Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle reviews - page 1



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2007-12-04 15:44:18

    Things I liked:I like the build quality of the gun, above all. Everything is done right. This is the kind of rifle you'll be proud to own for the rest of your life. It's the most accurate spring gun below $3,000. There are so many refinements in the trigger, the bedding, the barrel and breech, that I could write all day long about this rifle! In fact, you can read my TX200 article on this website.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing!
    What others should know:This is an underlever and therefore has limited access to the breech. People with very large hands may find it difficult to load until they develop a technique. The gun has 3 holes for a vertical scope stop pin, so buy scope mounts with a stop pin. Find the one best pellet, and use it exclusively. I've found both Beeman Kodiaks and 10.3-grain JSB Exacts to be equally accurate in my TX. I would scope this gun with a Bushnell 6-18x40 Trophy or a Leapers 3-12x44 AO SWAT Mini-Size scope.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2014-08-17 21:09:49

    Things I liked:Pretty air rifle.
    Things I would have changed:Cheek rest on stock is too thin at top.Hard to get a good cheekweld.Test for accuracy at the factory before releasing for sale.
    What others should know:Very poor accuracy out of the box.Strong smell of burning oil or grease.Accuracy has improved slightly after 545 pellets.Still can't compare to a cheap Crosman for accuracy.Very nice trigger though.
    Sort by:
    • 123 ... 67 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By eugene from USA on 2014-09-22
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Rifle well made, handles well, very accurate. Stock and bluing finished very nicely. Cocks smoothly and with medium effort.
      Things I would have changed:I think the ratchet and release are redundant...still need to hold the cocking lever while inserting pellet for safety reasons. An adjustable butt plate would be nice.
      What others should know:It is a heavy rifle. Ragged one hole groups at 20yards and easily hitting 1" reset targets at 42 yards.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dave from USA on 2014-09-21
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Quality of material.worksmanship and finish equal to a few custom firearms costing many thousands of $'s. Higher quality than my pre-64' Winchester M-70's Better trigger than my M-52 Win. (About equal to that of my Martini target rifle.) Well-fitted stock suited to normal-size adults.....Good for off-hand. Exc. selection of pellets avaiable in .22 . (Mine seems to "like" H&N 14.66 gr.)
      Things I would have changed:Slight plastic-y noise and "stickiness" occassionally when lever is returned fwd.when. Possible slight "wandering-"0" form day-to-day...(Could be my scope....Could be ME..?) I'de get a 2nd TX if they were made in .25 cal. and would shoot in the mid-to-low 700 fps range w/20 to 25 gr. pellets.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jim from USA on 2014-09-18
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I've only had one chance to shoot my new TX200 MkIII, so far. It shot very accurately right out of the case. Beautiful walnut stock. Beautiful workmanship.
      Things I would have changed:Don't change a good thing.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2014-09-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I got my TX200 and scope package when PA had their recent sale. Could not pass up this and the savings. I already had a RWS 54 that I love (side lever makes for easy operation in prone position). On the stance of "you cannot take it with you" I decided to pop for the TX200, one can never have enough toys. The packasge came with a Leapers 3-12 44 AO SWAT scope and a Leapers Accushot one piece mount. Surprisingly, the scope box includes a mount also but I used the Accushot amyway. I went through the process of sighting in and also taking the opportunity to use my chronograph for each shot. Velocity with Beeman Laser 7.16 gr pellets had a spread from 966 down to 949 on the low end. Looks like this pellet velocity is going to settle in around 950 fps. Will try a variety of other pellets I have for the RWS54. Cocking is a bit tougher than the 54 but manageable. My TX200 does have a rather plain grain walnut stock compared to the pictured stocks. All together I am happy so far.
      Things I would have changed:Too soon to tell yet. Need more shots and practice and pellet testing. Any oil initially present seems to have been cleaned out with velocities stabilizing.
      What others should know:Heavy like the RWS54, neither feel like a toy when you pick them up. I think a AA has a better stock design though. I am trying to figure how to put a sling on this gun for ease of carrying. I have one on my 54 set up for NRA type sling use like my match .22s and big bore rifles.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Alan from USA on 2014-08-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Accuray, Weight, Noise level, Overall Quality.
      Things I would have changed:ease of releasing cocking arm.
      What others should know:I wish I would have bought one sooner!
    • Overall rating:2.0 2.0

      Value for money:2.0 2.0

      Accuracy:1.0 1.0

        By Kenneth from USA on 2014-08-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      1.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Pretty air rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Cheek rest on stock is too thin at top.Hard to get a good cheekweld.Test for accuracy at the factory before releasing for sale.
      What others should know:Very poor accuracy out of the box.Strong smell of burning oil or grease.Accuracy has improved slightly after 545 pellets.Still can't compare to a cheap Crosman for accuracy.Very nice trigger though.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By TunnelEngineer from USA on 2014-08-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I own several spring and PCP rifles, some very accurate and of very high quality. I own two TX200, one is a Mark III, which I own for over three years, and the other is an older version I bought used several months ago. Everything you read in the reviews is true, no need to elaborate. Accuracy, quality, finish, overall experience, al excellent
      Things I would have changed:Absolutely nothing
      What others should know:My TX200 Mark III loves Light Crosman Premier pellets and pretty much any other light domed pellet. I did not like heavy Premiers and made a terrible twang when trying them Original spring broke before the first 2,000 round sand replaced with Macarri spring Applying tar on the spring is recommended to remove any twang I am looking for a full size PCP and it will be and Air Arms
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Dave from USA on 2014-07-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I...LOVE...THIS...RIFLE!!! Had it for almost a month and already put nearly 1000 rounds through her. Accuracy is astounding, fit and finish are wonderful. I am also a proud owner of a vintage Weihrauch HW-35 and I have to say the TX200 is my new favorite.
      Things I would have changed:The rifle is engineered and constructed superbly, but the lube used for the internals is sub-par. Accuracy dropped off after about 200 rounds, I gave her a lube tune with some moly and she has been a sweet shooting tack-driver ever since.
      What others should know:If you begin to suffer from POI shift after your first 5-10 shots or start hearing spring twang, it needs to be re-lubed. Do a quality job with good moly grease or have a pro do it and you'll have a rifle you will fall in love with too. If you are looking for a quality springer that is pinpoint accurate and loads of fun to shoot, don't hesitate to buy this rifle!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By todd from USA on 2014-07-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Fantastic stock ( mines beech),beautiful deep bluing. Pictures do not do justice on the great looks of this rifle. I wasn't sure if I was going to like the 'fish scale checkering' but it looks great. Outstanding accuracy, excellent trigger.
      Things I would have changed:Nothing. Maybe lighten rifle?
      What others should know:I've had this TX 200 for a couple days now. Rifle is very heavy but this springer is so accurate that I wont complain. I really didn't believe a spring rifle could be as accurate as a PCP, but this rifle is amazing! Sub 1/2" 5 shot groups at 35 yards are the norm and I know that with some practice I can beat that. This rifle is NOT very 'hold sensitive' at all. Shoots like a tuned springer. Very smooth shooting cycle. Mine is in .22 cal and shoots Crossman Premier domed 14.3 grain best. JSB Exact 14.35 grain come in second. This is my 5th Air Arms air rifle( first springer) and can say this company makes a very high quality product. You can't go wrong with this air rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Rich from USA on 2014-07-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Every good thing you have ever heard about this rifle is true. I am still breaking mine in. Chrony showed 710 fps average for about the first 50 14.3 gr. Crosman Premier hunting pellets, but with a large disparity in velocities. Could see "smoke" for a few shots, but no excess noise. ThumpThwack is what you hear at 25 yards against an aluminum can. At 500 plus shots with the CP 14.3s, the rifle can shoot a 50 shot 1" group at 35 yards from a bench rest using a BugBuster 3x 9 scope. The rifle is not hold sensitive. No matter how I hold it, the pellets go where I expect. Propped up on a sandbag under the forearm and another under the tip of the shoulder pad, with only my thumb and trigger finger touching the gun, the rifle put 3 pellets inside a 1/2" bullseye at 35 yards at around the 250 shot mark. The average velocity is still climbing. Average is up to 735 fps with Std. Deviation of 7 fps.
      Things I would have changed:Can't think of anything that wouldn't change the nature of what it is. Perhaps having the cocking arm / barrel bumper fully seated by the factory.
      What others should know:The rubber bumper on the underside of the barrel wasn't inserted as deep as it will go when the rifle arrived. Learning to grasp the cocking lever so as to not pull it out by accident was easy, and after 3 or 4 hundred shots, it was fully seated and no longer is in much danger of being pulled out even if you stop paying attention to where it is. The shallow dovetail requires that you purchase a very high quality scope base. BKL did the trick for me. Even the short ones with only two clamping screws will work for lighter scopes. I shoot off the back deck, and my wife is just on the other side of the wall in the kitchen, and she says she can't hear me. My neighbors can't hear me either even when I can hear them out on their back deck. I can hear the Thunk quite loudly but it doesn' carry far. Night time rat and racoon hunting will not be a problem. Buy a really good high power scope. This baby deserves it.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By GILBERT from USA on 2014-06-28
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Whats not to like!!
      Things I would have changed:Nothing!
      What others should know:Keep in mind you get what you pay for. I also have a gamo break barrel (NO COMPARISON to my TX200.) This gun is more beautiful than all of my other guns, high powered riffles included. AIR ARMS YOU REALLY DID IT GOOD THIS TIME. Acurite and Beautiful, ENOUGH SAID!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By JT from USA on 2014-05-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The workmanship; wood work, bluing, fit and finish, and made in England, not China. EXTREMELY accurate for an air rifle (coming from a firearms instructor).
      Things I would have changed:Weight
      What others should know:I've been a gun collector for many year and for some reason, I decided I needed an air rifle for my collection. I wanted the best but was hesitant. If you're in this boat, DON'T be hesitant. It rivals most of my powdered rifles in fit and finish and this is one serious air rifle. I'm a firearms instructor and took it to the range. ALL the real gun nuts that were there now want one. It is a beautiful, accurate .22 cal. rifle. The ONLY ding is that it is HEAVY but I can still shoulder it for a few shots at 50 yards. My kids have since shot it and all of them love it as long as they can shoot from a supported position. This is an heirloom type rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joanie from USA on 2014-04-12
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:We got this to save wear and tear on our vintage RWS 45 and also to fill a gap in our air gun collection. Although we have some superb PCP rifles, I strongly believe every air gunner needs a good springer and the TX 200 is one fine spring gun.
      Things I would have changed:not a thing
      What others should know:Cannot believe the quality, fit and finish on this gun. Right there with our high end centerfire bolt guns. We opted for the walnut version and, believe me, we won the wood lottery. This gun is as nice to look at as it is to shoot and that is saying a lot.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2014-03-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:If there is such a thing as Air Rifle Art the Air Arms TX200 MKIII is the embodiment of this classification. It is truly a beautiful instrument. Plus the function follows the form. Cocking is precise and each movement provides positive feedback to my senses. Loading becomes second nature after perhaps five pellets. The trigger must be experienced to understand how perfect it is. Accuracy, out of the box, is spot on.
      Things I would have changed:If I wish to re-engage the safety I must re-cock the rifle. I believe this step should be eliminated and possibly Air Arms might engineer a more simple process to re-safe the rifle.
      What others should know:I read a review by Tom Gaylord which helped me decide upon this purchase. So I must thank him. The walnut stock version of this rifle is not inexpensive. I monitored the Pyramyd Air web site until the day they offered a Refurbished version for a bit less than a new beech stock. Then I placed my order. What I received is without a flaw. I must also add; the assistance and care I received from Pyramyd Air was exceptional.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Steve from USA on 2014-02-17
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Fit, finish, attention to detail and performance is second to none! I thought my RWS 350 Magnum .22 was the stud on the block... but it just got straight up punked by my TX200. I shoot the heavy Kodiak, 21.14 grain, 5.5mm, Cal .22 pellets and they do some serious damage! For best accuracy in field target shooting, try the Diablo, 15,89gr .22. I hit quarter sized groups from 50 yards out while converting my empty wine bottles to mere fairy dust from the same distance out. This gun is detailed and again, amazing piece of art!
      Things I would have changed:Perhaps the loading chamber could be a bit larger but I'm nitpicking.
      What others should know:I would upgrade to a better scope for this masterpiece of a gun. Don't cheapen it with a cheap, cheap scope. I recommend either the Hawks Sport or Leapers Swat for about $139 or so. This gun is worth the money to have in your collection. You need 11mm dovetail and rail purchased separately for about $15. Make sure the rail has the grove screw to prevent slipping.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Daniel from USA on 2014-02-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Wow! This gun really seems to work with me. It's by far the best springer that I've shot. The fit and finish are excellent,as is the accuracy, the trigger, and even the sound level.
      What others should know:You have to cock it in a smooth motion and hit the end of the cocking stroke a little bit firmly to get the sear to catch. It's easy once you get the hang of it, but it is different if you are used to a break barrel air rifle. If you hear a buzz after a few hundred shots, it's most likely to be the spring guide.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Robert from USA on 2014-01-27
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:it really is everything they say it is. well made excellent fit and finish. Out of the box the trigger is amazing . Yes, it is heavy , helps make it steady. Mine is a .22, been shooting Benjamin 14.3 g hollow points, best pellet I can find up here in Fairbanks AK. but luckily the gun likes them. I highly recommend the 10 for 10.No point in paying for shipping then finding something wrong with the gun
      Things I would have changed:gun was purchased as a package deal off the pyramyd website , although the web site was easy to navigate with quick follow up of status of order and tracking # . The scope in the package is adequate, I might of been better off spending time talking with someone prior to ordering
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Scott from USA on 2014-01-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Everything! Balance, accuracy, Great finish. I read everything I could about this gun before I bought it, It lives up to everything you will read and then some.
      Things I would have changed:Only thing I would change is I wish I would have gotten the walnut stock
      What others should know:You'll not be disappointed.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Wayne from USA on 2013-12-11
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Has a very nice balance and comes up perfect,the weight makes it very stable from freehand,the fit and finish is bar none,overall i would recommend this gun to anyone!
      Things I would have changed:I found it somewhat difficult to load when your hands are cold as the loading port is rather small.
      What others should know:Shoots like a dream out of the box,my first three shot group at twenty five yards was three quarters of an inch and am expecting it to get better.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By James from USA on 2013-11-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I am not disappointed. This is a beautiful rifle. It's worth the cost merely as an art object, the fact that it is also such a fine rifle is a bonus. Walnut stock is gorgeous. The metal is too but I need to stop obsessing about how easy it is to get fingerprints on it (yes, I do clean it after shooting.) Only ran a few hundred pellets through it so far but I am really happy that I chose this rifle. I got used to loading and cocking it very quickly and find it quite easy to do.
      Things I would have changed:As others have said - it is heavy. I also really wish you could re-engage the safety, doesn't make sense to me why you wouldn't be able to. I also wish Air Arms would design a way to add a sling - I know you can attach something to the cocking lever but that does not seem like a good (or safe) solution to me. A finely made rifle like this deserves to have a finely designed and well made option for a sling, not something jury-rigged.
      What others should know:So far seems to like RWS Meisterkulgen pellets the best. Also tried Crosman Premier, JSB Diablo, RWS Superdome and Air Arms Falcons but the Meisterkulgen were the most tight and consistent groups. That may change after the rifle is more broken-in? Time will tell.
    • 123 ... 67 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top