun below $3,000. There are so many refinements in the trigger, the bedding, the barrel and breech, that I could write all day long about this rifle! In fact, you can read my TX200 article on this website.
Things I would have changed:Nothing!
What others should know:This is an underlever and therefore has limited access to the breech. People with very large hands may find it difficult to load until they develop a technique. The gun has 3 holes for a vertical scope stop pin, so buy scope mounts with a stop pin. Find the one best pellet, and use it exclusively. I've found both Beeman Kodiaks and 10.3-grain JSB Exacts to be equally accurate in my TX. I would scope this gun with a Bushnell 6-18x40 Trophy or a Leapers 3-12x44 AO SWAT Mini-Size scope.
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:5.0

By James from USA on 2015-01-24 20:03:46

Things I liked:Looks great. Very accurate, great trigger. Problem. I've only had the gun a couple weeks, and it does not work any more, can't cock it... So I can't really rate it yet. It was 5 stars all the way when it was working for those two weeks. Sending it back. Not sure what to do next.
Things I would have changed:Maybe should have chosen the Beeman HW 97.
What others should know:Did not have gun long enough to know.
Sort by:
  • 123 ... 78 Next »
  • Show:
    Items
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By WilliamJ from USA on 2015-04-16
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I picked myself up off the floor after opening the box the TX came in (due to how amazing it looked) and then I removed it from the box and was immediately impressed with the build quality and substance of this rifle. Then I shot it some, but couldn't understand why it was rated so highly, UNTIL I had about 100 rounds thru it and it has smoothed out amazingly. It is easily the quietest, smoothest shooting rifle I've ever experienced. Just mind boggling! How can a springer be this nice???? To me, it is now absolutely perfect. I no longer miss my original Webley Patriot I let go a few years ago. Not the same punch, I know. The build quality is even better than the famous Webley however and that's saying something. Great things are never cheap to come by it seems, and this is the perfect example. I see what all the fuss is about now. Well worth the price of admission (and then some). A true VALUE! It even makes me a decent shooter!!!!
    Things I would have changed:Make walnut stocks standard and keep the price the same?? Not fair, I know!!
    What others should know:A substantial rifle and that may not appeal to all folks. On the other hand, the heft keeps it from moving around when on target.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Pawpawsailor from USA on 2015-04-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accuracy, quality of workmanship, design, finish, trigger.
    Things I would have changed:Add a quality bipod made for the under lever design.
    What others should know:The trigger guard has vibrated loose several times following long shooting sessions.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Tom from USA on 2015-04-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The accuracy. The bluing is beautiful and the beech stock is very nice. The shot cycle is solid and not harsh. Not too hard to cock. The trigger is nice but has a little too much creep. I like the anti bear trap because you really need to get your fingers in there to load it and clean the barrel.
    Things I would have changed:This gun is heavy. I knew that when I ordered it but wow. Solid heft. Might be too heavy to carry in the woods and better suited for the bench. Seems to be very pellet fussy. I shot a lot of different brands and types and settled on crosman premier 7.9 gr (Brown Box) pellets. They were the best for me.
    What others should know:Gun can sound a little twangy sometimes and was still dieseling after 500-600 shots. Im hoping this will settle down after more shooting. Also clean the barrel after shooting the gun. Mine was filthy and did shoot tighter after that. Mine was shooting .177 cpl 7.9 grains at about 880-888 fps over my chrony. I bought the second package with the leapers scope and one piece mount. It is excellent and happy I did it. The field target pellets it came with are terrible. They are hard to load and look like a shotgun blast on paper. I don't know why PA would put them in this package with such a high quality gun?
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Bob from USA on 2015-04-04
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accurate..nice trigger..like the underlever..very quiet..
    Things I would have changed:Just a bit heavy and bulk
    What others should know:Safety -once released can not be put back on
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Paul from USA on 2015-04-03
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Great Accuracy!!! Nice adjustable crisp trigger. Woodwork is Great. Deep bluing on the metal is flawless. It fits your body the way a gun should.
    Things I would have changed:NOTHING, I think its Perfect the way it is.
    What others should know:This is a Really nice air rifle. I had to save money for months to buy my TX. In my opinion it's worth every cent. At first I didn't care for the safety, But after I found how it works and why it's designed that way I love the design. I was surprised with the accuracy of the TX 200. I was also surprised how it can make a decent Shooter into a Better Shooter.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2015-02-19
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Accurate, accurate, accurate.... Great trigger. Nice to look at.
    Things I would have changed:Too heavy. Every time I pick it up, I am reminded how out of shape I am.
    What others should know:I had the gun for about 2 weeks when it stopped working (broke). I returned it. I was told I would receive a new gun, but they repaired the gun instead. Got it back pretty quickly. So far, it is shooting very nicely. I just wanted to say the customer service @ PA is outstanding, not perfect, but pretty close...
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Colin from USA on 2015-02-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I love the rigid barrel (SUPER accurate!), EXCELLENT (and adjustable) trigger right out of the box, perfect balance, gorgeous wood (I went with beech), easy cocking underlever. Spacious access to the breech for loading, and a digit-saving anti-beartrap mechanism. Super easy disassembly for maintenance. QUIET! Not sensitive to hold. My new TX200 MkIII has a proud place in my gun safe, along with my firearms. And I should add, this is by far the most beautiful of anything in my safe.
    Things I would have changed:Offer iron sights (obviously it wasn't a deal-breaker for me). Yeah, I know a scope is best for accuracy, especially at long distances. Still, iron sights are nice, too. Beyond that, this rifle is as perfect as it gets.
    What others should know:This is my first experience with Air Arms, and I have to say, I'm a convert! They sure know how to make a fine rifle. This thing is like a fine English firearm, only without the fire. And though some may not appreciate this detail- I do- Air Arms packs this in a nearly bombproof box, and the rifle is firmly cradled to protect it. They pay attention not only to the quality, fit and finish of their air guns, but they also understand that getting it to the customer in perfect condition is also extremely important. Well done, Air Arms! THIS is the air rifle for me. It took me a long time to finally find the right one- and it's available in .22 caliber, too! Just what I was looking for. If my wife would allow it, I'd take it to bed at night so I could reach over and touch it while sleeping. Okay, so that may be a bit of an exaggeration, but not by much. Get one- you will understand.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By R.B. from USA on 2015-02-06
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This is a really good air rifle. I researched the market before making my purchase. The only experience I had with air rifles prior to this purchase was a Sheridan Solver Streak. I was concerned about barrel droop with the break barrels so I decided on the under lever TX200. The fit and finish on this rifle are superb. Accuracy is outstanding. The trigger is pretty sweet too. This rifle is worth the money.
    Things I would have changed:The pellet loading port is a little undersize for my fingers. It works but it is a little tight.
    What others should know:Once you release the safety, the shooter can not reapply the safety. If the game animal moves off, the shooter has a rifle that is ready to fire. Presumably one could cycle the under lever to reapply the automatic safety but I have not tried that technique to determine whether it would reapply the safety.
  • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

    Value for money:2.0 2.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By James from USA on 2015-01-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Looks great. Very accurate, great trigger. Problem. I've only had the gun a couple weeks, and it does not work any more, can't cock it... So I can't really rate it yet. It was 5 stars all the way when it was working for those two weeks. Sending it back. Not sure what to do next.
    Things I would have changed:Maybe should have chosen the Beeman HW 97.
    What others should know:Did not have gun long enough to know.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Martin from USA on 2015-01-24
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Excellent blueing on the barrel, beautiful stock, nice trigger. The accuracy keeps getting better the more I shoot it.
    Things I would have changed:Little better QC. This is a replacement rifle. The original had safety button issues and on this one the stock securing screw keeps working loose. Some loctite should cure that hopefully.
    What others should know:This is my first springer and overall I'm happy with it.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Steve from USA on 2015-01-17
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:This rifle is an incredible example of fine craftsmanship all the way around. The fit and finish are exceptional!! The first shots out of this rifle left no doubt on not only it's pinpoint accuracy, but just how easy this rifle is to shoot and shoot well. The walnut stock was extremely smooth with nicely cut checkering, and the bluing was as fine as any rifle I have seen, very deep and rich. Another thing worth mentioning is the trigger. Right out of the box this trigger is unbelievably smooth.
    Things I would have changed:I would only change one thing and that would be the factory finish on the walnut stock. In my opinion it comes from the factory rather dry, leaving the stock susceptible to staining, marking, etc. Keep in mind that some folks like it just like it is. It is still absolutely gorgeous right out of the box, but for me it needed additional finishing to seal the grain.
    What others should know:H&N FTT 8.64gr 4.52's are shooting excellent out of this rifle.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By mike from USA on 2014-12-23
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:The quality of this gun is noticed right away. Feels like a real firearm. The bluing is deep and beautiful. The walnut stock it just a work of art. I have one other springer and hate it, this is the reason I never liked them before. The TX200III really changed my mind about springers. This has to be one of the most accurate guns I own. Less hold senceative and that really helps.
    Things I would have changed:The price. Not that it's not worth it but still a lot of money for a air gun.
    What others should know:All I can say if you have problems shooting springers and want one that you can shoot hit the target and enjoy shooting then this is the gun to buy. I like it so much I'm saving up for the TX200 HC in 177 cal.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Moss from USA on 2014-12-01
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    3.02 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Everything
    Things I would have changed:Nothing
    What others should know:If your thinking about getting an under lever springer spend the money this Is the real deal.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By miked1969 from USA on 2014-11-27
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:i have this airgun for about 3 yer and i love it i did have a vortek tune up kit put in it and now it is so nice to shoot i cant put it down and i am useing crosman premier 7.9gr and it is a tick gun i have a hawke 6 1/2 to 20 sidewader on it and i love this set up
    Things I would have changed:not a thing
    What others should know:get one now
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By pedro from USA on 2014-11-26
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:freaking amazing work of art! the accuracy is amazing! it does a great job with crosman hollow points 7.9g.
    Things I would have changed:its a bit heavy for a work gun.
    What others should know:if you want a real work of art thats on the money shot after shot, then this is it. that being said, its heavy. ide say more of a bench gun then a walk and shoot.
  • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

    Value for money:3.0 3.0

    Accuracy:3.0 3.0

      By Karl from USA on 2014-11-14
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Well made and nicely finished. I purchased a beech stocked .22 caliber version. Not too much noticeable recoil. Trigger is almost infinitely adjustable. Seems more hold sensitive than either of my Walther LGV's. Haven't really shot much off hand and mainly have shot from a bench. Best rested accuracy to date is with a sandbag support approximately 1 inch in front of the trigger guard and with no rear bag. I've found that putting a piece of vinyl fabric on top of the sandbag aides accuracy. No testing with an artillery hold so far. This gun is really heavy and with a 4 x 16 scope, is heavier than most of my centerfire hunting rifles. I'm shooting five shot 1" groups at 25 yards, but this rifle should shoot much better than that.
    Things I would have changed:Not much really. Perhaps a little cheaper price.
    What others should know:I have yet to find a really good pellet for this gun. Have tried a dozen or so with the JSB Exact 15.89 grain, JSB 18.13 grain, and Crosman Premier Ultra Mag the best so far. My rifle is really unhappy with H&N 14.66 grain Field Target Trophies and with RWS Superdomes.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By eugene from USA on 2014-09-22
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating
     
    Things I liked:Rifle well made, handles well, very accurate. Stock and bluing finished very nicely. Cocks smoothly and with medium effort.
    Things I would have changed:I think the ratchet and release are redundant...still need to hold the cocking lever while inserting pellet for safety reasons. An adjustable butt plate would be nice.
    What others should know:It is a heavy rifle. Ragged one hole groups at 20yards and easily hitting 1" reset targets at 42 yards.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Dave from USA on 2014-09-21
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:Quality of material.worksmanship and finish equal to a few custom firearms costing many thousands of $'s. Higher quality than my pre-64' Winchester M-70's Better trigger than my M-52 Win. (About equal to that of my Martini target rifle.) Well-fitted stock suited to normal-size adults.....Good for off-hand. Exc. selection of pellets avaiable in .22 . (Mine seems to "like" H&N 14.66 gr.)
    Things I would have changed:Slight plastic-y noise and "stickiness" occassionally when lever is returned fwd.when. Possible slight "wandering-"0" form day-to-day...(Could be my scope....Could be ME..?) I'de get a 2nd TX if they were made in .25 cal. and would shoot in the mid-to-low 700 fps range w/20 to 25 gr. pellets.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:4.0 4.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Jim from USA on 2014-09-18
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I've only had one chance to shoot my new TX200 MkIII, so far. It shot very accurately right out of the case. Beautiful walnut stock. Beautiful workmanship.
    Things I would have changed:Don't change a good thing.
  • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

    Value for money:5.0 5.0

    Accuracy:5.0 5.0

      By Thomas from USA on 2014-09-11
    See all my reviews
     Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings
     
    Things I liked:I got my TX200 and scope package when PA had their recent sale. Could not pass up this and the savings. I already had a RWS 54 that I love (side lever makes for easy operation in prone position). On the stance of "you cannot take it with you" I decided to pop for the TX200, one can never have enough toys. The packasge came with a Leapers 3-12 44 AO SWAT scope and a Leapers Accushot one piece mount. Surprisingly, the scope box includes a mount also but I used the Accushot amyway. I went through the process of sighting in and also taking the opportunity to use my chronograph for each shot. Velocity with Beeman Laser 7.16 gr pellets had a spread from 966 down to 949 on the low end. Looks like this pellet velocity is going to settle in around 950 fps. Will try a variety of other pellets I have for the RWS54. Cocking is a bit tougher than the 54 but manageable. My TX200 does have a rather plain grain walnut stock compared to the pictured stocks. All together I am happy so far.
    Things I would have changed:Too soon to tell yet. Need more shots and practice and pellet testing. Any oil initially present seems to have been cleaned out with velocities stabilizing.
    What others should know:Heavy like the RWS54, neither feel like a toy when you pick them up. I think a AA has a better stock design though. I am trying to figure how to put a sling on this gun for ease of carrying. I have one on my 54 set up for NRA type sling use like my match .22s and big bore rifles.
  • 123 ... 78 Next »
Shop at Gun Mall
Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal (USD):
    does not include shipping and tax

    Back to Top