Shopping Cart Items

    CheckoutSubtotal:
    does not include shipping and tax

    Air Arms TX200 MkIII air rifle reviews - page 2



    Share on FacebookShare on Twitter

    Create an online reviewand share your thoughts with other customers
    The most helpful favorable reviewThe most helpful critical review
    5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:5.0

    Value for money:5.0

    Accuracy:5.0

    By Tom from USA on 2007-12-04 15:44:18

    Things I liked:I like the build quality of the gun, above all. Everything is done right. This is the kind of rifle you'll be proud to own for the rest of your life. It's the most accurate spring gun below $3,000. There are so many refinements in the trigger, the bedding, the barrel and breech, that I could write all day long about this rifle! In fact, you can read my TX200 article on this website.
    Things I would have changed:Nothing!
    What others should know:This is an underlever and therefore has limited access to the breech. People with very large hands may find it difficult to load until they develop a technique. The gun has 3 holes for a vertical scope stop pin, so buy scope mounts with a stop pin. Find the one best pellet, and use it exclusively. I've found both Beeman Kodiaks and 10.3-grain JSB Exacts to be equally accurate in my TX. I would scope this gun with a Bushnell 6-18x40 Trophy or a Leapers 3-12x44 AO SWAT Mini-Size scope.
    0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:

    Overall rating:2.0

    Value for money:2.0

    Accuracy:1.0

    By Kenneth from USA on 2014-08-17 21:09:49

    Things I liked:Pretty air rifle.
    Things I would have changed:Cheek rest on stock is too thin at top.Hard to get a good cheekweld.Test for accuracy at the factory before releasing for sale.
    What others should know:Very poor accuracy out of the box.Strong smell of burning oil or grease.Accuracy has improved slightly after 545 pellets.Still can't compare to a cheap Crosman for accuracy.Very nice trigger though.
    Sort by:
    • « Previous 123 ... 67 Next »
    • Show:
      Items
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Jerry from USA on 2013-11-03
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I like the feal of it a little on the heavy side but well balanced.it is very well constructed,solid build with smooth cocking and as for looks it is simply beautiful it's almost to nice spend to much time wiping off finger prints but very happy with this rifle.
      Things I would have changed:Can't find anything to complain about.
      What others should know:This is definitely one to add to the collection. Two thumbs up to PA they did a great job also.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Oscar DeGrouch from USA on 2013-11-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Oh my goodness, I love this rifle! I've had it about a month, and I've put about 700 rounds through it. It was smooth to start with. After 500 rounds, it was even better. After a Vortek PG2 kit, and 200 more rounds, and a few hours polishing trigger, sear, etc, and adjusting the 2-stage trigger to my liking, my TX200 is Air Rifle Utopia! I opted for the 3-9 Bug Buster scope, so I could shoot inside. I already know I'll be putting a 12X or 16X on it next Spring. CPHP, CPL, and H&N Baracuda Match Heavy all make one ragged hole at 25 yards.
      Things I would have changed:Not a thing!
      What others should know:Not all walnut stocks have the beautiful character that is shown in many photos. Mine is pretty, but it has much "simpler" grain than some others. Would I buy walnut again? Absolutely!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Thomas from USA on 2013-10-19
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:It is one Beautiful weapon, I sent an e-mail to AA about there top notch workmanship. The trigger is very light but nice, the gun is very accurate, and worth a nice scope. I got the walnut stock it's worth every penny, I love's me some pretty wood.
      Things I would have changed:A little bigger opening for loading the pellet, but it works.
      What others should know:Hold on to the cocking lever when loading the pellet.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Garry from USA on 2013-09-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Why aren't all air rifle triggers like this one....just about perfect right out of the box.
      Things I would have changed:You have to save your pennies for quite a while for this one. Never one sale at Pyramyd and coupons don't apply.
      What others should know:The walnut stock is beautiful and worth the extra bucks. This is a great rifle, and excellent value given the fit and finish, overall quality, and great shooting characteristics. Love my HW97K, but this rifle is better.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By PaperPuncher from USA on 2013-09-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      4.52 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Simply everything about this rifle is outstanding. I have the .22cal RH in Beech. The workmanship is incredible from the blueing to the checkering and stock finish. The trigger is light and crisp. The accuracy is excellent. It regularly shoots 5-shot groups at 15 yrds from a rest that are smaller than the hole left by a single .25 cal pellet. This is with CPHPs. It also isn't pellet picky. I've tried 7 different pellets and all have delivered tight groups and all but one had the about same POI.
      Things I would have changed:Absolutely nothing.
      What others should know:This rifle will satisfy anyone. It delivers tight groups off a rest and off-hand. Unless you're lucky enough to get a walnut stock with alot of figure in the grain, you'll also be happy with the beech. It's also really nice. It's a bit heavy, but that's good for off-hand stability.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Gabino from USA on 2013-09-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:This air rifle just exudes class from one's first glance to a closer careful examination. The bluing reminds me of the classic Colt Python bluing. The walnut stock has a wonderful fish scale design at the forend and grip. The Monte Carlo stock places the eye at the proper level for using a scope. Most of all this air rifle is accurate. I shot 1/3 inch groups at 25 yards and cannot wait to try it at 50 yards and longer ranges. Helping accuracy is a wonderful trigger. It is adjustable but the factory setting was so good that I did not change it. This is a classy air rifle!
      Things I would have changed:Easier Loading.
      What others should know:Since I am new to shooting an air rifle, loading this air rifle seemed a bit awkward to me. Getting a pellet into the barrel breach required some dexterous fingers since it is not a break barrel design. I think with more use I will become accustomed to loading this air rifle.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By eugene from USA on 2013-09-02
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:very easy to cock the gun, beautiful finish and workmanship, easier to load than i anticipated. guess if i had to have only one air gun this would be the one.
      Things I would have changed:this is a hard one, perhaps the bear trap release could be a tad larger, but with practice it comes easier.
      What others should know:like any other air gun use the blue lock tight on all the fasteners. get a good scope on this sweetheart and you have a gun for life to pass down to the next generation.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Will from USA on 2013-08-25
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:A real tack hammer...my wife loves shooting this thing. Her shot groups were exactly as promised. Five shots, 15m, could cover with a dime. She also appreciates that she can shoot regularly at a reasonable price for ammo. Yeah, the initial price tag on the setup seems steep...but worth the money.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By robert from USA on 2013-07-04
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:The walnut beauty and accuracy...for all of 10 shots. The rifle does not move under recoil.
      Things I would have changed:Quality control and comb height. The rifle is also just as heavy as a PCP.
      What others should know:Comb height is too low for larger scopes and high rings. The cocking arm on mine broke after 10 shots. Pyramyd took it back and I went to the s510. The rifle was dead accurate while it lasted.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bill from USA on 2013-06-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Gorgeous rifle! Bluing that rivals multi $K firearms! I shot very tight groups right out of the box. I tried the vibration test, pellet on the top turret. Didn't budge. .177 7grain chrono'd at 930 fps, 8.2 grain at 910 fps.
      Things I would have changed:Make it 5lbs lighter :) It's very heavy....great for bench work.
      What others should know: This is my first Air Arms gun, but it wont be the last.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By David from USA on 2013-06-01
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:This is the most amazing air rifle I have ever shot! I am getting less than minute of angle at 50 YARDS!!! This is my first and probably last air rifle I will own so I splurged and got the best. Cant ask for more in an air rifle!!!
      Things I would have changed:Not one bloody thing mate!!!!
      What others should know:Excellent British fit and finish! It is the cats meow!!!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Matt from USA on 2013-05-24
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      3.02 ratings
       
      Things I liked:I purchased the .177 in Walnut. Most beautiful airgun I've seen. Everything is as it should be at this price. The stock is amazing, very detailed fish scales and quite comfortable to hold. You need a pair of sunglasses to look at the barrel out in the sun, mirror finish. The trigger is something else.
      Things I would have changed:Still thinking...
      What others should know:As soon as you get the wrappings off, you will know that this is something built with care and not just thrown together on an assembly line.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By JOHN from USA on 2013-04-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Quality of workmanship is excellent, specifically the walnut stock and blued barrel. The rifle only took acouple of shots to sight-in at 25 yards. I've had good luck using Beeman Kodiak Tapered Dome, 21.14 grain, .22 caliber pellets.
      Things I would have changed:I'm totally satisfied with the quality of this rifle. I would like to see Air Arms offer a sling that could be utilzed for this style of rifle. It would be convenient when used for hunting in the woods (I carry it using a backpack designed to carry rifles). I would also like to see them offer a high grade walnut stock and engraved barrel.
      What others should know:You will be satisfied with this rifle. Much nicer than a break barrel style. Purchase it now!
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By wifishing from USA on 2013-04-15
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:I have read many, many reviews on air rifles and I have purchased several of them. Like Gamo, Benjamin, Weihrauch and now this TX200 by Air Arms. If you want QUALITY, QUALITY and more QUALITY along with a beautiful stock and bluing on the rest of the gun, then this is the gun for you. The only piston spring air rifle that can be compared to it is the Weihrauch HW97K. For the price that Pyramydair sells the TX200 for (@ $600.00) it's the best deal in air guns. It's fantastic!!!!
      Things I would have changed:I would like to see them come out with a thumb hole stock modle.
      What others should know:Do not buy a break barrel air gun if you are looking for accuracy. Save your money and buy a fixed barrel rifle like the TX200. You will be VERY happy you did.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By jon from USA on 2013-03-30
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:When I pulled the TX200MKIII in .22 caliber out of the box I was impressed with the bluing, and the details on the stock checkering. Mounting the rifle to the shoulder is a good fit, and the grip on the stock allows for a relaxed hand position very nice...The trigger is really clean, slight first stage to a clean crisp break on the second, light feel to the trigger weight. I really like the trigger. After shooting a few hundred pellets with various types and weights of pellets through the rifle I am impressed with the accuracy. Although I have found a pellet that shoots really excellent out of this rifle, I have found several others that don't. Freehand standing shooting 32 yards I can reliably hit a 1/2 inch bulls eye. From the sitting supported rest I can easily stack less than 1/2 inch groups at 32 yards in light and variable winds. The cocking effort is not too bad either, far less than the magnum springer I have. I am very happy with this rifle.
      Things I would have changed:The rifle is somewhat heavy. I would like to see this same rifle in a lighter weight with a nylon stock, and with a rougher exterior finish. I am afraid of scratching it now... The pellet loading area is a little small for my old big fingers, and with a longer scope makes it that much harder to get below the scope objective to seat the pellet. I am not sure I like the "bear trap" safety catches for the cocking mechanism yet, may just take some getting used to? The 11mm dovetail would be better at 3/8th's or a weaver style as ring availability in 30mm X 11mm base is short, 1" rings in 11mm though abound.
      What others should know:So far out of 7 different tins of pellets, the best shooters at 32 yards outside for me is the H&N Baracuda Match .22 caliber 21.14 grains. At 10 yards indoors the crosman premiers 14 grains shot pretty well.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Nolan from USA on 2013-03-29
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:For quality of build, power and accuracy this gun is hard to beat. I have a Beeman HW97 and it is on par or better. The Pyramid Air folks are the best, they take care of any issue.
      Things I would have changed:Not much
      What others should know:The under lever guns are they way to go if accuracy is your issue.
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Scott from USA on 2013-03-08
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Initial 1st impression was one of AWE ... Wow rifle looks like high end powder burner ! Bluing deep and dark with a very high gloss. (*BEECH STOCK) was gorgeous having a faint but distinct wavy grain pattern, great smooth gloss finish and that trademark Fish Scale checkering ... just beautiful ! Shoot time ... having purchased with a PA package deal with a tin of H&N barracuda 10.6, my first 50 or so shot were with that HEAVY pellet. THUMP .... Thwack !! was a SOLID shot cycle unlike any barrel break spring gun I ever had shot before. ( And shot quite a few too ) .... Firing the rifle is kind of an odd experience at first being vibration is so low and noise in general so absent. Had to wait a day to actually shoot over the chronograph to convince myself gun was not a low power England spec gun. 10.6's early on were knocking on 800 fps, so while no power house not exactly slackin either. 7 grain RWS Hobby's @ 960 fps which were for a wad cutter WAY TOO FAST, but gave an idea what light lead would do. Trigger ... LOOOONG first stage and crisp breaking second. Readjustment was done almost immediately being much better for what I was accustomed too in a match grade 2 stage "Field pull weight" unit. Cheek weld getting face against stock was also excellent. LOP adult proportioned and very well done. All in all would expect or accept nothing less from a $600 sporting class pellet rifle ... The AA TX200 MkIII delivers what hype proceeds it !!
      Things I would have changed:That's tough .... grasping something to say on a negative leaves me wordless. Rifle is what it is standing on it own merit of 3 generation of model development getting to MkIII
      What others should know:Be nice to have removable muzzle cap like the HC version has. Using a Hard Rod cleaning jag W/guide would be easier being the MkIII internal baffles ahead of muzzle have a nasty habit of snagging felt patches off jag tip leaving you to fish em out with a dental pick. ** So likely WHY recommended bore cleaner is a breech end fed Pull Threw.
    • Overall rating:5.0 5.0

      Value for money:5.0 5.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Joe from USA on 2013-01-06
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      5.01 rating
       
      Things I liked:Not really sure if I can truly do this rifle justice in this review. It is an absolute work of art. It shoulders beautifully, low recoil, quiet, unbelievably accurate, a joy to shoot, not pellet picky, gorgeous bluing, easy cocking......I could go on and on. I LOVE IT!!!
      What others should know:As soon as you pick up this rifle you will feel everything I just wrote above. Worth every penny!!
    • Overall rating:4.0 4.0

      Value for money:3.0 3.0

      Accuracy:4.0 4.0

        By Clifford from USA on 2012-12-10
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:Shot well EVENTUALLY; Got one of each caliber, package deals with scopes, rings etc. Shot the .22 first, it performed well. The .177 tested me. Tried close to a dozen brands of pellets, various holds at 10 and 25 yards. Groups progressively got worse. Checked rings and stock screws, no change. Tested the .177 with both supplied "package deal" scopes. Set the Hawke 2-7 scopes aside and substituted a dusty old BSA scope rated for air rifles... problem solved, after several tins this particular model of Hawke did not fare well mounted on the 2 AA springers I received. Both rifles grouped superbly with the alternate scope.
      Things I would have changed:As others stated, the cocking lever rubber bumper will fail in short order. Show pictures of "plain vanilla" walnut samples also to illustrate what may be furnished to the buyer.
      What others should know:Both walnut stocks while worthwhile upgrades, were not as nice as ANY of the photos I've seen submitted. Luck of the draw. Oddly mine prefered heavier domed pellets, especially CPH. Wadcutters did not do well. With the right scope, I believe these will grow on me.
    • Overall rating:3.0 3.0

      Value for money:4.0 4.0

      Accuracy:5.0 5.0

        By Bruno from USA on 2012-11-16
      See all my reviews
       Was this review helpful?
      0.00 ratings
       
      Things I liked:The wood stock is the first thing that you will notice very nice finish. The black polish color of the barrel is very atractive. I could no ask for more regarding the trigger. nice crisp very predictable.
      Things I would have changed:Even though the outside of this rifle is nice good looking. The thing that I will change are: The dovetail rail of this rifle sucks. I will put more grip to it. My rifle is putting 732 fps with jsb diabolo 8.4 that about 10fpe. there are still 2fpe that I could use with this rifle.
      What others should know:Be aware that due to fact that the dovetail rail of this rifle is not deep enough, some or must mounting rings will slip. I had to use a long 4" dovetail adapter to weaver in order to hold firmly my scope. The fist time it felt on the floor (damw it. The rifle kicks back a little bit, enoght to dismount any ringmounts.
    • « Previous 123 ... 67 Next »
    Shop at Gun Mall
    Back to Top