Date: 9/2/2016 16:59

Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle reviews - page 1

Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers

The most helpful favorable review

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:5.0

Value for money:5.0

Accuracy:5.0

By Tom from USA on 2007-12-04 15:44:18

Things I liked: I like the build quality of the gun, above all. Everything is done right. This is the kind of rifle you'll be proud to own for the rest of your life. It's the most accurate spring gun below $3,000. There are so many refinements in the trigger, the bedding, the barrel and breech, that I could write all day long about this rifle! In fact, you can read my TX200 article on this website.

Things I would have changed: Nothing!

What others should know: This is an underlever and therefore has limited access to the breech. People with very large hands may find it difficult to load until they develop a technique. The gun has 3 holes for a vertical scope stop pin, so buy scope mounts with a stop pin. Find the one best pellet, and use it exclusively. I've found both Beeman Kodiaks and 10.3-grain JSB Exacts to be equally accurate in my TX. I would scope this gun with a Bushnell 6-18x40 Trophy or a Leapers 3-12x44 AO SWAT Mini-Size scope.

The most helpful critical review

0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:

Overall rating:1.0

Value for money:1.0

Accuracy:5.0

By TaiN from USA on 2015-12-13 00:26:52

Things I liked: The blueing of the barel. Accuracy.

Things I would have changed: Cocking. The rifle was a refurbished model with a cocking problem and safety lock engagement. After a 100 rounds of pellet, I figured out how to cock the rifle so that the safety lock would engage and also how to cock it so that it would not engaged (I was still able to close the breech and fire with the safety lock not being engaged). For an expensive rifle like that, the cocking should work every single time and the safety lock also should engaged every single time. IT IS AN UNSAFE GUN. I checked the internet regarding the cocking problem with the TX200 MK3 and there are quite a few people reporting this problem.

What others should know: I bought this rifle as a refurbished model. The gun came with the the old packaging + manual + the RMA document from the previous owner. I did ask customer support regarding the cocking problem and they told me to return the gun. I really wanted to keep the rifle, but at the same time I didn't know if the cocking problem would get worse or not in the future. Throughout this course of the problem I found that: - Pyramid Air Customer service was not up to their par. Customer support assured me that a manager would contact me through my email, but it's been more than a week and nothing happened. I wanted to know whether PA sold a refurbished product without it having refurbished since I encountered the same problem as from the previous owner. - I also contacted Air Arms and reported the problem and I did not hear anything from Air Arms. So for new buyer, please check the internet by searching for "Air Arms TX200MK3 cocking problem" before considering buying this rifle

Sort by:
  • 123 ... 89 Next
  • Showitems
  • 1.0 1.0

    1.0 1.0

    5.0 5.0

    By TaiN from USA on 2015-12-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: The blueing of the barel. Accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: Cocking. The rifle was a refurbished model with a cocking problem and safety lock engagement. After a 100 rounds of pellet, I figured out how to cock the rifle so that the safety lock would engage and also how to cock it so that it would not engaged (I was still able to close the breech and fire with the safety lock not being engaged). For an expensive rifle like that, the cocking should work every single time and the safety lock also should engaged every single time. IT IS AN UNSAFE GUN. I checked the internet regarding the cocking problem with the TX200 MK3 and there are quite a few people reporting this problem.

    What others should know: I bought this rifle as a refurbished model. The gun came with the the old packaging + manual + the RMA document from the previous owner. I did ask customer support regarding the cocking problem and they told me to return the gun. I really wanted to keep the rifle, but at the same time I didn't know if the cocking problem would get worse or not in the future. Throughout this course of the problem I found that: - Pyramid Air Customer service was not up to their par. Customer support assured me that a manager would contact me through my email, but it's been more than a week and nothing happened. I wanted to know whether PA sold a refurbished product without it having refurbished since I encountered the same problem as from the previous owner. - I also contacted Air Arms and reported the problem and I did not hear anything from Air Arms. So for new buyer, please check the internet by searching for "Air Arms TX200MK3 cocking problem" before considering buying this rifle

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Daniel from USA on 2015-11-13
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Once you open the box you can tell that this is a quality airgun. The bluing is absolutely perfect and the walnut stock with it's checkering is awesome. The best part is the airgun can shoot. I tried 4 different pellets and it liked the heavy 18.3 gr. Diablo pellets the best. I would call a 3/8" 5 shot group at 25 yards accurate. Very happy with the gun. Yes the price is up there but you pay for quality.

    Things I would have changed: Actually happy the way it is.

  • 4.0 4.0

    2.0 2.0

    4.0 4.0

    By Bob from USA on 2015-11-10
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: This is quality springer. The accuracy is very good, but not real exceptional. It's a little hold sensitive, but acceptable. My favorite feature by far is the trigger, which is just wonderful out of the box. While waiting for delivery, I plotted and planned to tweak that trigger very carefully to my preference. Imagine my disappointment when it was perfect right out of the box! Oh well...

    Things I would have changed: Built in Weaver/Pic scope mount would have been a nice and weight saving feature. The walnut stock is great, and beautifully sculpted and finished. Luck of the draw got me ugly grain and figuring. It doesn't even look like walnut grain. A better bumper system at the end of the under lever that doesn't fall off would have been nice. Like others, I found O-rings to use for bumpers, but the grooves are razor sharp. They eventually cut the O-rings and your hand if you're not careful. Loading pellets are a real pain if your close in eyesight is bad, but I have no idea how to improve that. It's the nature of an under lever. The weight of this rifle is astounding, it could have been made a tad lighter. For the price point and weight, I think it should be more accurate and less fussy about hold and pellet preference. The first 2-3 shots are usually fliers. Don't know how to fix this, but it needs fixing. It does settle down nicely after 2-3 shots, but the starling is long gone by then, right?

    What others should know: This rifle is a beast. At 5'10", 185 and stronger than average, I cannot shoot it off hand. Yes, it's that heavy. My big scope and AO focus wheel doesn't help, but still... I do not recommend this rifle for hunting for that reason and 1 other. As mentioned, the first couple of shots are about .5 off at 20 yards, not counting shooter error. Pests and game will not allow you a couple of warmup shots. It could make a good ratting gun if you use a rest. Bottom line, I have myself an expensive paper puncher here. Though accurate at paper punching, it's not even exceptional. So far, my best pellets are on the heavy side. It likes Diablo and H&N in the 10gr range. Strangely, Crosman Ultra Mag 10.5gr shoot awful, but Crosman Premier HP 7.9gr shoot only fair. I still have a few pellets to try. If it sounds like I don't like this gun, that's not what I meant to convey. I do like it, but I'm pretty picky and am not bashful about saying what I like and dislike.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Hawk4357 from USA on 2015-11-01
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I bought the walnut stock in .22 cal and it far exceeded my expectations.The walnut stock is beautiful with a very rich,deep blueing on the metal.It is very well engineered with attention to detail such as the nice checkering on the stock.I originally bought this rifle because I grew very frustrated with my RWS 460 and how hold sensitive it was.One of the best decisions I ever made.My TX200 is not hold sensitive at all.Very accurate with all the pellets I have put thru it.Yes it is heavy at 9lbs but I'm not humping it thru the woods.

    Things I would have changed: Cut the dovetail grooves deeper-they are very shallow.Design it so there is a good way to use a sling.

    What others should know: Yes it is expensive but you more than get your money's worth.This is the Ferrari of springers.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Evan from USA on 2015-10-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: very nice craftsmanship. Nice wood. great accuracy. Adjustable trigger.

    Things I would have changed: Would be nice to have some sort of quick connect sling connectors. Its sort of thick on the fore end when carring around with hand so I carry it over my shoulder. Its a heavier gun but not too heavy.

    What others should know: Shot nice and smooth around the first 1 or 2 hundred shots then developed a spring like twang afterwhile with vibration and more kick. I got a vortech pro guide 2 kit for it and it cocks a lot smoother as well and shoots better. Seems like the spring reacts faster and kicks less with the pg2 kit. I got the pg2 high output kit but doesn't seem to shoot any harder. I don't have a chrono so I'm not real sure I was judging by the dents in an old refridgerator I was scrapping that I was using to shoot at as a back stop. The depth of the dents seemed about the same from stock to the transition to the vortech kit. I would definitely recommend this pellet rifle. I was using a Benjamin pump which takes a lot longer to load each shot. The 8th pump on the Benjamin pump is about the same force as cocking this air rifle, which also seems easier after the kit install. The gun is also very easy to take apart and service if need be. Simplistic in design which is very good.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Randy from USA on 2015-08-31
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I think everything has been said, there is to say, about the workmanship and beauty of this gun. They are all true. I took me quite awhile to find the right pellet, but once I did it is was worth it. I bought three other rifles previously, until I decided to spring for the higher price on this gun. What a fool I was, should have bought this first rattle out of the box.

    Things I would have changed: Nothing

    What others should know: It took me several weeks to learn this. In my case I had to locktite all bolts and screws. In a 50 shot shooting session they were all working loose. Accuracy would drop of after about 40 shots. I was blaming the scope,the pellets and my ability to shoot. Not the case, just loose screws. You have to keep them all tight or the gun will not perform. I now have dime size groupings at 35 yards.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Stacey from USA on 2015-08-12
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Quality is everywhere: bluing, stock, fit and finish. There aren't many firearms that can match this quality all-around. Pure gun porn.

    Things I would have changed: HEAVY. I hunt with this thing and shoulder straps don't work well with it since it's under-lever, therefore, you either carry it across the back of your neck or you just sit down - carrying it for for any length of time any other way is for powerlifters.

    What others should know: Know that you won't want to carry it around for long but from every other consideration, it's a fantastic piece of work. You'll be proud to have it in your case, it shoots better than you do, it's a piece of art you'll want to pull out from your collection to just look at on a regular basis, and even though it's too heavy to carry around on a long hunt, you'll do it just because you want to spend time with it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2015-08-08
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    2.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very professional organization.

    Things I would have changed: Keep doing what works

    What others should know: Give more specs on your products.

  • 3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    3.0 3.0

    By Allen from USA on 2015-07-28
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very nice feel to stock.

    Things I would have changed: For a gun that cost this much they should come with a 25yd.shot target (grouping)at least.

    What others should know: Accuracy fell off quick. Had to return,,waiting on replacement...

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Alfonso from USA on 2015-07-20
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I would pretty much be repeating what the majority have said about what an excellent air rifle this is. I guess the more important question is whether the price is worth it, and the obvious answer is YES! The legends are true. This beauty feels and looks better than some of my .22 rimfire rifles. Find the right pellet for it, and you'll have a laser beam up to 50 yds. all day long.

    Things I would have changed: Include simple instructions for disassembling/maintenance with torque settings.

    What others should know: If your cocking lever arm stops engaging/locking with the indent ball catch, all you have to do is turn the end knob counterclockwise to engage the ball again, put a little bit of removable Loctite and adjust quickly to your desired release and engagement and you'll be good to go. Not sure why Air Arms didn't make that part a little resistant to moving out of place.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Scott from USA on 2015-07-17
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Things I liked: Everything about this rifle screams quality and it is by far the most elegant weapon I own including firearms. Its as smooth shooting as some of my tuned air rifles and the factory trigger feels great right out of the box. Its expensive but I have no regrets at all about this purchase.

    Things I would have changed: I'm really not a fan of auto safeties but other than that I'm happy as is.

    What others should know: Mine is the .22 and of all the pellets I've tried (a lot) this one likes cheap Crosman Premiers the best, both the domed and hollow point. Go Figure?

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By William from USA on 2015-06-19
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Excellent craftsmanship. Most attractive and detailed air rifle I own, or have ever seen. Accurate right out of the box. No sound of the spring at the end of the shot cycle. Very easy to cock. Anti-beartrap mechanism works flawlessly.

    Things I would have changed: Very little to pick on here. The trigger, while nice, is a little harder to fine tune and not quite as crisp as that on my HW97K. Maybe AA could get the rekord trigger for this rifle under license from Weirauch, even if it were an added option from the factory. the added cost would be worth it. Maybe move the safety to the front of the trigger guard like on the HW90. It would be much more convenientand comfortable to use there.

    What others should know: Pair this rifle with a high quality scope such as the (Hawke sidewinder)and you will have a tack driver! Many of my air rifles, even some of the high end ones, take a couple of hundred shots to break in before consistent accuracy comes together. This one was shooting 3 and 5 shot groups of clover leafs and ragged one holers at 30 and 40 yards within the first 50-75 rounds. You cannot ask for better than that!

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Glenn from USA on 2015-06-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.52 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I've owned two of the .22 caliber TX200 MkIII. Unfortunately, the first air rifle was stolen in Phoenix. I purchased both of them from Pyramyd Air and I received excellent service both times. The TX200 MkIII is a beautiful "bit-of-kit" as the British would say. The stock and the bluing are exquisite and the trigger is second-to-none. Unlike less expensive air rifles that I've owned, the TX200 MkIII performs consistently well and is therefore very predictable. I know exactly what to expect at different ranges and in very diverse conditions. It's a pleasure knowing that if I do my part, the TX200 MkIII will reward me with exceptional accuracy.

    Things I would have changed: There is a soft rubber stopper on the bottom side of the barrel shroud which prevents the cocking arm from impacting the barrel shroud and wearing away the bluing. This soft rubber stopper will fail. Fortunately, there are two grooves milled into the cocking arm and they are perfect for holding o-rings which will solve this problem.

    What others should know: If you live in a dry climate, the stock will shrink. I experienced this with both of my TX200 MkIII. The first stock shrank in Pueblo, Co during the summer and the 2nd stock shrank in Maine during the winter. Both times the air was exceedingly dry for a period of months. This did not present any long term problems. The TX200 MkIII is a heavy air rifle as both the cocking mechanism and barrel shroud are made of steel. Including the scope, my TX200 is weighing in at just over 11 pounds. Since 2011 I've had the opportunity to hunt and take Armadillo, Chipmunk, Grey Fox, Possum, Porcupine, Prairie Dog, Raccoon, Rabbit, Rat, Skunk, Squirrel, Turkey and a Plethora of birds. All this was done with head shots using the H&N Baracuda Green Pellets. I've developed reasonable expectations and a good understanding of the limitations of my TX200 MkIII. The TX200 MkIII is not a "magic" air rifle but it is a beautiful "bit-of-kit".

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By JAMES NELSON from USA on 2015-05-23
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Very quiet, and what you do hear is not like a crack at all.

    Things I would have changed: Better marketing in US. Why did I not hear of this until I was 38? So much fun to use and because it is quiet you can use it more than those trinket guns in sporting good sections with gimmicky noise suppressors that don't work. Totally regret every air rifle I ever purchased before this one.

    What others should know: I decided this is not "high-priced." This is the least expensive air rifle you can get. Everything cheaper is not an air rifle, it is a toy! This is cheaper than a real gun and you will use it far more. Either get nothing or get this one. You won't regret it.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2015-05-09
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    4.01 rating

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great looking walnut stock, great trigger, accurate with any pellet I tried, lifetime warranty.

    Things I would have changed: Can't think of anything.

    What others should know: The first rifle arrived with a damaged stock. Had to RMA it and Pyramyd Air sent me another one with a great looking stock. The second rifle was inspected at no charge before it was sent out. Excellent customer service.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By WilliamJ from USA on 2015-04-16
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: I picked myself up off the floor after opening the box the TX came in (due to how amazing it looked) and then I removed it from the box and was immediately impressed with the build quality and substance of this rifle. Then I shot it some, but couldn't understand why it was rated so highly, UNTIL I had about 100 rounds thru it and it has smoothed out amazingly. It is easily the quietest, smoothest shooting rifle I've ever experienced. Just mind boggling! How can a springer be this nice???? To me, it is now absolutely perfect. I no longer miss my original Webley Patriot I let go a few years ago. Not the same punch, I know. The build quality is even better than the famous Webley however and that's saying something. Great things are never cheap to come by it seems, and this is the perfect example. I see what all the fuss is about now. Well worth the price of admission (and then some). A true VALUE! It even makes me a decent shooter!!!!

    Things I would have changed: Make walnut stocks standard and keep the price the same?? Not fair, I know!!

    What others should know: A substantial rifle and that may not appeal to all folks. On the other hand, the heft keeps it from moving around when on target.

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Pawpawsailor from USA on 2015-04-06
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accuracy, quality of workmanship, design, finish, trigger.

    Things I would have changed: Add a quality bipod made for the under lever design.

    What others should know: The trigger guard has vibrated loose several times following long shooting sessions.

  • 5.0 5.0

    4.0 4.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2015-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: The accuracy. The bluing is beautiful and the beech stock is very nice. The shot cycle is solid and not harsh. Not too hard to cock. The trigger is nice but has a little too much creep. I like the anti bear trap because you really need to get your fingers in there to load it and clean the barrel.

    Things I would have changed: This gun is heavy. I knew that when I ordered it but wow. Solid heft. Might be too heavy to carry in the woods and better suited for the bench. Seems to be very pellet fussy. I shot a lot of different brands and types and settled on crosman premier 7.9 gr (Brown Box) pellets. They were the best for me.

    What others should know: Gun can sound a little twangy sometimes and was still dieseling after 500-600 shots. Im hoping this will settle down after more shooting. Also clean the barrel after shooting the gun. Mine was filthy and did shoot tighter after that. Mine was shooting .177 cpl 7.9 grains at about 880-888 fps over my chrony. I bought the second package with the leapers scope and one piece mount. It is excellent and happy I did it. The field target pellets it came with are terrible. They are hard to load and look like a shotgun blast on paper. I don't know why PA would put them in this package with such a high quality gun?

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Bob from USA on 2015-04-04
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Accurate..nice trigger..like the underlever..very quiet..

    Things I would have changed: Just a bit heavy and bulk

    What others should know: Safety -once released can not be put back on

  • 5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    5.0 5.0

    By Paul from USA on 2015-04-03
    See all my reviews
    Was this review helpful?
    0.00 ratings

    Verified Purchase

    Things I liked: Great Accuracy!!! Nice adjustable crisp trigger. Woodwork is Great. Deep bluing on the metal is flawless. It fits your body the way a gun should.

    Things I would have changed: NOTHING, I think its Perfect the way it is.

    What others should know: This is a Really nice air rifle. I had to save money for months to buy my TX. In my opinion it's worth every cent. At first I didn't care for the safety, But after I found how it works and why it's designed that way I love the design. I was surprised with the accuracy of the TX 200. I was also surprised how it can make a decent Shooter into a Better Shooter.

  • 123 ... 89 Next
Navigation