Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Tom from USA on 2007-12-04 15:44:18

Things I liked: I like the build quality of the gun, above all. Everything is done right. This is the kind of rifle you'll be proud to own for the rest of your life. It's the most accurate spring gun below $3,000. There are so many refinements in the trigger, the bedding, the barrel and breech, that I could write all day long about this rifle! In fact, you can read my TX200 article on this website.

Things I would have changed: Nothing!

What others should know: This is an underlever and therefore has limited access to the breech. People with very large hands may find it difficult to load until they develop a technique. The gun has 3 holes for a vertical scope stop pin, so buy scope mounts with a stop pin. Find the one best pellet, and use it exclusively. I've found both Beeman Kodiaks and 10.3-grain JSB Exacts to be equally accurate in my TX. I would scope this gun with a Bushnell 6-18x40 Trophy or a Leapers 3-12x44 AO SWAT Mini-Size scope.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:2.0

Value for money:2.0

Accuracy:5.0

By James from USA on 2015-01-24 20:03:46

Things I liked: Looks great. Very accurate, great trigger. Problem. I've only had the gun a couple weeks, and it does not work any more, can't cock it... So I can't really rate it yet. It was 5 stars all the way when it was working for those two weeks. Sending it back. Not sure what to do next.

Things I would have changed: Maybe should have chosen the Beeman HW 97.

What others should know: Did not have gun long enough to know.

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 89 Next
  • Showitems
  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stacey from USA on 2015-08-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality is everywhere: bluing, stock, fit and finish. There aren't many firearms that can match this quality all-around. Pure gun porn.

    Things I would have changed: HEAVY. I hunt with this thing and shoulder straps don't work well with it since it's under-lever, therefore, you either carry it across the back of your neck or you just sit down - carrying it for for any length of time any other way is for powerlifters.

    What others should know: Know that you won't want to carry it around for long but from every other consideration, it's a fantastic piece of work. You'll be proud to have it in your case, it shoots better than you do, it's a piece of art you'll want to pull out from your collection to just look at on a regular basis, and even though it's too heavy to carry around on a long hunt, you'll do it just because you want to spend time with it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2015-08-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very professional organization.

    Things I would have changed: Keep doing what works

    What others should know: Give more specs on your products.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Allen from USA on 2015-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice feel to stock.

    Things I would have changed: For a gun that cost this much they should come with a 25yd.shot target (grouping)at least.

    What others should know: Accuracy fell off quick. Had to return,,waiting on replacement...

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alfonso from USA on 2015-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I would pretty much be repeating what the majority have said about what an excellent air rifle this is. I guess the more important question is whether the price is worth it, and the obvious answer is YES! The legends are true. This beauty feels and looks better than some of my .22 rimfire rifles. Find the right pellet for it, and you'll have a laser beam up to 50 yds. all day long.

    Things I would have changed: Include simple instructions for disassembling/maintenance with torque settings.

    What others should know: If your cocking lever arm stops engaging/locking with the indent ball catch, all you have to do is turn the end knob counterclockwise to engage the ball again, put a little bit of removable Loctite and adjust quickly to your desired release and engagement and you'll be good to go. Not sure why Air Arms didn't make that part a little resistant to moving out of place.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2015-07-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Everything about this rifle screams quality and it is by far the most elegant weapon I own including firearms. Its as smooth shooting as some of my tuned air rifles and the factory trigger feels great right out of the box. Its expensive but I have no regrets at all about this purchase.

    Things I would have changed: I'm really not a fan of auto safeties but other than that I'm happy as is.

    What others should know: Mine is the .22 and of all the pellets I've tried (a lot) this one likes cheap Crosman Premiers the best, both the domed and hollow point. Go Figure?

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent craftsmanship. Most attractive and detailed air rifle I own, or have ever seen. Accurate right out of the box. No sound of the spring at the end of the shot cycle. Very easy to cock. Anti-beartrap mechanism works flawlessly.

    Things I would have changed: Very little to pick on here. The trigger, while nice, is a little harder to fine tune and not quite as crisp as that on my HW97K. Maybe AA could get the rekord trigger for this rifle under license from Weirauch, even if it were an added option from the factory. the added cost would be worth it. Maybe move the safety to the front of the trigger guard like on the HW90. It would be much more convenientand comfortable to use there.

    What others should know: Pair this rifle with a high quality scope such as the (Hawke sidewinder)and you will have a tack driver! Many of my air rifles, even some of the high end ones, take a couple of hundred shots to break in before consistent accuracy comes together. This one was shooting 3 and 5 shot groups of clover leafs and ragged one holers at 30 and 40 yards within the first 50-75 rounds. You cannot ask for better than that!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Glenn from USA on 2015-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    5.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I've owned two of the .22 caliber TX200 MkIII. Unfortunately, the first air rifle was stolen in Phoenix. I purchased both of them from Pyramyd Air and I received excellent service both times. The TX200 MkIII is a beautiful "bit-of-kit" as the British would say. The stock and the bluing are exquisite and the trigger is second-to-none. Unlike less expensive air rifles that I've owned, the TX200 MkIII performs consistently well and is therefore very predictable. I know exactly what to expect at different ranges and in very diverse conditions. It's a pleasure knowing that if I do my part, the TX200 MkIII will reward me with exceptional accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: There is a soft rubber stopper on the bottom side of the barrel shroud which prevents the cocking arm from impacting the barrel shroud and wearing away the bluing. This soft rubber stopper will fail. Fortunately, there are two grooves milled into the cocking arm and they are perfect for holding o-rings which will solve this problem.

    What others should know: If you live in a dry climate, the stock will shrink. I experienced this with both of my TX200 MkIII. The first stock shrank in Pueblo, Co during the summer and the 2nd stock shrank in Maine during the winter. Both times the air was exceedingly dry for a period of months. This did not present any long term problems. The TX200 MkIII is a heavy air rifle as both the cocking mechanism and barrel shroud are made of steel. Including the scope, my TX200 is weighing in at just over 11 pounds. Since 2011 I've had the opportunity to hunt and take Armadillo, Chipmunk, Grey Fox, Possum, Porcupine, Prairie Dog, Raccoon, Rabbit, Rat, Skunk, Squirrel, Turkey and a Plethora of birds. All this was done with head shots using the H&N Baracuda Green Pellets. I've developed reasonable expectations and a good understanding of the limitations of my TX200 MkIII. The TX200 MkIII is not a "magic" air rifle but it is a beautiful "bit-of-kit".

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JAMES NELSON from USA on 2015-05-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very quiet, and what you do hear is not like a crack at all.

    Things I would have changed: Better marketing in US. Why did I not hear of this until I was 38? So much fun to use and because it is quiet you can use it more than those trinket guns in sporting good sections with gimmicky noise suppressors that don't work. Totally regret every air rifle I ever purchased before this one.

    What others should know: I decided this is not "high-priced." This is the least expensive air rifle you can get. Everything cheaper is not an air rifle, it is a toy! This is cheaper than a real gun and you will use it far more. Either get nothing or get this one. You won't regret it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2015-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great looking walnut stock, great trigger, accurate with any pellet I tried, lifetime warranty.

    Things I would have changed: Can't think of anything.

    What others should know: The first rifle arrived with a damaged stock. Had to RMA it and Pyramyd Air sent me another one with a great looking stock. The second rifle was inspected at no charge before it was sent out. Excellent customer service.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By WilliamJ from USA on 2015-04-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I picked myself up off the floor after opening the box the TX came in (due to how amazing it looked) and then I removed it from the box and was immediately impressed with the build quality and substance of this rifle. Then I shot it some, but couldn't understand why it was rated so highly, UNTIL I had about 100 rounds thru it and it has smoothed out amazingly. It is easily the quietest, smoothest shooting rifle I've ever experienced. Just mind boggling! How can a springer be this nice???? To me, it is now absolutely perfect. I no longer miss my original Webley Patriot I let go a few years ago. Not the same punch, I know. The build quality is even better than the famous Webley however and that's saying something. Great things are never cheap to come by it seems, and this is the perfect example. I see what all the fuss is about now. Well worth the price of admission (and then some). A true VALUE! It even makes me a decent shooter!!!!

    Things I would have changed: Make walnut stocks standard and keep the price the same?? Not fair, I know!!

    What others should know: A substantial rifle and that may not appeal to all folks. On the other hand, the heft keeps it from moving around when on target.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Pawpawsailor from USA on 2015-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy, quality of workmanship, design, finish, trigger.

    Things I would have changed: Add a quality bipod made for the under lever design.

    What others should know: The trigger guard has vibrated loose several times following long shooting sessions.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2015-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The accuracy. The bluing is beautiful and the beech stock is very nice. The shot cycle is solid and not harsh. Not too hard to cock. The trigger is nice but has a little too much creep. I like the anti bear trap because you really need to get your fingers in there to load it and clean the barrel.

    Things I would have changed: This gun is heavy. I knew that when I ordered it but wow. Solid heft. Might be too heavy to carry in the woods and better suited for the bench. Seems to be very pellet fussy. I shot a lot of different brands and types and settled on crosman premier 7.9 gr (Brown Box) pellets. They were the best for me.

    What others should know: Gun can sound a little twangy sometimes and was still dieseling after 500-600 shots. Im hoping this will settle down after more shooting. Also clean the barrel after shooting the gun. Mine was filthy and did shoot tighter after that. Mine was shooting .177 cpl 7.9 grains at about 880-888 fps over my chrony. I bought the second package with the leapers scope and one piece mount. It is excellent and happy I did it. The field target pellets it came with are terrible. They are hard to load and look like a shotgun blast on paper. I don't know why PA would put them in this package with such a high quality gun?

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bob from USA on 2015-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate..nice trigger..like the underlever..very quiet..

    Things I would have changed: Just a bit heavy and bulk

    What others should know: Safety -once released can not be put back on

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2015-04-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great Accuracy!!! Nice adjustable crisp trigger. Woodwork is Great. Deep bluing on the metal is flawless. It fits your body the way a gun should.

    Things I would have changed: NOTHING, I think its Perfect the way it is.

    What others should know: This is a Really nice air rifle. I had to save money for months to buy my TX. In my opinion it's worth every cent. At first I didn't care for the safety, But after I found how it works and why it's designed that way I love the design. I was surprised with the accuracy of the TX 200. I was also surprised how it can make a decent Shooter into a Better Shooter.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2015-02-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate, accurate, accurate.... Great trigger. Nice to look at.

    Things I would have changed: Too heavy. Every time I pick it up, I am reminded how out of shape I am.

    What others should know: I had the gun for about 2 weeks when it stopped working (broke). I returned it. I was told I would receive a new gun, but they repaired the gun instead. Got it back pretty quickly. So far, it is shooting very nicely. I just wanted to say the customer service @ PA is outstanding, not perfect, but pretty close...

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Colin from USA on 2015-02-14
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I love the rigid barrel (SUPER accurate!), EXCELLENT (and adjustable) trigger right out of the box, perfect balance, gorgeous wood (I went with beech), easy cocking underlever. Spacious access to the breech for loading, and a digit-saving anti-beartrap mechanism. Super easy disassembly for maintenance. QUIET! Not sensitive to hold. My new TX200 MkIII has a proud place in my gun safe, along with my firearms. And I should add, this is by far the most beautiful of anything in my safe.

    Things I would have changed: Offer iron sights (obviously it wasn't a deal-breaker for me). Yeah, I know a scope is best for accuracy, especially at long distances. Still, iron sights are nice, too. Beyond that, this rifle is as perfect as it gets.

    What others should know: This is my first experience with Air Arms, and I have to say, I'm a convert! They sure know how to make a fine rifle. This thing is like a fine English firearm, only without the fire. And though some may not appreciate this detail- I do- Air Arms packs this in a nearly bombproof box, and the rifle is firmly cradled to protect it. They pay attention not only to the quality, fit and finish of their air guns, but they also understand that getting it to the customer in perfect condition is also extremely important. Well done, Air Arms! THIS is the air rifle for me. It took me a long time to finally find the right one- and it's available in .22 caliber, too! Just what I was looking for. If my wife would allow it, I'd take it to bed at night so I could reach over and touch it while sleeping. Okay, so that may be a bit of an exaggeration, but not by much. Get one- you will understand.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By R.B. from USA on 2015-02-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This is a really good air rifle. I researched the market before making my purchase. The only experience I had with air rifles prior to this purchase was a Sheridan Solver Streak. I was concerned about barrel droop with the break barrels so I decided on the under lever TX200. The fit and finish on this rifle are superb. Accuracy is outstanding. The trigger is pretty sweet too. This rifle is worth the money.

    Things I would have changed: The pellet loading port is a little undersize for my fingers. It works but it is a little tight.

    What others should know: Once you release the safety, the shooter can not reapply the safety. If the game animal moves off, the shooter has a rifle that is ready to fire. Presumably one could cycle the under lever to reapply the automatic safety but I have not tried that technique to determine whether it would reapply the safety.

  • 2.0 2.0

    2.0 2.0

    5.0 5.0

    By James from USA on 2015-01-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    1.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Looks great. Very accurate, great trigger. Problem. I've only had the gun a couple weeks, and it does not work any more, can't cock it... So I can't really rate it yet. It was 5 stars all the way when it was working for those two weeks. Sending it back. Not sure what to do next.

    Things I would have changed: Maybe should have chosen the Beeman HW 97.

    What others should know: Did not have gun long enough to know.

  • 4.0 4.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Martin from USA on 2015-01-24
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent blueing on the barrel, beautiful stock, nice trigger. The accuracy keeps getting better the more I shoot it.

    Things I would have changed: Little better QC. This is a replacement rifle. The original had safety button issues and on this one the stock securing screw keeps working loose. Some loctite should cure that hopefully.

    What others should know: This is my first springer and overall I'm happy with it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Steve from USA on 2015-01-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: This rifle is an incredible example of fine craftsmanship all the way around. The fit and finish are exceptional!! The first shots out of this rifle left no doubt on not only it's pinpoint accuracy, but just how easy this rifle is to shoot and shoot well. The walnut stock was extremely smooth with nicely cut checkering, and the bluing was as fine as any rifle I have seen, very deep and rich. Another thing worth mentioning is the trigger. Right out of the box this trigger is unbelievably smooth.

    Things I would have changed: I would only change one thing and that would be the factory finish on the walnut stock. In my opinion it comes from the factory rather dry, leaving the stock susceptible to staining, marking, etc. Keep in mind that some folks like it just like it is. It is still absolutely gorgeous right out of the box, but for me it needed additional finishing to seal the grain.

    What others should know: H&N FTT 8.64gr 4.52's are shooting excellent out of this rifle.

  • 123 ... 89 Next
Navigation